yes, therapy helps!
So were the 4 main Mesoamerican cultures

So were the 4 main Mesoamerican cultures

July 14, 2024

Much is said, vaguely, about the aboriginal cultures of the American continent, especially the center and south of it. The Mayan or Aztec cultures are the most important at historical level, due to the great influence they had. However, there are more than a dozen Mesoamerican civilizations and cultures , which have more than 20000 a.C. years in some cases.

According to the findings and expert archaeologists, Mesoamerican cultures existed in this area of ​​the planet, such as the Huastecas, Tlaxcaltecas, Chichimecas, Toltecs and Zapotecs, among others. In this sense, it seems America was discovered long before the arrival of Christopher Columbus (1492) and the Spanish Empire that arrived to settle its foundations for the wealth of these lands.


  • Related article: "What was the movement of the Enlightenment?"

The origins of Mesoamerica

As we have indicated in the introduction, the Mesoamerican culture or civilization goes back to the pre-Hispanic era of the regions that now make up countries like Mexico, El Salvador, Belize, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Honduras and Costa Rica. The beginning of the cultural and demographic proliferation occurred in the thaw, around 7000 BC, a fact that meant the development of agricultural activity so that the inhabitants could subsist.

Over the years (millennia) and as the different aboriginal communities were evolving, other more complex skills were developed, such as architecture and the establishment of cities. As it happened in the beginnings of almost any type of society, they were laying the foundations of a religion in which to lean , perform rituals and worship the gods who were asked for help in difficult times.


The most important Mesoamerican cultures

Although it may seem that these societies emerged at the same time, the investigations point to a temporary disparity between them. Below you will find a brief explanation about the most important Mesoamerican cultures.

1. Aztecs

Interestingly, in its beginnings the Aztecs they were considered a lower Mesoamerican culture due to their nomadic nature , until the 15th century came and decided to settle their own empire. They worked the land to improve the cultivation, built boats to resort to fishing and invented an irrigation system to supply water to the territory where they ruled.

The Aztecs began to use the term Mexihco, which in their language means "in the navel of the moon," whose city -which ended up being the capital city- founded in 1325 as Tenochtitlán, would end up being the current capital of Mexico. As the dominant tribe, the Aztecs decided to assimilate the weakest, creating a homogeneous community that would end up bringing together 38 provinces , all of them tributary for the development of the economy.


The religion they professed was considered bloodthirsty because of the offerings they had to make to their gods, which often meant the sacrifice of human lives, prisoners of tribal wars or even family. According to their belief, they had to feed the sun god, fertility and water to survive.

  • You may be interested: "Is our species more intelligent than the Neanderthals?"

2. Mayas

This is one of the most brilliant civilizations of Mesoamerican cultures. They attribute this characteristic of exceptional because they influenced the development of knowledge in the region. As regards the American continent, of them came astrology, mathematics or writing . The Mayans were considered at the same time the merchant community par excellence, and were pioneers with cocoa, silk and cotton cultivation.

Religion was equally polytheistic, alluding to the worship of various gods, especially that of corn, which was the basic source of income and food. Coinciding with the Aztec culture, we also resort to human sacrifice to please the gods, especially to avoid chaos and destruction.

3. Olmecs

One can consider the Olmec culture as the mother of the two previous ones, the architect of what encompasses the settlement of Mesoamerican cultures. They are attributed the creation of writing and epigraphy, the invention of the zero and the Mesoamerican calendar . As for the artistic section, the Olmec culture is easily distinguished from the rest, because its most emblematic iconography is formed by large statues in the form of heads.

The Olmec society was governed exclusively on the basis of theological laws. It is considered a theocracy of antiquity . The worship of the gods (it was also polytheistic) were represented in temples dedicated to them and sculptures of idolatry.In addition, there was an authority to regulate the creed: the figure of the Shaman, the equivalent of the Roman Pope.

4. Teotihuacan culture

Perhaps it is the least known civilization and the most enigmatic of them all, since it is believed that it disappeared long before the Spanish invasion . There is very little data about her. The knowledge that is had of the teotihuacanos arises the foundation of the city of Teotihuacán, that means "place of the gods".

The archaeological works led to the discovery of the city, which at its height was considered a prestigious metropolis and the nerve center of Mesoamerica. Religion once again takes a leading role in this civilization, and the temples of Quetzalcoatl, the Pyramid of the Sun and the Pyramid of the Moon are witnesses of this.


History Summarized: The Maya, Aztec, and Inca (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ainsi étaient les 4 principales cultures mésoaméricaines

Ainsi étaient les 4 principales cultures mésoaméricaines

Juillet 26, 2022

On parle beaucoup, vaguement, des cultures autochtones du continent américain, en particulier du centre et du sud de celui-ci. Les cultures maya ou aztèque sont les plus importantes au niveau historique, en raison de leur grande influence. Cependant, il y a plus d'une douzaine Civilisations et cultures mésoaméricaines , qui ont plus de 20000.C. années dans certains cas.

Selon les découvertes et les experts en archéologie, des cultures mésoaméricaines existaient dans cette région de la planète, telles que les Huastecas, les Tlaxcaltecas, les Chichimecas, les Toltecs et les Zapotèques, entre autres. En ce sens, il semble que L'Amérique a été découverte bien avant l'arrivée de Christophe Colomb (1492) et l'empire espagnol qui est arrivé à établir ses fondements pour la richesse de ces terres.


  • Article connexe: "Quel était le mouvement des Lumières?"

Les origines de la Méso-Amérique

Comme nous l'avons indiqué dans l'introduction, la culture ou la civilisation mésoaméricaine remonte à l'ère préhispanique des régions qui composent maintenant des pays comme le Mexique, El Salvador, le Belize, le Guatemala, le Nicaragua, le Honduras et le Costa Rica. Le début de la prolifération culturelle et démographique a eu lieu au moment du dégel, vers 7 000 av. J.-C., ce qui signifiait le développement de l'activité agricole afin que les habitants puissent subsister.

Au fil des ans (millénaires) et au fur et à mesure de l'évolution des différentes communautés autochtones, d'autres compétences plus complexes ont été développées, telles que l'architecture et la création de villes. Comme ce fut le cas aux débuts de presque tous les types de société, ils jetaient les bases d'une religion dans laquelle se pencher , effectuez des rituels et vénérez les dieux à qui on a demandé de l’aide dans les moments difficiles.


Les plus importantes cultures mésoaméricaines

Bien qu'il puisse sembler que ces sociétés aient émergé au même moment, les enquêtes laissent entrevoir une disparité temporaire entre elles. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une brève explication des principales cultures mésoaméricaines.

1. Aztèques

Fait intéressant, à ses débuts, les Aztèques ils étaient considérés comme une culture mésoaméricaine inférieure en raison de leur nature nomade , jusqu'au 15ème siècle est venu et a décidé d'établir leur propre empire. Ils travaillèrent la terre pour améliorer la culture, construisirent des bateaux pour s'adonner à la pêche et inventèrent un système d'irrigation pour fournir de l'eau au territoire où ils régnaient.

Les Aztèques ont commencé à utiliser le terme Mexihco, qui dans leur langue signifie "dans le nombril de la lune", dont la ville - qui a fini par être la capitale - fondée en 1325 sous le nom de Tenochtitlán, finirait par être l'actuelle capitale du Mexique. En tant que tribu dominante, les Aztèques ont décidé d'assimiler les plus faibles, créer une communauté homogène qui finirait par réunir 38 provinces , tous tributaires du développement de l’économie.


La religion qu'ils professaient était considérée comme assoiffée de sang à cause des offrandes qu'ils devaient faire à leurs dieux, ce qui signifiait souvent le sacrifice de vies humaines, prisonniers des guerres tribales ou même de la famille. Selon leur croyance, ils devaient nourrir le dieu soleil, la fertilité et l'eau pour survivre.

  • Vous pourriez être intéressé: "Notre espèce est-elle plus intelligente que les Néandertaliens?"

2. Mayas

C’est l’une des plus brillantes civilisations des cultures mésoaméricaines. Ils attribuent cette caractéristique d’exceptionnelle car ils ont influencé le développement des connaissances dans la région. En ce qui concerne le continent américain, d'entre eux sont venus l'astrologie, les mathématiques ou l'écriture . Les Mayas étaient considérés à la fois comme la communauté marchande par excellence et étaient des pionniers dans la culture du cacao, de la soie et du coton.

La religion était également polythéiste, faisant allusion au culte de divers dieux, notamment celui du maïs, source fondamentale de revenus et de nourriture. Coïncidant avec la culture aztèque, nous avons également recours au sacrifice humain plaire aux dieux, en particulier pour éviter le chaos et la destruction.

3. Olmecs

On peut considérer la culture olmèque comme la mère des deux précédentes, l'architecte de ce qui englobe le peuplement des cultures mésoaméricaines. On leur attribue la création d'écriture et d'épigraphie, l'invention du zéro et le calendrier mésoaméricain . En ce qui concerne la section artistique, la culture olmèque se distingue facilement du reste, car son iconographie la plus emblématique est constituée de grandes statues en forme de têtes.

La société olmèque était gouvernée exclusivement sur la base de lois théologiques. Il est considéré comme une théocratie de l'Antiquité . Le culte des dieux (c'était aussi polythéiste) était représenté dans des temples qui leur étaient dédiés et des sculptures d'idolâtrie.En outre, il existait une autorité pour réglementer le credo: la figure du chaman, l'équivalent du pape romain.

4. Culture de Teotihuacan

C’est peut-être la civilisation la moins connue et la plus énigmatique de toutes, puisque on pense qu'il a disparu bien avant l'invasion espagnole . Il y a très peu de données à son sujet. La connaissance que l'on a du teotihuacanos est à l'origine de la fondation de la ville de Teotihuacán, qui signifie "la place des dieux".

Les travaux archéologiques ont mené à la découverte de la ville, qui à son apogée était considérée comme une métropole prestigieuse et le centre névralgique de la Méso-Amérique. La religion joue à nouveau un rôle de premier plan dans cette civilisation, et les temples de Quetzalcoatl, la pyramide du soleil et la pyramide de la lune en sont les témoins.


CULTURAS PRECOLOMBINAS 4: Los Andes (1/2) - Chavín, Nazca, Tiahuanaco y el Imperio Wari (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes