yes, therapy helps!
Social constructionism: what it is, fundamental ideas and authors

Social constructionism: what it is, fundamental ideas and authors

April 28, 2024

Social constructionism, or socioconstructionism, is a theoretical perspective that arises in the mid-twentieth century as a result of the epistemological and methodological crisis that the social sciences have gone through.

It considers that the language is not a simple reflection of the reality, but that is the producer of the same, with which, it goes from the idea of ​​representation that dominated the science, to the one of discursive action.

The latter allows questioning the set of "truths" through which we had related to the world, as well as creating new theories and methods of knowledge.

In addition to being considered as a theoretical perspective, socioconstructionism it is defined as a theoretical movement in which different works and proposals are grouped . Then we will go through some background and definitions of social constructionism, as well as the impact it has had on social psychology.


  • Related article: "Structuralism: what it is and what are its key ideas"

Social constructionism: a theoretical-practical alternative

Since the 1960s, and in the framework of the crisis of modern thought, the epistemological foundations of the social sciences have gone through some important changes.

Among other things, these changes arise as a criticism of the representation model of science, where language is understood as an instrument that faithfully reflects the mental contents, with which the same mind contains exact representations of the external world (from " reality").

In the same context arises a critique of the absolute truths and research methods by means of which it was believed to access such truths. A) Yes, The application of positivist methodology in the social sciences is questioned in an important way and the omission of the sociohistorical processes that frame them.


That is, in the face of the tendency of traditional scientific thought to present itself as an absolute reflection of the reality it studied; social constructionism says that reality does not exist independently of our actions, but that we produce it through language (understood as a practice).

  • Maybe you're interested: "What is Social Psychology?"

Reactions to traditional science

One of the approaches that had marked the social sciences, and before which socioconstructionism puts an important distance is the disqualification of methodologies other than hypothetico-deductive and positivist. From there, social constructionism questions the predominance of experimental model , where it is assumed that knowledge is acquired based on the control that an "external" experimenter has on the situation studied, which in turn implies the existence of variables that are stable and controllable.


Likewise, a reaction to the apparent timelessness that had characterized the traditional way of doing science is established. This is because such timelessness has had as a consequence that historical facts are understood as anecdotal and therefore, not scientists.

Finally, he questioned the supposed truths about human beings, which have been taken for granted through the implementation of the methodologies used in the natural sciences.

A psychosociological project and its repercussions for psychology

In relation to what we explained above, authors such as Sandoval (2010) consider that socioconstructionism is not a theory itself but "a metatheoretical attempt to construct an alternative to the hegemony of empiricism in epistemology; of behaviorism and cognitivism in theory and experimentalism in methodology; the trilogy that underlies the core of the intelligibility of modern psychology "(page 32).

In sum, four principles that define socioconstructionism and that impact modern psychology are:

1. Anti-essentialism: the primacy of social processes and discursive practices

The practices that make up a reality are maintained thanks to the establishment of a social order , what happens through human activity, without any ontological status. From habituate to these practices, the same human activity is institutionalized and gives form to a society. By this same, the daily life that had been rejected by the traditional social sciences, acquires special importance for the socioconstruccionismo.

At a methodological level, socioconstructionism considers the unpredictability of human behavior and social reality as something that is constructed in everyday life and based on a reciprocity between society and person, with which psychology must locate the cases it studies or attends in contexts. determined social In this same sense, we are the product of specific social processes .

Likewise, the socio-constructionist current allowed to question the use of the hypothetico-deductive method in the social sciences, which in the beginning had been systematized for the natural sciences; and that he had moved as the model for psychology.

2. Relativism: the historical and cultural specificity of knowledge

This theory defends that the knowledge obtained by the social sciences is fundamentally historical, and because it is highly variable, it can not resort to the methods of study of the natural sciences.

Likewise, the socio-constructionist current allowed to question the use of the hypothetico-deductive method in the social sciences, which at the beginning it had been systematized for the natural sciences ; and that he had moved as the model for psychology.

In this same sense, what we know as "reality" does not exist separately from knowledge or from the descriptions we produce about it.

  • Related article: "Moral relativism: definition and philosophical principles"

3. Knowledge and action as two phenomena that go together

Social constructionism aims to explain how knowledge and social reality are constructed from the activity (the discursive capacity) of the subjects. Highlights the reflective quality of the researcher. That is, it underlines the constructive power of language within the framework of social relations.

From there, socioconstructionism proposes to develop alternative perspectives to the individual approach of knowledge (that is, to the idea that everything that is known, is known individually), allowing to analyze the importance of shared knowledge in the production of a particular reality.

Social constructionism is a perspective that continuously questions the truths that we have taken for granted , questioning how we have learned to look at ourselves and the world.

4. A critical stance, that is, attentive to the effects of language in terms of power

The consideration that there is no neutrality in the production of knowledge, which makes it possible to recognize the active role of people as constructors of their own reality, including the researcher himself, and the psychologist is a facilitator of social change .

To think of the human being outside of the qualities that are supposedly universally shared thanks to the "paradigm of the average man", but to consider the social context in which the explanations emerge and the places that are assigned to each one.

Key authors and background

Although social constructionism is a heterogeneous perspective where different authors could fit and not fit, Kenneth Gergen is considered one of the greatest exponents , especially from your article Social psychology as history (Social psychology as history) published in 1973.

In the framework of this reformulation of the social sciences, Berger and Luckmann had already published the book The social construction of reality in 1968, work that influenced Gergen's work in an important way, which is also considered key to the development of socioconstructionism.

These last authors propose that reality is "a quality characteristic of phenomena that we recognize as independent of our own volition" and knowledge "the certainty that phenomena are real and have specific characteristics". That is to say, they question the belief that reality is a thing that exists independently of our actions , society being an external entity that shapes us, and we can know it in an absolute way.

Among the theoretical background of social constructionism are poststructuralism, discourse analysis, the Frankfurt School, the sociology of knowledge and critical social psychology. Broadly speaking, these are theories that reflect on the interdependence between knowledge and social reality.

Likewise, social constructionism has been linked to authors such as Latour and Woolgar, Feyerabend, Kuhn, Laudan, Moscovici, Hermans.

Some criticisms of socioconstructionism

Among other things, socioconstructionism has been criticized by the tendency towards the discursive radicalization of a good part of his theories .

Broadly speaking these critics say that social constructionism can be immobilizing, because if everything that exists is built by language, what is the place of the material and what are its possibilities action in the meaning of the world. In the same sense he has been criticized an excessive relativism that sometimes can make it difficult to assume or defend claims.

Finally, after several decades of having emerged this theoretical perspective, constructionism has had to adapt to new forms of social organization. For example, some proposals that have been inspired by constructionism but have added important elements for current debates are the Theory of the Actor Network, Performativity, or some materialist and feminist positions.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gosende, E. (2001). Between social constructionism and realism, trapped with no way out? Subjectivity and Cognitive processes, 1 (1): 104-107.
  • Iñiguez, L. (2005) New debates, new ideas and new practices in the social psychology of the 'post-constructionist' era. Athenea Digital, 8: 1-7.
  • Sandoval, J. (2004). Representation, discursivity and situated action: Critical introduction to the social psychology of knowledge. Chile: University of Valparaíso.

Is Gender a Social Construct? in 7 Minutes (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le constructionnisme social: qu'est-ce que c'est, des idées fondamentales et des auteurs

Le constructionnisme social: qu'est-ce que c'est, des idées fondamentales et des auteurs

Septembre 18, 2019

Le constructionnisme social, ou socioconstructionnisme, est une perspective théorique cela se produit au milieu du XXe siècle à la suite de la crise épistémologique et méthodologique que les sciences sociales ont traversée.

Il considère que le langage n'est pas un simple reflet de la réalité, mais qu'il en est le producteur avec lequel, il passe de l'idée de représentation qui a dominé la science à celle d'action discursive.

Ce dernier permet de questionner l'ensemble des "vérités" par lesquelles nous avons noué un lien avec le monde, ainsi que de créer de nouvelles théories et méthodes de connaissance.

En plus d’être considéré comme une perspective théorique, le socioconstructionnisme il est défini comme un mouvement théorique dans lequel différentes œuvres et propositions sont regroupées . Ensuite, nous passerons en revue certains contextes et définitions du constructionnisme social, ainsi que de son impact sur la psychologie sociale.


  • Article connexe: "Le structuralisme: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelles sont ses idées clés"

Le constructionnisme social: une alternative théorique-pratique

Depuis les années 1960 et dans le cadre de la crise de la pensée moderne, les fondements épistémologiques des sciences sociales ont subi des changements importants.

Entre autres choses, ces changements surviennent en tant que critique du modèle de représentation de la science, où le langage est compris comme un instrument reflétant fidèlement le contenu mental, avec lequel le même esprit contient des représentations exactes du monde extérieur (de " la réalité").

Dans le même contexte, il se produit une critique des vérités absolues et des méthodes de recherche permettant d'accéder à ces vérités. Ainsi, L’application de la méthodologie positiviste en sciences sociales est remise en question de manière importante et l'omission des processus sociohistoriques qui les encadrent.


C’est-à-dire face à la tendance de la pensée scientifique traditionnelle à se présenter comme un reflet absolu de la réalité qu’elle a étudiée; Le constructionnisme social dit que la réalité n'existe pas indépendamment de nos actions, mais que nous la produisons à travers le langage (compris comme une pratique).

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Réactions à la science traditionnelle

L'une des approches qui avait marqué les sciences sociales et devant laquelle le socioconstructionnisme prend une distance importante est la disqualification de méthodes autres qu'hypothéto-déductives et positivistes. De là, le constructionnisme social remet en question la prédominance du modèle expérimental , où il est supposé que la connaissance est acquise sur la base du contrôle qu’un expérimentateur "externe" possède sur la situation étudiée, ce qui implique l’existence de variables stables et contrôlables.


De même, une réaction à l’intemporalité apparente qui caractérisait la manière traditionnelle de faire de la science est établie. C’est parce que cette intemporalité a eu pour conséquence que les faits historiques sont compris comme anecdotiques et par conséquent, pas des scientifiques.

Enfin, il a mis en doute les supposées vérités sur l'homme, prises pour acquis à travers la mise en œuvre des méthodologies utilisées dans les sciences naturelles.

Un projet psychosociologique et ses répercussions sur la psychologie

Par rapport à ce que nous avons expliqué ci-dessus, des auteurs tels que Sandoval (2010) considèrent que le socioconstructionnisme n’est pas une théorie en soi mais «une tentative métathéorique de construire une alternative à l’hégémonie de l’empirisme en épistémologie; du behaviorisme et du cognitivisme en théorie et de l'expérimentalisme en méthodologie; la trilogie qui est à la base de l'intelligibilité de la psychologie moderne "(page 32).

En résumé, quatre principes définissant le socioconstructionnisme et ayant une incidence sur la psychologie moderne sont les suivants:

1. Anti-essentialisme: primauté des processus sociaux et des pratiques discursives

Les pratiques qui constituent une réalité sont maintenues grâce à l'établissement d'un ordre social , que se passe-t-il à travers l'activité humaine, sans statut ontologique? De l'habitude à ces pratiques, la même activité humaine est institutionnalisée et donne forme à une société. De la même manière, le quotidien rejeté par les sciences sociales traditionnelles acquiert une importance particulière pour le socioconstruccionismo.

Au niveau méthodologique, le socioconstructionnisme considère l'imprévisibilité du comportement humain et de la réalité sociale comme quelque chose qui se construit dans la vie quotidienne et repose sur une réciprocité entre la société et la personne, avec laquelle la psychologie doit localiser les cas qu'elle étudie ou étudie dans des contextes. social déterminé Dans le même sens, nous sommes le produit de processus sociaux spécifiques .

De même, le courant socio-constructionniste a permis de remettre en cause l'utilisation de la méthode hypothético-déductive dans les sciences sociales, qui à l'origine avait été systématisée pour les sciences naturelles; et qu'il était devenu le modèle de la psychologie.

2. Le relativisme: spécificité historique et culturelle du savoir

Cette théorie défend le fait que les connaissances acquises par les sciences sociales sont fondamentalement historiques et qu’elles sont très variables, elles ne peuvent donc pas recourir aux méthodes d’étude des sciences naturelles.

De même, le courant socio-constructionniste a permis de remettre en cause l’utilisation de la méthode hypothético-déductive dans les sciences sociales. au début, il avait été systématisé pour les sciences naturelles ; et qu'il était devenu le modèle de la psychologie.

Dans le même sens, ce que nous appelons «réalité» n'existe pas séparément de la connaissance ou des descriptions que nous en produisons.

  • Article connexe: "Relativisme moral: définition et principes philosophiques"

3. La connaissance et l'action comme deux phénomènes qui vont ensemble

Le constructionnisme social vise à expliquer comment le savoir et la réalité sociale sont construits à partir de l'activité (la capacité discursive) des sujets. Met en évidence la qualité de réflexion du chercheur. Autrement dit, il souligne le pouvoir constructif du langage dans le cadre des relations sociales.

À partir de là, le socioconstructionnisme propose de développer des perspectives alternatives à l’approche individuelle de la connaissance (c’est-à-dire à l’idée que tout ce qui est connu est connu individuellement), ce qui permet d’analyser l’importance du savoir partagé dans la production de une réalité particulière.

Le constructionnisme social est une perspective qui remet constamment en question les vérités que nous avons considérées comme acquises , se demandant comment nous avons appris à nous regarder et à regarder le monde.

4. Une attitude critique, c'est-à-dire attentive aux effets du langage en termes de pouvoir

La prise en compte de l’absence de neutralité dans la production de la connaissance, ce qui permet de reconnaître le rôle actif des personnes en tant que constructeurs de leur propre réalité, y compris le chercheur lui-même, et le psychologue est un facilitateur du changement social .

Penser l'être humain en dehors des qualités censées être universellement partagées grâce au "paradigme de l'homme moyen", mais considérer le contexte social dans lequel les explications émergent et les lieux attribués à chacun.

Auteurs clés et arrière-plan

Bien que le constructionnisme social soit une perspective hétérogène où différents auteurs pourraient s’intégrer et ne pas s’adapter, Kenneth Gergen est considéré comme l'un des plus grands exposants , surtout de votre article Psychologie sociale comme histoire (Psychologie sociale en tant qu'histoire) publiée en 1973.

Dans le cadre de cette reformulation des sciences sociales, Berger et Luckmann avaient déjà publié le livre La construction sociale de la réalité en 1968, des travaux qui ont influencé le travail de Gergen de manière importante, ce qui est également considéré comme essentiel au développement du socioconstructionnisme.

Ces derniers auteurs proposent que la réalité soit "une caractéristique de qualité des phénomènes que nous reconnaissons indépendante de notre propre volonté" et de la connaissance "la certitude que les phénomènes sont réels et possèdent des caractéristiques spécifiques". C'est-à-dire, ils remettent en question la conviction que la réalité est une chose qui existe indépendamment de nos actions , la société étant une entité externe qui nous façonne, et nous pouvons la connaître de manière absolue.

Le poststructuralisme, l'analyse du discours, l'école de Francfort, la sociologie de la connaissance et la psychologie sociale critique font partie des fondements théoriques du constructivisme social. De manière générale, ces théories reflètent l’interdépendance entre le savoir et la réalité sociale.

De même, le constructionnisme social a été lié à des auteurs tels que Latour et Woolgar, Feyerabend, Kuhn, Laudan, Moscovici, Hermans.

Quelques critiques du socioconstructionnisme

Le socioconstructionnisme a notamment été critiqué par la tendance à la radicalisation discursive d'une bonne partie de ses théories .

En gros, ces critiques disent que le constructionnisme social peut être immobilisant, car si tout ce qui existe est construit par le langage, quelle est la place du matériel et quelles sont ses possibilités d'action dans le sens du monde. Dans le même sens, il a été critiqué un relativisme excessif cela peut parfois rendre difficile la prise en charge ou la défense des revendications.

Enfin, après plusieurs décennies d’émergence de cette perspective théorique, le constructionnisme a dû s’adapter à de nouvelles formes d’organisation sociale. Par exemple, certaines propositions inspirées par le constructionnisme mais ajoutant des éléments importants aux débats actuels sont la théorie du réseau d'acteurs, la performativité, ou certaines positions matérialistes et féministes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gosende, E. (2001). Entre constructionnisme social et réalisme, pris au piège sans issue? Subjectivité et processus cognitifs, 1 (1): 104-107.
  • Iñiguez, L. (2005) Nouveaux débats, nouvelles idées et nouvelles pratiques en psychologie sociale de l'ère «post-constructionniste». Athenea Digital, 8: 1-7.
  • Sandoval, J. (2004). Représentation, discursivité et action située: introduction critique à la psychologie sociale de la connaissance. Chili: Université de Valparaíso.

Théories d'apprentissage 3: Le cognitivisme (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes