yes, therapy helps!
Social phobia: what is it and how to overcome it?

Social phobia: what is it and how to overcome it?

November 8, 2022

Do you feel an extreme shame when talking with people you do not know? Do you feel very insecure when you are surrounded by people most of the time? Does it cause you great discomfort to speak in public? Do these fears make it very difficult for you to carry out your daily tasks or talk to other people at work or at school?

If this happens to you often, you may suffer a anxiety disorder called social phobia.

Social phobia: what is it?

This disorder is often confused with the shy , but not all shy people suffer from social phobia.

A study conducted by the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) and published in Journal Pediatrics in 2011, 50 percent of teenagers are shy, but of these, only 12 percent meet the criteria of social phobia .


Social phobia is a strong Irrational fear towards situations of social interaction . For example, the person who suffers from social phobia feels extreme anxiety when being judged by others, being the center of attention, by the idea of ​​being criticized by other individuals and, even, by talking on the phone with other people.

Social phobics are aware that they should not feel so bad in the face of triggering situations, but are unable to control their fear and anxiety. In addition, they usually avoid the situations that cause the symptoms of this disorder, because they are not able to withstand the discomfort.

Among these individuals there are different degrees of the disorder , and some people may feel the symptoms in some social situations (Specific social phobia), while others can feel them in all social situations (Generalized social phobia).


Causes

Social phobia usually begins during adolescence , and it is usual that people who suffer from it do not seek help until after ten years of presenting symptoms. Like most phobias, the environment plays a determining role in their learning.

Although some research indicates that social phobia may be due to a mismatch of neurotransmitters (especially serotonin), the traumatic experiences of the past, having grown overprotected by the family or limiting opportunities for social interaction are the most common causative factors of this phobia.

symptom

The symptomatology of social phobia is not different from that of other phobias, since individuals suffering from social phobia have anxious symptoms and extreme fear in daily social situations. They think they are watched and judged by everyone , and when they do things badly they feel very embarrassed. The fear and anxiety they feel is so intense that it interferes with their work, school and other day-to-day activities.


In addition, other symptoms of social phobia include:

  • To blush (Erythrophobia)
  • Difficulty speaking
  • Sickness
  • Profuse sweating
  • Tremors

As mentioned, people with this type of phobia They tend to avoid situations that can cause discomfort and exposed symptoms . Among these situations are:

  • Attend parties and other social gatherings
  • Eating, drinking and writing in public
  • Meet new people
  • Public speaking
  • Use the public toilets

Treatment

The psychological treatment that is usually used to treat social phobia is Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), since it helps and facilitates knowing the origin of the problem and the development of new ways of solving the feared situations or phobias. CBT focuses on training the patient to detect irrational thoughts and replace them with those that will improve their quality of life. In addition, Behavioral Cognitive Therapy also includes exposure strategies to the feared stimuli, in this way the patient experiences the irrationality of the phobia for himself.

Therefore, the most frequent treatment includes strategies of cognitive restructuring, social skills training, relaxation and exposure. It is important to understand that exposure is sufficient for specific social phobia, but for generalized social phobia there are different intervention programs that include different strategies. Here we present three of the most used programs (usually take advantage of the group format):

  • Cognitive behavioral therapy in groups from Heimberg et al. (1998): Cognitive restructuring, group behavioral tasks and exposure to real everyday situations.
  • Comprehensive cognitive behavioral therapy de Davidson et al. (2004): Cognitive restructuring, group behavioral tasks and exposure to real everyday situations and training in social skills.
  • Cognitive behavioral therapy of Clark et al.(1995): proposes an Individual Treatment Protocol more focused on cognitive aspects (interpretation of social situations, performance and social risk, expectations, attention, etc.).

Bibliographic references:

  • Bravo, M. A. and Padrós, F., (2013) Explanatory models of social phobia: A cognitive behavioral approach. Uaricha, 11 (24), 134-147.
  • Hermans, D. Vantseenwegen, D. and Craske, M. G. (2008). Fears and phobias: Debates, future research and clinical implications. In M. G. Craske, D. Hermans and Vansteenwegen (Eds.), Fears and phobias: from the basic processes to the clinical implications (pp. 257-264). Mexico: Modern Manual.
  • Torgrud, L.J., Walker, J.R., Murray, L., Cox, B.J., Chartier, M. and Kjernisted, K.D. (2004). Deficits in perceived social support associated with generalized social phobia. Cognitive Behavior Therapy, 33 (2), 87-96.

Hypnotherapy : Natural Cures for Social Phobia (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La phobie sociale: de quoi s'agit-il et comment la surmonter?

La phobie sociale: de quoi s'agit-il et comment la surmonter?

Décembre 30, 2022

Vous sentez-vous extrêmement honteux lorsque vous parlez à des personnes que vous ne connaissez pas? Vous sentez-vous très inquiet lorsque vous êtes entouré de gens la plupart du temps? Cela vous gêne-t-il de parler en public? Est-ce que ces peurs vous rendent très difficile l’exécution de vos tâches quotidiennes ou le dialogue avec d’autres personnes au travail ou à l’école?

Si cela vous arrive souvent, vous pouvez souffrir d'une trouble d'anxiété appelé phobie sociale.

La phobie sociale: qu'est-ce que c'est?

Ce trouble est souvent confondu avec le timidité , mais toutes les personnes timides ne souffrent pas de phobie sociale.

Une étude menée par l’Institut national de la santé mentale (NIMH) et publiée dans Journal Pédiatrie en 2011, 50% des adolescents sont timides, mais parmi eux, 12% seulement répondent aux critères de la phobie sociale .


La phobie sociale est une forte Peur irrationnelle envers des situations d'interaction sociale . Par exemple, la personne qui souffre de phobie sociale ressent une extrême anxiété lorsqu'elle est jugée par d'autres, qu'elle est au centre de l'attention, qu'elle est critiquée par d'autres personnes et même qu'elle parle au téléphone.

Les phobiques sociaux sont conscients qu'ils ne devraient pas se sentir si mal face aux situations qui les déclenchent, mais sont incapables de contrôler leur peur et leur anxiété. En outre, ils évitent généralement les situations qui provoquent les symptômes de ce trouble, car ils ne sont pas en mesure de supporter le malaise.

Parmi ces individus il y a différents degrés du désordre et certaines personnes peuvent ressentir les symptômes dans certaines situations sociales (Phobie sociale spécifique), alors que d’autres peuvent les ressentir dans toutes les situations sociales (Phobie sociale généralisée).


Les causes

Phobie sociale commence généralement à l'adolescence et il est habituel que les personnes qui en souffrent ne demandent de l'aide qu'après dix ans de symptômes. Comme la plupart des phobies, l'environnement joue un rôle déterminant dans leur apprentissage.

Certaines recherches indiquent que la phobie sociale peut être due à une inadéquation des neurotransmetteurs (en particulier la sérotonine), les expériences traumatiques du passé, la surprotection de la famille ou la limitation des possibilités d’interaction sociale sont les facteurs les plus courants de cette phobie.

Les symptômes

La symptomatologie de la phobie sociale ne diffère pas de celle des autres phobies, car les personnes souffrant de phobie sociale ont des symptômes anxieux et une peur extrême dans des situations sociales quotidiennes. Ils pensent qu'ils sont regardés et jugés par tout le monde et quand ils font mal les choses ils se sentent très embarrassés. La peur et l’anxiété qu’ils ressentent sont si intenses qu’elles interfèrent avec leur travail, leur école et leurs autres activités quotidiennes.


En outre, les autres symptômes de la phobie sociale incluent:

  • Rougir (Érythrophobie)
  • Difficulté à parler
  • La nausée
  • Transpiration abondante
  • Tremblements

Comme mentionné, les personnes atteintes de ce type de phobie Ils ont tendance à éviter les situations qui peuvent causer de l'inconfort et des symptômes exposés . Parmi ces situations sont:

  • Assister à des fêtes et autres rassemblements sociaux
  • Manger, boire et écrire en public
  • Rencontrer de nouvelles personnes
  • Parler en public
  • Utilisez les toilettes publiques

Traitement

Le traitement psychologique généralement utilisé pour traiter la phobie sociale est la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale (TCC), car il aide à faciliter la connaissance de l'origine du problème et la mise au point de nouveaux moyens de résoudre les situations ou phobies redoutées. La TCC vise à former le patient à détecter les pensées irrationnelles et à les remplacer par celles qui amélioreront leur qualité de vie. En outre, la thérapie cognitive comportementale comprend également des stratégies d'exposition aux stimuli redoutés, permettant ainsi au patient de faire l'expérience de l'irrationalité de la phobie.

Par conséquent, le traitement le plus fréquent comprend des stratégies de restructuration cognitive, formation aux compétences sociales, relaxation et exposition. Il est important de comprendre que l'exposition est suffisante pour une phobie sociale spécifique, mais pour la phobie sociale généralisée, il existe différents programmes d'intervention comprenant des stratégies différentes. Nous présentons ici trois des programmes les plus utilisés (tirant généralement parti du format de groupe):

  • Thérapie cognitivo-comportementale en groupe d'après Heimberg et al. (1998): Restructuration cognitive, tâches comportementales de groupe et exposition à des situations quotidiennes réelles.
  • Thérapie cognitivo-comportementale complète de Davidson et al. (2004): Restructuration cognitive, tâches comportementales de groupe et exposition à des situations quotidiennes réelles et formation aux aptitudes sociales.
  • Thérapie cognitivo-comportementale de Clark et al.(1995): propose un protocole de traitement individuel plus axé sur les aspects cognitifs (interprétation des situations sociales, performances et risques sociaux, attentes, attention, etc.).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bravo, M. A. et Padrós, F., (2013) Modèles explicatifs de la phobie sociale: une approche comportementale cognitive. Uaricha, 11 (24), 134-147.
  • Hermans, D. Vantseenwegen, D. et Craske, M. G. (2008). Peurs et phobies: Débats, recherches futures et implications cliniques. Dans M. G. Craske, D. Hermans et Vansteenwegen (Eds.), Peurs et phobies: des processus fondamentaux aux implications cliniques (p. 257-264). Mexique: Manuel moderne.
  • Torgrud, L. J., Walker, J. R., Murray, L., Cox, B. J., Chartier, M. et Kjernisted, K.D. (2004). Déficits du soutien social perçu associé à une phobie sociale généralisée. Thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, 33 (2), 87-96.

Vaincre définitivement la résistance au changement et la peur du changement (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes