yes, therapy helps!
Social skills in childhood: what are they and how to develop them?

Social skills in childhood: what are they and how to develop them?

May 6, 2021

In recent times there has been a greater awareness of the importance attributed to the acquisition of adaptive social skills during the first years of life of the human being.

In a generic way, it has been possible to demonstrate how this type of skills conditions the future functioning both socially and psychologically of an individual. It could be said that the influence is limited to all the vital areas of the person: professional, academic, interpersonal and personal.

The concept of social skills

Caballo in 1986 defines the concept of social skills as the set of behaviors performed by an individual in an interpersonal context in which he expresses feelings, attitudes , wishes, opinions or rights in a way appropriate to the situation, respecting those behaviors in others, and where usually resolves the immediate problems of the situation while reducing the likelihood of future problems appear.


Multiple concrete behaviors are susceptible to be included within the category of social skills. A simple classification differentiates two main areas: verbal behavior and nonverbal behavior . Each of these categories consists of different, more concrete dimensions

Non-verbal behavior: gestures, tics, gestures ...

Regarding the non-verbal aspects of the communication, the following variables can be assessed: the facial expression (which indicates the level of interest and / or understanding of the message that the speaker transmits to us), the look (useful in the expression of emotions) , the posture (describes the attitude, emotional state and own and other people's feelings), gestures (increase or substitute the meaning of the transmitted message), proximity and physical contact (both reflect the type of relationship and link between the interlocutors -approximation or distance-), the vocal keys (both tone and volume, speed, pauses, fluency, etc. modulate the meaning of the verbal message expressed) and personal appearance (offers information about interests and own affinities) become the main.


Verbal behavior: what we express through language

On the other hand, verbal behavior is used to communicate cognitive aspects (such as thoughts, reflections, opinions or ideas) as well as emotions or feelings. It also allows to report past events, demand information, justify an opinion, etc.

In this type of behavior, it is relevant to consider the influence exerted by the factors related to the situation in which the message is produced on the characteristics of the interlocutors, as well as on the objectives to be achieved with said information. A fundamental requirement for the success of the communication process lies in the need for the sender and receiver to share the code (the language) through which this verbal behavior is carried out.

Learning social skills in early childhood

More explicitly, the learning of social skills is noticeably more important in the first years of life because it is during the preschool stage and primary schooling when the processes of child socialization begin.


These first social experiences will condition the way in which the child will relate to their parents and other relatives, peers and other figures more or less removed from their social environment. In order to achieve a process of adequate emotional and cognitive growth and development, it is essential that the child acquires behavioral patterns that allow him to achieve the goals both at the personal level (self-esteem, autonomy, decision-making capacity and coping) and at the interpersonal level ( establishment of friendly, romantic, family, professional, healthy relationships in society, etc.).

Another reason that motivates to emphasize the importance of specifically assigning a part of the teachings to enhance social skills in the early stages is the erroneous and traditional widespread conception of considering that this type of skills are automatically assimilated with the passing of the weather. As a consequence of this belief it is less important to emphasize this type of learning and, consequently, the child ends up not internalizing these aspects that are so relevant to their development.

Finally, the fact of being competent in the area of ​​social skills allows the child the ability to assimilate more profoundly and completely another type of abilities such as intellectual or cognitive as.

What are the deficits of children's social skills?

A behavioral deficit in the management of social skills may be due to the following causes:

  • General skills deficit : motivated by the absence of their acquisition or by the expression of inappropriate social behavior.
  • Conditioned anxiety: in the face of past aversive experiences or due to observational learning through an inappropriate model, the person may have a high level of anxiety that prevents them from giving that adaptive response.
  • Poor cognitive evaluation When the individual presents a negative self-concept combined with a pessimistic cognitive functioning, he can avoid performing certain actions because he questions his own competence in such a situation. In order to avoid the discomfort produced by this self-assessment, the child will avoid emitting such behaviors.
  • Lack of motivation to act If the consequence followed to the performance of an appropriate social behavior does not occur or presents a neutral character for the individual, this behavior will lose its reinforcing value and cease to be issued.
  • The subject does not know how to discriminate r: in the face of ignorance of the assertive rights that every person must have, this can not differentiate whether or not such rights are being violated in a given situation. Therefore, it will not emit that socially competent and assertive action.
  • Restrictive environmental hurdles If the environment makes it difficult to openly manifest appropriate social behaviors, these will tend not to occur in such a context (especially in authoritarian, controlling and non-affective family environments).

The adult as a model for learning social skills of children

As explained by Bandura's Learning Theories and other experts, two are the fundamental elements for the learning process to take place .

The first factor refers to the type of consequences and their temporary contingency after the emission of a specific behavior. When a behavior is followed by a pleasant consequence, the behavior tends to increase in frequency, while in the case that the consequence of the behavior is unpleasant and contingent, the tendency will be to decrease or eliminate such behavior.

The second variable refers to the reproduction of behaviors based on the observation of models or behavioral references .

Given that these are the main sources that motivate behavioral learning, the nature of the attitudes and the cognitive-behavioral typology of adult educators is very relevant. These figures are responsible for applying certain consequences to the behaviors issued by the children and represent models that will serve as a reference in the execution of behaviors by children.

Educational keys in the field of social skills

For all these reasons, it is important to bear in mind that, both because of the first and the second cases, their practices must be adequate to guarantee that the child learns a competent and satisfactory behavioral repertoire. Specific, four are the fundamental attitudes that adults must present to achieve the stated purpose :

  • Offer an appropriate model : the figure of the model must execute adequate behavioral repertoires at all times, since if the child observes divergences in behavior depending on the situation or the interlocutor, he / she will not be able to correctly internalize which one to apply, where and how. On the other hand, it should be taken into account that children are also susceptible to copying maladaptive behaviors observed in the models if they are carried out in the real context in a habitual way. The reference figures must show competence in the expression of their own opinion and their own feelings, make requests, reaffirm their point of view and reject inappropriate verbalizations in a fair and respectful manner.
  • Value the positive aspects As previously mentioned, in order for proper behavior to increase its frequency, it is fundamental to reward the issuer of such action with a positive and contingent consequence over time. Numerous studies show that positive reinforcement is the most effective methodology of the four principles of operant conditioning (positive / negative reinforcement and positive / negative punishment), to a greater extent than criticism or the threat of inappropriate behavior. An equally important aspect is to offer the child the possibility of autonomously performing the behaviors that are considered appropriate, including the initial moments in which this action has not just been fully executed correctly. Repeated practice will provide the improvement of behavior, so it is not advisable for the model to deprive the child of this autonomous practice.
  • F Acilitar in training in a divergent thinking : teach as a habit the idea that there is not, in many cases, a single solution to solve a particular problem can facilitate the establishment and development of creative capacity, as well as promoting active coping with possible adversities or events to overcome.
  • Provide opportunities that facilitate the practice of HHSS : the more varied the situations in which the child should develop, the more competition he will have before a greater number of social situations.An intrinsic characteristic of social situations is their spontaneity, which is going to facilitate that the child can start, in addition, the process of divergent reasoning indicated above.

Some conclusions

By way of conclusion, it can be extracted from the foregoing the infantile stage must be understood as a highly sensitive period for the acquisition of most of the learning .

The HHSS become a series of fundamental skills that can be placed at the same level (and even in a superior one) than other more instrumental learning such as linguistic aptitude or mathematics, since the development and individual-relational emotional stability of a person in vital stages Subsequent studies will derive from the consolidation of a repertoire of adaptive social skills during the initial periods.

Theories of Learning show how a large part of the teachings are transmitted by observation and imitation of models. In response to this premise, dThe fundamental role of the main socializing figures during the childhood stage should be underlined : parents and educators. Therefore, both parties should have sufficient and adequate resources to exercise positive and beneficial modeling in the recipient during their maturational growth.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bandura, A. (1999a). A social cognitive theory of personality. In L.Pervin & O.John (Eds.), Handbook of personality (2nd ed., Pp. 154-196). New York: Guilford.
  • Horse, V. (1993): Manual of therapy techniques and behavior modification. Madrid: XXL Century.
  • Horse, V. (1983). Manual of training and evaluation of social skills. Madrid: Siglo XXI.

Teaching Kids Social Skills When They Have None! (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les compétences sociales dans l'enfance: que sont-elles et comment les développer?

Les compétences sociales dans l'enfance: que sont-elles et comment les développer?

Mai 21, 2019

Ces derniers temps, on a pris davantage conscience de l’importance attribuée à l’acquisition de compétences sociales adaptatives au cours des premières années de la vie de l’être humain.

De manière générique, il a été possible de démontrer comment ce type de compétences conditionne le futur fonctionnement social et psychologique. d'un individu. On pourrait dire que l’influence est limitée à tous les domaines vitaux de la personne: professionnel, universitaire, interpersonnel et personnel.

Le concept de compétences sociales

Caballo en 1986 définit le concept de aptitudes sociales comme l'ensemble des comportements adoptés par un individu dans un contexte interpersonnel dans lequel il exprime des sentiments, des attitudes , souhaits, opinions ou droits d’une manière appropriée à la situation, respectant ces comportements d’autrui et permettant généralement de résoudre les problèmes immédiats de la situation tout en réduisant le risque de problèmes futurs.


Plusieurs comportements concrets sont susceptibles d’être inclus dans la catégorie des compétences sociales. Une classification simple distingue deux domaines principaux: comportement verbal et comportement non verbal . Chacune de ces catégories est composée de différentes dimensions plus concrètes

Comportement non verbal: gestes, tics, gestes ...

En ce qui concerne les aspects non verbaux de la communication, les variables suivantes peuvent être évaluées: l'expression faciale (qui indique le niveau d'intérêt et / ou la compréhension du message que le locuteur nous transmet), l'aspect (utile dans l'expression des émotions) , la posture (décrit l’attitude, l’état émotionnel et les sentiments personnels et ceux d’autrui), les gestes (augmenter ou remplacer le sens du message transmis), la proximité et le contact physique (les deux reflètent le type de relation et le lien entre les interlocuteurs - approximation ou la distance-), les touches vocales (tonalité et volume, vitesse, pauses, fluidité, etc. modulent la signification du message verbal exprimé) et l’aspect personnel (offre des informations sur les intérêts et les affinités) devient le principale.


Comportement verbal: ce que nous exprimons à travers le langage

Comportement verbal est utilisé pour communiquer des aspects cognitifs (tels que pensées, réflexions, opinions ou idées) ainsi que des émotions ou des sentiments Il permet également de rapporter des événements passés, de demander des informations, de justifier une opinion, etc.

Dans ce type de comportement, il est pertinent de considérer l'influence exercée par les facteurs liés à la situation dans laquelle le message est produit sur les caractéristiques des interlocuteurs, ainsi que sur les objectifs à atteindre avec lesdites informations. Une condition fondamentale pour le succès du processus de communication réside dans la nécessité pour l’émetteur et le destinataire de partager le code (le langage) par lequel ce comportement verbal est mis en oeuvre.

Apprendre des compétences sociales dans la petite enfance

Plus explicitement, l'apprentissage des compétences sociales est visiblement plus important dans les premières années de la vie car c’est au stade préscolaire et à l’école primaire que commencent les processus de socialisation de l’enfant.


Ces premières expériences sociales conditionneront la relation de l'enfant avec ses parents et ses proches, pairs et autres personnages plus ou moins éloignés de son environnement social. Pour parvenir à un processus de croissance et de développement émotionnel et cognitif adéquat, il est essentiel que l’enfant acquière des schémas comportementaux lui permettant d’atteindre ses objectifs à la fois au niveau personnel (estime de soi, autonomie, capacité de décision et prise en charge) et au niveau interpersonnel ( établissement de relations saines, sociales, amicales, romantiques, familiales, professionnelles, etc.).

Une autre raison qui pousse à souligner l’importance d’attribuer spécifiquement une partie des enseignements pour améliorer les compétences sociales dès le début est la conception erronée et traditionnelle répandue selon laquelle ce type de compétences est automatiquement assimilé au passage des le temps Conséquence de cette conviction, il est moins important de mettre l'accent sur ce type d'apprentissage et, par conséquent, l'enfant finit par ne pas intérioriser ces aspects si importants pour son développement.

Enfin, le fait d’être compétent dans le domaine des compétences sociales permet à l’enfant d’assimiler plus profondément et plus complètement un autre type de capacités telles que les capacités intellectuelles ou cognitives.

Quels sont les déficits de compétences sociales des enfants?

Un déficit de comportement dans la gestion des compétences sociales peut être dû aux causes suivantes:

  • Déficit de compétences générales : motivés par l'absence d'acquisition ou par l'expression d'un comportement social inapproprié.
  • Anxiété conditionnée: face à des expériences aversives passées ou due à un apprentissage par l'observation basé sur un modèle inapproprié, la personne peut avoir un niveau d'anxiété élevé qui l'empêche de donner cette réponse adaptative.
  • Mauvaise évaluation cognitive Lorsque l'individu présente un concept de soi négatif associé à un fonctionnement cognitif pessimiste, il peut éviter certaines actions car il met en doute sa propre compétence dans une telle situation. Afin d'éviter l'inconfort engendré par cette auto-évaluation, l'enfant évitera de tels comportements.
  • Manque de motivation pour agir Si la conséquence suivie sur la performance d'un comportement social approprié ne se produit pas ou présente un caractère neutre pour l'individu, ce comportement perdra sa valeur de renforcement et cessera d'être émis.
  • Le sujet ne sait pas discriminer r: face à l'ignorance des droits affirmés que doit posséder chaque personne, il est impossible de distinguer si ces droits sont violés ou non dans une situation donnée. Par conséquent, il n'émettra pas cette action socialement compétente et affirmée.
  • Obstacles environnementaux restrictifs Si l'environnement rend difficile la manifestation ouverte de comportements sociaux appropriés, ceux-ci auront tendance à ne pas se produire dans un tel contexte (en particulier dans des environnements familiaux autoritaires, contrôlants et non affectifs).

L'adulte en tant que modèle d'apprentissage des compétences sociales des enfants

Comme l'ont expliqué les théories de l'apprentissage de Bandura et d'autres experts, deux sont les éléments fondamentaux pour que le processus d'apprentissage ait lieu .

Le premier facteur concerne le type de conséquences et leur éventualité temporaire après l’émission d’un comportement spécifique. Lorsqu'un comportement est suivi d'une conséquence agréable, la fréquence du comportement a tendance à augmenter, tandis que dans le cas où la conséquence du comportement est désagréable et contingente, la tendance sera de diminuer ou d'éliminer un tel comportement.

La deuxième variable fait référence à la reproduction de comportements basée sur l'observation de modèles ou de références comportementales .

Étant donné qu'il s'agit des principales sources qui motivent l'apprentissage comportemental, la nature des attitudes et la typologie cognitivo-comportementale des éducateurs d'adultes sont très pertinentes. Ces chiffres sont responsables de l’application de certaines conséquences aux comportements des enfants et représentent des modèles qui serviront de référence dans l'exécution de comportements par les enfants.

Clés éducatives dans le domaine des compétences sociales

Pour toutes ces raisons, il est important de garder à l'esprit que, du fait du premier et du second cas, leurs pratiques doivent être adéquates pour garantir à l'enfant l'apprentissage d'un répertoire comportemental compétent et satisfaisant. En particulier quatre sont les attitudes fondamentales que les adultes doivent présenter pour atteindre le but déclaré :

  • Offrir un modèle approprié : la figure du modèle doit exécuter des répertoires comportementaux adéquats à tout moment, car si l'enfant observe des divergences de comportement en fonction de la situation ou de l'interlocuteur, il / elle ne sera pas en mesure d'internaliser correctement lequel appliquer, où et comment. D'autre part, il convient de prendre en compte que les enfants sont également susceptibles de reproduire les comportements mésadaptés observés dans les modèles s'ils sont réalisés dans le contexte réel de manière habituelle. Les personnes de référence doivent faire preuve de compétence dans l'expression de leur propre opinion et de leurs propres sentiments, faire des demandes, réaffirmer leur point de vue et rejeter les verbalisations inappropriées de manière juste et respectueuse.
  • Valoriser les aspects positifs Comme mentionné précédemment, pour que le comportement approprié augmente sa fréquence, il est fondamental de récompenser l'émetteur de cette action avec une conséquence positive et contingente dans le temps. De nombreuses études montrent que le renforcement positif est la méthodologie la plus efficace des quatre principes du conditionnement opérant (renforcement positif / négatif et punition positive / négative), dans une mesure plus large que la critique ou la menace de comportement inapproprié. Un autre aspect tout aussi important est d’offrir à l’enfant la possibilité d’exécuter de manière autonome les comportements jugés appropriés, y compris les moments initiaux au cours desquels cette action n’a pas été exécutée correctement. Une pratique répétée améliorera le comportement. Il est donc déconseillé au modèle de priver l'enfant de cette pratique autonome.
  • F Acilitar en formation dans une pensée divergente : enseigner comme habitude l’idée qu’il n’existe pas, dans de nombreux cas, une solution unique pour résoudre un problème particulier peut faciliter l’établissement et le développement de la capacité créative, ainsi que la promotion d’une gestion active des adversités ou des événements à surmonter.
  • Fournir des opportunités qui facilitent la pratique du HHSS : plus les situations dans lesquelles l'enfant doit se développer sont variées, plus il aura de concurrence face à un plus grand nombre de situations sociales.Une caractéristique intrinsèque des situations sociales est leur spontanéité, ce qui facilitera le démarrage de l’enfant, en plus du processus de raisonnement divergent indiqué ci-dessus.

Quelques conclusions

En conclusion, il peut être extrait de ce qui précède. le stade infantile doit être compris comme une période extrêmement sensible pour l’acquisition de la plupart des connaissances .

Les HHSS deviennent une série de compétences fondamentales qui peuvent être placées au même niveau (et même supérieur) que d’autres apprentissages plus instrumentaux tels que les aptitudes linguistiques ou les mathématiques, puisque le développement et la stabilité émotionnelle relationnelle d’une personne en phase vitale Les études ultérieures découleront de la consolidation d'un répertoire de compétences sociales adaptatives au cours des premières périodes.

Les théories de l'apprentissage montrent comment une grande partie des enseignements est transmise par l'observation et l'imitation de modèles. En réponse à cette prémisse, dIl convient de souligner le rôle fondamental des principales figures socialisantes pendant l’enfance. : parents et éducateurs. Par conséquent, les deux parties devraient disposer de ressources suffisantes et adéquates pour exercer un modèle positif et bénéfique chez le receveur au cours de sa croissance en cours de maturation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bandura, A. (1999a). Une théorie sociale cognitive de la personnalité. Dans L.Pervin & O.John (Eds.), Manuel de la personnalité (2e éd., Pp. 154-196). New York: Guilford.
  • Cheval, V. (1993): Manuel de techniques de thérapie et de modification du comportement. Madrid: XXL siècle.
  • Horse, V. (1983). Manuel de formation et d'évaluation des compétences sociales. Madrid: Siglo XXI.

L'apprentissage des compétences sociales et émotionnelles à l'école (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes