yes, therapy helps!
Socio-affective well-being: what it is and how it influences us

Socio-affective well-being: what it is and how it influences us

June 24, 2021

One of the worst pitfalls we can fall into when deciding how we want to live is to assume that only we influence our own well-being. That is why the concept of socio-emotional well-being is so important .

Throughout this article we will see what socio-affective well-being consists of, and why it is a central concept of both psychology and social sciences.

  • Related article: "Psychological well-being: 15 habits to achieve it"

What is socio-affective well-being?

Socio-affective well-being is the set of biological, contextual and relational factors that allow us to feel good , in a global and holistic sense. It is, in short, to feel good about oneself and the material and social context in which one lives.


It is important to take into account, for example, that the people who have all the basic needs covered (that is, those that have to do with maintaining a good state of health in real time, or very short term) may feel very bad for several reasons: a work environment in which punishments prevail, a poor social life, etc.

That's why, in the same way that mental disorders are not simply experienced "from the inside out", but the environment also influences how you live, the same happens with our well-being.

The concept of socio-emotional well-being means that happiness and health go from being phenomena that must be treated individually to much more complex phenomena, for which the public and collective management of the environment also counts. Therefore, the public administration also has the duty to worry about this issue.


  • Article by psychologist Bertrand Regader: "Metacognition: what it is, concept and theories"

Contextual elements that influence this

To help better understand what social-emotional well-being is, it is good to review some examples of aspects of our environment that influence this . Let's see them

1. Presence or absence of abuse

This is a very important element, and more considering that Abuse is not always physical or involves injuries , but it can become psychological and very subtle.

  • Related article: "The 9 types of abuse and their characteristics"

2. Number of social and environmental stimuli

It is not the same to live in a place with a very rich variety of novelties and stimuli, than to do it in a solitary hut in the middle of a desert. In the long run, monotony and lack of novelties leave a mark on mental health .


3. Presence or absence of discrimination

Discrimination continues to be a very present social problem and is suffered by several vulnerable groups. Therefore, it has an impact on the social-emotional well-being of people who suffer from this discrimination and, to a lesser extent, that of other citizens who have evidence of the fragility of the social fabric in which they live .

  • You may be interested: "The 16 types of discrimination (and their causes)"

4. Presence of solidarity culture

Solidarity allows the less favored people to receive help from those who are in a better situation. Due, it is a logic that runs in the opposite direction to individualism , and part of a collectivist conception of society in which socio-emotional well-being has a great importance.

Socio-affective well-being in the vital stages

The needs to which the socio-emotional well-being must respond evolve as we go through the stages of life. Let's see several examples of this.

Childhood

During childhood, physical contact with the father or mother is especially important, as well as the existence of a rich communication both in the content and in the emotional charge that is expressed through gestures and language.

In addition, it is important to have a rich environment that promotes learning and the development of curiosity.

Adolescence

In adolescence, it is especially important to have healthy relationships with peer group members (friends and classmates). Self-identity and self-esteem develop, in large part, depending on how other people treat us.

Post-adolescence

From approximately 15 to 20 years of age, the need for develop an independent life and perceive one's own self-efficacy . Knowing how to do everything adults do allows them to feel part of society.

Adulthood

From age 20 to 45, approximately, social problems and intellectual concerns become more important. Access to culture In order to learn in a self-taught way, they gain strength, since they seek to cultivate their own knowledge.At the same time, the importance of others' opinions about oneself is not given much importance, given that self-concept is much better consolidated than before.

Mature age

In this stage there is a tendency to value stability more in relation to what has been achieved over the years. In the same way, the risk of isolation due to a frequent decline in the number of friends It also worries and can endanger socio-emotional well-being.


Social Thinking: Crash Course Psychology #37 (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Bien-être socio-affectif: de quoi s'agit-il et comment cela nous influence

Bien-être socio-affectif: de quoi s'agit-il et comment cela nous influence

Janvier 22, 2021

L’un des pires pièges dans lesquels nous puissions tomber pour décider de notre mode de vie est de supposer que nous influons uniquement sur notre bien-être. C’est pourquoi le concept de bien-être socio-émotionnel est si important .

Tout au long de cet article, nous verrons en quoi consiste le bien-être socio-affectif et pourquoi il s’agit d’un concept central de la psychologie et des sciences sociales.

  • Article connexe: "Bien-être psychologique: 15 habitudes pour l'atteindre"

Qu'est-ce que le bien-être socio-affectif?

Le bien-être socio-affectif est l’ensemble des facteurs biologiques, contextuels et relationnels qui nous permettent de nous sentir bien , dans un sens global et holistique. En bref, il faut se sentir bien dans sa peau et dans le contexte matériel et social dans lequel on vit.


Il est important de prendre en compte, par exemple, que les personnes qui ont tous les besoins de base couverts (c'est-à-dire ceux liés au maintien d'un bon état de santé en temps réel ou à très court terme) peuvent se sentir très mal pour plusieurs raisons: un environnement de travail dans lequel les punitions prévalent, une vie sociale médiocre, etc.

C'est pourquoi, tout comme les troubles mentaux ne sont pas simplement vécus «de l'intérieur», mais que l'environnement influence également votre façon de vivre, il en va de même pour notre bien-être.

Le concept de bien-être socio-émotionnel signifie que bonheur et santé vont de phénomènes qu'il faut traiter individuellement à des phénomènes beaucoup plus complexes, pour lesquels la gestion publique et collective de l'environnement compte également. Par conséquent, l'administration publique a également le devoir de s'inquiéter de ce problème.


  • Article du psychologue Bertrand Regader: "La métacognition: qu'est-ce que c'est, concept et théories"

Éléments contextuels qui influencent cette

Pour aider à mieux comprendre ce qu'est le bien-être socio-émotionnel, il est bon d'examiner quelques exemples d’aspects de notre environnement qui influencent cette . Voyons les

1. Présence ou absence d'abus

C'est un élément très important, d'autant plus que L'abus n'est pas toujours physique ou implique des blessures , mais cela peut devenir psychologique et très subtil.

  • Article connexe: "Les 9 types d'abus et leurs caractéristiques"

2. Nombre de stimuli sociaux et environnementaux

Ce n’est pas la même chose de vivre dans un lieu riche en nouveautés et en stimulants, que de le faire dans une hutte solitaire au milieu d’un désert. En fin de compte, la monotonie et le manque de nouveautés marquent la santé mentale .


3. Présence ou absence de discrimination

La discrimination continue d’être un problème social très présent et touche plusieurs groupes vulnérables. Par conséquent, cela a un impact sur le bien-être socio-émotionnel des personnes souffrant de cette discrimination et, dans une moindre mesure, sur celui d'autres citoyens qui ont la fragilité du tissu social dans lequel ils vivent .

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 16 types de discrimination (et leurs causes)"

4. Présence de culture solidaire

La solidarité permet aux moins favorisés de recevoir de l'aide de ceux qui sont dans une meilleure situation. Comme conséquence, c'est une logique qui va dans le sens opposé à l'individualisme , et fait partie d’une conception collectiviste de la société dans laquelle le bien-être socio-affectif a une grande importance.

Bien-être socioaffectif aux étapes vitales

Les besoins auxquels le bien-être socio-émotionnel doit répondre évoluent au fil des étapes de la vie. Voyons plusieurs exemples de cela.

Enfance

Au cours de l’enfance, le contact physique avec le père ou la mère est particulièrement important, de même que l'existence d'une communication riche à la fois dans le contenu et dans la charge émotionnelle qui s'exprime à travers les gestes et le langage.

En outre, il est important de disposer d’un environnement riche qui favorise l’apprentissage et le développement de la curiosité.

Adolescence

À l'adolescence, il est particulièrement important d'avoir relations saines avec les membres du groupe de pairs (amis et camarades de classe). L’identité et l’estime de soi se développent en grande partie en fonction de la façon dont les autres nous traitent.

Post-adolescence

De 15 à 20 ans environ, le besoin de développer une vie indépendante et percevoir sa propre efficacité . Savoir faire tout ce que font les adultes leur permet de se sentir partie intégrante de la société.

L'âge adulte

Entre 20 et 45 ans environ, les problèmes sociaux et les préoccupations intellectuelles deviennent plus importants. Accès à la culture Afin d'apprendre de manière autodidacte, ils acquièrent de la force puisqu'ils cherchent à cultiver leurs propres connaissances.Dans le même temps, on ne donne pas beaucoup d'importance aux opinions des autres sur soi-même, car la notion de soi est beaucoup mieux consolidée qu'auparavant.

Âge mûr

A ce stade, on a tendance à valoriser davantage la stabilité par rapport à ce qui a été réalisé au fil des ans. De la même manière, le risque d'isolement dû à une baisse fréquente du nombre d'amis Cela inquiète aussi et peut mettre en danger le bien-être socio-émotionnel.


Comment se faire respecter ? (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes