yes, therapy helps!
Somatosensory cortex: parts, functions and associated pathologies

Somatosensory cortex: parts, functions and associated pathologies

March 1, 2021

Each region of the human brain has specific functions and charges, ranging from controlling the voluntary and involuntary movement of our muscles, enabling the production of language or receiving and interpreting all the sensations that come from our environment.

This last function is possible thanks to the somatosensory cortex , a very specific brain area that we will talk about throughout this article. In addition, we will describe their specific regions and what happens when they suffer some type of injury.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the somatosensory cortex?

The concept of somatosensory cortex refers to a specific brain area located in the parietal lobe . As its name suggests, this lobe is under the parietal bone of the skull and in terms of size, the parietal lobe is one of the largest among those that make up the skull.


Among all the areas that define the temporal lobe, the somatosensory cortex is responsible for processing and treating sensory information that comes from the dermis, muscles and joints.

Among the functions of the somatosensory cortex, is that of receive and interpret all that information that comes from the tactile system . The sensations of pain, temperature, pressure, as well as the ability to perceive the size, texture and shape of objects are also possible thanks to this section of the cerebral cortex.

In the same way, the somatosensory area of ​​the brain is also responsible for receiving and transmitting information related to the position in which our body is located with respect to the space that surrounds it.


In summary, the main functions of the somatosensory cortex are:

  • Processing of the sensations of pain .
  • Processing of tactile information.
  • Processing of thermal sensations.
  • Processing of vibratory sensations.
  • Voluntary movements of the hands.
  • Movement of the orofacial musculature.
  • Voluntary swallow .

Finally, each of the specific areas within the somatosensory cortex are specialized in interpreting the sensory information of certain specific areas of our body. These areas are divided between the primary somatosensory area and the somatosensory association area, which are described in the third and fourth points of this same article.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Nociceptors (pain receptors): definition and types"

Layers of the somatosensory cortex

Like the rest of the cerebral cortex, the somatosensory cortex is formed by a series of layers that have their own and well-defined functions. Specifically, The somatosensory cortex is formed by six layers of nervous tissue .


The first of these layers is the outer one, the one that is closest to the brain surface. Among its functions is to send sensitive signals that stimulate the fourth layer. In addition, both the first tissue layer and the second receive signals that control the level of excitability of the sensory system.

As for the second and third layer of the somatosensory cortex, the neurons that compose it are responsible for sending, through the corpus callosum, signals to the related regions of the corresponding cerebral cortex of the opposite hemisphere.

Finally, the fifth and the sixth layer have as main and only function send neuronal signals to the deeper areas of the nervous system .

Primary somatosensory area

As specified at the beginning of the article, the somatosensory cortex is divided into two specific areas. The first of these is the primary somatosensory area. This area is the main one in charge of the treatment of somatic sensations .

The information in which these sensations are stored is sent by the receivers that are located throughout the entire body. These receptors receive information from the outside regarding touch, pain and temperature and the information that allows us to know what position or situation our body is in. At the same moment in which these receptors perceive any of these sensations, they transmit the information to the primary somatosensory cortex through the nerve fibers found in the thalamus.

The primary somatosensory cortex refers to areas 1, 2 and 3 of the 52 brain regions described by Brodmann, which they are located concretely in the postcentral gyrus , occupying both the lateral and medial zones.

As mentioned in the first point, each of the regions of the somatosensory cortex, in this case the primary somatosensory cortex, is specialized in receiving information from a specific area of ​​our body. This disposition is a function of the sensitivity level of the different body areas, so very sensitive areas such as the lips, hands or genitals, which have a large number of nerve endings, require many more neural circuits and an area in the cortex much more extensive.

There is a graphic or somatotopic representation of this distribution of the primary sensory cortex. This picture is known as sensory homunculus or Penfield . It depicts a map of the cerebral cortex in which they show how the different organs and senses of the body have a specific place in the brain.

Further. in the sensory homunculus the size of the organs represented is a function of the number of nerve endings that it possesses and of the functional importance of the specific area. That is, the more endings, the greater the size of the representation.

Lesions of the primary somatosensory cortex

Any type of injury or deterioration caused in this area can cause numerous alterations in the ability to perceive sensations. Among these dysfunctions are:

  • Decrease or loss of pain and thermal sensations
  • Alterations in the ability to perceive the position of one's own body and movements
  • Impairment of sensations and tactile functions

Somatosensory association area

The second region of the somatosensory cortex is known as the somatosensory area or association cortex. It produces the union and integration of all the information corresponding to the general sensations .

Thanks to this area of ​​the cortex, we can recognize and identify the stimuli and objects that surround us; since it allows the evaluation and understanding of the general characteristics of these.

For this, this area of ​​association, located in areas 5 and 7 Brodmann, receives bundles of fibers that come from the primary somatosensory area and that are loaded with sensory information ready to process.

Lesions of the somatosensory cortex of association

In the cases in which this region suffers any type of damage or degradation, the ability to perceive the general sensations of the environment is maintained. However, the brain is completely incapable of integrating and give a sense to this information .

This is the case of agnosias, in which the main problem is a deficit in the recognition of objects and people.


Cerebral cortex | Organ Systems | MCAT | Khan Academy (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Cortex somatosensoriel: éléments, fonctions et pathologies associées

Cortex somatosensoriel: éléments, fonctions et pathologies associées

Juillet 30, 2021

Chaque région du cerveau humain a des fonctions et des charges spécifiques, allant du contrôle des mouvements volontaires et involontaires de nos muscles à la production du langage, en passant par la réception et l'interprétation de toutes les sensations issues de notre environnement.

Cette dernière fonction est possible grâce au cortex somatosensoriel , une région cérébrale très spécifique dont nous parlerons tout au long de cet article. En outre, nous décrirons leurs régions spécifiques et ce qui se passe quand ils subissent un type de blessure.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Qu'est-ce que le cortex somatosensoriel?

Le concept de cortex somatosensoriel fait référence à une zone spécifique du cerveau située dans le lobe pariétal . Comme son nom l'indique, ce lobe est situé sous l'os pariétal du crâne et, en termes de taille, le lobe pariétal est l'un des plus grands parmi ceux constituant le crâne.


Parmi toutes les zones qui définissent le lobe temporal, le cortex somatosensoriel est responsable du traitement et du traitement des informations sensorielles provenant du derme, des muscles et des articulations.

Parmi les fonctions du cortex somatosensoriel, se trouve celle de recevoir et interpréter toutes les informations provenant du système tactile . Les sensations de douleur, température, pression, ainsi que la capacité de percevoir la taille, la texture et la forme des objets sont également possibles grâce à cette section du cortex cérébral.

De la même manière, la région somatosensorielle du cerveau est également responsable de la réception et de la transmission d'informations relatives à la position de notre corps par rapport à l'espace qui l'entoure.


En résumé, les fonctions principales du cortex somatosensoriel sont:

  • Traitement de les sensations de douleur .
  • Traitement des informations tactiles.
  • Traitement des sensations thermiques.
  • Traitement des sensations vibratoires.
  • Mouvements volontaires des mains.
  • Mouvement de la musculature orofaciale.
  • Hirondelle volontaire .

Enfin, chacune des zones spécifiques du cortex somatosensoriel est spécialisée dans l'interprétation des informations sensorielles de certaines zones spécifiques de notre corps. Ces zones sont divisées entre la zone somatosensorielle primaire et la zone d'association somatosensorielle, décrites dans les troisième et quatrième points de ce même article.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Nociceptors (récepteurs de la douleur): définition et types"

Couches du cortex somatosensoriel

Comme le reste du cortex cérébral, le cortex somatosensoriel est formé par une série de couches qui ont leurs propres fonctions bien définies. Plus précisément Le cortex somatosensoriel est formé de six couches de tissu nerveux .


La première de ces couches est la plus externe, celle qui est la plus proche de la surface du cerveau. L'une de ses fonctions est d'envoyer des signaux sensibles qui stimulent la quatrième couche. De plus, la première couche de tissu et la seconde reçoivent des signaux qui contrôlent le niveau d'excitabilité du système sensoriel.

En ce qui concerne les deuxième et troisième couches du cortex somatosensoriel, les neurones qui la composent sont responsables de l'envoi, à travers le corps calleux, de signaux aux régions connexes du cortex cérébral correspondant de l'hémisphère opposé.

Enfin, les cinquième et sixième couches ont pour fonction principale et unique envoyer des signaux neuronaux aux zones les plus profondes du système nerveux .

Zone somatosensorielle primaire

Comme indiqué au début de l'article, le cortex somatosensoriel est divisé en deux zones spécifiques. Le premier de ceux-ci est la région somatosensorielle primaire. Cette zone est le principal en charge du traitement des sensations somatiques .

Les informations dans lesquelles ces sensations sont stockées sont envoyées par les récepteurs situés dans tout le corps. Ces récepteurs reçoivent de l’extérieur des informations sur le toucher, la douleur et la température, ainsi que des informations nous permettant de connaître la position ou la situation de notre corps. Au moment même où ces récepteurs perçoivent l'une de ces sensations, ils transmettent l'information au cortex somatosensoriel primaire par les fibres nerveuses trouvées dans le thalamus.

Le cortex somatosensoriel primaire fait référence aux zones 1, 2 et 3 des 52 régions du cerveau décrites par Brodmann, qui ils se situent concrètement dans le gyrus postcentral , occupant à la fois les zones latérale et médiale.

Comme indiqué dans le premier point, chacune des régions du cortex somatosensoriel, en l'occurrence le cortex somatosensoriel primaire, est spécialisée dans la réception d'informations provenant d'une zone spécifique de notre corps. Cette disposition est fonction du niveau de sensibilité des différentes zones du corps. Des zones très sensibles telles que les lèvres, les mains ou les organes génitaux, qui comportent un grand nombre de terminaisons nerveuses, nécessitent beaucoup plus de circuits neuronaux et une zone dans le cortex beaucoup plus étendu.

Il existe une représentation graphique ou somatotopique de cette distribution du cortex sensoriel primaire. Cette image est connu comme homoncule sensoriel ou Penfield . Il représente une carte du cortex cérébral dans lequel ils montrent comment les différents organes et sens du corps occupent une place spécifique dans le cerveau.

En outre. dans l'homoculus sensoriel, la taille des organes représentés est fonction du nombre de terminaisons nerveuses qu'il possède et de l'importance fonctionnelle de la région spécifique. Autrement dit, plus le nombre de fins est élevé, plus la taille de la représentation est grande.

Lésions du cortex somatosensoriel primaire

Tout type de blessure ou de détérioration causé dans cette zone peut causer de nombreuses altérations dans la capacité de percevoir les sensations. Parmi ces dysfonctionnements figurent:

  • Diminution ou perte de la douleur et des sensations thermiques
  • Altérations dans la capacité à percevoir la position de son propre corps et de ses mouvements
  • Altération des sensations et des fonctions tactiles

Zone d'association somatosensorielle

La deuxième région du cortex somatosensoriel est connue comme la région somatosensorielle ou cortex d'association. Il produit l'union et l'intégration de toutes les informations correspondant aux sensations générales .

Grâce à cette zone du cortex, nous pouvons reconnaître et identifier les stimuli et les objets qui nous entourent. puisqu'il permet l'évaluation et la compréhension des caractéristiques générales de ceux-ci.

Pour cela, cette zone d’association, située dans les zones 5 et 7 Brodmann, reçoit des faisceaux de fibres provenant de la zone somatosensorielle primaire et qui sont chargés d’informations sensorielles prêtes à être traitées.

Lésions du cortex somatosensoriel d'association

Dans les cas où cette région subit tout type de dommage ou de dégradation, la capacité à percevoir les sensations générales de l'environnement est maintenue. Cependant, le cerveau est complètement incapable d'intégrer et donner un sens à cette information .

C'est le cas des agnosias, dans lesquels le principal problème est un déficit de reconnaissance des objets et des personnes.


Système nerveux central et système nerveux périphérique (Juillet 2021).


Articles Connexes