yes, therapy helps!
Spina bifida: types, causes and treatment

Spina bifida: types, causes and treatment

November 29, 2022

The nervous system is one of the first components that begin to develop during our development, when we are still fetuses. Throughout the first month of pregnancy, in fact, already begins to close the neural tube that will configure our brain and spinal cord.

These will be surrounded and protected by the skull and spine. However, in some cases there is a malformation that prevents the neural tube and spine from closing, remaining open to some degree so that the nerve bundles it contains can suffer various injuries. We are talking about spina bifida .

  • Related article: "Spinal cord: anatomy, parts and functions"

What is spina bifida?

We understand spina bifida a type of malformation produced during fetal development in which part of the neural tube does not completely close during the first month of pregnancy, so that the spine does not fully protect the nerves that go down through it and the spinal cord is exposed to injuries and injuries of varying severity. Sometimes this opening is visible, although in other cases it is hidden by the skin.


Spina bifida may not generate symptoms in some cases, but depending on the type of malformation, its location and the existence of possible damage to it can generate severe dangerous problems for the subject. The closer the brain is to the opening, the more serious of the symptomatology to be damaged a greater amount of nerves.

Some of the typical symptoms of subjects with spina bifida, specifically due to the presence of lesions in the marrow due to this malformation, may be the presence of gastrointestinal disorders, lack of control of the sphincters and urethra, weakness and lack of sensitivity of the lower limbs or the areas below the injury and it is even possible that there is a total paralysis of these areas.


It must be taken into account that in some cases the opening of the neural tube is very close to the skull and that it can generate alterations such as hydrocephalus or meningitis, with risk of mortality for the affected. Learning problems and even intellectual disabilities can occur in some cases.

  • You may be interested: "The strange case of Noah, the child without a brain"

Types of spina bifida

Spina bifida is a problem that can occur in different ways, so it is possible to establish different subtypes depending on their characteristics.

1. Spina bifida oculi

It is the form of presentation with less repercussion for the subject, and it is the most common manifestation of spina bifida.

In this case one or more vertebrae have not formed correctly and may have openings, although the nervous tissue remains inside. The malformation is hidden by skin. The subject may have holes or bumps on the back . It does not usually cause serious disabilities, but there may be deformities, incontinence, insensibility in one of the limbs or weakness.


2. Cystic or open spina bifida

In this type of spina bifida part of the marrow or meninges protrude outside the vertebrae, having a high level of danger for the subject who suffers from the protruding nervous material and not being protected. These They usually form a sac full of cerebrospinal fluid and of the outstanding material that can be observed externally.

Within this type we can find two subtypes .

Meningocele

In this case we find a malformation in which the marrow meninges protrude , the injury may be exposed or protected by the skin. However, what stands out is only the meninx and cerebrospinal fluid, with the nerve bundles still inside the spine.

Myelomeningocele

This is the most severe form of spina bifida . In it the marrow is exposed and protrudes through the opening of the spine. In other words, bundles of nerve fibers do not have bone protection, but are exposed on the outside of the spine. It can suppose serious paralysis that prevents bipedal locomotion and the loss of sensitivity and strength of the innervated areas.

The possible causes

Spina bifida it is a congenital condition, although not hereditary . Although the elements and mechanisms that cause the neural tube does not finish closing are unknown, it is an alteration that occurs during the fetal development of the individual, and that is usually associated with the presence of low levels of folic acid during pregnancy . There is also speculation about the possibility that there is some kind of genetic influence.

There are other elements that can be risk factors , such as the use of certain psychotropic drugs during pregnancy (for example valproic acid), the presence of high fevers during this or the age at which pregnancy begins (adolescents and very old people may have greater risk).

Treatment

Spina bifida is a disorder that does not have a totally curative treatment , at least with regards to damaged nerves. However, it is possible to perform various types of surgery that allow repositioning neuronal matter and protect it.

In the case of subjects with spina bifida occulta, treatment may not be necessary (in fact, in many cases it is not detected until advanced ages). While there may be anchor problems of the marrow that during growth can cause problems. In this case, yes it would be necessary to perform surgery .

In cases of open spina bifida or cystic if an intervention is necessary. In the case of myelomeningocele it is necessary close the tube and protect the neural bundles . At present it is possible to perform the intervention even in the fetal stage, so that the problem is corrected before delivery so as to avoid more damage than already exists, although it is a matter of treatments that can pose a certain danger for the patient. fetus as for the mother.

Other problems of spine or bone derived from spina bifida may require treatments and surgeries beyond those described above. In cases with hydrocephalus, excess cerebrospinal fluid should also be treated.

Prevention in pregnancy

Another way to avoid this problem is through prevention. It is recommended that during pregnancy the future mother incorporates folic acid into her diet , or take supplements of this one.

Special caution is necessary with those adolescent or very old mothers, and in the case of an epileptic person who takes valproic acid to consult with his doctor or psychiatrist possible effects of this medicine or the possibility of using other anticonvulsants as an alternative.


Fetal Spina Bifida: Comprehensive Guide on Diagnosis, Treatment & Surgery (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Spina bifida: types, causes et traitement

Spina bifida: types, causes et traitement

Août 27, 2022

Le système nerveux est l'un des premiers composants qui commencent à se développer au cours de notre développement, alors que nous sommes encore des fœtus. Au cours du premier mois de grossesse, en fait, déjà commence à fermer le tube neural qui configurera notre cerveau et la moelle épinière.

Ceux-ci seront entourés et protégés par le crâne et la colonne vertébrale. Cependant, dans certains cas, il existe une malformation qui empêche le tube neural et la colonne vertébrale de se fermer et reste ouverte dans une certaine mesure, de sorte que les faisceaux nerveux qu’il contient puissent subir diverses blessures. On parle de spina bifida .

  • Article connexe: "Moelle épinière: anatomie, pièces et fonctions"

Qu'est-ce que le spina bifida?

Nous comprenons le spina bifida un type de malformation produite pendant le développement fœtal dans laquelle une partie du tube neural ne se ferme pas complètement au cours du premier mois de grossesse, de sorte que la colonne vertébrale ne protège pas complètement les nerfs qui le traversent et que la moelle épinière soit exposée à des lésions et des blessures de gravité variable. Parfois, cette ouverture est visible, mais dans d'autres cas, elle est masquée par la peau.


Le spina bifida peut ne pas générer de symptômes dans certains cas, mais, en fonction du type de malformation, sa localisation et son éventuel dommage peuvent générer de graves problèmes de danger pour le sujet. Plus le cerveau est proche de l'ouverture, plus grave de la symptomatologie à être endommagé une plus grande quantité de nerfs.

Certains des symptômes typiques des sujets atteints de spina bifida, en particulier en raison de la présence de lésions dans la moelle à cause de cette malformation, peuvent être des troubles gastro-intestinaux, un manque de contrôle des sphincters et de l'urètre, une faiblesse et un manque de sensibilité des membres inférieurs ou les zones en dessous de la blessure et il est même possible qu'il y ait une paralysie totale de ces zones.


Il faut tenir compte du fait que dans certains cas l’ouverture du tube neural est très proche du crâne et qu’elle peut générer des altérations telles que l’hydrocéphalie ou la méningite, avec un risque de mortalité pour les personnes touchées. Des problèmes d'apprentissage et même une déficience intellectuelle peuvent survenir dans certains cas.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Le cas étrange de Noé, l'enfant sans cerveau"

Types de spina bifida

Le spina bifida est un problème qui peut survenir de différentes manières. Il est donc possible d’établir différents sous-types en fonction de leurs caractéristiques.

1. Spina bifida oculi

C'est la forme de présentation qui a le moins de répercussions sur le sujet et c'est la manifestation la plus courante du spina bifida.

Dans ce cas, une ou plusieurs vertèbres ne se sont pas formées correctement et peuvent avoir des ouvertures, bien que le tissu nerveux reste à l'intérieur. La malformation est cachée par la peau. Le sujet peut avoir des trous ou des bosses sur le dos . Cela ne cause généralement pas d'invalidité grave, mais il peut y avoir des difformités, de l'incontinence, une insensibilité dans l'un des membres ou une faiblesse.


2. Spina bifida kystique ou ouvert

Dans ce type de spina bifida, une partie de la moelle osseuse ou des méninges font saillie à l'extérieur des vertèbres, présentant un niveau de danger élevé pour le sujet qui souffre du matériel nerveux saillant et qui n'est pas protégé. Ces Ils forment généralement un sac rempli de liquide céphalo-rachidien et du matériel remarquable qui peut être observé à l'extérieur.

Dans ce type on peut trouver deux sous-types .

Méningocèle

Dans ce cas, nous trouvons une malformation dans laquelle les méninges font saillie , la blessure peut être exposée ou protégée par la peau. Cependant, ce qui ressort est uniquement le liquide méninx et le liquide céphalo-rachidien, les faisceaux nerveux restant à l'intérieur de la colonne vertébrale.

Myéloméningocèle

C'est la forme la plus grave de spina bifida . La moelle y est exposée et dépasse par l’ouverture de la colonne vertébrale. En d'autres termes, les faisceaux de fibres nerveuses ne sont pas protégés contre les os, mais sont exposés à l'extérieur de la colonne vertébrale. Cela peut supposer une paralysie grave empêchant la locomotion bipède, la perte de sensibilité et la force des zones innervées.

Les causes possibles

Spina Bifida c'est une condition congénitale, bien que non héréditaire . Bien que les éléments et les mécanismes qui empêchent le tube neural de finir de se fermer ne soient pas connus, il s'agit d'une altération qui survient pendant le développement fœtal de l'individu et qui est généralement associée à la présence de faibles niveaux d'acide folique pendant la grossesse. . Il y a également des spéculations sur la possibilité qu'il existe une sorte d'influence génétique.

Il y a d'autres éléments qui peuvent être des facteurs de risque , comme l’utilisation de certains psychotropes pendant la grossesse (par exemple l’acide valproïque), la présence de fortes fièvres pendant cet âge ou le début de la grossesse (le risque est plus élevé chez les adolescents et les personnes très âgées).

Traitement

Le spina bifida est un trouble qui n'a pas de traitement totalement curatif , du moins en ce qui concerne les nerfs endommagés. Cependant, il est possible de pratiquer différents types de chirurgie permettant de repositionner et de protéger la matière neuronale.

Dans le cas de sujets atteints de spina bifida occulta, un traitement peut ne pas être nécessaire (en fait, dans de nombreux cas, il n'est pas détecté avant l'âge avancé). Bien qu'il puisse y avoir des problèmes d'ancrage de la moelle osseuse, ceux-ci peuvent causer des problèmes pendant la croissance. Dans ce cas, oui il serait nécessaire d'effectuer une intervention chirurgicale .

En cas de spina bifida ouvert ou kystique si une intervention est nécessaire. Dans le cas de myéloméningocèle, il est nécessaire fermez le tube et protégez les faisceaux neuronaux . À l'heure actuelle, il est possible d'effectuer l'intervention même au stade fœtal, de sorte que le problème soit corrigé avant l'accouchement, de manière à éviter plus de dommages que ce qui existe déjà, bien qu'il s'agisse de traitements pouvant présenter un certain danger pour le patient. fœtus comme pour la mère.

D'autres problèmes de colonne vertébrale ou d'os dérivés du spina bifida peuvent nécessiter des traitements et des chirurgies autres que ceux décrits ci-dessus. En cas d'hydrocéphalie, l'excès de liquide céphalorachidien doit également être traité.

Prévention pendant la grossesse

Un autre moyen d'éviter ce problème consiste à prévenir. Il est recommandé que pendant la grossesse la future mère incorpore de l'acide folique à son alimentation , ou prendre des suppléments de celui-ci.

Une prudence particulière est nécessaire avec les mères adolescentes ou très âgées et, dans le cas d'une personne épileptique prenant de l'acide valproïque, de consulter son médecin ou son psychiatre sur les éventuels effets de ce médicament ou sur la possibilité d'utiliser d'autres anticonvulsivants.


Fetal Spina Bifida: Comprehensive Guide on Diagnosis, Treatment & Surgery (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes