yes, therapy helps!
SSRI: types, functioning and effects of this antidepressant

SSRI: types, functioning and effects of this antidepressant

April 30, 2024

Of all the psychopharmaceuticals, the serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) are the most prescribed both in Spain and in most industrialized countries. This type of antidepressant is popular for several reasons: it is indicated for more prevalent disorders such as major depression or anxiety disorders, are effective and their side effects are almost always well tolerated.

If we understand why depression occurs, we can also understand how SSRIs are effective in treatment and through what mechanism they act . We will briefly review its operation, what its properties and adverse effects are and in what disorders it is more frequent to be prescribed.


  • Related article: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

What is an SSRI?

Although it can be cumbersome, it is necessary to understand how neurons work at the cellular level when they communicate with each other through neurotransmitters in order to understand how inhibitors of serotonin reuptake modify neuronal activity.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

Release and reuptake of serotonin

When the neurons communicate with each other, the presynaptic neuron (the emitter of chemicals that the other will receive) releases neurotransmitters into the synaptic space, which they are picked up by the receptors of the postsynaptic neuron . In the case of neurotransmitter circuits called serotonin, neurons use this neurotransmitter to communicate. One neuron releases serotonin into space and the other picks it up, understanding that it must be activated.


What happens is that not all neurotransmitters are received and sometimes floating in the intersynaptic space. There are some pumps that are responsible for cleaning this excess neurotransmitter and returning it to the presynaptic neuron.

In depression and other disorders it is hypothesized that there is very little serotonin in this space, so that postsynaptic neurons, hungry for serotonin, create many receptors to receive neurotransmitters but do not activate and do not release anything, as in a state of hibernation .

The SSRIs block the recapture bombs and allow more and more serotonin to accumulate in space. The postsynaptic neurons, as they perceive that the concentration of serotonin in space is greater and there is more neurotransmitter available, begin to decrease the number of recipients because they no longer believe they need so many. The neuron relaxes its strict norm of not releasing anything, and begins to let go of serotonin and to activate the rest of neurons of the circuit.


Types of SSRIs

Not all SSRIs are the same. Each drug uses a different active ingredient that will have a specific therapeutic dose. Also, as each active ingredient acts on different serotonin receptors , its side effects will also be different. It is this relationship between efficacy, safety and tolerance of the drug that defines whether it is preferable to use one or the other.

Below you can see a list of the SSRIs marketed. In pharmacies we will find them under different trade names depending on the country. For example, Fluoxetine is more widely known as Prozac , or escitalopram under the name of Cipralex:

  • Citalopram
  • Escitalopram
  • Fluoxetine
  • Fluvoxamine
  • Paroxetine
  • Sertraline

Safety, tolerance and side effects

In general, SSRI psychoactive drugs are safe . Contrary to what happens with lithium salts, the toxic dose is difficult to reach by mistake when we take SSRIs. Also, do not produce the same tolerance as other drugs such as benzodiazepines, so it is not necessary to increase the dose by the properties of SSRI.

On the other hand, the side effects that it produces are minor . They can produce nausea, dry mouth, sweating, anorgasmia, decreased sexual desire and blurred vision, among others much less frequent. Abrupt cessation of SSRI use, even if it does not generate addiction, can cause withdrawal symptoms, as the brain becomes accustomed to the presence of the substance. For this reason, the withdrawal of the drug is gradual.

The SSRIs interact with many other medications , so that close supervision by the psychiatrist who prescribes them is necessary. For example, there are some antidepressants that remain in the system for days or weeks after cessation of administration. When someone taking this type of antidepressant changes to SSRIs, the effects of the previous medication that has not yet been excreted and that of the SSRIs may overlap.This causes the patient to suffer a serotonin syndrome, an excess of serotonin that causes a confusional state, agitation, headache, nausea, etc. and must be treated urgently.

Uses in psychiatry

In the same way as tricyclic antidepressants, SSRIs are used for a wide variety of disorders. Naturally, the main use is in patients with major depressive episodes or depressive symptoms. The use of SSRIs It is very effective to end depressive symptomatology that can be found in patients with anxiety disorders, personality disorders, gender dysphoria, bulimia nervosa, autism, etcetera.

Since serotonin is also implicated in anxiety, the benefit of SSRIs in anxiety disorders is often double. On the one hand it appeases the negative state of mind, and on the other it reduces the experience of anxiety . Especially in patients who experience chronic levels of anxiety as in generalized anxiety disorder, in obsessive-compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress or acute stress reactions will be very useful serotonin reuptake inhibitors.

These patients, when taking SSRIs, experience a significant decrease in anxiety levels. This allows them to relax the worries and anxiety that torments them, recovering a large part of their quality of life and leading a functional life.


Pharmacology - ANTIDEPRESSANTS - SSRIs, SNRIs, TCAs, MAOIs, Lithium ( MADE EASY) (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
ISRS: types, fonctionnement et effets de cet antidépresseur

ISRS: types, fonctionnement et effets de cet antidépresseur

Septembre 12, 2022

De tous les psychopharmaceutiques, les inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS) sont les médicaments les plus prescrits en Espagne et dans la plupart des pays industrialisés. Ce type d'antidépresseur est populaire pour plusieurs raisons: il est indiqué pour les troubles plus répandus tels que la dépression majeure ou les troubles anxieux, sont efficaces et leurs effets secondaires sont presque toujours bien tolérés.

Si nous comprenons pourquoi la dépression survient, nous pouvons aussi comprendre comment les ISRS sont efficaces dans le traitement et par quel mécanisme ils agissent . Nous passerons brièvement en revue son fonctionnement, ses propriétés et ses effets indésirables et dans quels désordres il est plus fréquent de se faire prescrire.


  • Article connexe: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

Qu'est-ce qu'un ISRS?

Bien que cela puisse être lourd, il est nécessaire de comprendre le fonctionnement des neurones au niveau cellulaire lorsqu’ils communiquent entre eux par l’intermédiaire de neurotransmetteurs afin de comprendre comment les inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine modifient l’activité neuronale.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Libération et recapture de la sérotonine

Lorsque les neurones communiquent les uns avec les autres, le neurone présynaptique (émetteur de substances chimiques que l’autre recevra) libère des neurotransmetteurs dans l’espace synaptique, ils sont captés par les récepteurs du neurone postsynaptique . Dans le cas des circuits neurotransmetteurs appelés sérotonine, les neurones utilisent ce neurotransmetteur pour communiquer. Un neurone libère de la sérotonine dans l'espace et l'autre le détecte, comprenant qu'elle doit être activée.


Ce qui se passe, c'est que tous les neurotransmetteurs ne sont pas reçus et flottent parfois dans l'espace intersynaptique. Certaines pompes sont chargées de nettoyer ce neurotransmetteur en excès et de le restituer au neurone présynaptique.

Dans la dépression et d'autres troubles, on suppose qu'il y a très peu de sérotonine dans cet espace, de sorte que les neurones postsynaptiques, avides de sérotonine, créent de nombreux récepteurs pour recevoir des neurotransmetteurs mais ne s'activent pas et ne libèrent rien, comme dans un état d'hibernation .

Les ISRS bloquent les bombes de reprise et permettre à de plus en plus de sérotonine de s'accumuler dans l'espace. Les neurones postsynaptiques, car ils perçoivent que la concentration de sérotonine dans l'espace est plus grande et qu'il y a davantage de neurotransmetteurs disponibles, commencent à diminuer le nombre de récepteurs car ils ne croient plus qu'ils en ont besoin. Le neurone assouplit sa norme stricte de ne rien libérer, et commence à lâcher prise de sérotonine et à activer le reste des neurones du circuit.


Types d'ISRS

Tous les ISRS ne sont pas identiques. Chaque médicament utilise un principe actif différent qui aura une dose thérapeutique spécifique. Aussi, comme chaque principe actif agit sur différents récepteurs de la sérotonine , ses effets secondaires seront également différents. C'est cette relation entre l'efficacité, la sécurité et la tolérance du médicament qui détermine s'il est préférable d'utiliser l'un ou l'autre.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des ISRS commercialisés. Dans les pharmacies, nous les trouverons sous différents noms commerciaux selon les pays. Par exemple, La fluoxétine est plus connue sous le nom de Prozac ou escitalopram sous le nom de Cipralex:

  • Citalopram
  • Escitalopram
  • La fluoxétine
  • Fluvoxamine
  • La paroxétine
  • Sertraline

Sécurité, tolérance et effets secondaires

En général, les médicaments psychoactifs ISRS sont sans danger . Contrairement à ce qui se passe avec les sels de lithium, la dose toxique est difficile à atteindre par erreur quand on prend des ISRS. En outre, ne produisez pas la même tolérance que d'autres médicaments tels que les benzodiazépines, il n'est donc pas nécessaire d'augmenter la dose en fonction des propriétés du SSRI.

D'un autre côté, les effets secondaires qu'il produit sont mineurs . Ils peuvent produire des nausées, une bouche sèche, des sueurs, une anorgasmie, une diminution du désir sexuel et une vision floue, entre autres beaucoup moins fréquents. L'arrêt brusque de l'utilisation des ISRS, même si cela ne génère pas de dépendance, peut provoquer des symptômes de sevrage, car le cerveau s'habitue à la présence de la substance. Pour cette raison, le retrait du médicament est progressif.

Les ISRS interagir avec de nombreux autres médicaments , de sorte qu’une surveillance étroite par le psychiatre qui les prescrit est nécessaire. Par exemple, certains antidépresseurs restent dans le système pendant des jours ou des semaines après la fin de l'administration. Lorsqu'une personne prenant ce type d'antidépresseur se transforme en ISRS, les effets du médicament précédent qui n'a pas encore été excrété et ceux des ISRS peuvent se chevaucher.Cela provoque chez le patient un syndrome sérotoninergique, un excès de sérotonine qui provoque un état confusionnel, une agitation, des maux de tête, des nausées, etc. et doit être traité de toute urgence.

Utilisations en psychiatrie

De la même manière que les antidépresseurs tricycliques, les ISRS sont utilisés pour une grande variété de troubles. Naturellement, l'utilisation principale est chez les patients présentant des épisodes dépressifs majeurs ou des symptômes dépressifs. L'utilisation des ISRS Il est très efficace de mettre fin à la symptomatologie dépressive que l'on peut trouver chez les patients souffrant de troubles anxieux, de troubles de la personnalité, de dysphorie de genre, de boulimie mentale, d'autisme, etc.

Étant donné que la sérotonine est également impliquée dans l'anxiété, le bénéfice des ISRS dans les troubles anxieux est souvent double. D'un côté, il apaise l'état d'esprit négatif et de l'autre, réduit l'expérience d'anxiété . Les inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine sont particulièrement utiles chez les patients présentant des niveaux d'anxiété chroniques tels que le trouble anxieux généralisé, les troubles obsessionnels compulsifs, le stress post-traumatique ou les réactions de stress aiguë

Ces patients, lorsqu'ils prennent des ISRS, connaissent une diminution significative du niveau d'anxiété. Cela leur permet d’atténuer les inquiétudes et les angoisses qui les tourmentent, en recouvrant une grande partie de leur qualité de vie et en menant une vie fonctionnelle.


Des antidépresseurs qui poussent à la violence et au suicide ? (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes