yes, therapy helps!
Stanley Schachter: biography of this psychologist and researcher

Stanley Schachter: biography of this psychologist and researcher

November 19, 2023

Our emotions are internal forces that continuously affect our behavior and perception, but whose exact functioning has been a great unknown throughout history. This has generated many researchers have tried to offer a scientific explanation of why and when an emotion arises, there being a variety of theories in this regard.

One of them is the one Stanley Schachter did with Jerome Singer, the first of them being an important psychologist specialized in social psychology. In order to better understand his work, it may be useful to know a little more about the life of this author. That is why throughout this article we will see a short biography of Stanley Schachter .


  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

The life of Stanley Schachter: a biography

The birth of Stanley Schachter occurred on April 15, 1922 in Flushing, New York. Coming from a family of Jews of Romanian origin, he was the son of Nathan Schacter and Anna Fruchter. Since childhood he was curious and capable, eager to learn and when he was something older expressing the desire to study at the university.

Academic training and war

Once finished his secondary education the young Schachter proceeded to enroll in the University of Yale, entering to study history of art. He graduated in that career in 1942 and after finishing it He made the decision to also do a master's degree in psychology apparently closer to their interests and able to work on social problems. In this sense he was deeply influenced by Clark Hull and his theory of learning. He obtained the master's degree in 1944.


At that time the Second World War was in full swing, and once his master Schachter finished he enlisted in the army, where he would be promoted to sergeant and in which his main role would be to work studying the visual problems of the pilots in the biophysics division of the aero-medical laboratory. His military service ended two years later, in 1946.

Doctorate

Later and during the same year the American psychologist he signed up to do a research doctorate at MIT with Kurt Lewin , pretending to focus on the theories related to social psychology and especially the behavior of groups within the Research Center for Group Dynamics. There he would meet those who would end up being great authors, like Festinger, but unfortunately only one year later his teacher passed away. The death of Lewin caused the center to close the project and all the students had to find another center.


After some time looking for Schachter, he was accepted to continue his training at the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan. There he would return to work with Festinger, who in fact became his mentor , and next to him he studied social influence and human communication.

He finished his doctorate in 1949, with a thesis regarding the treatment provided by the members of a group to the existence of divergences regarding the majority opinion.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Kurt Lewin and Field Theory: the birth of social psychology"

Start of working life

Based on his work during the PhD, the University of Minnesota offered him his first job as an assistant professor in the department of social relations research . Little by little he would be promoted in the ranks, becoming associate professor in 54 and full professor in 1958.

At this time he continued his research regarding the relationships and behavior of the groups and developing different works, regarding social communication and pressure within the groups. I would also end up writing, together with Festinger and Riecken, the publication "When the prophecy fails", in which we studied the case of a group with apocalyptic beliefs that, despite the evidence against them, maintained their beliefs regarding the imminent destruction of the world. This made the author interested even more in the power of social influence , something that made him investigate further and produce various publications, which earned him interesting prizes and prestige. A total of twelve years would remain in his post.

However, in 1961 he was hired by Columbia University as a professor of psychology. That same year he married Sophia Duckworth , with whom he would end up having a son in 1969. He would occupy the position until 1992. It would be during this period that he would carry out some of his most outstanding contributions.

Great investigations

First, he worked on elements such as the effects of birth order on siblings or the reaction and sensitivity of the obese population to food stimuli (they eat more if the food can be obtained easily). He was also interested in the physiological reactions to the stimuli, and little by little an interest in understanding and investigating the functioning and origin of the emotions and the physical reactions that accompany them was born. Other relevant investigations would be those related to substances , especially in the case of habituation and dependence on tobacco.

But undoubtedly his best-known contribution is the one he made in the late sixties, when he would come into contact and begin to collaborate with Jerome Singer and other authors in order to find out how we experience emotions.

In what would become the largest and best known work of both authors, Singer and Schachter would come to the conclusion that the emotion is the result of the presence of an internal mental activation at the physiological level and a series of processes with which we try to name and recognize the activation in question.

For these authors the emotion felt would come after the physiological reaction, that is to say that first the body presents activation and then our mind grants to said activation a meaning or sense based on the situation and previous experience. This implies that emotion is no more than the labeling at the conscious level of the interpretation of our physical and mental activity.

Last years and death

Schachter remained at his post and doing various research the rest of his life until 1992. At that time he would cease his relationship with the University of Minnesota. A few years later the author discovered that he was suffering from a malignant tumor: colon cancer . The death came to Schachter on June 7, 1997, when the cancer ended with him at his home in New York.

Schachter's legacy is great. While among the population is probably not one of the best known names, the truth is that it is among some of the most recognized authors especially at the level of study on emotions. In addition, the diversity of his research makes him think of him as one of the precursors of health psychology.

Bibliographic references:

  • Nisbett, R.E. (2000). Stanley Schachter 1922-1997. Biographical Memoirs, 78. National Academy of Sciences. The National Academy Press. Washington, D.C.

Emotion: Schachter & Singer's Two Factor Theory (November 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Stanley Schachter: biographie de ce psychologue et chercheur

Stanley Schachter: biographie de ce psychologue et chercheur

Janvier 4, 2023

Nos émotions sont des forces internes qui affectent en permanence notre comportement et notre perception, mais dont le fonctionnement exact a été une grande inconnue à travers l'histoire. Cela a généré de nombreux chercheurs qui ont tenté d’expliquer scientifiquement pourquoi et quand une émotion se présentait, diverses théories étant à cet égard.

L’un d’eux est celui que Stanley Schachter a fait avec Jerome Singer, le premier d’entre eux étant un important psychologue spécialisé en psychologie sociale. Afin de mieux comprendre son travail, il peut être utile d’en savoir un peu plus sur la vie de cet auteur. C’est pourquoi tout au long de cet article, nous verrons une courte biographie de Stanley Schachter .


  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

La vie de Stanley Schachter: une biographie

La naissance de Stanley Schachter a eu lieu le 15 avril 1922 à Flushing, New York. Issu d’une famille de Juifs d’origine roumaine, il était le fils de Nathan Schacter et Anna Fruchter. Depuis son enfance, il était curieux et capable, désireux d'apprendre et, lorsqu'il était un peu plus âgé, d'exprimer le désir d'étudier à l'université.

Formation académique et guerre

Une fois ses études secondaires terminées, le jeune Schachter s’inscrivit à l’Université de Yale pour étudier l’histoire de l’art. Il a obtenu son diplôme en 1942 et l'a terminé Il a également décidé de faire une maîtrise en psychologie. apparemment plus proches de leurs intérêts et capables de travailler sur des problèmes sociaux. En ce sens, il a été profondément influencé par Clark Hull et sa théorie de l’apprentissage. Il a obtenu son diplôme de maîtrise en 1944.


A cette époque, la Seconde Guerre mondiale battait son plein et une fois que son maître Schachter eut terminé il s'est enrôlé dans l'armée, où il serait promu au grade de sergent et dans lequel son rôle principal serait de travailler à étudier les problèmes visuels des pilotes de la division de biophysique du laboratoire aéromédical. Son service militaire prit fin deux ans plus tard, en 1946.

Doctorat

Plus tard et au cours de la même année, le psychologue américain il s'est inscrit pour faire un doctorat de recherche au MIT avec Kurt Lewin , prétendant se concentrer sur les théories liées à la psychologie sociale et en particulier sur le comportement des groupes au sein du centre de recherche sur la dynamique des groupes. Il y rencontrerait ceux qui deviendraient de grands auteurs, comme Festinger, mais malheureusement, un an plus tard, son professeur est décédé. La mort de Lewin a amené le centre à fermer le projet et tous les étudiants ont dû trouver un autre centre.


Après quelque temps à la recherche de Schachter, il a été accepté pour poursuivre sa formation à l’Institute for Social Research de l’Université du Michigan. Là, il reviendrait travailler avec Festinger, qui devint en fait son mentor. et à ses côtés, il a étudié l'influence sociale et la communication humaine.

Il termine son doctorat en 1949, avec une thèse sur le traitement fourni par les membres d'un groupe à l'existence de divergences sur l'opinion de la majorité.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Kurt Lewin et la théorie des champs: la naissance de la psychologie sociale"

Début de la vie professionnelle

Sur la base de ses travaux au doctorat, l’Université du Minnesota lui offre son premier poste de professeur adjoint au département de recherche sur les relations sociales . Peu à peu, il sera promu dans les rangs, devenant professeur associé à 54 ans et professeur titulaire en 1958.

À cette époque, il poursuit ses recherches sur les relations et le comportement des groupes et développe différentes œuvres, sur la communication sociale et la pression au sein des groupes. Je finirais également par écrire, avec Festinger et Riecken, la publication "When the prophecy failed" (Échec de la prophétie) dans laquelle nous avons étudié le cas d'un groupe de personnes ayant des croyances apocalyptiques qui, malgré les preuves dont ils disposaient, maintenaient leurs convictions concernant la destruction imminente du monde. Cela a rendu l'auteur encore plus intéressé par le pouvoir de l'influence sociale , ce qui l’a poussé à poursuivre ses recherches et à produire diverses publications, ce qui lui a valu des prix intéressants et du prestige. Douze ans resteraient à son poste.

Cependant, en 1961, il fut engagé par l'Université de Columbia en tant que professeur de psychologie. La même année, il épouse Sophia Duckworth avec lequel il finira par avoir un fils en 1969. Il occupera ce poste jusqu'en 1992. C’est au cours de cette période qu’il réalisera certaines de ses contributions les plus remarquables.

Grandes enquêtes

Tout d'abord, il a travaillé sur des éléments tels que les effets de l'ordre de naissance sur les frères et sœurs ou la réaction et la sensibilité des obèses aux stimuli alimentaires (ils mangent plus si la nourriture peut être obtenue facilement). Il s’intéressait également aux réactions physiologiques aux stimuli, et s’intéressait peu à peu à la compréhension et à l’étude du fonctionnement et de l’origine des émotions et des réactions physiques qui les accompagnaient était né. Les autres enquêtes pertinentes seraient celles relatives aux substances , en particulier en cas d’habituation et de dépendance au tabac.

Mais sa contribution la plus connue est sans doute celle qu'il a faite à la fin des années 1960, lorsqu'il a été mis en contact et a commencé à collaborer avec Jerome Singer et d'autres auteurs afin de découvrir comment nous vivons les émotions.

Dans ce qui deviendrait le travail le plus important et le plus connu des deux auteurs, Singer et Schachter en viendraient à la conclusion que l'émotion est le résultat de la présence d'une activation mentale interne au niveau physiologique et une série de processus avec lesquels nous essayons de nommer et de reconnaître l'activation en question.

Pour ces auteurs, l'émotion ressentie viendrait après la réaction physiologique, c'est-à-dire que le corps présente d'abord l'activation, puis que notre esprit accorde à cette activation un sens ou un sens basé sur la situation et l'expérience antérieure. Cela implique que l’émotion n’est rien de plus que l’étiquetage au niveau conscient de l’interprétation de notre activité physique et mentale.

Dernières années et mort

Schachter resta à son poste et effectua diverses recherches jusqu'à la fin de sa vie jusqu'en 1992. À ce moment-là, il cesserait ses relations avec l'Université du Minnesota. Quelques années plus tard, l'auteur découvrit qu'il souffrait d'une tumeur maligne: un cancer du colon. . La mort est arrivée à Schachter le 7 juin 1997, lorsque le cancer a pris fin chez lui à son domicile à New York.

L'héritage de Schachter est formidable. Bien que parmi la population ne soit probablement pas l’un des noms les plus connus, la vérité est qu’il fait partie des auteurs les plus reconnus, en particulier au niveau de l’étude des émotions. De plus, la diversité de ses recherches le fait penser à lui comme à l’un des précurseurs de la psychologie de la santé.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Nisbett, R.E. (2000). Stanley Schachter 1922-1997. Mémoires biographiques, 78. Académie nationale des sciences. La presse de l'Académie nationale. Washington, D.C.
Articles Connexes