yes, therapy helps!
Stendhal syndrome: extreme emotions before beauty

Stendhal syndrome: extreme emotions before beauty

December 3, 2022

It is usual experience certain sensations when we have before us a stimulus that motivates them .

However, there are people with a great sensitivity to these stimuli, and they react exceptionally to the emotions that a work of art, a landscape or a film awakens.

Stendhal syndrome: discovering a singular disorder

In these extreme cases, we usually talk about "Stendhal syndrome ", Also known as" Traveler Syndrome "or" Florence Syndrome ".

The history of Stendhal Syndrome

In the year 1817, Henri-Marie Beyle, a French writer who used the pseudonym Stendhal, moved to the Italian city of Florence seduced by the colossal beauty and monumentality of the city, as well as his close connection with the best Renaissance artists. Once there, visiting the Basilica of the Holy Cross, he was able to describe a series of sensations and emotions that, decades later, would be recognized as the symptoms of the syndrome. In his writing Naples and Florence: A trip from Milan to Reggio, he recounted the sensations experienced in these terms:


"I had reached that level of emotion in which the celestial sensations given by the Fine Arts and the passionate feelings are tripped. Leaving Santa Croce, my heart was beating, life was exhausted in me, I was afraid to fall. "

The recurrence of this type of sensations, which caused dizziness, dizziness and fading, was documented as a unique case in the city of Florence, but science did not create a differentiated syndrome in this picture until, in 1979, the Florentine psychiatrist Graziella Magherini defined it and categorized it as Stendha syndromel.

Has Stendhal Syndrome been oversized? Really exist?


It is undeniable that some artistic expressions arouse emotions: the bristling of the hair listening to a song or the tears watching a romantic movie, are reactions that all people have experienced.

However, the Stendhal Syndrome refers to the experimentation of very intense sensations in front of an artistic piece, normally because of its beauty .

Today, many clinical psychologists recognize the disorder as true, but there is some controversy about it. After its coinage at the end of the 70s, at a historic moment in which globalization led to an increase in travelers on a global scale and to Florence in particular, l The number of reported cases increased considerably , which led to the Syndrome was also known as "Florence Syndrome".


For this reason that a part of the scientific community qualify that the excessive disclosure of the syndrome could be motivated by economic interests on the part of the city of Florence itself, to increase the reputation of the beauty of its artistic monuments, in order to attract an even greater number of visitors.

The key could be in the suggestion

Also, the interest aroused by Stendhal syndrome opens certain questions, such as reflecting if we are not paying ground and increasing the predisposition to experience these types of sensations described by Stendhal moved by a deep state of suggestion .

Bibliographic references:

  • Chalmers, D. (1999). The conscious mind: in search of a fundamental theory. Barcelona: Gedisa
  • Gómez Milán, E; Pérez Dueñas, C. Conscience: the brain puzzle
  • Magherini, G. Stendhal syndrome. Ed. Espasa Calpe, Madrid, 1990
  • Stendhal, Rome, Naples and Florence. Ed. Pretextos, 1999.

The Stendhal Syndrome (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Stendhal: des émotions extrêmes avant la beauté

Syndrome de Stendhal: des émotions extrêmes avant la beauté

Avril 16, 2021

C'est habituel ressentez certaines sensations lorsque nous avons devant nous un stimulus qui les motive .

Cependant, certaines personnes sont très sensibles à ces stimuli et réagissent de manière exceptionnelle aux émotions qu'une œuvre d'art, un paysage ou un film suscitent.

Syndrome de Stendhal: découverte d'un trouble singulier

Dans ces cas extrêmes, on parle généralement de "Syndrome de Stendhal ", Également connu sous le nom de" Syndrome du voyageur "ou" Syndrome de Florence ".

L'histoire du syndrome de Stendhal

En 1817, Henri-Marie Beyle, écrivain français utilisant le pseudonyme de Stendhal, s'installe dans la ville italienne de Florence, séduit par la beauté colossale et la monumentalité de la ville, ainsi que par son lien étroit avec les meilleurs artistes de la Renaissance. Une fois sur place, visitant la basilique Sainte-Croix, il a pu décrire une série de sensations et d'émotions qui, des décennies plus tard, seraient reconnues comme les symptômes du syndrome. Dans ses écrits Naples et Florence: Un voyage de Milan à Reggio, il a relaté les sensations vécues en ces termes:


"J'avais atteint ce niveau d'émotion dans lequel les sensations célestes données par les Beaux-Arts et les sentiments passionnés sont déclenchés. En quittant Santa Croce, mon cœur battait, ma vie était épuisée, j'avais peur de tomber. "

La récurrence de ce type de sensations, qui a provoqué vertiges, vertiges et évanouissements, a été documentée comme un cas unique à Florence, mais la science n’a pas créé de syndrome différencié dans cette image avant qu’en 1979, le Le psychiatre florentin Graziella Magherini l’a défini et catégorisé comme suit: Syndrome de Stendhal.

Le syndrome de Stendhal est-il surdimensionné? Est-ce que ça existe vraiment?


Il est indéniable que certaines expressions artistiques suscitent des émotions: les cheveux hérissés qui écoutent une chanson ou les larmes qui regardent un film romantique sont des réactions que tous ont vécues.

Cependant, le syndrome de Stendhal fait référence à l’expérimentation de sensations très intenses devant une pièce artistique, normalement à cause de sa beauté .

Aujourd'hui, de nombreux psychologues cliniciens reconnaissent que le trouble est vrai, mais il existe une controverse à ce sujet. Après la frappe à la fin des années 70, à un moment historique où la mondialisation entraînait une augmentation du nombre de voyageurs à l'échelle mondiale et à Florence en particulier, l Le nombre de cas signalés a considérablement augmenté , qui a conduit au syndrome était également connu sous le nom de "syndrome de Florence".


Pour cette raison, une partie de la communauté scientifique considère que la divulgation excessive du syndrome pourrait être motivée par les intérêts économiques de la ville de Florence même, afin d'accroître la réputation de la beauté de ses monuments artistiques, afin d'attirer un nombre encore plus grand de visiteurs.

La clé pourrait être dans la suggestion

De plus, l’intérêt suscité par le syndrome de Stendhal soulève certaines questions, telles que réfléchir si nous ne payons pas de terrain et augmenter la prédisposition à expérimenter ces types de sensations décrites par Stendhal, émues par une profonde état de suggestion .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Chalmers, D. (1999). L'esprit conscient: à la recherche d'une théorie fondamentale. Barcelone: ​​Gedisa
  • Gómez Milán, E; Pérez Dueñas, C. Conscience: le casse-tête
  • Magherini, syndrome de G. Stendhal. Ed. Espasa Calpe, Madrid, 1990
  • Stendhal, Rome, Naples et Florence. Ed. Pretextos, 1999.

video (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes