yes, therapy helps!
Stephen Jay Gould: biography of this paleontologist and evolutionary biologist

Stephen Jay Gould: biography of this paleontologist and evolutionary biologist

June 17, 2024

Stephen Jay Gould (1941-2002) was a geologist, paleontologist and historian of American science, who has been very influential in the theory of evolution, as well as in the dissemination of scientific knowledge in different areas.

It is recognized to this day as one of the legends of twentieth century science. Next we will make a brief tour through the life and work of this scientist through a short biography of Stephen Jay Gould .

  • Related article: "The theory of biological evolution"

Stephen Jay Gould: biography of this influential scientist

Stephen Jay Gould was born on September 10, 1941 in the borough of Queens in New York City. He was the son of a veteran stenographer of World War II, and an artist daughter of immigrant Jews who lived and worked in Manhattan, New York.


Both Stephen Jay Gould and his younger brother grew up in northeastern Queens, a middle class neighborhood where Jay had the opportunity to attend school. At the age of 19 he studied at the Antioch school, where participated in several student movements for civil rights and social justice , especially against segregationist policies for racialization.

In fact, much of his later work was focused on denouncing different forms of oppression by cultural differences, and strongly criticized the scientific racism that impregnated the production of research at that time. For Gould, scientific theories that had racist biases were nothing but pseudoscience used in the service of racism.


However, Stephen Jay Gould is best known for his work in paleontology, whose interest began at a young age, after visiting the dinosaur exhibit at the American Museum of Natural History in New York.

During his stay at Antioch College, Stephen Jay he specialized as a geologist and philosopher , and later he did some courses at the University of Leed in England. He continued his training at Columbia University under the tuition of geologist and paleontologist Norman Newell, and was eventually hired by Harvard University, where he served as professor and curator at the museum of comparative zoology.

Gould has been a very important researcher for evolutionary theory , becoming one of the three authors most cited in the journal Palaeobiology (found only after Darwin and Simpson). But not only that, but he is recognized as an important historian of science and as one of the best scientific disseminators. Especially after having worked for a long time for Natural History magazine.


Stephen Jay Gould died in New York City on May 20, 2002 because of a lung cancer that had spread to other parts of the body.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 branches of Biology: its objectives and characteristics"

Main theories

As we have seen, Stephen Jay Gould he served not only as a paleontologist but as a biologist and historian of science . He is known for having developed theories on evolutionary biology that were in strong opposition to nascent sociobiology, since he considered it a deterministic vision of society. On the other hand, their theories were also in opposition to evolutionary psychology, considering it a deterministic perspective of human individual action.

However, he also acknowledged several of the contributions of both branches, and at the same time remained aloof from Darwinian determinism . He also defended the hierarchical theory of evolution as a way to extend the classical theories of Darwin. In line with the above, Gould was firmly positioned against the thesis of creationism and against the collaboration between science and religion.

Theory of punctuated equilibrium

Perhaps the most recognized theory of Stephen Jay Gould is the Theory of punctuated equilibrium, developed together with another American paleontologist named Niles Eldredge. In this theory, based on fossil records, he proposes that evolution has occurred through a certain rhythm .

This rhythm has the main characteristic of having occurred in a branched way, that is to say that, from a first species, many others gradually emerged. Genetic changes in this process have occurred during periods of stability with minor modifications, interspersed with changes that occur relatively quickly.

Unlike previous theories that proposed that a disappeared species was followed by another more evolved, and so on; the punctuated equilibrium suggests that the same ancient species could give rise to many different species in a branched (or punctuated) manner. This theory it represented a very important neo-Darwinian revolution to understand evolution.

Awards and distinctions

In 1982, Gould received the Alexander Agassiz Prize (professor of zoology), from Harvard University. The following year the membership was granted to the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences and six years later, He was named president of it .

He also served as president of the paleontological society and the society of studies on evolution. Finally was named in 1989 member of the National Academy of Sciences , and in 2001, a year before his death, he was named the Humanist of the Year by the American Humanist Association.

Outstanding works

Its most recognized dissemination texts are The fake measure of man from 1980, The wonderful life, 1999 and From Darwin, from 1977, which was his first published book. Likewise, his last published book, where summarized the theory of modern evolution according to their own investigations . It's about the book The structure of the theory of evolution, of the year 2002.

Other of his works, where he addressed the differences between science and religion, are Once upon a time the hedgehog and the fox, from 2003, and Science versus religion, a false conflict, of 1999.

Bibliographic references:

  • Stephen Jay Gould (2018). Encyclopaedia Britannica. Retrieved September 19, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/Stephen-Jay-Gould
  • Stephen Jay Gould, Ph D. (2018). Academy of Achievement. Retrieved September 19, 2018. Available at //www.achievement.org/achiever/stephen-jay-gould/

A Glorious Accident (6 of 7) Stephen Jay Gould: The Unanswerable (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Stephen Jay Gould: biographie de ce paléontologue et biologiste de l'évolution

Stephen Jay Gould: biographie de ce paléontologue et biologiste de l'évolution

Janvier 17, 2023

Stephen Jay Gould (1941-2002) était un géologue, paléontologue et historien de la science américaine, qui a exercé une grande influence sur la théorie de l'évolution ainsi que sur la diffusion des connaissances scientifiques dans différents domaines.

Il est reconnu à ce jour comme l'une des légendes de la science du vingtième siècle. Ensuite, nous ferons un bref survol de la vie et du travail de ce scientifique à travers une courte biographie de Stephen Jay Gould .

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de l'évolution biologique"

Stephen Jay Gould: biographie de ce scientifique influent

Stephen Jay Gould est né le 10 septembre 1941 à New York dans le Queens. Il était le fils d'un ancien sténographe de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et une artiste artiste de juifs immigrants qui vivait et travaillait à Manhattan, dans l'État de New York.


Stephen Jay Gould et son jeune frère ont tous deux grandi dans le nord-est de Queens, un quartier de classe moyenne où Jay a eu l'occasion d'aller à l'école. À l'âge de 19 ans, il a étudié à l'école d'Antioche, où a participé à plusieurs mouvements étudiants pour les droits civils et la justice sociale , en particulier contre les politiques ségrégationnistes de racialisation.

En fait, une grande partie de ses travaux ultérieurs visait à dénoncer différentes formes d'oppression par des différences culturelles et à critiquer fortement le racisme scientifique qui imprégnait la production de recherche à cette époque. Pour Gould, les théories scientifiques comportant des préjugés racistes n'étaient rien d'autre que des pseudosciences utilisées au service du racisme.


Cependant, Stephen Jay Gould est surtout connu pour son travail en paléontologie, dont l'intérêt a commencé dès son plus jeune âge, après avoir visité l'exposition sur les dinosaures au musée américain d'histoire naturelle de New York.

Pendant son séjour à Antioch College, Stephen Jay il s'est spécialisé en tant que géologue et philosophe et plus tard, il suivit des cours à l’Université de Leed en Angleterre. Il a poursuivi sa formation à l'Université Columbia sous la tutelle du géologue et paléontologue Norman Newell. Il a finalement été embauché par l'Université Harvard, où il a été professeur et conservateur au musée de zoologie comparée.

Gould a été un chercheur très important pour la théorie de l'évolution , devenant l'un des trois auteurs les plus cités dans la revue Palaeobiology (trouvée seulement après Darwin et Simpson). Mais pas seulement, il est reconnu comme un historien de la science important et comme l’un des meilleurs diffuseurs scientifiques. Surtout après avoir longtemps travaillé pour le magazine Natural History.


Stephen Jay Gould est décédé à New York le 20 mai 2002 des suites d’un cancer du poumon qui s’était propagé à d’autres parties du corps.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Les 10 branches de la biologie: objectifs et caractéristiques"

Principales théories

Comme nous l'avons vu, Stephen Jay Gould il a servi non seulement comme paléontologue mais aussi comme biologiste et historien des sciences . Il est connu pour avoir développé des théories sur la biologie de l'évolution qui étaient fortement opposées à la sociobiologie naissante, car il la considérait comme une vision déterministe de la société. D'autre part, leurs théories s'opposaient également à la psychologie de l'évolution, la considérant comme une perspective déterministe de l'action individuelle de l'homme.

Cependant, il a également reconnu plusieurs des contributions des deux branches, et en même temps resté à l'écart du déterminisme darwinien . Il a également défendu la théorie hiérarchique de l'évolution en tant que moyen d'élargir les théories classiques de Darwin. Conformément à ce qui précède, Gould était fermement opposé à la thèse du créationnisme et à la collaboration entre science et religion.

Théorie de l'équilibre ponctué

La théorie la plus reconnue de Stephen Jay Gould est peut-être la théorie de l'équilibre ponctué, développée avec un autre paléontologue américain appelé Niles Eldredge. Dans cette théorie, basée sur des archives fossiles, il propose cette évolution s'est produite à travers un certain rythme .

Ce rythme a la caractéristique principale d’avoir eu lieu de manière ramifiée, c’est-à-dire que, d’une première espèce, beaucoup d’autres ont émergé progressivement. Des changements génétiques dans ce processus ont eu lieu pendant des périodes de stabilité avec des modifications mineures, entrecoupées de changements qui se produisent relativement rapidement.

Contrairement aux théories précédentes qui proposaient qu'une espèce disparue soit suivie d'une autre plus évoluée, et ainsi de suite; l'équilibre ponctué suggère que la même espèce ancienne pourrait donner naissance à de nombreuses espèces différentes de manière ramifiée (ou ponctuée). Cette théorie il a représenté une très importante révolution néo-darwinienne pour comprendre l'évolution.

Prix ​​et distinctions

En 1982, Gould a reçu le prix Alexander Agassiz (professeur de zoologie) de l'Université Harvard. L'année suivante, l'adhésion à l'Association américaine pour l'avancement des sciences a été accordée et six ans plus tard, Il a été nommé président de celui-ci .

Il a également été président de la société de paléontologie et de la société d'études sur l'évolution. Finalement a été nommé en 1989 membre de l'Académie nationale des sciences et, en 2001, un an avant sa mort, il a été nommé Humaniste de l’année par l’American Humanist Association.

Œuvres en vedette

Ses textes de diffusion les plus reconnus sont La fausse mesure de l'homme à partir de 1980, La vie merveilleuse, 1999 et De Darwin, à partir de 1977, qui était son premier livre publié. De même, son dernier livre publié, où résumé la théorie de l'évolution moderne selon leurs propres recherches . C'est à propos du livre La structure de la théorie de l'évolution, de l'année 2002.

D'autres de ses travaux, où il aborde les différences entre la science et la religion, sont Il était une fois le hérisson et le renard, à partir de 2003 et Science contre religion, un faux conflit, de 1999.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Stephen Jay Gould (2018). Encyclopédie Britannica. Consulté le 19 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.britannica.com/biography/Stephen-Jay-Gould.
  • Stephen Jay Gould, Ph D. (2018). Académie de la réussite. Extrait le 19 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.achievement.org/achiever/stephen-jay-gould/.

Cours 9 Episode 2 - Sciences biologiques et idéologies (2/4) (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes