yes, therapy helps!
Stereotypies in childhood: types and associated disorders

Stereotypies in childhood: types and associated disorders

September 18, 2022

On some occasions we will have observed how a child performed repetitive behaviors or movements that, surely, we will have directly related to tics, hobbies of the child or attempts to attract attention. And although in some cases this may be the case, in others it may be childish stereotypies.

Throughout this article we will talk about stereotypies in childhood , we will describe how to identify them, as well as the different classifications, their diagnosis and the possible treatments of these.

  • Related article: "The 6 stages of childhood (physical and psychic development)"

What are child stereotypes?

Stereotypes or stereotyped movements they are considered as a hyperkinetic alteration of the movement . This means that there is an excess of movements or reactions of the extremities and the face. Although this alteration can occur at any age, they are quite common in children and may be due to a disorder of stereotyped movements.


In children's stereotypies, These can be manifested through semi-voluntary, repetitive and rhythmic movements , apparently impulsive or impetuous and that are not performed for any specific purpose or purpose. In addition, they are called stereotyped because they always follow a fixed pattern and the child always carries them out in the same way.

These movements include swaying, scratching, nose poking, bruxism, headbutting, throwing objects, repetitive vocalizations, biting lips or fingers, applauding for no reason or any motor reaction that always presents the same pattern.

To be more specific, stereotyped movements have the following characteristics:


  • They are semi-voluntary, which means they can stop if the person wishes.
  • They are repetitive .
  • They can be rhythmic or in the form of muscle contraction.
  • They have no purpose or purpose.
  • They are coordinated .
  • They may cease when the person is distracted or initiates some other task or activity.

The incidence of this motor disorder of approximately between 3 and 9% of the population between 5 and 8 years old, with a higher incidence in children diagnosed with Pervasive Developmental Disorder (TGD), within which occurs with an incidence of between 40% and 45%.

In children without any type of psychological or motor diagnosis, these movements are usually performed unconsciously as a way to release tension, as well as in moments of frustration or boredom.


Differences with tics and compulsions

Although at first glance they may seem very similar movements, there are fundamental differences between stereotypical movements, tics and compulsions.

In the case of tics, although these also appear as repetitive movements , unlike stereotypes, these are completely involuntary, of shorter duration and in many cases the person does not even perceive that he is experiencing them.

On the other hand, compulsions also consist of repetitive movements that require some coordination. However, these they have a purpose, that of diminishing the feelings of anguish or discomfort caused by the obsessive thoughts that accompany them.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Compulsions: definition, causes and possible symptoms"

When and why do they appear?

Although it has not yet been possible to determine exactly what is the cause of the appearance of stereotypies in children, there are a series of theories that point both to the possibility of a psychological or behavioral cause related to the child's learning, as well as to the probability that there is actually a neurobiological basis that causes it .

Be that as it may, the beginning of stereotyped movements tends to occur before the child reaches 3 years of age and must present at least 4 weeks in order to be diagnosed as such.

These semi-voluntary movements tend to be more intense during the hours of sleep, When the child feels very stressed, when levels of anxiety increase , while doing some task that requires a lot of concentration, when they are tired or bored or when they are subjected to a sensory isolation.

As mentioned above, in a large number of cases, these movements tend to diminish in intensity or disappear when the child starts some other activity or task. Knowing this, once the movements are initiated, the parents can try to capture the child's attention and involve them in some pleasant task so that, in this way, the stereotyped movements stop.

Stereotypic types for children

There are different classifications of child stereotypes depending on whether they are accompanied by other alterations or not, depending on the number of muscle groups involved or how they manifest themselves.

1. Primary / secondary stereotypes

Primary stereotypies are considered when they occur in children without any disorder or developmental disorder, while secondary stereotypies occur in children with neurological conditions such as autism, intellectual development disorder or sensorimotor deficits .

In addition, primary stereotypies, which are not associated with any other alteration, tend to have a better prognosis since, in general, they tend to disappear with time.

2. Motor / phonic stereotypes

In this second subgroup, stereotypies are divided into motor stereotypes, when they manifest through movements, or phonic stereotypies if it is vocalizations or oral sounds .

3. Simple / complex stereotypes

Finally, when the child makes simple movements or guttural noises can be classified as simple stereotypes, while if it is more complex and coordinated movements or activities or vocalizations are called complex stereotypes.

How can they be diagnosed?

In those cases in which the parents or caregivers of the child perceive a possible presence of mannerisms, it is recommended go to a specialist who can perform the correct diagnosis of them .

To do this, a clinical evaluation of the child is made through direct observation of the child. However, in case there is any doubt about the diagnosis, a series of physical tests such as electroencephalograms, magnetic resonances or even the evaluation through a series of specialized questionnaires can be carried out.

In this way, we can also rule out the possibility that stereotypical movements are part of a larger condition such as epileptic disorders, OCD or ADHD .

  • Maybe you're interested: "The good side of ADHD: 10 positive traits of young people with attention deficit"

Is there a treatment?

In the great majority of cases of infantile stereotypies, it is not necessary to resort to a treatment since, even in cases of secondary stereotypies, these are not usually harmful. In addition, in primary stereotypies, these usually remit over time.

However, in the case of more serious cases or in which the child has developed self-injurious behavior or that pose a danger, a therapeutic approach can be carried out either through psychological intervention or through pharmacological treatment.

Regarding psychological interventions, there are a large number of specific therapies, such as the mechanical containment therapy or the inversion of habits , which have proved to be highly effective in the treatment of stereotypical movements.

Finally, despite the fact that it has been shown that pharmacological treatment has a lower success rate, in certain cases it is possible to resort to the administration of drugs such as benzodiazepines, antiepileptic drugs, atypical neuroleptics or selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs). among many others.


What is STEREOTYPY? What does STEREOTYPY mean? STEREOTYPY meaning, definition & explanation (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Stéréotypies chez l'enfant: types et troubles associés

Stéréotypies chez l'enfant: types et troubles associés

Septembre 21, 2022

À certaines occasions, nous aurons observé comment un enfant avait des comportements ou des mouvements répétitifs que nous aurons certainement directement liés à des tics, à des passe-temps de l'enfant ou à des tentatives d'attirer l'attention. Et bien que dans certains cas, cela puisse être le cas, dans d’autres, il peut s’agir de stéréotypes enfantins.

Tout au long de cet article nous allons parler de stéréotypies dans l'enfance , nous décrirons comment les identifier, ainsi que les différentes classifications, leur diagnostic et les traitements possibles.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 étapes de l'enfance (développement physique et psychique)"

Quels sont les stéréotypes d'enfants?

Stéréotypes ou mouvements stéréotypés ils sont considérés comme une altération hyperkinétique du mouvement . Cela signifie qu'il y a un excès de mouvements ou de réactions des extrémités et du visage. Bien que cette altération puisse survenir à tout âge, elle est assez courante chez les enfants et peut être due à un trouble des mouvements stéréotypés.


Dans les stéréotypies des enfants, Ceux-ci peuvent se manifester par des mouvements semi-volontaires, répétitifs et rythmiques , apparemment impulsif ou impétueux et qui ne sont pas utilisés à des fins spécifiques. En outre, ils sont appelés stéréotypés car ils suivent toujours un modèle fixe et que l'enfant les exécute toujours de la même manière.

Ces mouvements comprennent les mouvements suivants: balancement, grattage, morsure du nez, bruxisme, coups de tête, lancer d'objets, vocalisations répétitives, morsures des lèvres ou des doigts, applaudissements sans raison ou réaction motrice présentant toujours le même motif.

Pour être plus précis, les mouvements stéréotypés ont les caractéristiques suivantes:


  • Ils sont semi-volontaires, ce qui signifie qu'ils peuvent arrêter si la personne le souhaite.
  • Ils sont répétitifs .
  • Ils peuvent être rythmiques ou sous forme de contraction musculaire.
  • Ils n'ont aucun but ou but.
  • Ils sont coordonnés .
  • Ils peuvent cesser lorsque la personne est distraite ou entreprend une autre tâche ou activité.

L’incidence de ce trouble moteur sur environ 3 à 9% de la population âgée de 5 à 8 ans, avec une incidence plus élevée chez les enfants chez qui on a diagnostiqué un trouble envahissant du développement (TGD), dans lequel survient avec une incidence entre 40% et 45%.

Chez les enfants sans aucun type de diagnostic psychologique ou moteur, ces mouvements sont généralement effectués inconsciemment afin de relâcher la tension, ainsi que dans les moments de frustration ou d’ennui.


Différences avec les tics et les compulsions

Bien qu'à première vue, ces mouvements puissent sembler très similaires, il existe des différences fondamentales entre les mouvements stéréotypés, les tics et les compulsions.

Dans le cas des tics, bien que ceux-ci apparaissent également comme des mouvements répétitifs contrairement aux stéréotypes, ceux-ci sont complètement involontaires, de plus courte durée et, dans de nombreux cas, la personne ne perçoit même pas qu’elle les éprouve.

D'autre part, les compulsions consistent également en mouvements répétitifs nécessitant une certaine coordination. Cependant, ces ils ont un but, celui de diminuer les sentiments d'angoisse ou inconfort causé par les pensées obsessionnelles qui les accompagnent.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Compulsions: définition, causes et symptômes possibles"

Quand et pourquoi apparaissent-ils?

Bien qu'il n'ait pas encore été possible de déterminer exactement quelle est la cause de l'apparition de stéréotypies chez les enfants, il existe une série de théories qui suggèrent à la fois la possibilité d'une cause psychologique ou comportementale liée à l'apprentissage de l'enfant, ainsi que la probabilité qu'il y ait effectivement une base neurobiologique qui la cause .

Quoi qu’il en soit, le début des mouvements stéréotypés a tendance à se produire avant l’âge de 3 ans et doit durer au moins 4 semaines pour être diagnostiqué en tant que tel.

Ces mouvements semi-volontaires ont tendance à être plus intenses pendant les heures de sommeil, Quand l'enfant se sent très stressé, quand le niveau d'anxiété augmente , tout en effectuant une tâche qui demande beaucoup de concentration, quand ils sont fatigués, ennuyés ou soumis à un isolement sensoriel.

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, dans un grand nombre de cas, ces mouvements ont tendance à diminuer en intensité ou à disparaître lorsque l'enfant commence une autre activité ou tâche. Sachant cela, une fois les mouvements initiés, les parents peuvent essayer de capter l'attention de l'enfant et de le faire participer à une tâche agréable afin que les mouvements stéréotypés cessent.

Types stéréotypés pour les enfants

Il existe différentes classifications des stéréotypes d'enfants selon qu'ils s'accompagnent d'autres modifications ou non, en fonction du nombre de groupes musculaires impliqués ou de la manière dont ils se manifestent.

1. Stéréotypes primaires / secondaires

Les stéréotypies primaires sont considérées quand elles surviennent chez des enfants sans aucun trouble ni trouble du développement, tandis que des stéréotypies secondaires se produisent chez des enfants atteints de maladies neurologiques telles que l'autisme, trouble du développement intellectuel ou déficits sensorimoteurs .

De plus, les stéréotypies primaires, qui ne sont associées à aucune autre altération, ont tendance à avoir un meilleur pronostic car, en général, elles ont tendance à disparaître avec le temps.

2. Stéréotypes moteurs / phoniques

Dans ce deuxième sous-groupe, les stéréotypies sont divisées en stéréotypes moteurs, quand elles se manifestent par des mouvements, ou des stéréotypies phoniques s'il s'agit de vocalisations ou de sons oraux .

3. Stéréotypes simples / complexes

Enfin, lorsque l’enfant fait des mouvements simples ou des bruits gutturaux, il peut être qualifié de simples stéréotypes, tandis que s’il est plus complexe et mieux coordonné, les mouvements ou activités ou vocalisations sont appelés stéréotypes complexes.

Comment peuvent-ils être diagnostiqués?

Dans les cas où les parents ou tuteurs de l’enfant perçoivent une éventuelle présence de maniérismes, il est recommandé aller chez un spécialiste qui peut en diagnostiquer correctement .

Pour ce faire, une évaluation clinique de l'enfant est effectuée par observation directe de l'enfant. Toutefois, en cas de doute sur le diagnostic, il est possible de réaliser une série de tests physiques tels qu'électroencéphalogrammes, résonances magnétiques ou même l'évaluation au moyen d'une série de questionnaires spécialisés.

De cette manière, nous pouvons également exclure la possibilité que les mouvements stéréotypés fassent partie d’une condition plus vaste. tels que les troubles épileptiques, les TOC ou le TDAH .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le bon côté du TDAH: 10 traits positifs des jeunes déficients de l'attention"

Y a-t-il un traitement?

Dans la grande majorité des cas de stéréotypies infantiles, il n’est pas nécessaire de recourir à un traitement, car même dans les cas de stéréotypies secondaires, ils ne sont généralement pas nocifs. De plus, dans les stéréotypies primaires, celles-ci sont généralement transférées dans le temps.

Cependant, dans le cas de cas plus graves ou dans lesquels l'enfant a développé un comportement d'automutilation ou qui présentent un danger, une approche thérapeutique peut être réalisée soit par une intervention psychologique, soit par un traitement pharmacologique.

En ce qui concerne les interventions psychologiques, il existe un grand nombre de thérapies spécifiques, telles que la thérapie de confinement mécanique ou l'inversion des habitudes , qui se sont révélés très efficaces dans le traitement des mouvements stéréotypés.

Enfin, malgré le fait que le taux de succès du traitement pharmacologique a été démontré, il est possible dans certains cas de recourir à des médicaments tels que les benzodiazépines, les antiépileptiques, les neuroleptiques atypiques ou les inhibiteurs sélectifs du recaptage de la sérotonine (ISRS). parmi beaucoup d'autres.


flapping devant ecran (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes