yes, therapy helps!
Stores and stores use these 7 psychological facts to earn more

Stores and stores use these 7 psychological facts to earn more

May 9, 2021

It's been a while since Psychology is used in the world of shopping and business , although this is a less academic version than the one that takes place in the universities.

This does not mean that the different marketing techniques used by businesses to influence the purchase of customers are not studied, although there is always the question of whether this type of trickery goes beyond the limits of ethics .

Tricks and psychological effects that stores use

Be that as it may, the reality is that stores, shops and establishments open to the public employ different techniques so that you end up spending much more money than you had thought. These are some principles of psychology used by shops and businesses without us realizing it, and that can greatly influence our purchasing decisions.


1. The purchase of shame

Medium or large stores and supermarkets tend to ensure that there are always a good number of cars and empty baskets near the entrance , not only because they are very sought-after objects, but also because they are interested in having everyone take one.

Many people feel a certain embarrassment when going through a box carrying only one product in their cart or cart, so they will have to buy some other product so that they do not seem to have monopolized that container in an unjustified way.

2. Creating a watertight compartment

In supermarkets and large shopping areas There are usually two significant absences: windows and watches .


The fact of not having these elements causes that the space of purchase remains without references on the outside world, which causes that the clients forget the step of the time and that the life continues happening beyond the walls of the store . Thus, it will be more likely to keep going around reviewing the products that are exposed for sale.

3. The foot in the door

This is a persuasion technique that is also used in buying processes. It consists in that, When the customer has already chosen what they want to buy and starts the process that will end in the payment, they are offered an "extra" for a little more money .

The chances of customers accepting this deal will be higher than if this were offered pack of products from the beginning, because the buyer has already been mentalized about the fact that he is going to spend money and, although at some point he comes to believe that he is spending a little more than he should, buying that "extra" it will help reduce the cognitive dissonance of having bought something without being completely sure if it compensates.


Somehow, keep buying is a way to justify the previous purchase , is a way to show that the previous dilemma has not existed. Of course, if this extra offer is, in addition, a discount on another product (or is perceived as that), the cost assessment will also make this purchase look more attractive.

4. The mirrors

The supermarkets use all kinds of tricks to make the average buyer who enters through their doors stay a little more time inside the premises. One of them is quite simple, and consists of placing mirrors .

It is clear that most people do not stand in front of a mirror looking at each other, but even if it is almost automatically they will tend to stay closer to them, looking sideways or walking more slowly.

5. The social proof

Some points of sale and brands use the principle called social proof to sell more. The concept of "social proof" means a demonstration of marketinian strength to imply that a product is triumphing in the market . It implies showing the consumer the success and social impact that a certain product is having on the target audience, although part of this "impact" can be fictitious or imaginary.

The dark side of social proof, for example, could be hiring bots and all kinds of false profiles to follow certain Twitter or YouTube accounts, or create a deliberate shortage of a product on the day of its release so that queues are formed in certain stores where it is available.

6. The least necessary items are in the entrance

And those that require a greater frequency of purchase, in the most remote areas of this . The goal is clear: make everyone pass in front of as many shelves as possible as often as possible.

7. The first floor, always for women

In clothing stores, the section for men is always at the furthest point from the entrance . This is because the women who accompany men to these stores are usually a type of buyer more impulsive than them.This means that women who accompany men often fall into the temptation to buy something they have seen while they were going to the men's apartment.

If you have been interested in this article, you can also read: "The 12 psychological tricks that supermarkets use to spend more money"

19 Simple Psychological Tricks That Actually Work (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les magasins et les magasins utilisent ces 7 faits psychologiques pour gagner plus

Les magasins et les magasins utilisent ces 7 faits psychologiques pour gagner plus

Mai 11, 2021

Cela fait un moment depuis La psychologie est utilisée dans le monde du shopping et des affaires , bien que ce soit une version moins académique que celle qui a lieu dans les universités.

Cela ne signifie pas que les différentes techniques de marketing utilisées par les entreprises pour influer sur l'achat de clients ne sont pas étudiées, bien que il y a toujours la question de savoir si ce type de tromperie dépasse les limites de l'éthique .

Trucs et effets psychologiques que les magasins utilisent

Quoi qu'il en soit, la réalité est que les magasins, les magasins et les établissements ouverts au public utilisent des techniques différentes pour vous permettre de dépenser beaucoup plus d'argent que vous ne le pensiez. Voici quelques principes de psychologie utilisés par les magasins et les entreprises sans nous en rendre compte, et cela peut grandement influencer nos décisions d'achat.


1. L'achat de la honte

Grands et moyens magasins et supermarchés ont tendance à faire en sorte qu'il y ait toujours un bon nombre de voitures et de paniers vides près de l'entrée , non seulement parce que ce sont des objets très recherchés, mais aussi parce que tout le monde est intéressé à en prendre un.

De nombreuses personnes ressentent un certain embarras lorsqu'elles passent dans une boîte contenant un seul produit dans leur chariot. Elles devront donc acheter un autre produit pour ne pas sembler avoir monopolisé ce conteneur de manière injustifiée.

2. Créer un compartiment étanche

Dans les supermarchés et les grands centres commerciaux Il y a généralement deux absences significatives: fenêtres et montres .


Le fait de ne pas avoir ces éléments fait que l’espace d’achat reste sans références sur le monde extérieur, ce qui fait que les clients oublient le pas du temps et que la vie continue se passe au-delà des murs du magasin. . Ainsi, il sera plus susceptible de continuer à passer en revue les produits exposés à la vente.

3. Le pied dans la porte

C'est une technique de persuasion qui est également utilisée dans les processus d'achat. Il consiste en cela, Lorsque le client a déjà choisi ce qu'il veut acheter et qu'il commence le processus qui se terminera par le paiement, un "extra" lui sera offert pour un peu plus d'argent. .

Les chances que les clients acceptent cet accord seront plus grandes que si cela leur était offert meute des produits depuis le début, parce que l'acheteur a déjà été conscient du fait qu'il va dépenser de l'argent et, bien qu'à un moment donné, il en vienne à croire qu'il dépense un peu plus qu'il ne devrait, en achetant cet "extra" cela aidera à réduire la dissonance cognitive d'avoir acheté quelque chose sans être complètement sûr de savoir si cela compense.


En quelque sorte, continuer à acheter est un moyen de justifier l'achat précédent , est une façon de montrer que le dilemme précédent n’existait pas. Bien sûr, si cette offre supplémentaire correspond en outre à une réduction sur un autre produit (ou est perçue comme telle), l'évaluation des coûts rendra également cet achat plus attrayant.

4. Les miroirs

Les supermarchés ont recours à toutes sortes de manoeuvres pour que l'acheteur moyen qui entre par leurs portes reste un peu plus de temps à l'intérieur des locaux. L’un d’eux est assez simple et consiste à placer des miroirs .

Il est clair que la plupart des gens ne se regardent pas devant un miroir, mais même si c'est presque automatiquement, ils auront tendance à rester plus près d'eux, en regardant de côté ou en marchant plus lentement.

5. La preuve sociale

Certains points de vente et marques utilisent le principe appelé preuve sociale vendre plus. Le concept de "preuve sociale" signifie une démonstration de la force du marché selon laquelle un produit triomphe sur le marché . Cela implique de montrer au consommateur le succès et l'impact social qu'un produit donné a sur le public cible, bien qu'une partie de cet "impact" puisse être fictive ou imaginaire.

Le côté sombre de la preuve sociale, par exemple, pourrait être embaucher bots et toutes sortes de faux profils pour suivre certains comptes Twitter ou YouTube, ou créer une pénurie délibérée d’un produit le jour de sa sortie afin que des files d’attente se forment dans certains magasins où il est disponible.

6. Les articles les moins nécessaires sont dans l'entrée

Et ceux qui nécessitent une plus grande fréquence d’achat, dans les zones les plus reculées de la . Le but est clair: faire passer le plus grand nombre possible de personnes devant le plus grand nombre possible d'étagères.

7. Le premier étage, toujours pour les femmes

Dans les magasins de vêtements, la section pour les hommes est toujours au point le plus éloigné de l'entrée . En effet, les femmes qui accompagnent les hommes dans ces magasins sont généralement des acheteurs plus impulsifs qu’elles.Cela signifie que les femmes qui accompagnent les hommes tombent souvent dans la tentation d'acheter quelque chose qu'elles ont vu en se rendant à l'appartement des hommes.

Si vous avez été intéressé par cet article, vous pouvez également lire: "Les 12 astuces psychologiques que les supermarchés utilisent pour dépenser plus d'argent"

Tous racistes ? Les biais implicites — Crétin de Cerveau #7 (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes