yes, therapy helps!
Strategies for a successful mental preparation of a Marathon

Strategies for a successful mental preparation of a Marathon

May 24, 2022

A Marathon is a test in which you have to run for 42 km in a row, so it requires a physical, tactical, technical and mental preparation of high performance, appropriate to the effort that we are going to submit to our body and mind.

Although there are professional athletes participating in this test, many of them are popular runners or people who are presented for the first time to a Marathon after a time of preparation and after the completion of other long distance races (half marathon, ten thousand meters, etc.). In order to carry out the preparation for said test, a series of ideal psychological coping strategies to train for the Marathon , because the mental section will be key for many kilometers.


  • Related article: "What is Sports Psychology? Know the secrets of a growing discipline"

Strategies to prepare

According to the psychologist specialized in sports, Jose Maria Buceta, runners usually use techniques such as the stop of thought, self-instructions and attention refocus plans because it has been seen that what most influences the Marathoners in the test are the thoughts.

In this way, through proper psychological training, athletes they use strategies such as coping to interrupt harmful mental activity and replace it with another that favors the overcoming of those critical moments and does not decrease the performance in the test.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of motivation: the 8 motivational sources"

Associative and dissociative strategies

The authors Morgan and Pollock stated that the mental activity of the Marathoners was defined by associative and dissociative strategies. The first are based on paying attention, having thoughts or self-talk about one's own bodily sensations or the activity involved in the race (attention to the circuit). The second ones involve an attentional disconnection of the above factors to the benefit of stimuli unrelated to the activity, that is, to look at the landscape, music, the public, etc. These strategies change depending on the type of broker .

Jose María Buceta saw that in the case of popular corridors, both associative and dissociative activity may be relevant to their performance objectives. However, in the case of runners who wish to perform good times, it is preferable to use associative strategies during most of the race, alternating them with dissociative strategies in less critical moments.


What are the emotional phases of a Marathon?

It can be observed that on a psychological level fatigue, fatigue and wear occurs , since many kilometers are included in this test. Vich establishes different stages or "emotional phases" by which it passes depending on the kilometers that we are.

Emotional phases of the Marathon (Vich, 2002):

Concluding

To finish, highlight again that the Marathon is conditioned by both physical and psychological qualities , since it is such a long physical effort, it requires a lot of mental hardness. Therefore when we face it, we must work and train also the mental part with the aim of managing the feelings of tiredness and fatigue that are linked to the test.

It is fundamental to try to give the same importance to the physical section as to the psychological one if we want to obtain a good performance in the test.


The Mental Side of Running: Tips and Techniques to Motivate and Inspire (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Stratégies pour une préparation mentale réussie d'un marathon

Stratégies pour une préparation mentale réussie d'un marathon

Janvier 3, 2023

Un marathon est un test dans lequel vous devez courir pendant 42 km d'affilée. Il nécessite donc une préparation physique, tactique, technique et mentale de haute performance, appropriée aux efforts que nous allons soumettre à notre corps et à votre esprit.

Bien que des athlètes professionnels participent à cette épreuve, beaucoup d’entre eux sont des coureurs populaires ou des personnes présentées pour la première fois à un marathon après un temps de préparation et après la réalisation d’autres courses de longue distance (demi-marathon, dix mille mètres, etc.). etc.) Afin de réaliser la préparation dudit test, une série de stratégies d'adaptation psychologiques idéales pour s'entraîner au marathon , parce que la section mentale sera la clé de nombreux kilomètres.


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie du sport? Découvrez les secrets d'une discipline en pleine croissance"

Stratégies de préparation

Selon le psychologue spécialiste du sport, Jose Maria Buceta, les coureurs utilisent généralement des techniques telles que l’arrêt de la pensée, l’auto-instruction et plans de réorientation de l'attention car il a été constaté que ce sont les pensées qui influencent le plus les marathoniens.

De cette façon, grâce à un entraînement psychologique approprié, les athlètes ils utilisent des stratégies telles que l'adaptation pour interrompre une activité mentale nuisible et le remplacer par un autre qui favorise le dépassement de ces moments critiques et ne diminue pas les performances du test.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de motivation: les 8 sources de motivation"

Stratégies associatives et dissociatives

Les auteurs Morgan et Pollock ont ​​déclaré que l'activité mentale des marathoniens était définie par des stratégies associatives et dissociatives. Les premiers sont basés sur l’attention, la pensée ou l’auto-conversation sur ses propres sensations corporelles ou l’activité impliquée dans la course (attention au circuit). Les deuxièmes impliquent une déconnexion attentionnelle des facteurs ci-dessus au profit de stimuli non liés à l'activité, c'est-à-dire de regarder le paysage, la musique, le public, etc. Ces stratégies changent en fonction du type de courtier .

Jose María Buceta a constaté que, dans le cas de corridors populaires, une activité à la fois associative et dissociative pouvait être pertinente pour leurs objectifs de performance. Cependant, dans le cas des coureurs qui souhaitent effectuer de bons temps, il est préférable d’utiliser des stratégies associatives pendant la majeure partie de la course, en les alternant avec des stratégies dissociatives dans des moments moins critiques.


Quelles sont les phases émotionnelles d'un marathon?

On peut voir que sur le plan psychologique, fatigue, fatigue et usure , car de nombreux kilomètres sont inclus dans ce test. Vich établit différentes étapes ou "phases émotionnelles" par lesquelles il passe en fonction des kilomètres que nous sommes.

Les phases émotionnelles du marathon (Vich, 2002):

En conclusion

Pour finir, soulignez à nouveau que le marathon est conditionné par des qualités physiques et psychologiques , puisqu'il s'agit d'un effort physique très long, il nécessite beaucoup de dureté mentale. Par conséquent, lorsque nous y sommes confrontés, nous devons également travailler et entraîner la partie mentale dans le but de gérer les sentiments de fatigue et de fatigue liés au test.

Il est fondamental d'essayer de donner la même importance à la section physique qu'à la section psychologique si nous voulons obtenir de bonnes performances au test.


La préparation mentale (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes