yes, therapy helps!
Stress of the athlete after an injury

Stress of the athlete after an injury

December 5, 2021

The psychology of sports not only care about the performance that an athlete has while he is active; He is also present during the sports injury. In recent years due to the professionalization of some sports has grown the number of studies about this area that have been published.

This has focused attention on both the prevention of injuries and their treatment and rehabilitation to the sport once these breaks have occurred. Specifically, stress management is very important to help the performance does not decay .

  • Related article: "What is Sports Psychology? Know the secrets of a growing discipline"

Psychological intervention in cases of sports injury

We find two moments in the sports injury ; one that is prior to the injury and corresponds to a prevention phase, and a second that would occur after the injury in which rehabilitation would enter. It is important to keep this in mind because in the face of the intervention the objectives that are going to be addressed are different.


In the first, the sports psychologist is responsible for training psychological resources, seeking an optimal level of muscle tension, a reduction in stress, a proper attention control and improvement of coping resources in order to avoid the dreaded injury.

In the post-injury or rehabilitation phase, the objectives vary according to whether the lesion is more or less recent ; In the immobilization phase the objective will be to give the athlete strategies to control anxiety and acceptance of reality. For this it is common for the sports psychologist to train communication skills and relaxation techniques, in addition to ensuring a therapeutic commitment.

In the mobilization phase the objective will be to perform a correct recovery, readaptation and return to competition , working for it the communication skills, the relaxation techniques and mental images and the control of the anxiety, being of vital importance the social support.


The causes

Numerous studies agree on the existence of two categories to which an injury may be due .

The extrinsic factors would be those environmental factors. They refer to the team, the environment where the activity is practiced, the duration of training and the failures in physical preparation. The second ones are the intrinsic factors that have their nature in the personal characteristics of the athlete. They include age, sex, physical constitution, previous medical history, physical condition, ability and psychological state.

As for the latter, unfortunately, It is common to get worse depending on the severity of the injury and the estimated time for recovery . Therefore, when the athlete has achieved his full recovery, when facing his normal activity again, he often finds that what previously seemed an ambitious challenge, now causes stress.


Injuries and stress in sports

If we review the literature we find that Andersen and Williams (1988) devised a model in which it was proposed that the stress response was the result of a bidirectional relationship between the cognitive evaluations of the athlete about an external situation (environmental factors) potentially stressful, and the physiological and attentional aspects of stress (intrinsic factors), where both these cognitive assessments and the physiological and attentional responses to stress are constantly changing.

This model has also tried to explain the relationship between psychological factors and vulnerability to injury, including their sporting history, but also the emotional reactions of the injured athlete. Thanks to this, it has been possible to carry out psychological intervention for injury prevention or rehabilitation and sports rehabilitation of the injured athlete.

The role of anxiety in sports performance

In this interaction between psychology-injury-psychology some of the relevant variables in the competitive field are the athlete's anxiety and state of mind. Numerous studies have been conducted in almost all sports modalities about pre-competitive anxiety and the state of mind in which athletes meet before competing. It has been shown that this does not affect all athletes equally .

Factors that influence stress

There are a series of conditions in which stress and fear of failure are aggravated. The age of athletes influences the appearance of stress, being more prone to suffer stress the youngest (10 to 19 years) and the oldest (from 40).

It must also be taken into account that this stress condition would not affect equally those who practice physical activity for leisure and those who are engaged in competition .

Psychological interventions after injury improve the well-being of the athlete during rehabilitation. The control of their emotional responses in this unfavorable situation will allow a better and faster recovery whose main objective is the effective sports rehabilitation.

Podlog et al. (2011) found that The most frequent variables that act against the athlete are : the anxiety of a relapse, the fear of not returning to the previous performance, feelings of isolation, the lack of identification with their sports practice, insufficient social support from others or of the sports field and the excessive pressure that causes negative feelings such as fear , anger, sadness.

Therefore, in order to work towards the psychological preparation behind an injury, it is important to assess:

  • Situations outside the sports environment that can cause stress to the athlete.
  • The demands that are specific to training.
  • The demands of competition.
  • Previous history of injuries.
  • Influence of the public or the media on the athlete (if applicable).

Intervening about anxiety

Psychological interventions such as relaxation, mental images, proper accompaniment by the technical team (coach and colleagues), determination of objectives (clear, evaluable and progressive), favor family social support directly or indirectly , couple and friends, are essential to carry out training in stress management.

Neither should forget important aspects such as strengthening the membership of the sport you are practicing, reduce pressure and improve self-confidence. (Palmi, 2001; Podlog et al., 2011).

It is possible that the intervention should also focus on the modification of beliefs and attitudes to prevent future injuries. It is not strange that during training the self-perception of the athlete has been altered and this has generated distorted beliefs of their new physical condition.

Thoughts like "as soon as they touch me a bit, I get injured again" leave a bad feeling in the athlete and this can have consequences in the execution of a training or a later competition.

Support and reinforcement program

As mentioned, family support with a good reinforcement program it can contribute to improve the self-esteem of the injured athlete and to make him feel capable of resuming his sporting life.

Are those moments that one does not question when presented with an athletic and sporting life ahead. But when it happens you have to accept it and take it as a new challenge. One more training


Common Injuries in the Young Athlete (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Stress de l'athlète après une blessure

Stress de l'athlète après une blessure

Mai 6, 2021

La psychologie du sport ne vous souciez pas seulement de la performance d'un athlète pendant qu'il est actif; Il est également présent lors de la blessure sportive. Ces dernières années, en raison de la professionnalisation de certains sports, le nombre d'études publiées sur ce domaine a augmenté.

Cela a attiré l'attention à la fois sur la prévention des blessures et leur traitement et sur la réadaptation au sport une fois que ces pauses sont survenues. Plus précisément la gestion du stress est très importante pour que la performance ne se dégrade pas .

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie du sport? Découvrez les secrets d'une discipline en pleine croissance"

Intervention psychologique en cas de blessure sportive

Nous trouvons deux moments dans la blessure sportive ; une qui est antérieure à la blessure et correspond à une phase de prévention et une seconde qui se produirait après la blessure et dans laquelle la rééducation entrerait. Il est important de garder cela à l'esprit car, face à l'intervention, les objectifs à traiter sont différents.


Dans le premier cas, le psychologue sportif est responsable de la formation des ressources psychologiques, en recherchant un niveau optimal de tension musculaire, une réduction du stress, un contrôle de l’attention approprié et une amélioration des ressources d’adaptation afin d’éviter la blessure redoutée.

Dans la phase post-traumatique ou de rééducation, les objectifs varient selon que la lésion est plus ou moins récente ; Dans la phase d'immobilisation, l'objectif sera de donner à l'athlète des stratégies pour contrôler l'anxiété et accepter la réalité. Pour cela, il est courant que le psychologue du sport forme des techniques de communication et de relaxation, en plus de garantir un engagement thérapeutique.

En phase de mobilisation l'objectif sera d'effectuer une récupération correcte, une réadaptation et un retour à la concurrence , travaillant pour cela les compétences de communication, les techniques de relaxation et les images mentales et le contrôle de l'anxiété, étant d'une importance vitale le soutien social.


Les causes

De nombreuses études s'accordent sur l'existence de deux catégories auxquelles une blessure peut être due .

Les facteurs extrinsèques seraient ces facteurs environnementaux. Ils font référence à l'équipe, à l'environnement dans lequel l'activité est pratiquée, à la durée de l'entraînement et aux échecs en matière de préparation physique. Les deuxièmes sont les facteurs intrinsèques qui ont leur nature dans les caractéristiques personnelles de l’athlète. Ils comprennent l'âge, le sexe, la constitution physique, les antécédents médicaux, l'état physique, les capacités et l'état psychologique.

Quant à ce dernier, malheureusement, Il est fréquent que la situation s'aggrave en fonction de la gravité de la blessure et du temps estimé nécessaire pour récupérer. . Par conséquent, lorsque l'athlète est complètement rétabli, il doit souvent constater que ce qui paraissait auparavant être un défi ambitieux crée à présent du stress.


Blessures et stress dans le sport

Si nous examinons la littérature, nous constatons que Andersen et Williams (1988) ont mis au point un modèle dans lequel il a été proposé que la réponse au stress résultait de: ongle relation bidirectionnelle entre les évaluations cognitives de l'athlète sur une situation externe (facteurs environnementaux) potentiellement stressants et les aspects physiologiques et attentionnels du stress (facteurs intrinsèques), où ces évaluations cognitives et les réponses physiologiques et attentionnelles au stress changent constamment.

Ce modèle a également tenté d'expliquer la relation entre les facteurs psychologiques et la vulnérabilité aux blessures, y compris leurs antécédents sportifs, mais également les réactions émotionnelles de l'athlète blessé. Grâce à cela, il a été possible de réaliser intervention psychologique pour la prévention des blessures ou la réadaptation et la réadaptation sportive de l'athlète blessé.

Le rôle de l'anxiété dans la performance sportive

Dans cette interaction psychologie-traumatologie-psychologie, certaines des variables pertinentes dans le domaine de la compétition sont l'anxiété et l'état d'esprit de l'athlète. De nombreuses études ont été menées dans presque tous les modes sportifs sur l'anxiété pré-compétitive et l'état d'esprit dans lequel les athlètes se rencontrent avant la compétition. Il a été démontré que cela n'affecte pas tous les athlètes de la même manière .

Facteurs influençant le stress

Il existe une série de conditions dans lesquelles le stress et la peur de l'échec sont aggravés. L'âge des athlètes influe sur l'apparition du stress, étant plus susceptible de souffrir du stress chez les plus jeunes (10 à 19 ans) et les plus âgés (à partir de 40 ans).

Il faut également prendre en compte que cette condition de stress n'affecterait pas également les personnes qui pratiquent une activité physique pour leurs loisirs et celles qui participent à des compétitions .

Les interventions psychologiques après une blessure améliorent le bien-être de l'athlète pendant sa rééducation. Le contrôle de leurs réactions émotionnelles dans cette situation défavorable permettra une récupération meilleure et plus rapide dont l'objectif principal est la rééducation sportive efficace.

Podlog et al. (2011) ont constaté que Les variables les plus fréquentes agissant contre l’athlète sont: : anxiété liée à une rechute, peur de ne pas revenir à la performance précédente, sentiment d’isolement, manque d’identification à leur pratique sportive, soutien social insuffisant des autres ou du terrain de sport et pression excessive qui engendre des sentiments négatifs tels que la peur , colère, tristesse

Par conséquent, afin de travailler à la préparation psychologique derrière une blessure, il est important d’évaluer:

  • Situations extérieures au milieu sportif pouvant causer du stress à l'athlète.
  • Les exigences spécifiques à la formation.
  • Les exigences de la concurrence.
  • Antécédents de blessures.
  • Influence du public ou des médias sur l'athlète (le cas échéant).

Intervenir à propos de l'anxiété

Interventions psychologiques telles que relaxation, images mentales, accompagnement approprié par l'équipe technique (coach et collègues), détermination d'objectifs (clairs, évaluables et progressifs), favoriser le soutien social familial directement ou indirectement , couple et amis, sont essentiels pour mener à bien une formation en gestion du stress.

N'oubliez pas non plus des aspects importants tels que le renforcement de la composition du sport que vous pratiquez, la réduction de la pression et l'amélioration de la confiance en soi. (Palmi, 2001; Podlog et al., 2011).

Il est possible que l’intervention se concentre également sur la modification des croyances et des attitudes afin de prévenir de futures blessures. Il n’est pas étonnant que, pendant l’entraînement, la perception de soi de l’athlète ait été modifiée, ce qui a généré une croyance déformée de sa nouvelle condition physique.

Des pensées du type "dès qu’ils me touchent un peu, je me blesse à nouveau" laissent un mauvais pressentiment chez l’athlète et cela peut avoir des conséquences sur l’exécution d’un entraînement ou d’une compétition ultérieure.

Programme de soutien et de renforcement

Comme mentionné, soutien familial avec un bon programme de renforcement cela peut contribuer à améliorer l'estime de soi de l'athlète blessé et lui permettre de se sentir capable de reprendre sa vie sportive.

Sont ces moments que l'on ne met pas en doute lorsqu'on lui présente une vie sportive et sportive. Mais quand cela se produit, vous devez l'accepter et le considérer comme un nouveau défi. Une autre formation


Les Blessures et traumatismes sportif (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes