yes, therapy helps!
Study Sexology: 8 reasons that can convince you

Study Sexology: 8 reasons that can convince you

July 19, 2024

Human sexuality is one of the most important aspects of our life. Regardless of whether we have a partner or not, or our sexual orientation, this psychological factor affects us a lot in our day to day; even asexual people, who do not experience that kind of desire, live immersed in societies in which intimate relationships based on sex influence virtually everything that surrounds them.

That's why, among other things, that study Sexology as a university or postgraduate specialization It can be an interesting option for many people. However, if we refine the view more we will be able to find many reasons to choose this trajectory of formation. But first, let's start with the basics.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 strangest and most curious sexual fetishes"

What is Sexology?

Sexology is the discipline that studies human sexuality , in general, and with all the psychological and biological processes associated with it. This means that it is an area of ​​research and intervention related especially to health sciences, but also maintains contact with the social sciences, since the cultural modulates our way of experiencing and expressing sexuality.

So, Sexology it can be a trajectory of training and studies that can be reached through different paths . In many cases it is a specialization that is reached after having started more general university careers.


  • Related article: "15 ideal sexual games to recover the passion of a couple"

Why study sexology?

Having competencies and training in Sexology allows you to expand your own knowledge in health and well-being, and that's why This is an especially interesting option for students of Psychology or Medicine .

Below you can find 8 reasons to study Sexology.

1. It offers a more global vision of health

People interested in the world of health can find a powerful ally in Sexology, since it offers a global conception of well-being that focuses not only on the disease, but also in the improvement of what is already functional . In this case, it may be the improvement of sexual relations, a habit linked to pleasure and the strengthening of emotional bonds.


2. Help break the information blockade

Sex is still a taboo subject even in Western societies, and this contributes to disinformation about this facet of our lives. For this reason, studying Sexology has beneficial social effects, since it helps to ensure that reliable information about the topic circulates and extends through the culture.

3. It allows us to know ourselves better

Much of sexuality is related to sensations, emotions and the subjective. Therefore, training in Sexology allows know yourself better and linking knowledge to our own experiences.

4. It offers the power to break myths

Sex has also been modulated from a phallocentric and sexist view of relationships, and that is why studying Sexology helps to break down many myths about how sexuality should be experienced. Somehow, It serves to tear down structures of female domination and of minorities such as homosexuals or bisexuals.

5. It is a good complement for couples therapy

If you dedicate yourself to psychology, training in Sexology can offer you the possibility of dealing with a broader range of problems, so that you can intervene in the class of problems related to this specific area of ​​health. as in the psychological aspects of marital crises and lack of self-esteem that are often associated with the first.

6. You can work in sex education

Sexology not only has a clinical part, but also offers the possibility of focusing on the education of children and young people and the prevention of diseases of sexual transmission , unwanted pregnancies, etc. This professional output is very useful for professionals whose work keeps them in contact with schools and institutes, such as psycho-pedagogues.

  • Related article: "6 reasons why you should talk about sex with your children"

7. It allows to understand society better

As we have seen, sexuality is everywhere: in advertisements, in the division of labor, in design and rituals, etc. Therefore, studying Sexology is a way to better understand the way in which cultures modulate the way in which this area of ​​life is experienced. This is an especially interesting option for social psychologists and anthropologists .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between Psychology and Anthropology"

8. Helps to better understand the organism

Students coming from careers such as medicine or biomedicine can better understand the biological and physiological processes that intervene in the way in which sexuality is lived


15. Human Sexual Behavior I (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Étude de sexologie: 8 raisons qui peuvent vous convaincre

Étude de sexologie: 8 raisons qui peuvent vous convaincre

Février 24, 2020

La sexualité humaine est l'un des aspects les plus importants de notre vie. Que nous ayons un partenaire ou non, ou que notre orientation sexuelle, ce facteur psychologique nous affecte beaucoup dans notre quotidien; Même les personnes asexuées, qui ne ressentent pas ce type de désir, vivent immergées dans des sociétés dans lesquelles des relations intimes fondées sur le sexe influencent pratiquement tout ce qui les entoure.

C’est pourquoi, entre autres choses, que étudier la sexologie dans une université ou une spécialisation postdoctorale Cela peut être une option intéressante pour beaucoup de gens. Cependant, si nous affinons davantage la vue, nous pourrons trouver de nombreuses raisons de choisir cette trajectoire de formation. Mais commençons par les bases.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 10 fétiches sexuels les plus étranges et les plus curieux"

Qu'est-ce que la sexologie?

La sexologie est la discipline qui étudie la sexualité humaine , en général, et avec tous les processus psychologiques et biologiques qui y sont associés. Cela signifie qu’il s’agit d’un domaine de recherche et d’intervention, en particulier dans le domaine des sciences de la santé, tout en maintenant un contact avec les sciences sociales, car le modèle culturel module notre façon de vivre et d’exprimer la sexualité.

Donc, sexologie il peut s’agir d’une trajectoire d’entraînement et d’études accessible par différentes voies . Dans de nombreux cas, c'est une spécialisation qui est atteinte après avoir entamé une carrière universitaire plus générale.


  • Article connexe: "15 jeux sexuels idéaux pour retrouver la passion d'un couple"

Pourquoi étudier la sexologie?

Avoir des compétences et une formation en sexologie vous permet d’élargir vos propres connaissances en matière de santé et de bien-être, et c’est pourquoi Ceci est une option particulièrement intéressante pour les étudiants en psychologie ou en médecine .

Vous trouverez ci-dessous 8 raisons d'étudier la sexologie.

1. Il offre une vision plus globale de la santé

Les personnes intéressées par le monde de la santé peuvent trouver un puissant allié en sexologie, car elle offre une conception globale du bien-être qui se concentre non seulement sur la maladie, mais aussi dans l'amélioration de ce qui est déjà fonctionnel . Dans ce cas, cela peut être l’amélioration des relations sexuelles, une habitude liée au plaisir et au renforcement des liens émotionnels.


2. Aidez à lever le blocus de l'information

Le sexe est toujours un sujet tabou même dans les sociétés occidentales, et cela contribue à la désinformation sur cette facette de nos vies. Pour cette raison, l’étude de la sexologie a des effets sociaux bénéfiques, dans la mesure où elle permet de garantir la diffusion et la diffusion d’informations fiables sur le sujet.

3. Cela nous permet de mieux nous connaître

Une grande partie de la sexualité est liée aux sensations, aux émotions et au subjectif. Par conséquent, la formation en sexologie permet connais-toi mieux et relier la connaissance à nos propres expériences.

4. Il offre le pouvoir de briser les mythes

Le sexe a également été modulé à partir d’une vision phallocentrique et sexiste des relations. C’est pourquoi l’étude de la sexologie permet de briser de nombreux mythes sur la manière dont la sexualité devrait être vécue. En quelque sorte, Il sert à démolir les structures de domination féminine et des minorités telles que les homosexuels ou les bisexuels.

5. C'est un bon complément pour la thérapie de couple

Si vous vous consacrez à la psychologie, une formation en sexologie peut vous offrir la possibilité de traiter un plus large éventail de problèmes, de manière à pouvoir intervenir dans la catégorie des problèmes liés à ce domaine spécifique de la santé. comme dans les aspects psychologiques crises conjugales et le manque d'estime de soi qui sont souvent associés à la première.

6. Vous pouvez travailler dans l'éducation sexuelle

La sexologie a non seulement une partie clinique, mais offre également la possibilité de se concentrer sur l'éducation des enfants et des jeunes et la prévention des maladies de transmission sexuelle , grossesses non désirées, etc. Cette sortie professionnelle est très utile pour les professionnels dont le travail les maintient en contact avec des écoles et des instituts, tels que des psychopédagogues.

  • Article connexe: "6 raisons pour lesquelles vous devriez parler de sexualité avec vos enfants"

7. Cela permet de mieux comprendre la société

Comme nous l’avons vu, la sexualité est omniprésente: dans les publicités, dans la division du travail, dans la conception et les rituels, etc. Par conséquent, étudier la sexologie est un moyen de mieux comprendre la manière dont les cultures modulent la manière dont ce domaine de la vie est expérimenté. C'est une option particulièrement intéressante pour psychologues sociaux et anthropologues .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Différences entre psychologie et anthropologie"

8. Aide à mieux comprendre l'organisme

Les étudiants issus de carrières comme la médecine ou la biomédecine peuvent mieux comprendre les processus biologiques et physiologiques qui interviennent dans la manière dont la sexualité est vécue


Pédophilie : Entretien avec Cécile Miele, sexologue (Février 2020).


Articles Connexes