yes, therapy helps!
Stuttering (dyspnea): symptoms, types, causes and treatment

Stuttering (dyspnea): symptoms, types, causes and treatment

October 1, 2022

Communication is an essential aspect in the human being. It allows us to connect with our peers, share experiences and ideas.

Among the different mechanisms available to us, oral language is one of the most used, and its learning one of the aspects that we devote more time to during our development. Since it is a skill that has to be trained progressively, it is usual that as we master it, difficulties arise.

But in some cases these difficulties may be indicating the presence of a communication disorder of greater or lesser severity. One of these disorders is stuttering, or dyspnea .


  • Related article: "The 8 types of speech disorders"

Stuttering or dyspnea: a disorder of fluency

Stuttering or dyspnea is a communication disorder based on alterations in language fluency . It is a disorder that usually originates in childhood, and in which there are no problems in the capacity of speech or in the competence of the subject with it but in its implementation. This problem is not due to diseases, neurological problems or sensory or intellectual deficits.

The most visible symptom is the existence of repetitions of words or parts of words during the speech, as well as blockages and prolongation of sounds. Speech becomes little fluid and interrupted. In some cases circumlocutions are used in a way that alters the structure of the sentences to prevent the perception of the problem in fluency.


It is a problem linked to social speech, since stuttering only appears in the presence of a speaker , not existing in subvocal speech or when the subject is alone. In this way, it can be observed that there is an affective component related to the dyspnea.

The child or even adult live all these difficulties with a high level of anxiety , due to the capture of the difficulties as something inadequate and shameful. Feelings of abnormality or inferiority may arise. In fact, in some cases it can cause a high level of social withdrawal and even the refusal to speak.

Also, this anxiety tends to provoke a higher level of repetitions and interruptions in speech, so that a vicious circle can be established between anxiety and communicative problems. It is therefore a disorder that can cause serious affectation in the subject and its communicational and social development .


Dysphemia is a communication disorder that is chronic in some cases, although in a large number of cases it can remit completely or partially if it is treated correctly and its chronification is not caused.

Types of stuttering

Stuttering or dyspnea is a problem that can occur in different ways, depending on the type of fluidity alteration that occurs. Specifically, Three types of stuttering are usually identified .

1. Tonic dysfunction

It is a subtype of stuttering in which the problem is the existence of a blockage at the beginning of the speech , suffering a spasm when initiating the conversation that after an intense effort allows the expression.

2. Clonic dysfunction

This subtype of stuttering is characterized by the presence of slight muscle contractions that cause the repetition of sounds or whole syllables during the speech.

3. Mixed dysplasia

It is a combination of the previous two, appearing initial difficulties at the time of beginning the speech and repetitions derived from involuntary muscle contractions.

Origin of this disorder

The causes of stuttering or disorder of fluency have been explored and often discussed, being today the majority opinion that the etiology of this disorder of communication is found in both biological and environmental factors . It has been observed that there are psychological factors of great relevance for its appearance and maintenance, but the presence of alterations in brain functioning have also been speculated and analyzed.

With regard to biological and constitutional aspects, stuttering has been linked to the result of the activity competition between the cerebral hemispheres during development. Many people with stuttering present a dominance of the right hemisphere with regard to language, in addition to that it has been proven that they present a slight lapse between the time it takes to decide to speak and the motor response that allows it. Also exist anomalies in the arcuate fascicle , a brain region linked to language.

On the other hand, at a more psychological and environmental level, we can observe the presence of a conditioning in these children and adults, due to the repercussions in the form of ridicule or recriminations before their difficulties. This causes the presence of a high level of anxiety and frustration if it is not capable of correcting it, which in turn will generate less fluidity and an accentuation of difficulties. Although it is not considered the cause of the problem, it can maintain and chronify the problem.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 7 types of anxiety (causes and symptoms)"

Aspects to take into account when dealing with a case

Speech fluency can be trained in a manner that greatly reduces the presence of stuttering. Speech therapy can be very helpful, especially if applied with programs in which the need to accelerate the speech is reduced (Due to the anticipation of problems, many subjects tend to accelerate their speech, which usually causes them to make mistakes) and the level of tension and anxiety.

It's important to put attention on the presence of ridicule and criticism can be harmful , since they promote an increase in the tension of the subject and a more than likely worsening of their communication. The same happens if you try to urge them to speak or complete the sentences for them (an error that many members of the environment often commit).

In fact and as mentioned above, self-esteem can descend and cause the subject to become withdrawn and inhibited, avoiding social participation and affective bonding with other people. This contributes to make the disorder worse and become chronic. Family and social support, and the perception of it by the subject, is very important.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Belloch, Sandín and Ramos (2008). Manual of Psychopathology. Madrid. McGraw-Hill. (Vol 1 and 2) Revised edition.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid.

Dyspnea, or shortness of breath: Causes and treatment (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Bégaiement (dyspnée): symptômes, types, causes et traitement

Bégaiement (dyspnée): symptômes, types, causes et traitement

Septembre 18, 2019

La communication est un aspect essentiel de l'être humain. Cela nous permet de communiquer avec nos pairs, de partager des expériences et des idées.

Parmi les différents mécanismes dont nous disposons, le langage oral est l’un des plus utilisés et son apprentissage est l’un des aspects auxquels nous consacrons plus de temps au cours de notre développement. Comme il s’agit d’une compétence qui doit être formée progressivement, il est habituel que, lorsque nous la maîtrisons, des difficultés apparaissent.

Mais dans certains cas, ces difficultés peuvent indiquer la présence d'un trouble de la communication plus ou moins grave. L'un de ces troubles est le bégaiement ou la dyspnée .


  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types de troubles de la parole"

Bégaiement ou dyspnée: un trouble de la fluidité

Le bégaiement ou la dyspnée est un trouble de la communication basé sur des altérations de la langue . C’est un trouble qui prend généralement son origine dans l’enfance et dans lequel il n’ya pas de problèmes de capacité d’expression ou de compétence du sujet, mais de mise en œuvre. Ce problème n'est pas dû à des maladies, des problèmes neurologiques ou des déficits sensoriels ou intellectuels.

Le symptôme le plus visible est l’existence de répétitions de mots ou de parties de mots pendant le discours, ainsi que les blocages et la prolongation des sons. La parole devient peu fluide et interrompue. Dans certains cas, les circonlocutions sont utilisées de manière à modifier la structure des phrases pour empêcher la perception du problème en fluidité.


C’est un problème lié au discours social, car le bégaiement n'apparaît qu'en présence d'un orateur , n'existant pas dans un discours subvocal ou lorsque le sujet est seul. De cette manière, on peut observer qu’il existe une composante affective liée à la dyspnée.

L'enfant ou même l'adulte vivre toutes ces difficultés avec un niveau d'anxiété élevé , en raison de la capture des difficultés comme une chose inadéquate et honteuse. Des sentiments d'anormalité ou d'infériorité peuvent survenir. En fait, dans certains cas, cela peut entraîner un niveau élevé de retrait social et même le refus de parler.

En outre, cette anxiété a tendance à provoquer un niveau plus élevé de répétitions et d'interruptions de la parole, de sorte qu'un cercle vicieux puisse être établi entre l'anxiété et les problèmes de communication. C’est donc un trouble qui peut causer affectation grave dans le sujet et son développement communicationnel et social .


La dysphémie est un trouble de la communication chronique dans certains cas, bien que dans un grand nombre de cas, elle puisse être complètement ou partiellement transmise si elle est traitée correctement et si sa chronification n'est pas provoquée.

Types de bégaiement

Le bégaiement ou la dyspnée est un problème qui peut survenir de différentes manières, en fonction du type d'altération de la fluidité. Plus précisément Trois types de bégaiement sont généralement identifiés .

1. Dysfonctionnement tonique

C’est un sous-type de bégaiement dans lequel le problème est l’existence de un blocage au début du discours , souffrant d'un spasme au début de la conversation qui, après un effort intense, permet l'expression.

2. Dysfonctionnement clonique

Ce sous-type de bégaiement est caractérisé par la présence de légères contractions musculaires qui provoquent la répétition de sons ou de syllabes entières pendant le discours.

3. Dysplasie mixte

C'est une combinaison des deux précédents, apparaissant difficultés initiales au début du discours et répétitions dérivé de contractions musculaires involontaires.

Origine de ce trouble

Les causes du bégaiement ou du trouble de la fluidité ont été explorées et souvent discutées, étant aujourd'hui l'opinion majoritaire selon laquelle l'étiologie de ce trouble de la communication se trouve à la fois dans les facteurs biologiques et environnementaux . Il a été observé qu'il existe des facteurs psychologiques très importants pour son apparence et son maintien, mais la présence d'altérations dans le fonctionnement du cerveau a également été spéculée et analysée.

En ce qui concerne les aspects biologiques et constitutionnels, le bégaiement a été lié au résultat de la compétition d'activité entre les hémisphères cérébraux au cours du développement. De nombreuses personnes atteintes de bégaiement présentent une dominance de l'hémisphère droit en ce qui concerne la langue. De plus, il a été prouvé qu'elles présentaient un léger décalage entre le temps nécessaire pour décider de parler et la réponse motrice qui le permet. Il y a aussi anomalies dans le fascicule arqué , région du cerveau liée au langage.

D'autre part, à un niveau plus psychologique et environnemental, on peut observer la présence d'un conditionnement chez ces enfants et ces adultes, du fait des répercussions sous forme de ridicule ou de récriminations devant leurs difficultés. Cette provoque la présence d'un niveau élevé d'anxiété et de frustration s'il n'est pas capable de le corriger, ce qui générera moins de fluidité et une accentuation des difficultés. Bien que cela ne soit pas considéré comme la cause du problème, il peut maintenir et chronaliser le problème.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 7 types d'anxiété (causes et symptômes)"

Aspects à prendre en compte lors du traitement d'un cas

La maîtrise de la parole peut être formée de manière à réduire considérablement la présence de bégaiement. L’orthophonie peut être très utile, surtout si elle est appliquée avec programmes dans lesquels la nécessité d'accélérer le discours est réduite (En raison de l’anticipation des problèmes, de nombreux sujets ont tendance à accélérer leur élocution, ce qui les pousse généralement à commettre des erreurs) et au niveau de tension et d’anxiété.

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que la présence de ridicule et de critiques peut être nuisible , car ils favorisent une augmentation de la tension du sujet et une aggravation plus que probable de leur communication. La même chose se produit si vous essayez de les exhorter à parler ou à compléter les phrases à leur place (une erreur que de nombreux membres de l'environnement commettent souvent).

En fait et comme mentionné ci-dessus, l'estime de soi peut descendre et provoquer le retrait et l'inhibition du sujet, évitant ainsi la participation sociale et le lien affectif avec d'autres personnes. Cela contribue à aggraver le trouble et à devenir chronique. Le soutien familial et social, ainsi que sa perception par le sujet, sont très importants.

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Belloch, Sandín et Ramos (2008). Manuel de psychopathologie. Madrid McGraw-Hill. (Vol 1 et 2) Edition révisée.
  • Santos, J.L. (2012). Psychopathologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 01. CEDE. Madrid

Épilepsie - Télé santé du 25 novembre 2017 (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes