yes, therapy helps!
Subjectivism in Psychology: what it is and why it does not lead anywhere

Subjectivism in Psychology: what it is and why it does not lead anywhere

June 18, 2024

One of the problems that psychology has had to face throughout its history is to define what is the starting point from which it begins to investigate mental processes. The difficulty of this first step is that, apparently, the object of study of this science is dual: on the one hand there is the objective, and on the other there is the subjective.

Subjectivism is the philosophical position that arises from the way in which some people decide to answer this "bifurcation of roads". In psychology, in particular, the implications of analyzing mental processes based on subjectivism lead to very different conclusions from researchers who advocate a perspective centered on the objective, which can be measured.


It is this article we will see the way in which subjectivism affects psychology and what are the characteristic problems of this approach.

  • Related article: "Dualism in Psychology"

What is subjectivism?

Put briefly, subjectivism is the belief that reality, in the first instance, is formed by ideas and subjective assessments that one makes about what goes on in one's head. That said, it sounds complicated, but I'm sure you'll hear the slogans of life in the style of "reality is created by our attitude" and other discourses that focus on consciousness and "the mental" to explain how the nature of elements of reality that other people try to know from the objective aspects of these.


Thus, subjectivism is closely related to idealism, which is the belief that ideas exist before matter, and relativism, according to which there is no pre-established reality that exists beyond our diverse points of view and in many aspects faced.

Now, what we have seen so far is the subjectivism to dry, without going to consider what are their effects in a specific area of ​​science. It is important to bear in mind that, for example, it is not the same to start from subjectivism in physics than to do it, for example, in sociology. These two disciplines study different things, and therefore subjectivism also acts on them in a differentiated way.

But it is in psychology that subjectivism is more likely to wreak havoc. Why? Fundamentally because in this science we study something that can be confused with the very source of subjectivity , and that is usually known as "the mind".


Subjectivism in psychology

As we have seen, psychology has the particularity of being the field of knowledge in which what is studied can be considered from what the intention and action of studying reality starts, something that does not happen in other disciplines. As a consequence, subjectivism can cause psychology to enter a loop that is difficult to get out and leads nowhere.

For example, one of the methods historically defended by subjectivist psychologists is the introspective method. In this, it is the person studied that pays attention to their mental processes (whether cognitive or emotional) and reports about them.

Free association as an example of this philosophy

For example, in the free association used by Sigmund Freud (one of the most prominent subjectivists in history) the patient began to pronounce aloud ideas or words that he thought were related to the idea that the psychoanalyst wanted to investigate. It depended on him to know what information was relevant enough to say it, and that "search" also depended on memories and imagination to arrive at something that could move the session forward.

From subjectivism, in short, it is believed that the subjectivity of each individual is the best source of data about mental processes, on the one hand, and that mental processes are what drives actions based on movement. For example, someone's subjective beliefs make it impossible for a person who has the appearance of not having a house to enter the store, and it is those subjective beliefs that must be explored.

  • Related article: "What is 'free association' in Psychoanalysis?"

Is the individual the only one with access to the mind?

Thus, for subjectivists, what one knows about one's own mind is separated from its environment and the context in which it finds itself when internally evaluating its thoughts and feelings. It is distinguished in a radical way between the mind and objective actions and easy to observe what the person does, and it is proposed that what is important is what can not be directly observed by someone other than the person, because it is those internal and subjective aspects that lead to the movement of the person.

This approach, if we do not fix, the only thing it does is condemn psychology not to be able to answer any of the questions about the human behavior that is proposed to address, since it always attributes the cause of this to an internal and subjective dimension of reality that only one can know. Not only does it not hold philosophically for denying the existence of an objective reality, but it is also incapable of posing useful applications to address psychological problems.


Mod-01 Lec-02 Sophists, Socrates; philosophy of man; relativism and subjectivism; the idea of good (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le subjectivisme en psychologie: de quoi s'agit-il et pourquoi il ne mène nulle part

Le subjectivisme en psychologie: de quoi s'agit-il et pourquoi il ne mène nulle part

Août 13, 2020

L'un des problèmes auxquels la psychologie a été confrontée tout au long de son histoire consiste à définir le point de départ à partir duquel elle commence à enquêter sur les processus mentaux. La difficulté de cette première étape est qu’apparemment, l’objet de l’étude de cette science est double: d’une part l’objectif, et de l’autre le subjectif.

Le subjectivisme est la position philosophique qui découle de la façon dont certaines personnes décident de répondre à cette "bifurcation des routes". En psychologie, en particulier, les implications de l'analyse des processus mentaux basés sur le subjectivisme conduisent à des conclusions très différentes de celles des chercheurs qui préconisent une perspective centrée sur l'objectif, qui peut être mesurée.


C'est cet article que nous verrons la manière dont le subjectivisme affecte la psychologie et quels sont les problèmes caractéristiques de cette approche.

  • Article connexe: "Dualisme en psychologie"

Qu'est-ce que le subjectivisme?

En bref, le subjectivisme est la conviction que la réalité, en premier lieu, est formée d’idées et d’évaluations subjectives que l’on fait de ce qui se passe dans la tête. Cela dit, cela semble compliqué, mais je suis sûr que vous entendrez les slogans de la vie dans le style de "la réalité est créée par notre attitude" et d'autres discours qui se concentrent sur la conscience et "le mental" pour expliquer comment la nature des éléments de la réalité que d'autres personnes essaient de connaître à partir des aspects objectifs de ceux-ci.


Ainsi, le subjectivisme est étroitement lié à l’idéalisme, qui est la conviction que les idées existent avant la matière, et le relativisme selon lequel il n’existe pas de réalité préétablie qui existe au-delà de nos divers points de vue et nombreux aspects à affronter.

Or, ce que nous avons vu jusqu’à présent, c’est le subjectivisme à sec, sans aller examiner quels sont leurs effets dans un domaine scientifique spécifique. Il est important de garder à l'esprit que, par exemple, ce n'est pas la même chose de partir du subjectivisme en physique que de le faire, par exemple, en sociologie. Ces deux disciplines étudient des choses différentes et le subjectivisme les applique donc également de manière différenciée.

Mais c'est en psychologie que le subjectivisme est le plus susceptible de causer des ravages. Parce que? Fondamentalement parce que dans cette science nous étudions quelque chose qui peut être confondu avec la source même de la subjectivité , et cela s'appelle habituellement "l'esprit".


Subjectivisme en psychologie

Comme nous l'avons vu, la psychologie a la particularité d'être le domaine de la connaissance dans lequel ce qui est étudié peut être considéré à partir de ce que l'intention et l'action d'étudier la réalité commencent, quelque chose qui ne se produit pas dans d'autres disciplines. En conséquence, le subjectivisme peut amener la psychologie à entrer dans une boucle difficile à sortir et qui ne mène nulle part.

Par exemple, l'une des méthodes historiquement défendues par les psychologues subjectivistes est la méthode introspective. Dans cette, c'est la personne étudiée qui fait attention à leurs processus mentaux (que ce soit cognitif ou émotionnel) et des rapports à leur sujet.

Association libre comme exemple de cette philosophie

Par exemple, dans l'association libre utilisée par Sigmund Freud (l'un des subjectivistes les plus en vue de l'histoire), le patient a commencé à prononcer à haute voix des idées ou des mots qu'il pensait liés à l'idée que le psychanalyste souhaitait étudier. Cela dépendait de lui de savoir quelle information était suffisamment pertinente pour la dire, et cette "recherche" dépendait aussi de la mémoire et de l'imagination pour arriver à quelque chose qui pourrait faire avancer la session.

Du subjectivisme, en bref, on croit que la subjectivité de chaque individu est la meilleure source de données sur les processus mentaux, d’une part, et que les processus mentaux sont ce qui motive les actions basées sur le mouvement. Par exemple, les croyances subjectives de quelqu'un rendent impossible pour une personne qui a l'apparence de ne pas avoir une maison d'entrer dans le magasin, et ce sont ces croyances subjectives qui doivent être explorées.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce qu'une" association libre "en psychanalyse?"

L'individu est-il le seul à avoir accès à l'esprit?

Ainsi, pour les subjectivistes, ce que l'on sait de son propre esprit est séparé de son environnement et du contexte dans lequel il se trouve lors de l'évaluation interne de ses pensées et de ses sentiments. Il se distingue de manière radicale entre l'esprit et les actions objectives et facile à observer ce que fait la personne, et il est proposé que ce qui est important est ce qui ne peut pas être observé directement par une personne autre que la personne, car ce sont ces aspects internes et subjectifs qui conduisent au mouvement de la personne.

Cette approche, si nous ne résolvons pas, la seule chose qu'elle fait est condamner la psychologie à ne pouvoir répondre à aucune des questions sur le comportement humain qu’il est proposé de traiter, puisqu’il en attribue toujours la cause à une dimension interne et subjective de la réalité que seul un peut connaître. Non seulement il ne tient pas philosophiquement à nier l’existence d’une réalité objective, mais il est également incapable de présenter des applications utiles pour traiter des problèmes psychologiques.


#1 Esprit Critique (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes