yes, therapy helps!
Sudden infant death syndrome: what it is and recommendations to avoid it

Sudden infant death syndrome: what it is and recommendations to avoid it

November 29, 2022

The arrival of a newborn baby in the world is always a reason for joy in a family. The care of this and the concern for their health will be topics that will invade the head of the parents during the first months and years of life.

However, there is a terrible condition that can cause the sudden death of the baby: Sudden infant death syndrome . In this article we will talk about him, about what can cause it and provide guidelines to avoid it.

  • Related article: "Colecho or familiar bed: fathers and mothers sleeping with babies"

What is sudden infant death syndrome?

Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), also known as sudden infant death , death in the cradle or white death; It is a strange event in which a child under the age of one and apparently healthy dies suddenly and without apparent explanation.


Usually, when this happens parents often find the dead newborn hours after bedtime and without apparent signs of having suffered any suffering. Since the death is sudden and without known causes, there is no previous symptomatology that can alert parents to the risk of this syndrome.

Finally, an indispensable condition for these cases to be considered as sudden infant death syndrome is that, after performing a complete autopsy and an investigation, the causes of the baby's death still have no explanation .

The steps to follow to make a correct evaluation of the case are: perform a complete autopsy, an exploration and recognition of the place of death and its circumstances and a comprehensive review of the medical history of the newborn and his family.


As for the incidence of this strange condition, most of the cases, specifically around 90%, usually occur between 2 and 6 months of age of the baby ; considerably increased the number of deaths in the winter months.

Although the syndrome of sudden infant death is the culprit of many fewer deaths than those caused by congenital disorders and disorders associated with premature births, it is considered the leading cause of death in babies a month old or older. without any kind of condition

The statistics show that in the European Union this syndrome occurs with a probability of between 1.5 and 2 deaths per 1,000. Also, if we focus only on Spain, this is the cause of between 0.15 and 0.23 deaths per 1,000 live births .

  • You may be interested: "Does breastfeeding increase the intelligence of babies?"

Causes and risk factors

As mentioned above, the causes that lead to the sudden infant death syndrome are not yet known. However, some lines of research that relate this syndrome to various causes have recently been opened.


The two theories that are getting the most support from the medical community are those that relate the death of the baby with problems in the stimulation of sleep , that is, the baby could suffer some type of alteration in the ability to wake up.

The second hypothesis theorizes that the baby's organism would not have the ability to warn of the existence of an accumulation of carbon dioxide levels in the blood , the failure in this reflection would be what would take the baby to death.

However, the number of infant deaths due to sudden infant death syndrome has declined considerably in recent years. Specifically, since the health staff has emphasized the recommendations to put the baby on his back and never face down. So the posture to sleep, and facilitate breathing, could also be related.

Risk factor's

Among the risk factors associated with sudden infant death syndrome we found the following.

    • Exposure of the newborn to tobacco smoke. A large number of babies who die from this syndrome have nicotine and cotinine concentrations in their lungs that are higher than babies who died from other causes.
  • Laying the baby face down .
  • Ambient temperature too high.
  • Excessive use of bedding, cushions or stuffed animals.
  • Laying the baby on a mattress too soft .
  • Babies born to teenage mothers.
  • Consecutive pregnancies.
  • Poor nutrition of the mother during pregnancy .
  • Overweight in the mother.
  • Inadequate prenatal care.
  • Babies born of premature births.
  • Baby's sex SIDS appears more in children than in girls .
  • Be born with a weight less than 1.5 kg.
  • Family background.
  • Consumption of drugs .
  • Multiple births.

Although it is clearly determined that all of these risk factors pose a threat to the life of the child, the level of influence of each one in the appearance of the syndrome is still not completely determined.

  • Related article: "The role of Psychology in irreversible processes: 5 attitudes towards death"

Advice for prevention

Given the complexity of this syndrome and the lack of knowledge that still exists about it, it is essential that parents of newborns take into account a series of care guidelines in order to avoid, in all possible ways, that this disease appears .

In order to offer support for parents, The American Academy of Pediatrics has developed a series of recommendations :

1. Always lay the baby on his back

Both at bedtime at night and naps during the day the baby should sleep lying on his back .

2. Lay the baby on a firm surface

It is necessary to lay the baby on a firm and stable surface, such as a crib or a bed prepared for babies and, for example, never on a couch .

3. Laying the babies in the same room as the parents

This will facilitate the work of care, care and feeding the child.

4. Avoid soft mattresses

The baby should rest a mattress for stable, firm, tight bed and without any loose piece or fabric . The use of cushions, sheets or quilts should also be avoided.

5. Control the room temperature

Check that the temperature of the rooms is not excessively high. The ideal temperature is one in which an adult is comfortable wearing light clothing . Also, check that the baby is not hot to the touch.

6. Use pacifiers or bottles before bedtime

It is hypothesized that the use of pacifiers or bottles favors the opening of the respiratory tract, as well as preventing the baby from falling into a deep sleep.

7. Do not smoke near the baby

Is essential Keep the baby free from the effect of tobacco smoke , Therefore it is absolutely contraindicated to smoke near the baby or in any of the rooms in which it remains.

8. Avoid the consumption of alcohol and drugs

Although this point seems obvious it is necessary to remember that any type of substance use during or after pregnancy can pose a great risk to the health of the baby.

9. Breastfeeding

It has been shown that carrying out breastfeeding habits can reduce infections that affect the respiratory tract , which can influence the appearance of this syndrome.


Preventing Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de la mort subite du nourrisson: qu'est-ce que c'est et recommandations pour l'éviter

Syndrome de la mort subite du nourrisson: qu'est-ce que c'est et recommandations pour l'éviter

Mai 24, 2024

L'arrivée d'un nouveau-né dans le monde est toujours un motif de joie pour une famille. La prise en charge de ces problèmes et le souci de leur santé seront des sujets qui envahiront la tête des parents au cours des premiers mois et des premières années de la vie.

Cependant, il existe une condition terrible pouvant entraîner la mort soudaine du bébé: Syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson . Dans cet article, nous allons parler de lui, de ce qui peut le causer et donner des directives pour l’éviter.

  • Article connexe: "Colecho ou lit familier: pères et mères qui dorment avec des bébés"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson?

Syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson (SMSN), également appelé mort subite du nourrisson mort au berceau ou mort blanche; C'est un événement étrange dans lequel un enfant de moins d'un an et apparemment en bonne santé meurt subitement et sans explication apparente.


Habituellement, quand cela se produit les parents trouvent souvent le nouveau-né mort quelques heures après le coucher et sans signes apparents de souffrance. Comme le décès est soudain et sans cause connue, il n’ya pas de symptomatologie préalable pouvant alerter les parents du risque de ce syndrome.

Enfin, une condition indispensable pour que ces cas soient considérés comme un syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson est que, après une autopsie complète et une enquête, les causes de la mort du bébé n'ont toujours pas d'explication .

Les étapes à suivre pour évaluer correctement le cas sont les suivantes: pratiquer une autopsie complète, explorer et reconnaître le lieu du décès et ses circonstances et procéder à un examen approfondi des antécédents médicaux du nouveau-né et de sa famille.


Quant à l'incidence de cette maladie étrange, la plupart des cas, en particulier environ 90%, surviennent généralement entre 2 et 6 mois du bébé ; considérablement augmenté le nombre de décès en hiver.

Bien que le syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson soit la cause de moins de décès que ceux causés par des troubles congénitaux et des troubles associés aux naissances prématurées, il est considéré comme la principale cause de décès chez les bébés d'un mois ou plus. sans aucune condition

Les statistiques montrent que, dans l'Union européenne, ce syndrome survient avec une probabilité de 1,5 à 2 décès pour 1 000. En outre, si nous nous concentrons uniquement sur l'Espagne, cette est la cause de 0,15 à 0,23 décès pour 1 000 naissances vivantes .

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "L'allaitement maternel augmente-t-il l'intelligence des bébés?"

Causes et facteurs de risque

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, les causes du syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson ne sont pas encore connues. Cependant, certaines lignes de recherche associant ce syndrome à diverses causes ont récemment été ouvertes.


Les deux théories qui obtiennent le plus grand soutien de la communauté médicale sont celles qui associer la mort du bébé à des problèmes de stimulation du sommeil c'est-à-dire que le bébé pourrait subir une altération de sa capacité à se réveiller.

La deuxième hypothèse théorise que l'organisme du bébé n'aurait pas la capacité d'avertir de l'existence d'une accumulation de niveaux de dioxyde de carbone dans le sang , l’échec de cette réflexion serait ce qui ferait mourir le bébé.

Cependant, le nombre de décès de nourrissons dus au syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson a considérablement diminué ces dernières années. En particulier, depuis que le personnel de santé a mis l'accent sur les recommandations de mettre le bébé sur le dos et de ne jamais le cacher. Ainsi, la posture pour dormir et faciliter la respiration pourrait également être liée.

Facteurs de risque

Parmi les facteurs de risque associés au syndrome de mort subite du nourrisson, nous avons trouvé ce qui suit.

    • Exposition du nouveau-né à la fumée de tabac. Un grand nombre de bébés qui meurent de ce syndrome ont des concentrations pulmonaires de nicotine et de cotinine supérieures à celles des bébés décédés d'autres causes.
  • Coucher le bébé face cachée .
  • La température ambiante est trop élevée.
  • Utilisation excessive de la literie, des coussins ou des animaux empaillés.
  • Pose le bébé sur un matelas trop mou .
  • Bébés nés de mères adolescentes.
  • Grossesses consécutives.
  • Mauvaise nutrition de la mère pendant la grossesse .
  • Surpoids chez la mère.
  • Soins prénatals inadéquats.
  • Bébés nés de naissances prématurées.
  • Le sexe de bébé Le SMSN apparaît plus chez les enfants que chez les filles .
  • Naître avec un poids inférieur à 1,5 kg.
  • Antécédents familiaux.
  • Consommation de drogue .
  • Naissances multiples.

Bien qu'il soit clairement établi que tous ces facteurs de risque constituent une menace pour la vie de l'enfant, le niveau d'influence de chacun d'eux dans l'apparition du syndrome n'est toujours pas complètement déterminé.

  • Article connexe: "Le rôle de la psychologie dans les processus irréversibles: 5 attitudes envers la mort"

Conseils de prévention

Compte tenu de la complexité de ce syndrome et du manque de connaissances sur le sujet, il est essentiel que les parents de nouveau-nés tiennent compte d'une série de directives de soins afin d'éviter, dans toute la mesure du possible, que cette maladie se manifeste. .

Afin de soutenir les parents, L'American Academy of Pediatrics a élaboré une série de recommandations :

1. Toujours coucher le bébé sur le dos

Au coucher le soir et aux siestes le jour le bébé devrait dormir allongé sur le dos .

2. Couche le bébé sur une surface ferme

Il est nécessaire de coucher le bébé sur une surface ferme et stable, telle qu’un berceau ou un lit préparé pour le bébé et, par exemple, jamais sur un canapé .

3. Coucher les bébés dans la même pièce que les parents

Cela facilitera le travail de prise en charge, de prise en charge et d'alimentation de l'enfant.

4. Évitez les matelas moelleux

Le bébé devrait reposer un matelas pour un lit stable, ferme, serré et sans pièce détachée ni tissu . L'utilisation de coussins, de draps ou de couvertures doit également être évitée.

5. contrôler la température ambiante

Vérifiez que la température des pièces n’est pas excessivement élevée. La température idéale est celle dans laquelle un adulte est à l'aise en portant des vêtements légers . Vérifiez également que le bébé n'est pas chaud au toucher.

6. Utilisez des sucettes ou des biberons avant le coucher

L'hypothèse est que l'utilisation de sucettes ou de biberons favorise l'ouverture des voies respiratoires et empêche le bébé de tomber dans un sommeil profond.

7. Ne pas fumer près du bébé

C'est essentiel Gardez le bébé à l'abri des effets de la fumée de tabac Par conséquent, il est absolument contre-indiqué de fumer près du bébé ou dans l’une des pièces où il se trouve.

8. Évitez la consommation d'alcool et de drogues

Bien que ce point semble évident, il est nécessaire de rappeler que tout type de consommation de substances pendant ou après la grossesse peut présenter un risque élevé pour la santé du bébé.

9. Allaitement

Il a été démontré que la pratique de l’allaitement peut réduire les risques de infections qui affectent les voies respiratoires , ce qui peut influencer l'apparition de ce syndrome.


Lait de vache et calcium pour les enfants ???? ???? (Mai 2024).


Articles Connexes