yes, therapy helps!
Suggestion: what it is, what it is for and types

Suggestion: what it is, what it is for and types

August 2, 2022

Due to certain shows and television programs, suggestive techniques have been badly damaged, have lost credibility and are perceived as a kind of spell by which a hypnotist can get anything from another person. Since it is a prodigy of music until it makes the most absolute ridicule.

Nothing could be further from the truth, Suggestion is a highly studied psychological process and that, carried out by qualified health professionals, it can be of great help in certain cognitive-behavioral treatments.

  • Related article: "Cognitive distortions: 7 ways in which the mind sabotages us"

What is suggestion?

In literal terms it is known as suggestion to the psychological process that allows the mental manipulation of other people through a series of techniques; other people, media or all kinds of agents such as music or books, have the ability to guide or lead the ideas, emotions or behaviors of people .


Although traditionally associated with hypnosis, suggestions are effective and commonly used in other settings in which the person is out of a hypnotic state. For example, advertising in the media has always been accused of manipulating our behavior to achieve its own ends and benefits.

However, suggestion can have enormous power over our behavior, as well as in the way we perceive reality. But to that end, the ability of a person or agent to exercise the suggestion is just as important. the suggestible or manipulable that results the object person is .


This means that a highly suggestible person is susceptible to being manipulated by any agent without his being aware of it. In these cases it is very likely that this is carried away by what is transmitted in the media, advertisements and advertising or by what other people say.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Hypnosis, that great unknown"

Its application in hypnosis and clinical practice

As described in the previous point, suggestion has traditionally been associated with hypnosis practices. And although they are closely related there are some factors that differentiate them. By hypnosis we can understand the complete process through which the person is immersed in a mental state of trance or altered consciousness, while the suggestion would be the concrete act of transmitting a certain message or information to the person.

However, There is an extensive debate about whether hypnosis or the hypnotic state is a real state of trance or if, on the other hand, the alteration of behavior is explained through factors or motivational factors such as the person's attitude or expectations. Although for many years these techniques have been highly questioned, in recent years there has been a progressive increase in their use in clinical and health contexts, both physical and psychological.


The main reason why, traditionally, these procedures have been much doubted is that they have been represented as an almost magical practice in which a person, more like a wizard or sorcerer than a professional in psychology, exercised a series of spells about the other that led him to behave eccentrically or strangely. However, several studies have shown that, in a serious way and always at the hands of a professional in psychology and hypnosis, suggestive techniques can be considerably effective as a coadjuvant of cognitive-behavioral treatments .

This means that, according to these investigations, the treatments for a series of specific conditions or ailments that are accompanied by a few sessions that include hypnotic techniques, are more effective than if they are performed without them.

These interventions include cessation treatments and some behavioral addictions, the management of physical pain, sleep disorders, weight loss processes or nocturnal enuresis in children; for which it has been shown that hypnotic processes are highly effective.

In the same way, many other experts highlight the possible efficacy of hypnotic techniques such as part of cognitive-behavioral therapy for the treatment of emotional disorders such as anxiety or depression.

Types of suggestion

There is an extensive classification of the types of suggestion, which are distinguished according to whether it is done directly or indirectly, according to the moment in which the effect of the suggestion is carried out. according to the reaction that is expected to cause .

Direct or indirect suggestion

The first classification is that which distinguishes between direct and indirect suggestions.

1. Direct suggestion

Also known as authoritarian, in this type of suggestion the person is directly indicated what they are intended to experience . For example: "notice how your eyelids become more and more heavy."

2. Indirect suggestion

Incorrectly called permissive suggestions, in this case an answer is sought without the conscious consent of the person. They are especially useful in skeptics or suspicious of the treatment.

Suggestions according to the moment

On the other hand, depending on whether the effects of the suggestion end or not at the end of the hypnotic intervention, we can differentiate between hypnotic suggestions or post-hypnotic suggestions

1. Hypnotic suggestions

When referring to hypnotic suggestions we speak of those that begin when the professional begins the suggestive technique and end with the end of the hypnotic state. That is to say, the person will only experience the effects of hypnosis for the duration of the session .

2. Post-hypnotic suggestions

In this second type of suggestion, most used in clinical practice, the suggestions are given or ordered during the session, but are experienced by the person once this is over . The intent is that the person modify their behavior or thinking in daily life, not only throughout the consultation.

Suggestions according to the reaction provoked

The last and most extensive of the classifications is that which divides the types of suggestion according to the reaction to be obtained. In this case we can distinguish between the following.

1. Motor suggestions

The motor suggestions are aimed at a physical or motor response. This includes both the induction of certain movements and the inhibition of these. Through them you can get a person move any of their joints or, on the contrary, submerge it in a state of paralysis or catalepsy .

2. Sensory-physiological suggestions

By sensory-physiological suggestions it is understood the induction of all those answers related to the psychophysiology of the person , as well as proprioceptive capacity.

Examples of these suggestions are those that try to provoke or inhibit in the person sensations of pain, of changes in temperature, of heaviness or any sensation relative to the senses, with the exception of life and auditory sense, which are included in the cognitive suggestions -perceptive

3. Cognitive-perceptive suggestions

Finally, cognitive-perceptual suggestions refer to reactions provoked in higher mental processes such as memory, as well as auditory and visual sensory processes .

Therefore, suggestive techniques can alter the ability of a person to perceive a specific stimulus, as well as cause a kind of hallucinations or visual or auditory images.

However, it is necessary to specify that these hallucinations they have nothing to do with what they pretend to provoke or pretend to get the traditional hypnosis shows , as well as the hallucinations experienced in certain psychiatric disorders.


The Best and Worst First Cars to Buy (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Suggestion: ce que c'est, ce que c'est et quels types

Suggestion: ce que c'est, ce que c'est et quels types

Mars 7, 2021

En raison de certaines émissions et d’émissions de télévision, les techniques suggestives ont été sérieusement endommagées, ont perdu leur crédibilité et sont perçues comme une sorte de sort par lequel un hypnotiseur peut obtenir quelque chose d’autre. Comme c'est un prodige de la musique jusqu'à ce qu'il fasse le ridicule le plus absolu.

Mais rien n'est plus loin de la réalité, La suggestion est un processus psychologique très étudié et que, effectué par des professionnels de la santé qualifiés, il peut être d'une grande aide dans certains traitements cognitivo-comportementaux.

  • Article connexe: "Distorsions cognitives: 7 façons dont l'esprit nous sabote"

Quelle est la suggestion?

Littéralement, on parle de suggestion au processus psychologique qui permet la manipulation mentale d'autrui à travers une série de techniques; d'autres personnes, médias ou toutes sortes d'agents tels que la musique ou des livres, avoir la capacité de guider ou de diriger les idées, les émotions ou les comportements des personnes .


Bien qu’elles soient traditionnellement associées à l’hypnose, les suggestions sont efficaces et couramment utilisées dans d’autres contextes dans lesquels la personne n’est pas hypnotique. Par exemple, la publicité dans les médias a toujours été accusée de manipuler notre comportement pour atteindre ses propres fins et avantages.

Cependant, la suggestion peut avoir un pouvoir énorme sur notre comportement, ainsi que sur la manière dont nous percevons la réalité. Mais à cette fin, la capacité d’une personne ou d’un agent d’exercer la suggestion est tout aussi importante. le suggestible ou manipulable qui résulte la personne objet est .


Cela signifie qu'une personne hautement suggestible est susceptible d'être manipulée par n'importe quel agent sans qu'il en soit conscient. Dans ces cas, il est très probable que cela soit emporté par ce qui est transmis dans les médias, les publicités et la publicité ou par ce que disent les autres.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "L'hypnose, cette grande inconnue"

Son application en hypnose et en pratique clinique

Comme décrit dans le point précédent, la suggestion a traditionnellement été associée aux pratiques d'hypnose. Et bien qu'ils soient étroitement liés, certains facteurs les différencient. Par hypnose, nous pouvons comprendre le processus complet par lequel la personne est immergée dans un état mental de transe ou de conscience altérée, alors que la suggestion serait l'acte concret de transmission d'un message ou d'une information à la personne.

Cependant, Il y a un long débat pour savoir si l'hypnose ou l'état hypnotique est un état de transe réel. ou si, d'autre part, la modification du comportement est expliquée par des facteurs ou des facteurs de motivation tels que l'attitude ou les attentes de la personne. Bien que ces techniques aient été fortement remises en question pendant de nombreuses années, leur utilisation a progressivement augmenté dans des contextes cliniques et sanitaires, tant physiques que psychologiques.


La principale raison pour laquelle, traditionnellement, on a beaucoup douté de ces procédures est qu’elles ont été présentées comme une pratique presque magique dans le cadre à propos de l’autre qui l’a amené à se comporter de manière excentrique ou étrange. Cependant, plusieurs études ont montré que, de manière sérieuse et toujours entre les mains d'un professionnel en psychologie et en hypnose, les techniques suggestives peut être considérablement efficace en tant que coadjuvant de traitements cognitivo-comportementaux .

Cela signifie que, selon ces investigations, les traitements pour une série d'affections ou de maux spécifiques, accompagnés de quelques séances incluant des techniques hypnotiques, sont plus efficaces que s'ils étaient effectués sans eux.

Ces interventions comprennent des traitements de renoncement au tabac et certaines dépendances comportementales, la gestion de la douleur physique, des troubles du sommeil, des processus de perte de poids l'énurésie nocturne chez l'enfant; pour lequel il a été démontré que les processus hypnotiques sont très efficaces.

De même, de nombreux autres experts soulignent l’efficacité possible des techniques hypnotiques telles que partie de la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale pour le traitement de troubles émotionnels tels que l'anxiété ou la dépression.

Types de suggestion

Il existe une vaste classification des types de suggestion, qui sont distingués selon qu’elle est faite directement ou indirectement, en fonction du moment où l’effet de la suggestion est effectué. en fonction de la réaction qui devrait causer .

Suggestion directe ou indirecte

La première classification est celle qui distingue les suggestions directes des suggestions indirectes.

1. suggestion directe

Aussi connu comme autoritaire, dans ce type de suggestion la personne est directement indiquée à ce qu'elle est supposée vivre . Par exemple: "remarquez comment vos paupières deviennent de plus en plus lourdes".

2. suggestion indirecte

Appelées à tort suggestions suggérées, dans ce cas, une réponse est recherchée sans le consentement conscient de la personne. Ils sont particulièrement utiles chez les sceptiques ou méfiant du traitement.

Suggestions selon le moment

D'autre part, selon que les effets de la suggestion finissent ou non à la fin de l'intervention hypnotique, nous pouvons différencier les suggestions hypnotiques des suggestions post-hypnotiques.

1. Suggestions hypnotiques

Lorsque nous faisons référence à des suggestions hypnotiques, nous parlons de celles qui commencent lorsque le professionnel commence la technique suggestive et se terminent par la fin de l'état hypnotique. C'est-à-dire, la personne ne ressentira les effets de l'hypnose que pendant la session .

2. Suggestions post-hypnotiques

Dans ce deuxième type de suggestion, le plus utilisé en pratique clinique, les suggestions sont données ou ordonnées pendant la session, mais sont expérimentés par la personne une fois que cela est terminé . L'intention est que la personne modifie son comportement ou sa pensée dans la vie quotidienne, pas seulement pendant la consultation.

Suggestions selon la réaction provoquée

La dernière et la plus étendue des classifications est celle qui divise les types de suggestion en fonction de la réaction à obtenir. Dans ce cas, nous pouvons distinguer les suivants.

1. Suggestions de moteur

Les suggestions motrices visent une réponse physique ou motrice. Cela inclut à la fois l'induction de certains mouvements et leur inhibition. Grâce à eux, vous pouvez faire bouger l’une des articulations ou, au contraire, l'immerger dans un état de paralysie ou de catalepsie .

2. Suggestions sensori-physiologiques

Par suggestions sensori-physiologiques on comprend l'induction de toutes ces réponses liées à la psychophysiologie de la personne , ainsi que la capacité proprioceptive.

Des exemples de ces suggestions sont celles qui tentent de provoquer ou d’inhiber chez la personne des sensations de douleur, de changements de température, de lourdeur ou toute sensation relative aux sens, à l’exception de la vie et du sens de l’audition, qui sont incluses dans les suggestions cognitives. -perceptif

3. Suggestions cognitivo-perceptives

Enfin, les suggestions cognitives-perceptuelles font référence à des réactions provoquées par des processus mentaux supérieurs tels que la mémoire, ainsi que des processus sensoriels auditifs et visuels .

Par conséquent, les techniques suggestives peuvent altérer la capacité d'une personne à percevoir un stimulus spécifique, ainsi qu'à provoquer une sorte d'hallucinations ou d'images visuelles ou auditives.

Cependant, il est nécessaire de préciser que ces hallucinations ils n'ont rien à voir avec ce qu'ils prétendent provoquer ou prétendent obtenir les spectacles d'hypnose traditionnels , ainsi que les hallucinations vécues dans certains troubles psychiatriques.


QUEL TYPE D'ELFE ES-TU ? (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes