yes, therapy helps!
Suicidal thoughts: causes, symptoms and therapy

Suicidal thoughts: causes, symptoms and therapy

October 5, 2022

AND There are a lot of situations and contexts that can cause us great pain : the death of loved ones, the experience of sexual, physical and psychological abuse, the feeling of guilt before the responsibility (real or not) of a fact such as a traffic accident, losing everything you have fought for, fighting in a war or the prospect of enduring a chronic or prolonged illness or incapacitating disorder (physical and mental) are some examples.

In some cases, the pain suffered is such that the person is not able to cope, feeling no control over his life and coming to believe that he can not do anything to improve his situation. In short, they lose hope.


In this context, it is not uncommon to think of a definitive solution to end such suffering, and the idea of ​​ending one's life may arise. In other words, suicidal thoughts would appear .

  • Related article: "Suicides: data, statistics and associated disorders"

Suicidal thoughts: what are they?

They are considered suicidal thoughts all those thoughts that an individual has about intentionally and intentionally taking his life . These thoughts can go from the mere desire to die to the active realization of concrete plans for the start-up of autolysis. The latter, in which the subject has elaborated the how, where and when, is the most dangerous and prone to perform the act.


Although the thoughts and desires of death can appear in a punctual occasion, in general when one talks about suicidal ideation or suicidal thoughts it is usually made reference to a pattern of recurrent thought in which the desire to die appears. A purely cognitive form may appear, although the most usual thing is that a certain desire or desire at emotional or motivational level is produced.

Most suicidal thoughts are experienced in times of intense pain and emotional suffering. The individual feels that regardless of what he does he will not be able to modify the reason for his suffering. He does not feel able to find the solution, but he feels helpless and in the absence of any control. The person with these thoughts loses tends to suffer a deep sense of hopelessness. Usually the underlying idea, the goal that is sought in itself with suicidal ideation is not to end one's life in itself , but end with this state of pain and helplessness.


Apart from this there are other types of suicidal thoughts that are linked more to the attempt to harm other people or achieve specific objectives. For example, in some cases one can arrive at the thought of using one's own death or suicide attempt in an instrumental way to achieve a good for oneself (such as the attention of others or in the case of vicarious violence) or beings loved ones (for example, collecting insurance) or to bring guilt and suffering to someone who is considered responsible for the pain of the individual.

Possible causes and risk factors

The causes of the presence of suicidal thoughts can be many and very different, depending on the specific case . As it has been indicated as a general rule, this type of thoughts usually happen after the experience or notification of some painful event or a loss in which deep feelings of pain, guilt and / or shame appear that are beyond the control of the individual and add up in a state of despair in which they do not find any possible solution.

The presence of abuse, loss of loved ones (either by death or rupture) or faculties or an anxious situation from which it is not possible to escape are usually the most frequent triggers. Examples would be the experience of a rape, prolonged isolation, physical incapacitation, having caused and / or survived an accident, continued bullying, bankruptcy, the diagnosis of diseases such as cancer, dementias or HIV or the suffering from some mental disorders that occur with psychic suffering.

Neurobiology of the person with suicidal ideation

At a biological level, the presence of a decrease in the level of serotonin in the brain of people with this type of suicidal thoughts has been observed, focusing much of the pharmacological treatments on increasing this level. Other hormones such as dopamine and norepinephrine are also of great importance, as their absence or presence contributes to depressive and anxious states that can lead to attempts at autolysis.

They are risk factors for passing from thought to act, such as belonging to the masculine gender, having an advanced age (they are usually more frequent after the age of forty), having had suicide attempts in the past or having a loved one has died in this way, the suffering of a mental disorder that clouds or biases the ability to judge, the existence of addictions to psychoactive substances, chronic medical problems and high impulsivity.

The isolation and absence of social support are also very important factors that can seriously damage the mental state of individuals (the presence of social support being an important protective factor).

Psychological evaluation and diagnosis

Although the presence of suicidal ideation does not have to involve a real attempt to kill oneself, it is a very important risk factor that must be treated urgently . In fact, at the therapeutic level, it is essential to assess the existence of suicidal thoughts and, if so, they become the first therapeutic objective.

When evaluating the mental state of the subject, it is necessary to do it calmly and directly, whether or not risk factors are present. If the suicidal thoughts have not been presented, asking about the subject will not induce it, while in the affirmative case the approach with which the case will be taken should focus on its existence. When evaluating the answers, it must be taken into account that the individual may not want to directly explain their thoughts.

Attitudes that try to minimize the risk or the importance of this type of ideation may be trying to hide the true thoughts about it. Sudden states of calm can also be indicative after a deep agitation, being a possible warning that the individual has taken the decision to take action.

The presence or absence of suicidal thoughts should be explored, the origin of such ideas, their degree of activity and elaboration and the existence or not of a plan to carry out. How, when and why are necessary questions and that allow you to get an idea of ​​the seriousness of the situation. The greater the planning and specification of the answers, the greater the risk that the thought will be put into practice.

Treatment: how to act in a case of possible suicide

In cases of suicidal ideation, rapid treatment is necessary that allows to act effectively on the core of the problem. It must be borne in mind that, contrary to the widespread myth, in most cases the person who thinks about committing suicide and believes that there are possibilities to end up opting for that option, warns or warns friends or family.

In the event that suicide is imminent and the patient's safety may be seriously compromised, immediate hospital admission is recommended so that it can be controlled and appropriate treatment can be applied.

Psychopharmacology

Although the presence of suicidal thoughts does not necessarily imply the existence of a mental disorder, because they usually appear in contexts in which there is associated depressive symptomatology as a general rule, they tend to use psychotropic drugs, in the form of different types of antidepressants. Specifically, one of the most common subtypes in these cases are tricyclic antidepressants, which in the presence of atypical depression or suicide attempts have shown greater efficacy than other types of antidepressants.

However, these drugs generally take several weeks to take effect. That is why initially the treatment of choice goes through the application of anxiolytic drugs , reducing anxiety and tension that usually induce suicidal thoughts.

On the other hand, we must be clear that the context has a very important role in suicidal ideation. That is why psychotropic drugs can be a useful patch, but not a definitive solution. It is necessary to intervene on the social circles through which the person moves, as well as on the material means with which he lives.

Associated mental disorders

In cases in which suicidal thoughts are linked to mental disorders, they frequently appear in patients with bipolar disorder (it is common for thought to appear in the depressive phase while the attempt at autolysis is usually more typical of manic phases). After this, which is the disorder with the highest number of suicide attempts, other disorders where suicidal ideation appears with great frequency are substance addiction (especially alcohol), major depression, schizophrenia and borderline personality disorder.

Another treatment that at the biological level has shown greater success in alleviating the depressive symptomatology associated with suicidal thoughts is electroconvulsive therapy. Although it is not yet known why, it has been shown to rapidly and effectively reduce depressive symptomatology in atypical, psychotic depressions and with attempts at autolysis. That is why it is used in cases where immediate action is required.

Psychological therapy

With regard to psychological treatment, taking into account the need for early and rapid intervention in severe cases, a treatment focused on the behavioral aspect is usually required in order to subsequently treat the cognitive aspects.

It is essential to help establish relevant and accessible objectives for the patient, graduating a series of steps that in the beginning can serve to diminish the interest in suicidal thoughts and to direct him to something he wants to achieve. The main objectives to be worked on will be the recognition and expression of suffering, the acceptance of the patient's feelings and emotions, redirecting the focus of attention and the negative thinking pattern towards other more effective alternatives.

Through behavioral techniques such as the gradual assignment of tasks, the control of environmental stimuli and behavioral experiments, the individual will be motivated to endure or diminish the state of internal tension.

On a more cognitive level, the descatastroficación carried out with prudence can help to fight the motive that has led the subject to wish his own death . Beck's cognitive therapy also allows you to fight against automatic negative thoughts. Problem-solving therapy, Rehm self-management therapy or social skills training can help to regain the feeling of control on the part of the subject. The use of dramatizations can be useful for the patient to feel relief by exposing the reason for their pain and work on their feelings.

Another useful therapy is dialectical behavioral therapy, specialized in aggressive and autolytic behaviors, which contributes to improving coping ability while demonstrating an acceptance of the patient's suffering.

The use of psychoactive substances such as alcohol or drugs can cause an exacerbation of symptoms , so that the control of consumption is a fundamental element to take into account. Especially if there is a previous abuse or addiction. However, in case of dependency, sudden withdrawal can cause the presence of an anxiety that can be dangerous, so that such withdrawal should be prescribed by a professional.

The presence of social support and a network that allows the individual to change their perspective of the facts or assume new challenges and roles is also important. Likewise, the surveillance of the mental and physical state of the individual and the fact that he does not remain isolated are protective elements that make autolysis difficult.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Appleby, L. (2000). Prevention of suicide in psychiatric patients. In: K Hawton, K van Heeringen (eds). The international handbook of suicide and attempted suicide. Chichester: Wiley & Sons Publishers.
  • Harris, E.C. & Barraclough, B. (1997). Suicide as an outcome for mental disorders. A meta-analysis. Br J Psychiatry; 170: 205-28
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.
  • Thase, M. E. (1992). Long-term treatments of recurrent depressive disorders. J. Clin. Psychiatry; 53
  • Welch, C.A. (2016). Electroconvulsive therapy In: Stern TA, Fava M, Wilens TE, Rosenbaum JF, eds. Massachusetts General Hospital Comprehensive Clinical Psychiatry. 2nd ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier.

Teen Suicide Prevention (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pensées suicidaires: causes, symptômes et traitement

Pensées suicidaires: causes, symptômes et traitement

Septembre 22, 2022

E Il y a beaucoup de situations et de contextes qui peuvent nous causer de grandes douleurs : la mort d'êtres chers, l'expérience d'abus sexuels, physiques et psychologiques, le sentiment de culpabilité devant la responsabilité (réelle ou non) d'un fait tel qu'un accident de la route, la perte de tout ce pour quoi on s'est battu, la guerre ou la perspective de subir une maladie chronique ou prolongée ou un trouble invalidant (physique et mental) en sont des exemples.

Dans certains cas, la douleur subie est telle que la personne n'est pas en mesure de faire face, ne ressent aucun contrôle sur sa vie et finit par croire qu'elle ne peut rien faire pour améliorer sa situation. En bref, ils perdent espoir.


Dans ce contexte, il n’est pas rare de penser à une solution définitive pour mettre fin à de telles souffrances et l’idée de mettre fin à ses jours peut surgir. En d'autres termes, des pensées suicidaires apparaissent .

  • Article connexe: "Suicides: données, statistiques et troubles associés"

Pensées suicidaires: de quoi s'agit-il?

Ils sont considérés comme des pensées suicidaires toutes ces pensées qu'une personne a à propos de prendre délibérément et intentionnellement sa vie . Ces idées peuvent aller du simple désir de mourir à la réalisation active de plans concrets pour le démarrage de l'autolyse. Ce dernier, dans lequel le sujet a élaboré le comment, où et quand, est le plus dangereux et le plus enclin à accomplir l'acte.


Bien que les pensées et les désirs de la mort puissent apparaître à une occasion ponctuelle, en général, quand on parle d'idées suicidaires ou de pensées suicidaires, on fait généralement référence à un schéma de pensées récurrentes dans lequel le désir de mourir apparaît. Une forme purement cognitive peut apparaître, bien que le plus souvent, c’est qu’un certain désir ou un désir au niveau émotionnel ou motivationnel se produise.

La plupart des pensées suicidaires sont ressenties en période de douleur intense et de souffrance émotionnelle. L'individu a le sentiment que, peu importe ce qu'il fait, il ne pourra pas modifier le motif de sa souffrance. Il ne se sent pas capable de trouver la solution, mais il se sent impuissant et en l'absence de tout contrôle. La personne qui perd ces pensées a tendance à souffrir d'un profond sentiment de désespoir. Généralement l'idée sous-jacente, le but recherché en soi avec l'idéation suicidaire n'est pas de mettre fin à sa vie en soi , mais finissent par cet état de douleur et d’impuissance.


En dehors de cela, il existe d'autres types de pensées suicidaires liées davantage à la tentative de nuire à d'autres personnes ou d'atteindre des objectifs spécifiques. Par exemple, dans certains cas, on peut penser à utiliser sa propre tentative de suicide ou de mort de manière instrumentale pour obtenir un bien pour soi-même (comme l'attention des autres ou dans le cas de la violence par procuration) ou des êtres des proches (par exemple, souscrire une assurance) ou d’apporter la culpabilité et la souffrance à une personne qui est considérée comme responsable de la douleur de cet individu.

Causes possibles et facteurs de risque

Les causes de la présence de pensées suicidaires peuvent être multiples et très différentes selon les cas. . Comme il a été indiqué en règle générale, ce type de pensées survient généralement après la constatation ou la notification d’un événement douloureux ou d’une perte au cours de laquelle apparaissent des sentiments profonds de douleur, de culpabilité et / ou de honte qui échappent au contrôle de l’individu. un état de désespoir dans lequel ils ne trouvent aucune solution possible.

La présence d'abus, la perte d'êtres chers (par la mort ou la rupture) ou de facultés ou une situation anxieuse à laquelle il n'est pas possible de s'évader sont généralement les déclencheurs les plus fréquents. On citera comme exemple le viol, l’isolement prolongé, l’incapacité physique, le fait d’avoir causé et / ou survécu à un accident, l’intimidation persistante, la faillite, le diagnostic de maladies telles que le cancer, la démence ou le VIH souffrant de certains troubles mentaux qui se produisent avec la souffrance psychique.

Neurobiologie de la personne avec des idées suicidaires

Au niveau biologique, la présence d'une diminution du taux de sérotonine dans le cerveau des personnes présentant ce type de pensées suicidaires a été observée, ce qui a amené une grande partie des traitements pharmacologiques à augmenter ce niveau. D'autres hormones telles que la dopamine et la noradrénaline ont également une grande importance, car leur absence ou leur présence contribue à des états dépressifs et anxieux pouvant conduire à des tentatives d'autolyse.

Ce sont des facteurs de risque pour passer d'une pensée à une action, comme appartenance au genre masculin, âge avancé (ils sont généralement plus fréquents après l'âge de quarante ans), avoir déjà fait une tentative de suicide ou avoir un être cher. est décédée de la sorte, souffrant d’un trouble mental qui entrave ou altère la capacité de jugement, l’existence de dépendances à des substances psychoactives, de problèmes médicaux chroniques et d’une impulsivité élevée.

L'isolement et l'absence de soutien social sont également des facteurs très importants pouvant nuire gravement à l'état mental des individus (la présence d'un soutien social étant un facteur de protection important).

Évaluation psychologique et diagnostic

Bien que la présence d’idées suicidaires n’entraîne pas nécessairement une tentative réelle de se tuer, c'est un facteur de risque très important qui doit être traité de toute urgence . En fait, sur le plan thérapeutique, il est essentiel d’évaluer l’existence de pensées suicidaires et, si tel est le cas, elles deviennent le premier objectif thérapeutique.

Lors de l'évaluation de l'état mental du sujet, il est nécessaire de le faire calmement et directement, que des facteurs de risque soient présents ou non. Si les idées suicidaires n’ont pas été présentées, poser des questions sur le sujet ne l’induira pas, alors que dans l’affirmative, l’approche utilisée pour traiter l’affaire devrait être centrée sur son existence. Lors de l'évaluation des réponses, il faut tenir compte du fait que la personne peut ne pas vouloir expliquer directement ses pensées.

Les attitudes qui tentent de minimiser le risque ou l’importance de ce type d’idéation peuvent être tentées de cacher les vraies pensées à ce sujet. Des états de calme soudains peuvent également être révélateurs après une agitation profonde, constituant éventuellement un avertissement indiquant que la personne a pris la décision de prendre des mesures.

La présence ou l’absence de pensées suicidaires doit être explorée, l’origine de telles idées, leur degré d’activité et leur élaboration. et l'existence ou non d'un plan à réaliser. Comment, quand et pourquoi sont des questions nécessaires et qui vous permettent de vous faire une idée de la gravité de la situation. Plus la planification et la spécification des réponses sont grandes, plus le risque que la pensée soit mise en pratique est grand.

Traitement: comment agir en cas de suicide possible

En cas d'idées suicidaires, un traitement rapide est nécessaire cela permet d'agir efficacement sur le cœur du problème. Il convient de garder à l’esprit que, contrairement au mythe répandu, dans la plupart des cas, la personne qui pense au suicide et croit qu’il est possible de finir par opter pour cette option, met en garde ou met en garde ses amis ou sa famille.

Si le suicide est imminent et que la sécurité du patient peut être gravement compromise, une hospitalisation immédiate est recommandée afin de pouvoir la contrôler et d'appliquer un traitement approprié.

Psychopharmacologie

Bien que la présence de pensées suicidaires n'implique pas nécessairement l'existence d'un trouble mental, car elles apparaissent généralement dans des contextes dans lesquels une symptomatologie dépressive est associée, elles ont tendance à utiliser des médicaments psychotropes, sous la forme de différents types d'antidépresseurs. Plus précisément, l'un des sous-types les plus courants dans ces cas est l'antidépresseur tricyclique, qui, en présence de dépression atypique ou de tentatives de suicide, a montré une efficacité supérieure à celle des autres types d'antidépresseurs.

Cependant, ces médicaments prennent généralement plusieurs semaines pour entrer en vigueur. C'est pourquoi initialement le traitement de choix passe par l'application de médicaments anxiolytiques , réduisant l'anxiété et la tension qui induisent généralement des pensées suicidaires.

D'autre part, nous devons bien comprendre que le contexte joue un rôle très important dans les idées suicidaires. C'est pourquoi les médicaments psychotropes peuvent constituer un patch utile, mais pas une solution définitive. Il est nécessaire d'intervenir sur les cercles sociaux à travers lesquels la personne évolue, ainsi que sur les moyens matériels avec lesquels elle vit.

Troubles mentaux associés

Dans les cas où les pensées suicidaires sont liées à des troubles mentaux, elles apparaissent fréquemment chez les patients présentant un trouble bipolaire (il est courant de penser que la pensée apparaît dans la phase dépressive alors que la tentative d'autolyse est généralement plus typique des phases maniaques). Après cela, qui est le trouble avec le plus grand nombre de tentatives de suicide, d’autres désordres où l’idéation suicidaire apparaît très fréquemment sont la toxicomanie (notamment l’alcool), la dépression majeure, la schizophrénie et le trouble de la personnalité limite.

La thérapie par électrochocs est un autre traitement qui, au niveau biologique, a plus de succès dans le soulagement de la symptomatologie dépressive associée aux pensées suicidaires. Bien que l'on ne sache pas pourquoi, il a été démontré que ce médicament atténue rapidement et efficacement la symptomatologie dépressive dans les dépressions atypiques, psychotiques et lors de tentatives d'autolyse. C'est pourquoi il est utilisé dans les cas où une action immédiate est requise.

Thérapie psychologique

En ce qui concerne le traitement psychologique, compte tenu de la nécessité d’une intervention précoce et rapide dans les cas graves, un traitement axé sur l’aspect comportemental est généralement nécessaire pour traiter ensuite les aspects cognitifs.

Il est essentiel d'aider à établir des objectifs pertinents et accessibles pour le patient, passer une série d’étapes qui, au début, peuvent servir à diminuer l’intérêt pour les pensées suicidaires et pour le diriger vers quelque chose qu'il veut réaliser. Les principaux objectifs à travailler seront la reconnaissance et l’expression de la souffrance, l’acceptation des sentiments et des émotions du patient, la réorientation du centre de l’attention et le schéma de pensée négative vers d’autres alternatives plus efficaces.

Grâce à des techniques comportementales telles que l’attribution graduelle de tâches, le contrôle des stimuli environnementaux et des expériences comportementales, l’individu sera incité à supporter ou à diminuer l’état de tension interne.

Sur un plan plus cognitif, la descatastroficación effectuée avec prudence peut aider à combattre le motif qui a amené le sujet à souhaiter sa propre mort . La thérapie cognitive de Beck vous permet également de lutter contre les pensées négatives automatiques. Une thérapie de résolution de problème, une thérapie de gestion autonome Rehm ou une formation en aptitudes sociales peuvent aider à retrouver le sentiment de contrôle du sujet. L'utilisation de représentations théâtrales peut être utile pour le patient afin qu'il ressente un soulagement en exposant la raison de sa douleur et en travaillant sur ses sentiments.

Une autre thérapie utile est la thérapie comportementale dialectique, spécialisée dans les comportements agressifs et autolytiques, qui contribue à améliorer la capacité d'adaptation tout en démontrant l'acceptation de la souffrance du patient.

L’utilisation de substances psychoactives telles que l’alcool ou des drogues peut exacerber les symptômes , de sorte que le contrôle de la consommation est un élément fondamental à prendre en compte. Surtout s'il y a eu un abus ou une dépendance. Toutefois, en cas de dépendance, le retrait soudain peut entraîner la présence d’une anxiété pouvant être dangereuse, de sorte que ce retrait devrait être prescrit par un professionnel.

La présence d'un soutien social et d'un réseau qui permet à l'individu de changer sa perspective des faits ou d'assumer de nouveaux défis et rôles est également importante. De même, la surveillance de l'état mental et physique de l'individu et le fait qu'il ne reste pas isolé sont des éléments de protection qui rendent difficile l'autolyse.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Appleby, L. (2000). Prévention du suicide chez les patients psychiatriques. Dans: K Hawton, K van Heeringen (rédacteurs). Le manuel international sur le suicide et les tentatives de suicide. Chichester: Éditeurs Wiley & Sons.
  • Harris, E.C. & Barraclough, B. (1997). Le suicide comme conséquence des troubles mentaux. Une méta-analyse. Br J Psychiatry; 170: 205-28
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid
  • Thase, M.E. (1992). Traitements à long terme des troubles dépressifs récurrents. J. Clin. Psychiatrie; 53
  • Welch, C.A. (2016). Thérapie électroconvulsive Dans: Stern TA, Fava M, Wilens TE, Rosenbaum JF, éds. Psychiatrie clinique globale du Massachusetts General Hospital. 2e éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier.

LA DEPRESSION : définition , symptômes , causes , traitements antidépresseurs / Noura Marashi (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes