yes, therapy helps!
Sulpiride: uses, side effects and precautions

Sulpiride: uses, side effects and precautions

September 7, 2022

There are a lot of disorders and mental disorders caused by an increase in the levels of a substance of the nervous system called dopamine, which, among many other functions, is responsible for regulating our emotions.

Sulpiride is an antipsychotic drug that regulates dopamine levels in these cases. Throughout this article we will talk about the diseases in which it is used, the side effects and the possible precautions that should be taken by those who consume it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

What is sulpiride?

Sulpiride is an antipsychotic or neuroleptic drug, popularly known as Dogmatil . This antipsychotic is within the category of specific dopamine receptor antagonists, exerting a specific effect on the D2 and D3 receptors.


Since it is an antidopaminergic drug, its role is to act on the dopamine receptors found in the brain, preventing the release of this neurotransmitter. The functions of dopamine are to regulate emotional responses, as well as mediate body movements.

In addition, dopamine is responsible for regulating the experimentation of sensations such as pleasure, pain or excitement.

Pathologically high levels of dopamine are associated with mental illnesses such as psychoses and schizophrenia . For this reason, a large amount of the current antipsychotic medication is created with the aim of blocking the effects of dopamine.


  • Related article: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

In what disorders is this drug used?

In adults, sulpiride has been found to be highly effective in numerous disorders and psychological conditions, providing notable improvements in conditions such as neurosis and depressive disorders, as well as in psychosomatic syndromes, senile dementia, dizziness, mania, schizophrenia or in diseases whose symptoms includes delusions and paranoia.

On the other hand, it is also administered to children who have serious behavioral problems.

1. Neurosis

By neurosis we understand all those diseases or mental conditions linked to hallucinations and delusions They are distinguished by presenting a series of nervous and emotional alterations without there being any physical injury or organic damage that justifies them.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Neurosis (neuroticism): causes, symptoms and characteristics"

2. Depressive disorders

Although there is great variability in the symptomatology of depressive disorders, there are a series of manifestations that are practically common to all of them.

These symptoms include feeling of regret or sadness, irritability, crying and anhedonia . The latter is the inability to feel pleasure or enjoy activities that previously were satisfactory. In addition, in most cases the patterns of sleep and food are also altered.

  • Related article: "Are there several types of depression?"

3. Psychosomatic syndromes

Broadly speaking, syndromes or disorders of a psychosomatic nature are conditions in which the person presents a series of physical symptoms that can not be justified by any organic disease; rather, they are due to a series of psychological ailments and discomforts.

4. Senile dementia

Senile dementia is a disease or degenerative syndrome in which the person loses most of their cognitive abilities gradually especially at the cognitive level.

  • You may be interested: "The 7 phases of senile and precocious dementia"

5. Vertigos

Vertigo is a condition caused by damage or injury in the area of ​​the inner ear called vestibular labyrinth, which is responsible for controlling our balance, or abnormal functioning of sensory information that comes from this area.

The feeling of vertigo is a subjective impression in which the person perceives movements in the objects and the surrounding context . This perception is very similar to the feeling that "everything is spinning".

6. Mania

Mania or manic episodes are included within mood disorders. This is distinguished by causing a mood alteration by which it presents an increase and intensification of some thoughts and emotions associated with frenzy .

In general, these people show great excitability, alteration, euphoria, constant agitation and loss of inhibition, among many other symptoms.

7. Schizophrenia

Schizophrenia is a serious mental illness that encompasses a series of diagnoses that are characterized by presenting alterations of perception, a lack of adjustment with reality and a neuropsychological disorganization that affects numerous executive functions.

How is it administered?

Sulpiride is available as a tablet to be taken orally. Although the dose may vary depending on the patient's illness and the severity of this , there are a series of guidelines in the dosage of this drug. Of course, we must follow the instructions of the doctors to the letter.

For administration in adults, the recommended dose of sulpiride is between 3 and 6 capsules per day. Which should be divided into three takes throughout the day and, if possible, before meals.

However, the medical professional will adjust the dose to the specific needs of the patient, who can not modify it under any circumstances. This means that you can not increase or decrease the dose , as well as taking it more often than indicated by the doctor. Otherwise, the patient may suffer numerous consequences in his health such as withdrawal syndrome.

In cases in which the patient feels that the medication is not effective, or perceives unwanted side effects, he should not leave sulpiride on his own or immediately. It is recommended that you contact your doctor to adjust the dose or, if necessary, eliminate the treatment gradually.

What side effects does it have?

Although not all patients will experience them, Sulpiride also has a series of side effects which can be classified according to the areas affected, as well as according to the probability of occurrence.

General alterations

  • Neuroleptic malignant syndrome.
  • Weight gain .
  • Skin disorders such as rashes or spots.

Heart diseases

  • Decrease in blood pressure when getting up or standing up.
  • Rarely, heart conduction problems appear or the condition Torsade de pointes .

Hormonal alterations

  • Increase in prolactin levels.

Reproductive system disorders

These conditions are closely related to the increase in prolactin levels . They include the following.

  • Amenorrhea .
  • Abnormal milk discharge
  • Increase in breast size in both women and men.
  • Chest pain.
  • Alterations in sexual performance .
  • Anorgasmia

Nervous system disorders

  • Drowsiness.
  • Extrapyramidal symptoms associated with Parkinsonism.
  • Slowing of movements and muscle tone.
  • Inability to stay seated.
  • Dyskinesia .
  • Convulsions on very rare occasions.

What precautions should be taken with their consumption?

Like all other drugs, both antipsychotics and any other category, the patient should inform his doctor of any disease, allergy or special health condition, before starting your treatment with sulpiride.

Likewise, you should also report any treatment with other medications , vitamin supplements or natural compounds. The reason is that interferences may appear between them, as well as diminishing their effectiveness.

Due to the sedative effects of sulpiride, alcohol consumption is totally contraindicated during the entire treatment. Like those people who carry out activities such as driving or handling heavy machinery, they should also take special precautions.

Finally, the administration of sulpiride during pregnancy or lactation is not recommended, since it can cause damage to both the fetus and the newborn.


Serta 50 mg Tablet : Uses, Price, Side Effects, Composition in hindi (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Sulpiride: utilisations, effets secondaires et précautions

Sulpiride: utilisations, effets secondaires et précautions

Janvier 24, 2023

Il existe de nombreux troubles et troubles mentaux causés par une augmentation des niveaux d'une substance du système nerveux appelée dopamine, qui, parmi de nombreuses autres fonctions, est responsable de la régulation de nos émotions.

Sulpiride est un médicament antipsychotique qui régule les niveaux de dopamine dans ces cas. Tout au long de cet article, nous parlerons des maladies dans lesquelles il est utilisé, des effets secondaires et des précautions possibles à prendre par ceux qui le consomment.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

Qu'est-ce que le sulpiride?

Sulpiride est un antipsychotique ou un neuroleptique, plus connu sous le nom de Dogmatil . Cet antipsychotique appartient à la catégorie des antagonistes spécifiques des récepteurs de la dopamine, exerçant un effet spécifique sur les récepteurs D2 et D3.


S'agissant d'un médicament antidopaminergique, son rôle est d'agir sur les récepteurs de la dopamine présents dans le cerveau, empêchant ainsi la libération de ce neurotransmetteur. Les fonctions de la dopamine consistent à réguler les réponses émotionnelles et à assurer la médiation des mouvements du corps.

En outre, la dopamine est responsable de la régulation de l’expérimentation de sensations telles que le plaisir, la douleur ou l’excitation.

Des niveaux pathologiquement élevés de dopamine sont associés à maladies mentales telles que psychoses et schizophrénie . Pour cette raison, une grande quantité du médicament antipsychotique actuel est créée dans le but de bloquer les effets de la dopamine.


  • Article connexe: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Dans quels troubles ce médicament est-il utilisé?

Chez les adultes, le sulpiride s'est révélé très efficace dans de nombreux troubles et affections psychologiques, apportant des améliorations notables dans des affections telles que la névrose et les troubles dépressifs, ainsi que dans les syndromes psychosomatiques, la démence sénile, les vertiges, la manie, la schizophrénie ou des maladies dont les symptômes comprend les délires et la paranoïa.

D'autre part, il est également administré aux enfants qui ont de graves problèmes de comportement.

1. Névrose

Par névrose, nous comprenons toutes ces maladies ou affections mentales liée aux hallucinations et aux délires Ils se distinguent en présentant une série de modifications nerveuses et émotionnelles sans qu'il y ait aucune blessure physique ou dommage organique qui les justifie.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Névrose (névrotisme): causes, symptômes et caractéristiques"

2. Troubles dépressifs

Bien qu'il existe une grande variabilité dans la symptomatologie des troubles dépressifs, il existe une série de manifestations qui sont pratiquement communes à toutes.

Ces symptômes inclure sentiment de regret ou de tristesse, irritabilité, pleurs et anhédonie . Ce dernier est l'incapacité de ressentir du plaisir ou de profiter d'activités auparavant satisfaisantes. En outre, dans la plupart des cas, les habitudes de sommeil et d’alimentation sont également modifiées.

  • Article connexe: "Existe-t-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

3. syndromes psychosomatiques

De manière générale, les syndromes ou les troubles de nature psychosomatique sont des affections dans lesquelles la personne présente une série de symptômes physiques qui ne peuvent être justifiés par une maladie organique; ils sont plutôt dus à une série de maux et de malaises psychologiques.

4. démence sénile

La démence sénile est une maladie ou un syndrome dégénératif dans lequel la personne perd la plupart de ses capacités cognitives progressivement surtout au niveau cognitif.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Les 7 phases de la démence sénile et précoce"

5. Vertiges

Le vertige est une affection causée par un dommage ou une blessure dans la région de l'oreille interne, appelée labyrinthe vestibulaire, responsable du contrôle de l'équilibre ou du fonctionnement anormal des informations sensorielles provenant de cette région.

La sensation de vertige est une impression subjective dans laquelle la personne perçoit des mouvements dans les objets et le contexte environnant . Cette perception est très similaire au sentiment que "tout tourne".

6. Mania

La manie ou les épisodes maniaques sont inclus dans les troubles de l'humeur. Ceci se distingue en provoquant un changement d'humeur par lequel il présente une augmentation et une intensification de certaines pensées et émotions associées à la frénésie .

En général, ces personnes présentent une grande excitabilité, une altération, une euphorie, une agitation constante et une perte d'inhibition, parmi de nombreux autres symptômes.

7. Schizophrénie

La schizophrénie est une maladie mentale grave qui englobe une série de diagnostics caractérisés par des altérations de la perception, un manque d'adaptation à la réalité et une désorganisation neuropsychologique qui affecte de nombreuses fonctions exécutives.

Comment est-il administré?

Sulpiride est disponible sous forme de comprimé à prendre par voie orale. Malgré que la dose peut varier en fonction de la maladie du patient et de la gravité de celle-ci. , il existe une série de directives concernant la posologie de ce médicament. Bien sûr, nous devons suivre les instructions des médecins à la lettre.

Pour l'administration chez l'adulte, la dose recommandée de sulpiride est comprise entre 3 et 6 gélules par jour. Ce qui devrait être divisé en trois prises tout au long de la journée et, si possible, avant les repas.

Cependant, le professionnel de la santé adaptera la dose aux besoins spécifiques du patient, qui ne pourra en aucun cas la modifier. Ceci signifie que vous ne pouvez pas augmenter ou diminuer la dose , ainsi que de le prendre plus souvent que ne l'indique le médecin. Sinon, le patient peut subir de nombreuses conséquences sur son état de santé, telles que le syndrome de sevrage.

Dans les cas où le patient estime que le médicament n'est pas efficace ou perçoit des effets secondaires indésirables, il ne doit pas quitter sulpiride seul ni immédiatement. Il est recommandé de contacter votre médecin pour ajuster la dose ou, si nécessaire, éliminer le traitement progressivement.

Quels sont les effets secondaires?

Bien que tous les patients ne les éprouvent pas, Sulpiride a également une série d'effets secondaires qui peuvent être classés en fonction des zones touchées, ainsi que de la probabilité d'occurrence.

Modifications générales

  • Syndrome malin des neuroleptiques.
  • Prise de poids .
  • Troubles cutanés tels que des éruptions cutanées ou des boutons.

Maladies du coeur

  • Diminution de la tension artérielle en se levant ou en se levant.
  • Rarement, des problèmes de conduction cardiaque apparaissent ou la condition Torsade de pointes .

Altérations hormonales

  • Augmentation des niveaux de prolactine.

Troubles du système reproducteur

Ces conditions sont étroitement liées à l'augmentation des niveaux de prolactine . Ils comprennent ce qui suit.

  • L'aménorrhée .
  • Décharge de lait anormale
  • Augmentation de la taille des seins chez les femmes et les hommes.
  • Douleur à la poitrine
  • Altérations de la performance sexuelle .
  • Anorgasmie

Troubles du système nerveux

  • Somnolence
  • Symptômes extrapyramidaux associée à la maladie de Parkinson.
  • Ralentissement des mouvements et du tonus musculaire.
  • Incapacité de rester assis.
  • Dyskinésie .
  • Convulsions à de très rares occasions.

Quelles précautions faut-il prendre avec leur consommation?

Comme tous les autres médicaments, les antipsychotiques et toute autre catégorie, le patient doit informer son médecin de toute maladie, allergie ou un état de santé spécial, avant de commencer votre traitement par sulpiride.

De même vous devez également signaler tout traitement avec d'autres médicaments , suppléments de vitamines ou composés naturels. La raison en est que des interférences peuvent apparaître entre eux, tout en diminuant leur efficacité.

En raison des effets sédatifs du sulpiride, la consommation d’alcool est totalement contre-indiquée pendant tout le traitement. À l'instar des personnes qui exercent des activités telles que conduire des véhicules lourds ou manipuler des machines lourdes, elles devraient également prendre des précautions spéciales.

Enfin, l’administration de sulpiride pendant la grossesse ou l’allaitement n’est pas recommandée car elle peut causer des dommages à la fois au fœtus et au nouveau-né.


Comment grossir les fesses pour avoir de belles fesses galbées | Clé de vie (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes