yes, therapy helps!
Super Taldo: the famous case of the Chilean child with Tourette Syndrome

Super Taldo: the famous case of the Chilean child with Tourette Syndrome

May 6, 2021

Agustín Arenas Cardozo known as Super Taldo , is the protagonist of a very popular video in Chile that was recorded 41 years ago and that recently (a few years ago) went viral on the internet.

The interview was conducted by the journalist Bernardo de la Maza to a boy who, at that time, was 14 years old, and was receiving treatment in a psychiatric hospital because he suffered from Tourette Syndrome.

The interview was conducted on April 12, 1974 for TVN, but was not issued to safeguard the dignity of the small Agustín, who at that time had strong tics and uttered profanity due to his pathology. The recording remained hidden until, at the peak of social networks, the video was leaked and circulated through different pages. It became a viral video because of its striking behavior.


Who is Super Taldo?

Agustín Gerardo Arenas Cardozo is a Chilean character who was born in 1960 and is better known as Super Taldo or AGAC (your initials). He became famous for a video that was popularized on the Internet in which he appeared because he suffered from Tourette Syndrome. Curiously, the initials of the Tourette Syndrome disease coincide with those of Super Taldo.

When the interview was conducted, Agustín was 14 years old. The interviewer was the reporter Bernardo De la Maza, ex-newscaster of TVN. Agustin suffered from Tourette's syndrome and the interviewer found a child who suffered nervous tics and shouted inappropriate words, which is called coprolalia. Despite suffering from this condition, Agustín was like a restless, dreamer, sincere and intelligent person .


A report that went viral on the internet

During the interview in audiovisual format, the reporter can be appreciated very calm, while Agustín repeats inappropriate words. Agustín claims to be an amateur writer and comic creator. In fact, he receives the nickname of Super Taldo for a character created by himself to which he gave that name. The character of Super Taldo is, in the words of Agustín himself, a superhero of a novel created by himself, which deals with crime, injustice and discrimination.

The reason that the video never came to light until a few years ago was the inappropriate language that Agustín Arenas involuntarily used. The report finally became public about 25 years later, after a leak in the National Television of Chile. Some time later it was posted on the Internet, where it quickly became viral due to the strange behavior shown by the young Super Taldo .


Below you can see the report of Super Taldo that went viral:

What is Tourette Syndrome?

The Tourette syndrome or S Gilles de Tourette syndrome (It is named after Georges Gilles de Tourette, who was the first to describe this disorder in 1885) is a neurological disorder that is characterized by the person who suffers performs involuntary movements and sounds without a specific purpose .

These movements are repeated intermittently, and in stress situations, they tend to increase. Some of the sounds may include inappropriate language (for example, insults or obscenities). The first symptoms usually appear between eight and eleven years of age. Males are three to four times more likely to have Tourette Syndrome than women.

There is no scientific consensus regarding the causes, although some hypotheses suggest that its origin may be associated with a chemical alteration in some regions of the brain (alterations in the amount of dopamine, norepinephrine and serotonin). Different investigations have concluded that Tourette Syndrome is a hereditary disease.

You can know more about this condition in our article: "Tourette syndrome: what is it and how does it manifest?"

Super Taldo nowadays

But what happened to Super Taldo? What is the life of this character? Many wonder if Agustín still suffers Tourette Syndrome or if, instead, he has managed to rebuild his life without the presence of tics. In 2004, thanks to a program of the Chilean television, Súper Taldo appeared again in televising format. Agustín is still living in the Conchalí community, but he has the disease controlled thanks to the treatment he has followed and the three operations he has undergone. It hardly presents tics, although it still suffers some involuntary reflex.

Agustín tells us that what has really helped him has been the phosphorus therapy , which consists of building phosphorus models to learn how to control tics. At present, Agustín Arenas has a daughter, works in a packaging company and practices cycling.

Do not miss the recovered Super Taldo video shown below . An example of courage, dignity and struggle of this man.


Charli XCX ft. Super Taldo (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Super Taldo: le cas célèbre de l'enfant chilien atteint du syndrome de Tourette

Super Taldo: le cas célèbre de l'enfant chilien atteint du syndrome de Tourette

Février 21, 2019

Agustín Arenas Cardozo connu sous le nom Super Taldo , est le protagoniste d’une vidéo très populaire enregistrée au Chili il ya 41 ans et qui est récemment devenue virale (il ya quelques années) sur Internet.

L'interview a été réalisée par le journaliste Bernardo de la Maza auprès d'un garçon âgé de 14 ans à l'époque qui était soigné dans un hôpital psychiatrique parce qu'il souffrait du syndrome de Tourette.

L'interview a été menée le 12 avril 1974 pour TVN, mais n'a pas été publiée pour préserver la dignité du petit Agustín, qui à cette époque avait de forts tics et proférait des blasphèmes à cause de sa pathologie. L'enregistrement est resté caché jusqu'à ce que, au plus fort des réseaux sociaux, la vidéo fuie et circule à travers différentes pages. C'est devenu une vidéo virale à cause de son comportement frappant.


Qui est Super Taldo?

Agustín Gerardo Arenas Cardozo est un personnage chilien né en 1960 et plus connu sous le nom de Super Taldo ou AGAC. (vos initiales) Il est devenu célèbre pour une vidéo qui a été popularisée sur Internet dans laquelle il est apparu parce qu'il souffrait du syndrome de Tourette. Curieusement, les initiales de la maladie du syndrome de Tourette coïncident avec celles de Super Taldo.

Lors de l'entretien, Agustín avait 14 ans. L'intervieweur était le journaliste Bernardo De la Maza, ancien présentateur de presse de TVN. Agustin souffrait du syndrome de Tourette et l'interviewer a trouvé un enfant qui souffrait de tics nerveux et avait crié des mots inappropriés, appelés coprolalie. En dépit de souffrir de cette condition, Agustín était comme une personne inquiète, rêveuse, sincère et intelligente .


Un reportage viral sur internet

Lors de l'entretien en format audiovisuel, le journaliste peut être apprécié très calmement, tandis qu'Agustín répète des mots inappropriés. Agustín prétend être un écrivain amateur et un créateur de bandes dessinées. En fait, il reçoit le surnom de Super Taldo pour un personnage créé par lui-même auquel il a donné ce nom. Le personnage de Super Taldo est, selon les mots d'Agustín lui-même, un super héros d'un roman créé par lui-même, qui traite du crime, de l'injustice et de la discrimination.

La raison pour laquelle la vidéo n'a jamais été révélée jusqu'à il y a quelques années est le langage inapproprié qu'Agustín Arenas a utilisé involontairement. Le rapport a finalement été rendu public environ 25 ans plus tard, après une fuite dans la télévision nationale du Chili. Un peu plus tard, il a été posté sur Internet, où il est rapidement devenu viral en raison du comportement étrange du jeune Super Taldo. .


Ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir le rapport de Super Taldo qui est devenu viral:

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Tourette?

Le Syndrome de la tourette o S Syndrome de Gilles de Tourette (Il porte le nom de Georges Gilles de Tourette, qui fut le premier à décrire ce trouble en 1885) est un trouble neurologique caractérisé par la personne qui souffre effectue des mouvements et des sons involontaires sans but précis .

Ces mouvements se répètent par intermittence et, dans les situations de stress, ils ont tendance à augmenter. Certains sons peuvent inclure un langage inapproprié (par exemple, des insultes ou des obscénités). Les premiers symptômes apparaissent généralement entre huit et onze ans. Les hommes sont trois à quatre fois plus susceptibles de souffrir du syndrome de Tourette que les femmes.

Il n'y a pas de consensus scientifique sur les causes, bien que certaines hypothèses suggèrent que son origine pourrait être associée à une altération chimique dans certaines régions du cerveau (altérations de la quantité de dopamine, noradrénaline et sérotonine). Différentes enquêtes ont conclu que le syndrome de Tourette est une maladie héréditaire.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur cette maladie dans notre article: "Le syndrome de Tourette: de quoi s'agit-il et comment se manifeste-t-il?"

Super Taldo de nos jours

Mais qu'est-il arrivé à Super Taldo? Quelle est la vie de ce personnage? Beaucoup se demandent si Agustín souffre encore du syndrome de Tourette ou s'il a réussi à reconstruire sa vie sans la présence de tics. En 2004, grâce à un programme de la télévision chilienne, Súper Taldo est réapparu sous forme télévisée. Agustín vit toujours dans la communauté de Conchalí, mais sa maladie est contrôlée grâce au traitement qu'il a suivi et aux trois opérations qu'il a subies. Il présente à peine des tics, bien qu'il souffre encore d'un réflexe involontaire.

Agustín nous dit que ce qui l’a vraiment aidé a été la thérapie au phosphore , qui consiste à construire des modèles de phosphore pour apprendre à contrôler les tics. Agustín Arenas a actuellement une fille, travaille dans une entreprise de conditionnement et pratique le cyclisme.

Ne manquez pas la vidéo récupérée de Super Taldo présentée ci-dessous . Un exemple de courage, de dignité et de lutte de cet homme.


FNN: Hurricane Florence changes direction, Medal of Honor ceremony (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes