yes, therapy helps!
Support groups: what are they and what are they effective for?

Support groups: what are they and what are they effective for?

December 3, 2022

We have all heard about someone who attends a support group, or we have read or seen in a novel, series or film.

A person with cancer, an alcoholic or a rape victim are some of the people who come to these types of groups. But... What is a support group? What exactly do they serve?

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

The support group: what are we facing?

A support group is understood as that group of people who meet periodically to help them cope with a problem that causes alterations in their daily life through the exchange of experiences. This problem is common for all members of the group.


Is about a strategy aimed at cooperation and support between people They live with the same problem, so that each member can improve their competence when it comes to adapting to the problem in question or its consequences and face possible future complications. In addition, it allows the expression of doubts, fears and emotions derived from his experience in a cozy environment and where he will meet other subjects who have gone through the same and will understand each other.

In the support groups, interaction and cooperation are favored , as well as empowering the assumption of responsibilities for themselves in each of the members. All members of the group have equal importance and the same right to express themselves, there being no hierarchy between them. The groups are usually mediated by a professional, who directs the session and acts as moderator and is dedicated to all members can express themselves freely and equally.


Support groups do not have to have a specific structure, although they tend to be of two specific types. On the one hand they can be closed groups, in which a certain number of subjects are registered and once started, new people can not be admitted . This forces people to commit to attend a specific number of sessions. Another type of groups are open, in which participation is free and can attend or stop doing whoever wants and when you want, can incorporate new subjects to the group.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 10 most effective types of psychological therapy"

Typical functions and advantages of support groups

The support groups have a wide variety of possible applications and functions, among which the following stand out.

1. It allows to acquire information and new perspectives

In the support groups a large amount of information is shared, which is reflected by people with different ways of interpreting both the experience and life in general. Likewise, the moderator or the professional in charge of the group can propose different topics or make the discussion move towards specific aspects that can help both to express themselves and to improve the situation of each subject.


In short, the support groups allow their components to acquire information that they did not have , as well as to observe and contrast the different ways of thinking and acting with respect to a theme. It can even serve to incorporate new behaviors, coping strategies and life activities that have been successful in other people.

2. It favors the coping of the problem and the acquisition of strategies

Through support groups, people who participate in them can learn new ways to cope with their difficulties, being able to generate new coping strategies both when learning them from others and when working them together.

3. Normalizes the situation and the experiences derived from it

Living certain situations can be a traumatic experience. In addition to this, it is common that people do not know how to react or if what they experience as a result of the problem in question or what they experienced at the time is normal. You may even feel that it is something reprehensible and self-blaming, for example, not being able to trust certain people or even go out.

Meeting other people with similar experiences It can be very reassuring, because it allows us to see that our own reactions are normal in certain situations and that the experiences and sensations that we have have been lived and felt by others.

  • Maybe you're interested: "In defense of people with dementia: fight stigmas and prejudices"

4. Emotional support: enhances the feeling of being understood

The support group supposes to be able to share aspects of one's own life that, before other subjects, they do not usually express themselves or they are not easily understood by someone who has not gone through the experience even though said person wants to offer help. The individual will be able to feel understood more easily before people with the same problem.

5. Encourages emotional expression

Having the presence of people in situations similar to their own causes the person to feel freer and can let go and share emotions and thoughts, unlocking aspects that are hidden from others.

6. Allows to establish ties and break the isolation

It is common for people who come to these groups to isolate themselves in their daily lives. Assistance to support groups allows people with a specific problem to be able to get to know others with similar experiences and start generating linkages , causing an opening towards the outside that by itself turns out to be therapeutic.

Situations and disorders in which they can be useful

Support groups can arise due to a large number of problems. These support groups can deal with aspects and chronic events, such as some diseases, or specific such as a divorce or a transplant.

Support groups for people with diseases

There are several support groups related to the existence of problems of medical origin, whether this is punctual or chronic. Examples of these are support groups for cancer patients of different types, as well as for diabetics, asthmatics, seropositive patients (HIV-AIDS).

For people with previous addictions

One of the most popular types of support groups. There are many support groups for people who have stopped using alcohol, cocaine, heroin or other substances and who are or have already gone through a period of abstinence.

For victims of traumatic events

There are support groups dedicated to bringing together and trying to help people who have suffered different traumatic events. People who have been raped or sexually abused at some time in their lives, kidnapped, victims of war, soldiers who have participated in armed conflicts, people who have survived a disease such as cancer or who have become widowed are some of the examples .

  • Related article: "Posttraumatic Stress Disorder: causes and symptoms"

For people at risk of social exclusion

Social exclusion is an element to keep in mind and that in many cases it causes deep suffering to the people who suffer it. Among them you can find support groups for ex-convicts, drug addicts, prostitutes, former indigents, affected by different diseases and socially rejected minorities.

For family members

There are support groups for relatives of people with some of the problems mentioned above. Do not forget that the environment of the subjects also suffers greatly and requires psychological and social support, being very useful meet other families who are going through the same . For example in families of people with dementia, disability, mental disorders or degenerative or chronic diseases.


Social Work & Support Groups (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Groupes de soutien: que sont-ils et pour quoi sont-ils efficaces?

Groupes de soutien: que sont-ils et pour quoi sont-ils efficaces?

Février 27, 2024

Nous avons tous entendu parler de quelqu'un qui participe à un groupe de soutien, ou nous avons lu ou vu un roman, une série ou un film.

Une personne atteinte d'un cancer, un alcoolique ou une victime de viol font partie des personnes qui font partie de ces groupes. Mais ... Qu'est-ce qu'un groupe de soutien? Qu'est-ce qu'ils servent exactement?

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Le groupe de soutien: à quoi sommes-nous confrontés?

Un groupe de soutien est compris comme ce groupe de personnes qui se rencontrent périodiquement pour les aider à faire face à un problème qui provoque des modifications dans leur vie quotidienne à travers l'échange d'expériences. Ce problème est commun à tous les membres du groupe.


Il s'agit de une stratégie de coopération et de soutien entre les personnes Ils vivent avec le même problème, de sorte que chaque membre puisse améliorer ses compétences en matière d'adaptation au problème en question ou à ses conséquences et faire face à d'éventuelles complications futures. De plus, cela permet d’exprimer les doutes, les peurs et les émotions tirés de son expérience dans un environnement confortable et où il rencontrera d’autres sujets qui ont vécu la même chose et se comprendront.

Dans les groupes de soutien, l'interaction et la coopération sont privilégiées , ainsi que la responsabilisation de chacun des membres. Tous les membres du groupe ont la même importance et le même droit de s’exprimer, sans hiérarchie. Les groupes sont généralement dirigés par un professionnel, qui dirige la session, joue le rôle de modérateur et se consacre à ce que tous les membres puissent s’exprimer librement et équitablement.


Les groupes de soutien ne doivent pas nécessairement avoir une structure spécifique, bien qu'ils tendent à être de deux types spécifiques. D'une part, ils peuvent être des groupes fermés, dans lesquels un certain nombre de sujets sont enregistrés et une fois commencé, les nouvelles personnes ne peuvent pas être admises . Cela oblige les gens à s’engager à assister à un nombre spécifique de séances. Un autre type de groupe est ouvert, dans lequel la participation est gratuite et permet d’assister ou d’arrêter de faire qui veut et quand vous voulez, peut incorporer de nouveaux sujets au groupe.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 types de thérapie psychologique les plus efficaces"

Fonctions typiques et avantages des groupes de soutien

Les groupes de soutien ont une grande variété d'applications et de fonctions possibles, parmi lesquelles se distinguent les suivantes.

1. Il permet d’acquérir des informations et de nouvelles perspectives

Dans les groupes de soutien, une grande quantité d'informations est partagée, ce qui est reflété par les personnes qui interprètent différemment l'expérience et la vie en général. De même, le modérateur ou le professionnel en charge du groupe peut proposer différents sujets ou faire avancer la discussion vers des aspects spécifiques permettant à la fois de s’exprimer et d’améliorer la situation de chaque sujet.


En bref, les groupes de soutien permettre à leurs composants d'acquérir des informations qu'ils n'avaient pas , ainsi que d’observer et de confronter les différentes façons de penser et d’agir par rapport à un thème. Cela peut même servir à intégrer de nouveaux comportements, stratégies d'adaptation et activités de la vie réussies chez d'autres personnes.

2. Il favorise la résolution du problème et l'acquisition de stratégies

Grâce aux groupes de soutien, les personnes qui y participent peuvent apprendre de nouvelles façons de surmonter leurs difficultés, être capable de générer de nouvelles stratégies d'adaptation à la fois en les apprenant des autres et en les travaillant ensemble.

3. Normalise la situation et les expériences qui en découlent

Vivre certaines situations peut être une expérience traumatisante. En plus de cela, il est fréquent que les gens ne sachent pas comment réagir ou si ce qu'ils ressentent à la suite du problème en question ou ce qu'ils ont vécu à l'époque est normal. Vous pouvez même penser que c'est quelque chose de répréhensible et de culpabilisation, par exemple, de ne pas pouvoir faire confiance à certaines personnes ou même de sortir.

Rencontrer d'autres personnes ayant des expériences similaires Cela peut être très rassurant, car cela nous permet de voir que nos propres réactions sont normales dans certaines situations et que les expériences et les sensations que nous avons vécues et ressenties par d’autres.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Pour la défense des personnes atteintes de démence: combattez les stigmates et les préjugés"

4. Soutien émotionnel: renforce le sentiment d'être compris

Le groupe de soutien suppose de pouvoir partager des aspects de sa propre vie qui, avant d’autres sujets, ne s’expriment généralement pas ou ne sont pas facilement compris de ceux qui n’ont pas vécu l’expérience, alors même que celle-ci souhaite offrir son aide. L'individu sera capable de se sentir compris plus facilement avant les personnes avec le même problème.

5. Encourage l'expression émotionnelle

Avoir la présence de personnes dans des situations similaires aux leurs permet à la personne de se sentir plus libre et peut se laisser aller et partager des émotions et des pensées, libérant ainsi des aspects cachés des autres.

6. Permet d'établir des liens et de briser l'isolement

Il est courant que les personnes qui font partie de ces groupes s’isolent dans leur vie quotidienne. L’aide aux groupes de soutien permet aux personnes aux prises avec un problème spécifique de pouvoir faire connaissance avec des personnes ayant des expériences similaires et commencer à créer des liens , provoquant une ouverture vers l’extérieur qui, en soi, s’avère thérapeutique.

Situations et troubles dans lesquels ils peuvent être utiles

Les groupes de soutien peuvent survenir en raison d'un grand nombre de problèmes. Ces groupes de soutien peuvent traiter d'aspects et d'événements chroniques, tels que certaines maladies, ou spécifiques, tels qu'un divorce ou une greffe.

Groupes de soutien pour personnes atteintes de maladies

Il existe plusieurs groupes de soutien liés à l’existence de problèmes d’origine médicale, qu’ils soient ponctuels ou chroniques. Des exemples de ces groupes sont les groupes de soutien pour les patients cancéreux de différents types, ainsi que pour les diabétiques, les asthmatiques, les patients séropositifs (VIH-SIDA).

Pour les personnes ayant des dépendances antérieures

Un des types les plus populaires de groupes de soutien. Il y a beaucoup de groupes de soutien pour les personnes qui ont cessé de consommer de l'alcool, de la cocaïne, de l'héroïne ou d'autres substances et qui sont ou ont déjà traversé une période d'abstinence.

Pour les victimes d'événements traumatiques

Il existe des groupes de soutien dédiés à rassembler et à essayer d'aider les personnes qui ont subi différents événements traumatiques. Les personnes qui ont été violées ou abusées sexuellement à un moment de leur vie, kidnappées, victimes de guerre, soldats qui ont participé à des conflits armés, des personnes ayant survécu à une maladie telle que le cancer ou devenues veuves sont quelques exemples .

  • Article connexe: "Trouble de stress post-traumatique: causes et symptômes"

Pour les personnes à risque d'exclusion sociale

L'exclusion sociale est un élément à garder à l'esprit et que dans de nombreux cas, cela cause de profondes souffrances aux personnes qui en souffrent. Parmi eux, vous trouverez des groupes de soutien pour anciens condamnés, toxicomanes, prostituées, anciens indigents, victimes de différentes maladies et minorités socialement rejetées.

Pour les membres de la famille

Il existe des groupes de soutien pour les parents de personnes présentant certains des problèmes mentionnés ci-dessus. Ne pas oublier que l'environnement des sujets souffre également beaucoup et nécessite un soutien psychologique et social, étant très utile rencontrer d'autres familles qui vivent la même chose . Par exemple, dans les familles de personnes atteintes de démence, d'invalidité, de troubles mentaux ou de maladies dégénératives ou chroniques.

Articles Connexes