yes, therapy helps!
Suxidine: uses and side effects of this medicine

Suxidine: uses and side effects of this medicine

October 4, 2022

Gastrointestinal symptoms are some of the most frequent manifestations when we are exposed to excessive nervous tension. To treat these manifestations there are numerous remedies, among which is pharmacology.

Precisely Suxidine is a medicine that is used to treat diseases of the digestive system related to important situations of stress. We will see below the main characteristics of said drug, as well as some recommendations in case of use.

  • Related article: "Types of stress and its triggers"

What is suxidine?

Suxidine is a drug used to treat various symptoms of the digestive system, related to anxiety states. It contains the following chemical compounds: talc, colloidal silica, calcium carbonate, methylene casin, magnesium stearate, dibasic calcium phosphate, casin.


It has mild anxiolytic properties, as a consequence of one of its active ingredients, the Oxazepam Hemisuccinate . The latter acts quickly and is absorbed almost completely, without food involved in it. It is a chemical compound with low toxicity, which usually stays in the system for 8 hours and is eliminated by the liver.

It also contains metoclopramide hydrochloride, which acts as a regulator of gastrointestinal motility and prevents spasms of the tract . This is absorbed by the digestive tract and is metabolized by the liver after approximately 4 hours. Metoclopramide has a slightly higher toxicity, capable of generating digestive and nervous disorders, especially in children.


It also contains polienzim-S, a compound of synthetic digestive enzymes and of proteic nature, that when interacting with natural enzymes, they favor the digestion process . Finally, suxidine contains silicone antifoam, which serves to reduce intestinal gas without significantly changing the gastric pH.

Authorization situation in Spain

In Spain, suxidine tablets were authorized for marketing on February 1, 1974, by the laboratories of SEID, S. A.

This authorization has been revoked as of July 27, 2018, so it is not currently marketed in that country. However, in other countries its distribution may continue in force, so we will see some uses and characteristics of this drug below.

  • You may be interested: "Enteric Nervous System: parts and functions"

What is it for and how is this drug taken?

Suxidin usually presented in tablets and with a prescription . The average dose for adults is 3 to 6 per day. In the case of children, it is contraindicated for children under 11 years of age.


Likewise, this drug is indicated to treat the following clinical manifestations associated with acute symptoms of stress and anxiety:

1. Neurovegetative dystonia

Also known as dysautonomia. Dystonias are movement disorders that affect muscle contractions. As the term itself indicates, the neurovegetative dystonia affects the vegetative nervous system, responsible for regulating involuntary movements, for example those of the digestive system. It is characterized by a acceleration or decrease of the organs that compose said apparatus .

2. Nervous dyspepsia

Dyspepsia is a disorder of the motility of the digestive system, specifically affecting the upper gastrointestinal tract. They impair the secretion of this organ and cause pain, swelling and stomach irritation. It's called nervous dyspepsia because it has a psychogenic origin .

3. Neurosensory-motor dyspepsia

Same as the previous one, it is a motility disorder of the digestive system, but, in this case, the origin of the disorder may be linked to the activity of the sensory nervous system and the activity of the sensitive nerves.

4. Dystonic biliary dyskinesia

Impairment of biliary motility, specifically it is about excessive or inappropriate movements of the muscles that regulate the secretion of bile.

5. Neurogenic gastritis

Also known as gastritis nervosa, since its origin is prolonged and intense exposure to stressful situations. Gastritis is characterized by the inflammation of the mucosa that lines the stomach and protects it from acidity.

6. Gastroenteritis

It is an inflammation of the internal membrane that covers both the stomach and the intestine, that is, causes swelling of the intestinal tract, causing diarrhea, vomiting and pain. It is usually caused by the activity of viruses and bacteria .

7. Gastroduodenal ulcer

Also known as peptic ulcer, it is about a sore located on the inner membrane of the stomach or the first part of the small intestine . It occurs due to a rupture of said membrane and may be caused by bacteria or other diseases, as well as by alcohol, drugs, tobacco or stress.

8. Irritable bowel

Functional disorder of the digestive that affects mainly the activity of intestine, generating abdominal pains, constipation, diarrhea and other symptoms.

Contraindications and side effects

Its use should be avoided in people whose gastric motility may worsen when taking this medicine. For example, people who have bleeding, obstruction or perforation in any organ of the digestive system. Likewise is contraindicated in people with delayed or neuroleptic dyskinesia (motor disorder related to prolonged taking of some neuroleptic drugs).

In addition, it can potentiate the antidopaminergic effects in the central nervous system and the sedative effects of many substances, so its combination with phenothiazines, tranquilizers, hypnotics, narcotics and alcohol should be avoided. On the other hand, its action decreases when it interacts with other active ingredients such as digoxin and cimetidine .

It is not advisable to use it during pregnancy and breastfeeding period, and it is also recommended to avoid situations that require an active alert status, due to its sedative effects.

Among the most common side effects is drowsiness, and in elderly people, its prolonged use can generate tardive dyskinesia. The latter are the effects that can cause an overdose of this medication .

Similarly, prolonged treatment can generate breast tension, galactorrhea (milk production out of period), amenorrhea (absence of rule for more than 90 days), gynecomastia (increase in breast size in men), impotence and hyperprolactinemia ( increased prolactin levels in the blood).

With regard to the most serious reactions, extrapyramidal reactions such as muscle spasms in the face, neck and tongue have been observed in children and adolescents.

Bibliographic references:

  • Suxidine Tablets Authorization Situation (2018). Spanish Agency of Medicines and Health Products. Retrieved September 7, 2018. Available at //www.aemps.gob.es/cima/publico/lista.html.
  • Suxidine Comp. Canceled medication. (2018). Vademecum Retrieved September 7, 2018. Available at //www.vademecum.es/medicamento-suxidina_3781.
  • Suxidin Technical Sheet (S / A). Botplusweb. Retrieved September 7, 2018. Available at //botplusweb.portalfarma.com/documentos/FICHAS%20TECNICAS%20POR%20LABORATORIOS%20PDF/Seid/f52063%20Suxidina.PDF.
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Suxidine: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Suxidine: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Novembre 23, 2022

Les symptômes gastro-intestinaux font partie des manifestations les plus fréquentes lorsque nous sommes exposés à une tension nerveuse excessive. Pour traiter ces manifestations, il existe de nombreux remèdes, parmi lesquels la pharmacologie.

Précisément Suxidine est un médicament utilisé pour traiter les maladies de l'appareil digestif. liées à des situations de stress importantes. Nous verrons ci-dessous les principales caractéristiques dudit médicament, ainsi que quelques recommandations en cas d'utilisation.

  • Article connexe: "Types de stress et ses déclencheurs"

Qu'est-ce que la suxidine?

La suxidine est un médicament utilisé pour traiter divers symptômes du système digestif, liés aux états d'anxiété. Il contient les composés chimiques suivants: talc, silice colloïdale, carbonate de calcium, méthylène casine, stéarate de magnésium, phosphate de calcium dibasique, casine.


Il a des propriétés anxiolytiques douces, conséquence de l’un de ses principes actifs, l’oxémépinate d’oxazépam . Ce dernier agit rapidement et est absorbé presque complètement, sans nourriture impliquée. C'est un composé chimique peu toxique, qui reste généralement dans le système pendant 8 heures et qui est éliminé par le foie.

Il contient également du chlorhydrate de métoclopramide, qui agit en tant que régulateur de la motilité gastro-intestinale et prévient les spasmes du tractus . Celui-ci est absorbé par le tube digestif et est métabolisé par le foie au bout de 4 heures environ. Le métoclopramide a une toxicité légèrement supérieure, capable de générer des troubles digestifs et nerveux, en particulier chez les enfants.


Il contient également du polienzim-S, composé d'enzymes digestives synthétiques et de nature protéique, qui, lorsqu'il interagit avec des enzymes naturelles, ils favorisent le processus de digestion . Enfin, la suxidine contient un antimousse à base de silicone qui sert à réduire les gaz intestinaux sans modifier de manière significative le pH gastrique.

Situation de l'autorisation en Espagne

En Espagne, la commercialisation des comprimés de suxidine a été autorisée le 1 er février 1974 par les laboratoires de SEID, S. A.

Cette autorisation a été révoquée le 27 juillet 2018 et n'est donc pas commercialisée dans ce pays. Cependant, dans d'autres pays, sa distribution pourrait continuer à s'appliquer, nous verrons donc ci-dessous certaines utilisations et caractéristiques de ce médicament.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Système nerveux entérique: pièces et fonctions"

À quoi sert-il et comment prend-on ce médicament?

Suxidin généralement présenté en comprimés et avec une ordonnance . La dose moyenne chez l'adulte est de 3 à 6 par jour. Dans le cas des enfants, il est contre-indiqué pour les enfants de moins de 11 ans.


De même, ce médicament est indiqué pour traiter les manifestations cliniques suivantes associées aux symptômes aigus de stress et d’anxiété:

1. Dystonie neurovégétative

Aussi connu comme dysautonomie. Les dystonies sont des troubles du mouvement qui affectent les contractions musculaires. Comme le terme l'indique lui-même, la dystonie neuro-végétative affecte le système nerveux végétatif, responsable de la régulation des mouvements involontaires, par exemple ceux du système digestif. Il est caractérisé par un accélération ou diminution des organes qui composent ledit appareil .

Dyspepsie nerveuse

La dyspepsie est un trouble de la motilité du système digestif, affectant spécifiquement le tractus gastro-intestinal supérieur. Ils altèrent la sécrétion de cet organe et provoquent des douleurs, un gonflement et une irritation de l'estomac. C'est ce qu'on appelle la dyspepsie nerveuse parce que il a une origine psychogène .

3. Dyspepsie neuro-sensorielle-motrice

Identique au précédent, il s’agit d’un trouble de la motilité du système digestif, mais, dans ce cas, de son origine. peut être lié à l'activité du système nerveux sensoriel et l'activité des nerfs sensibles.

4. Dyskinésie biliaire dystonique

Dépréciation de la motilité biliaire, en particulier il s'agit de mouvements excessifs ou inappropriés des muscles qui régulent la sécrétion de la bile.

5. gastrite neurogène

Également appelée gastrite nerveuse, son origine est une exposition prolongée et intense à des situations stressantes. La gastrite est caractérisée par l'inflammation de la muqueuse qui tapisse l'estomac et le protège de l'acidité.

6. Gastro-entérite

C'est une inflammation de la membrane interne qui couvre à la fois l'estomac et l'intestin, c'est-à-dire qui provoque un gonflement du tractus intestinal, provoquant une diarrhée, des vomissements et des douleurs. Il est généralement causé par l'activité de virus et de bactéries. .

7. Ulcère gastroduodénal

Aussi connu sous le nom d’ulcère peptique, il s’agit de une plaie située sur la membrane interne de l'estomac ou sur la première partie de l'intestin grêle . Elle est due à une rupture de la membrane et peut être causée par une bactérie ou d’autres maladies, ainsi que par l’alcool, la drogue, le tabac ou le stress.

8. Intestin irritable

Trouble fonctionnel de l'appareil digestif qui affecte principalement l'activité de l'intestin, générant des douleurs abdominales, une constipation, une diarrhée et d'autres symptômes.

Contre-indications et effets secondaires

Son utilisation doit être évitée chez les personnes dont la motilité gastrique peut s’aggraver au cours de la prise de ce médicament. Par exemple, les personnes qui ont des saignements, une obstruction ou une perforation dans n’importe quel organe du système digestif. De même est contre-indiqué chez les personnes atteintes de dyskinésie retardée ou neuroleptique (trouble moteur lié à la prise prolongée de certains médicaments neuroleptiques).

En outre, il peut potentialiser les effets antidopaminergiques sur le système nerveux central et les effets sédatifs de nombreuses substances. Par conséquent, sa combinaison avec des phénothiazines, des tranquillisants, des hypnotiques, des narcotiques et de l'alcool doit être évitée. D'un autre côté, son action diminue lorsqu'elle interagit avec d'autres ingrédients actifs tels que la digoxine et la cimétidine .

Il est déconseillé de l'utiliser pendant la grossesse et l'allaitement. Il est également recommandé d'éviter les situations nécessitant un état d'alerte active en raison de ses effets sédatifs.

La somnolence est l’un des effets indésirables les plus fréquents, et son utilisation prolongée chez les personnes âgées peut provoquer une dyskinésie tardive. Ces derniers sont les effets qui peuvent causer une surdose de ce médicament .

De même, un traitement prolongé peut engendrer une tension mammaire, une galactorrhée (production de lait hors période), une aménorrhée (absence de règle pendant plus de 90 jours), une gynécomastie (augmentation de la taille du sein chez les hommes), une impuissance et une augmentation des taux de prolactine dans le sang).

En ce qui concerne les réactions les plus graves, des réactions extrapyramidales telles que des spasmes musculaires au visage, au cou et à la langue ont été observées chez les enfants et les adolescents.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Comprimés Suxidine Situation d'autorisation (2018). Agence espagnole des médicaments et des produits de santé. Extrait le 7 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.aemps.gob.es/cima/publico/lista.html.
  • Suxidine Comp. Médicament annulé. (2018). Vademecum Extrait le 7 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.vademecum.es/medicamento-suxidina_3781.
  • Suxidin Fiche technique (S / A). Botplusweb. Récupéré le 7 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //botplusweb.portalfarma.com/documentos/FICHAS%20TECNICAS%20POR%20LABORATORIOS%20PDF/Seid/f52063%20Suxidina.PDF.
Articles Connexes