yes, therapy helps!
Symbolic Interactionism: what it is, historical development and authors

Symbolic Interactionism: what it is, historical development and authors

July 14, 2024

Symbolic Interactionism is a sociological theory which has had a great impact on contemporary social psychology, as well as on other areas of study in the social sciences. This theory analyzes the interactions, and their meanings, to understand the process through which individuals become competent members of a society.

Since the first half of the 20th century, Symbolic Interactionism has generated many different currents, as well as own methodologies that have had great importance in the understanding of social activity and in the construction of the "I".

  • Related article: "What is Constructivism in Psychology?"

What is Symbolic Interactionism?

Symbolic Interactionism is a theoretical current that arises in sociology (but moved quickly towards anthropology and psychology), and that studies interaction and symbols as key elements to understand both individual identity and social organization.


In a very broad way, what Symbolic Interactionism suggests is that people define ourselves according to the sense that 'the individual' acquires in a specific social context ; issue that depends largely on the interactions we engage.

In its origins are pragmatism, behaviorism and evolutionism, but far from enrolling in any of them, Symbolic Interactionism transits between them.

Among its antecedents is also the defense of 'situated' and partial truths, as opposed to the 'absolute truths', which have been criticized by a good part of contemporary philosophy to consider that the notion of 'truth' has been confused enough with the notion of 'beliefs' (because, from a pragmatic point of view about human activity, truths have the same function as beliefs have).


  • Related article: "What is Social Psychology?"

Stages and main proposals

Symbolic Interactionism has gone through many different proposals. In general terms, there are two major generations whose proposals are connected to each other, sharing the bases and background of the theory, but which are characterized by some different proposals.

1. Beginnings of Symbolic Interactionism: actions always have a meaning

One of the main proposals is that the identity is built mainly through interaction , which is always symbolic, that is, always means something. That is to say, the individual identity is always in connection with the meanings that circulate in a social group; it depends on the situation and the places that each individual occupies in that group.

Thus, interaction is an activity that always has a social meaning, in other words, it depends on our capacity to define and give meaning to individual and social phenomena: the 'order of the symbolic'.


In this order, language is no longer the instrument that faithfully represents reality, but rather it is rather a way of expressing attitudes, intentions, positions or objectives of the speaker, with which, language is also a social act and a way of constructing that reality.

Thus, our actions are understood beyond a set of habits or automatic behaviors or expressive behaviors. Actions always have a meaning that can be interpreted.

From this it follows that the individual is not an expression; it's more of a representation , a version of itself that is constructed and discovered through language (language that is not isolated or has been invented by the individual, but belongs to a logic and a specific social context).

That is, the individual is constructed through meanings that circulate while interacting with other individuals. Here arises one of the key concepts of Symbolic Interactionism: the "self", which has served to try to understand how a subject constructs these versions of themselves, that is, their identity.

In short, every person has a social character, so that individual behaviors must be understood in relation to group behaviors. For this reason, several authors of this generation focus especially on understand and analyze socialization (the process by which we internalize society).

Methodology in the first generation and main authors

In the first generation of Symbolic Interactionism, qualitative and interpretative methodological proposals emerge, for example the analysis of discourse or the analysis of gestures and image; that are understood as elements that not only represent but also construct a social reality.

The most representative author of the beginnings of Symbolic Interactionism is Mead, but Colley, Pierce, Thomas and Park, influenced by the German G. Simmel, have also been important. Likewise The Iowa school and the Chicago school are representative , and Call, Stryker, Strauss, Rosenberg and Turner, Blumer and Shibutani are recognized as authors of the first generation.

2. Second generation: social life is a theater

In this second stage of Symbolic Interactionism, identity is also understood as the result of the roles that an individual adopts in a social group, with which, it is also a kind of scheme that can be organized in different ways depending on each situation.

It takes special relevance the contribution of the dramaturgical perspective of Erving Goffman , who suggests that individuals are basically a set of actors, because we literally act constantly our social roles and that is expected of us according to those roles.

We act to leave a social image of ourselves, which not only happens during interaction with others (which reflect the social demands that will make us act in a certain way), but also occurs in the spaces and moments in which that those other people are not seeing us

Methodological proposals and main authors

The daily dimension, the study of the meanings and the things that we appear during the interaction are objects of scientific study. On a practical level, the empirical methodology is very important . That is why Symbolic Interactionism is related in an important way to phenomenology and ethnomethodology.

This second generation is also characterized by the development of the ethogenesis (The study of human-social interaction, which analyzes above all these four elements: human action, its moral dimension, the capacity of agency that we have people and the very concept of person in relation to their public performance).

In addition to Erving Goffman, some authors who have influenced much of the Symbolic Interactionism of this moment are Garfinkel, Cicourel and the most representative author of the etogenia, Rom Harré.

Relationship with social psychology and some criticisms

Symbolic Interactionism had an important impact the transformation of classical social psychology to postmodern social psychology o New Social Psychology. More specifically, it has impacted on Discursive Social Psychology and Cultural Psychology, where from the crisis of the traditional psychology of the 60's, concepts that had previously been rejected, such as reflexivity, interaction, language or meaning.

In addition, Symbolic Interactionism has been useful to explain the process of socialization, which was initially raised as an object of sociology study, but quickly connected with social psychology.

It has also been criticized for considering that it reduces everything to the order of interaction, that is, it reduces the interpretation of the individual to social structures. Likewise has been criticized on a practical level considering that its methodological proposals do not appeal to objectivity nor to quantitative methods.

Finally, there are those who consider that it poses a fairly optimistic idea of ​​interaction, since it does not necessarily take into account the normative dimension of interaction and social organization.

Bibliographic references

  • Fernández, C. (2003). Social psychologies at the threshold of the 21st century. Editorial foundations: Madrid
  • Carabaña, J. and Lamo E. (1978). The social theory of symbolic interactionism. Reis: Spanish Journal of Sociological Research, 1: 159-204.

Symbolic interactionism | Society and Culture | MCAT | Khan Academy (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'interactionisme symbolique: qu'est-ce que c'est, développement historique et auteurs

L'interactionisme symbolique: qu'est-ce que c'est, développement historique et auteurs

Juillet 30, 2022

L'interactionisme symbolique est une théorie sociologique qui a eu un grand impact sur la psychologie sociale contemporaine, ainsi que sur d’autres domaines d’études en sciences sociales. Cette théorie analyse les interactions et leurs significations pour comprendre le processus par lequel les individus deviennent des membres compétents d'une société.

Depuis la première moitié du XXe siècle, l’interactionisme symbolique a généré de nombreux courants, ainsi que des méthodologies propres qui ont eu une grande importance pour la compréhension de l’activité sociale et la construction du "Je".

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que le constructivisme en psychologie?"

Qu'est-ce que l'interactionisme symbolique?

L'interactionisme symbolique est un courant théorique qui se pose en sociologie (mais évolue rapidement vers l'anthropologie et la psychologie) et étudie l'interaction et les symboles en tant qu'éléments clés pour comprendre l'identité individuelle et l'organisation sociale.


De manière très générale, ce que suggère l’interactionisme symbolique, c’est que les gens se définissent eux-mêmes. selon le sens que «l'individu» acquiert dans un contexte social spécifique ; problème qui dépend en grande partie des interactions que nous engageons.

Le pragmatisme, le behaviorisme et l'évolutionnisme sont à l'origine de ce concept, mais l'interactionisme symbolique est loin de s'enrôler dans aucun d'entre eux.

Parmi ses antécédents, il y a aussi la défense des vérités «situées» et partielles, par opposition aux «vérités absolues», qui ont été critiqués par une bonne partie de la philosophie contemporaine considérer que la notion de «vérité» a suffisamment été confondue avec celle de «croyances» (car, du point de vue pragmatique de l'activité humaine, les vérités ont la même fonction que les croyances).


  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Etapes et principales propositions

L'interactionisme symbolique a fait l'objet de nombreuses propositions différentes. De manière générale, il existe deux générations majeures dont les propositions sont liées, partageant les bases et le fond de la théorie, mais qui se caractérisent par des propositions différentes.

1. Les débuts de l'interactionisme symbolique: les actions ont toujours un sens

Une des propositions principales est que l'identité est construite principalement par interaction , qui est toujours symbolique, c'est-à-dire signifie toujours quelque chose. C'est-à-dire que l'identité individuelle est toujours en relation avec les significations qui circulent dans un groupe social; cela dépend de la situation et des places que chaque individu occupe dans ce groupe.

Ainsi, l'interaction est une activité qui a toujours une signification sociale. En d'autres termes, elle dépend de notre capacité à définir et à donner un sens aux phénomènes individuels et sociaux: "l'ordre du symbolique".


Dans cet ordre, le langage n'est plus l'instrument qui représente fidèlement la réalité, mais plutôt c'est plutôt une manière d'exprimer des attitudes, des intentions, des positions ou des objectifs du locuteur, avec lequel, la langue est aussi un acte social et un moyen de construire cette réalité.

Ainsi, nos actions sont comprises au-delà d'un ensemble d'habitudes ou de comportements automatiques ou de comportements expressifs. Les actions ont toujours une signification qui peut être interprétée.

Il en résulte que l'individu n'est pas une expression; c'est plus une représentation , une version d'elle-même construite et découverte à travers le langage (langage qui n'est pas isolé ni inventé par l'individu, mais qui appartient à une logique et à un contexte social spécifique).

En d’autres termes, l’individu est construit à partir de significations qui circulent lorsqu’il interagit avec d’autres individus. Ici se pose l'un des concepts clés de l'interactionisme symbolique: le "soi", qui a servi à tenter de comprendre comment un sujet construit ces versions d'eux-mêmes, c'est-à-dire leur identité.

En bref, chaque personne a un caractère social, de sorte que les comportements individuels doivent être compris en relation avec les comportements de groupe. Pour cette raison, plusieurs auteurs de cette génération se sont surtout intéressés comprendre et analyser la socialisation (le processus par lequel nous internalisons la société).

Méthodologie de la première génération et auteurs principaux

Dans la première génération d'interactionisme symbolique, des propositions méthodologiques qualitatives et interprétatives apparaissent, par exemple l'analyse du discours ou l'analyse du geste et de l'image; qui sont compris comme des éléments qui non seulement représentent mais construisent également une réalité sociale.

Mead est l'auteur le plus représentatif des débuts de l'interactionisme symbolique, mais Colley, Pierce, Thomas et Park, influencés par l'allemand G. Simmel, ont également joué un rôle important. De même L'école de l'Iowa et l'école de Chicago sont représentatives , et Call, Stryker, Strauss, Rosenberg et Turner, Blumer et Shibutani sont reconnus comme auteurs de la première génération.

2. Deuxième génération: la vie sociale est un théâtre

Dans cette deuxième phase de l’interactionisme symbolique, l’identité est également comprise comme le résultat des rôles qu’un individu assume dans un groupe social, avec lequel il s’agit également d’une sorte de système qui peut être organisé de différentes manières en fonction de chaque situation.

Cela prend une pertinence particulière l'apport de la perspective dramaturgique d'Erving Goffman , qui suggère que les individus sont fondamentalement un ensemble d’acteurs, parce que nous jouons littéralement tous les rôles de notre société et que l’on attend de nous en fonction de ces rôles.

Nous agissons pour laisser une image sociale de nous-mêmes, qui ne se produit pas seulement lors des interactions avec les autres (qui reflètent les exigences sociales qui nous obligent à agir d’une certaine manière), mais se produit également dans les espaces et les moments dans lesquels que ces autres personnes ne nous voient pas

Propositions méthodologiques et auteurs principaux

La dimension quotidienne, l'étude des significations et les choses que nous apparaissons lors de l'interaction sont des objets d'étude scientifique. Sur le plan pratique, la méthodologie empirique est très importante . C'est pourquoi l'interactionisme symbolique est lié de manière importante à la phénoménologie et à l'ethnométhodologie.

Cette deuxième génération se caractérise également par le développement de l'éthogenèse (L'étude de l'interaction humaine-sociale, qui analyse avant tout ces quatre éléments: l'action humaine, sa dimension morale, la capacité d'agence que nous avons avec des personnes et le concept même de personne en relation avec leur performance publique)

Outre Erving Goffman, Garfinkel, Cicourel et l'auteur le plus représentatif de l'etogenia, Rom Harré, ont beaucoup influencé l'interactionisme symbolique de ce moment.

Relation avec la psychologie sociale et certaines critiques

L'interactionisme symbolique a eu un impact important la transformation de la psychologie sociale classique en psychologie sociale postmoderne o Nouvelle psychologie sociale. Plus spécifiquement, il a eu un impact sur la psychologie sociale discursive et la psychologie culturelle, où, depuis la crise de la psychologie traditionnelle des années 60, des concepts auparavant rejetés, tels que la réflexivité, l’interaction, langue ou signification.

En outre, l’interactionisme symbolique a été utile pour expliquer le processus de socialisation, qui avait été initialement évoqué comme objet d’étude sociologique, mais qui était rapidement lié à la psychologie sociale.

On lui a également reproché de considérer que tout se réduit à l'ordre d'interaction, c'est-à-dire qu'il réduit l'interprétation de l'individu aux structures sociales. De même a été critiqué sur le plan pratique, considérant que ses propositions méthodologiques ne font pas appel à l'objectivité ni aux méthodes quantitatives.

Enfin, certains considèrent que cela pose une idée assez optimiste de l'interaction, car elle ne prend pas nécessairement en compte la dimension normative de l'interaction et de l'organisation sociale.

Références bibliographiques

  • Fernández, C. (2003). Psychologies sociales au seuil du 21ème siècle. Fondements éditoriaux: Madrid
  • Carabaña, J. et Lamo E. (1978). La théorie sociale de l'interactionnisme symbolique. Reis: Revue espagnole de recherche sociologique, 1: 159-204.

DES STRUCTURES PARTOUT DES STRUCTURES ! STRUCTURALISME #1 (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes