yes, therapy helps!
Synchronous communication: characteristics, advantages and disadvantages

Synchronous communication: characteristics, advantages and disadvantages

December 3, 2022

New technologies have changed the way we interact with other people and this includes, of course, the way we communicate. The emergence of virtual platforms and mobile devices allows us to be in constant contact with everything, including people.

One of the many possibilities offered by new technologies is synchronous communication . Throughout this article we will discuss the fundamental characteristics of this, the main means or communication platforms that allow it, and the advantages and disadvantages that it presents.

  • Related article: "The 28 types of communication and their characteristics"

What is synchronous communication?

By synchrony we understand the coincidence in time of two or more facts. If this concept is applied to communication between people, we get the idea of ​​synchronic communication.


By synchronous communication we understand all those moments in which a dialogue or conversation between two or more people takes place in real time . Within this dialogue, people share a discourse, a medium through which information circulates and the time they invest during communication.

Although, at first, it may not be a novel concept (since it is reminiscent of a traditional spoken conversation), the idea of ​​synchronous communication is framed within the world of new technologies, specifically within the CMC (Computer Mediated Communication).

Within this scope, synchronous communication is defined as a process of exchange of information in real time and through the use of Internet or technological platforms.


The main characteristic of synchronous communication within the CMC is the time factor, which offers us the possibility to dialogue, exchange information, discuss ... with one or more people, in real time, without the need for this person to be in front of us in that same place.

The first example that can come to mind is telephone conversations . With the invention of the telephone, around 1860, the revolution of synchronous communication began. Since, in spite of the physical distance, two people can maintain an exchange of information live. That is, synchronously.

However, with the advent of Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs), chat has become the prototype of synchronous communication par excellence. The chats provide us with a space for exchanging information and interacting directly with the characteristics of a traditional oral communication, but mediated by a virtual space .


  • Maybe you're interested: "Nomophobia: the growing addiction to mobile phones"

How is it different from asynchronous communication?

The counterpoint to this synchronous communication is determined by asynchronous communication. Literally, the definition of asynchronous communication refers to the process of information exchange in which people do not share or coincide in the time factor.

This means that, unlike synchronous communication, in asynchronous communication people do not share the information simultaneously or in the same time frame.

A traditional example of asynchronous communication is the letter or the postal mail . However, given that we are in a virtual communication context, the greatest example of this type of information exchange that exists today is that of electronic mail.

What applications do you have?

In addition to the applications of synchronous communication in people's daily lives, thanks to which contact with anyone in real time is possible, this form of communication can be really useful in educational and even work contexts.

Thanks to virtual communication platforms, students, teachers and co-workers can communicate and collaborate synchronously (or asynchronously) without space-time limitations.

Through the use of internet networks, platforms, tools or virtual applications the exchange of ideas and information is facilitated. Which, well used, can mean an advance in the way of learning and working.

Main technological tools

To be able to carry out a synchronous communication process, a series of tools that enable real-time communication is required.For this, the interlocutors must, in addition to own the tool and the technological support, be connected at the same time , regardless of the distance that separates them.

For this, we find three main tools through which to establish synchronous communication. These are: instant messaging, chat and video-call or audio-call.

1. Instant messaging

This is one of the first forms of real-time communication between people based on the text. By using devices connected to an internet network, it is allowed in instant communication between two or more people through a written language.

In addition, with the latest advances and updates, this system also allows communication through voice messages and the exchange of images, documents, links and audiovisual information .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Telefonophobia (fear of telephones): causes, symptoms and therapy"

2. Chat

The appearance of the chat rooms within different virtual platforms meant a revolution in the dynamics of communication between people. These spaces of live virtual communication suppose a meeting space between two or more people in which to share all kinds of information.

Over the years, these spaces have been specialized and, at present, we can find chat rooms or communication platforms of this type organized in a thematic way and that allow the exchange of specific information.

3. Video-calls and audio calls

In addition to the traditional audio calls, with the video-calls or video-conferences a bidirectional live communication is possible, with the characteristics of a communication or oral conversation since includes visual and auditory information , and without the restrictions that distance implies.

What advantages and disadvantages does it present?

Although this type of communication has great advantages, hence the scope of its popularity, its misuse can lead to a series of drawbacks. Among the advantages and disadvantages of synchronous communication are:

1. Advantages

The main advantages are the following.

  • It allows us to generate a communication or dialogue with other people regardless of where they are located , which enables instant communication at the international level.
  • Enables the preservation of the interaction file
  • It allows the storage of the visual or auditory information exchanged.
  • Enables teamwork without people having to meet in the same place .
  • It is a meeting space and facilitates interaction between people with the same interests.

2. Disadvantages

Among the disadvantages associated with synchronous communication.

  • In the case of written communication, the lack of context or the inability to perceive the tone of the other person can lead to misunderstandings or confusion.
  • Lack of interaction rules or lack of consideration It can lead to saturation of the person. Which may feel compelled to answer at all times.
  • Requires constant updating as technologies advance
  • It can generate dependence and the need to keep in touch with others.

Synchronous Vs Asynchronous Serial Data Transmission - Communication Interface - Microprocessor (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Communication synchrone: caractéristiques, avantages et inconvénients

Communication synchrone: caractéristiques, avantages et inconvénients

Juin 25, 2019

Les nouvelles technologies ont changé la façon dont nous interagissons avec les autres, et cela inclut bien sûr la façon dont nous communiquons. L’émergence de plates-formes virtuelles et d’appareils mobiles nous permet d’être en contact permanent avec tout, y compris les personnes.

Une des nombreuses possibilités offertes par les nouvelles technologies est la communication synchrone . Tout au long de cet article, nous aborderons les caractéristiques fondamentales de ce dernier, les principaux moyens ou plates-formes de communication qui le permettent, ainsi que les avantages et les inconvénients qu’il présente.

  • Article connexe: "Les 28 types de communication et leurs caractéristiques"

Qu'est-ce qu'une communication synchrone?

Par synchronie, nous comprenons la coïncidence dans le temps de deux ou plusieurs faits. Si ce concept est appliqué à la communication entre des personnes, nous avons l’idée de la communication synchronique.


Par communication synchrone, nous comprenons tous ceux moments dans lesquels un dialogue ou une conversation entre deux personnes ou plus a lieu en temps réel . Dans ce dialogue, les gens partagent un discours, un moyen par lequel l'information circule et le temps qu'ils investissent lors de la communication.

Bien que, dans un premier temps, il ne s’agisse peut-être pas d’un concept nouveau (car il rappelle une conversation orale traditionnelle), l’idée de la communication synchrone s’inscrit dans le monde des nouvelles technologies, en particulier au sein de la CMC (Computer Communication médiée).

Dans ce cadre, la communication synchrone est définie comme un processus d’échange d’informations en temps réel et par le biais d’Internet ou de plates-formes technologiques.


La caractéristique principale de la communication synchrone au sein de la CMC est le facteur temps, qui nous offre la possibilité de dialoguer. échanger des informations, discuter ... avec une ou plusieurs personnes, en temps réel, sans qu'il soit nécessaire que cette personne soit devant nous au même endroit.

Le premier exemple auquel on puisse penser est la conversation téléphonique . Avec l'invention du téléphone, vers 1860, la révolution de la communication synchrone a commencé. Depuis, malgré la distance physique, deux personnes peuvent maintenir un échange d'informations en direct. C'est-à-dire de manière synchrone.

Cependant, avec l'avènement des technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC), le chat est devenu le prototype de la communication synchrone par excellence. Les chats nous offrent un espace pour échanger des informations et interagir directement avec les caractéristiques d’une communication orale traditionnelle, mais médiée par un espace virtuel .


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La nomophobie: la dépendance croissante aux téléphones portables"

En quoi est-ce différent de la communication asynchrone?

Le contrepoint à cette communication synchrone est déterminé par une communication asynchrone. Littéralement, la définition de la communication asynchrone fait référence au processus d'échange d'informations dans lequel les personnes ne partagent pas ou ne coïncident pas avec le facteur temps.

Cela signifie que, contrairement à la communication synchrone, dans une communication asynchrone, les personnes ne partagent pas les informations simultanément ou dans le même laps de temps.

Un exemple traditionnel de communication asynchrone est la lettre ou le courrier postal . Cependant, étant donné que nous sommes dans un contexte de communication virtuelle, le courrier électronique est le meilleur exemple de ce type d’échange d’informations existant aujourd’hui.

Quelles applications avez-vous?

Outre les applications de la communication synchrone dans la vie quotidienne des gens, grâce auxquelles le contact avec tout le monde est possible en temps réel, cette forme de communication peut être réellement utile dans des contextes éducatifs et même professionnels.

Grâce aux plates-formes de communication virtuelles, les étudiants, les enseignants et leurs collègues peuvent communiquer et collaborer de manière synchrone (ou asynchrone) sans limite d'espace-temps.

Via l'utilisation de réseaux Internet, de plateformes, d'outils ou d'applications virtuelles l'échange d'idées et d'informations est facilité. Ce qui, bien utilisé, peut signifier une avancée dans la manière d’apprendre et de travailler.

Principaux outils technologiques

Pour pouvoir exécuter un processus de communication synchrone, une série d’outils permettant une communication en temps réel est nécessaire.Pour cela, les interlocuteurs doivent, en plus de posséder l’outil et le support technologique, être connecté en même temps , peu importe la distance qui les sépare.

Pour cela, nous trouvons trois outils principaux à travers lesquels établir une communication synchrone. Il s’agit de la messagerie instantanée, du chat et des appels vidéo ou audio.

1. messagerie instantanée

C'est l'une des premières formes de communication en temps réel entre personnes basée sur le texte. L'utilisation d'appareils connectés à un réseau Internet permet la communication instantanée entre deux personnes ou plus via une langue écrite.

De plus, avec les dernières avancées et mises à jour, ce système permet également la communication par messages vocaux et l'échange d'images, de documents, de liens et d'informations audiovisuelles .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Téléphonophobie (peur du téléphone): causes, symptômes et traitement"

2. Chat

L'apparition des forums de discussion au sein de différentes plates-formes virtuelles a entraîné une révolution dans la dynamique de la communication entre les personnes. Ces espaces de communication virtuelle en direct supposent un espace de réunion entre deux personnes ou plus pour partager toutes sortes d'informations.

Au fil des ans, ces espaces se sont spécialisés et nous pouvons actuellement trouver des forums de discussion ou des plateformes de communication de ce type organisés de manière thématique et permettant l’échange d’informations spécifiques.

3. Appels vidéo et appels audio

En plus des appels audio traditionnels, une communication en direct bidirectionnelle est possible avec les appels ou les vidéoconférences, avec les caractéristiques d'une communication ou d'une conversation orale depuis comprend des informations visuelles et auditives , et sans les restrictions que cette distance implique.

Quels avantages et inconvénients présente-t-il?

Bien que ce type de communication présente de grands avantages, d’où la portée de sa popularité, son utilisation abusive peut entraîner une série d’inconvénients. Parmi les avantages et les inconvénients de la communication synchrone sont les suivants:

1. avantages

Les principaux avantages sont les suivants.

  • Cela nous permet de générer une communication ou un dialogue avec d'autres personnes peu importe où ils se trouvent , qui permet une communication instantanée au niveau international.
  • Active la conservation du fichier d'interaction
  • Il permet le stockage des informations visuelles ou auditives échangées.
  • Permet travail d'équipe sans que les gens aient à se rencontrer au même endroit .
  • C'est un espace de rencontre qui facilite les échanges entre personnes partageant les mêmes intérêts.

2. Inconvénients

Parmi les inconvénients associés à la communication synchrone.

  • Dans le cas d'une communication écrite, l'absence de contexte ou l'incapacité de percevoir le ton de l'autre personne peut entraîner des malentendus ou de la confusion.
  • Manque de règles d'interaction ou manque de considération Cela peut conduire à la saturation de la personne. Qui peut se sentir obligé de répondre à tout moment.
  • Nécessite une mise à jour constante à mesure que les technologies progressent
  • Cela peut générer une dépendance et la nécessité de rester en contact avec les autres.

Le tutorat en monde virtuel (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes