yes, therapy helps!
Synesthesia, people with the ability to see sounds and taste colors

Synesthesia, people with the ability to see sounds and taste colors

June 19, 2024

It is quite evident that, for most people, receiving light on the retina means having a visual sensation, just as making something come into contact with our skin generates a tactile sensation or receiving sound waves over our ears. It makes us hear something. However, this outline of events is not always so simple.

There are some people who experience a phenomenon called synesthesia , consisting of perceive sensations originating from several sensory channels .

Where synesthesia occurs, one type of stimulation evokes the sensation of another. In this way, some synaesthetic people they can see sounds, while others can taste tactile sensations, etc. For example, one of the best known cases is that of physicist Richard Feynman, who said see equations in colors , but the range of combinations of sensations that can be produced as a form of synesthesia is really very broad: sounds that generate flavors, numbers and letters that are perceived as colors, etc.


Why is synesthesia produced?

A large part of the community of neuroscientists in charge of studying synesthesia believe that it is produced by a kind of "crossover". Thus, they propose the explanation that at the moment in which this phenomenon occurs, vA few channels of neurons associated with different senses interfere with each other , so that the information of the surrounding medium that arrives through a sensory organ reaches the brain and transforms into another type of sensation.

Hence, people who experience this see mix their senses involuntarily and without being able to consciously regulate this transfer of information from one sensory type to the other, and hence also that there may be cases in which blind synesthetic people can continue to experience colors at the same time. touch, hear, etc.


Synesthetic people may have a somewhat unique brain

In short, the brain of people who experience synesthesia it seems to have an architecture somewhat different from the rest of the population Although that does not mean that your nervous system is damaged or that you are less able to live a normal life and autonomously. In fact, because of the automatic and partially unconscious nature of synaesthesia, it is not uncommon for a person to have been mixing sensations all his life and not realizing what is peculiar to him or what happens to him. world.

How widespread is synesthesia?

Synesthesia, under its different forms and types, is not something that rarely happens in those people who experience it, and that is why it is possible to assimilate well and consider the normal way of perceiving reality, since it is part of the day to Many people's day.


The fact that many people are synesthetic without being aware of it makes it difficult to calculate the percentage of the population that is, but recently there have been indications that the synesthesia is surprisingly widespread . It could be part of the daily life of 4 or 5 of every 100 people, much more than what was believed at the end of the 20th century, being the most frequent type the one consisting of associate days with colors . In addition, interestingly, it is more widespread in people with autism, which in the future may provide clues to understand the origin and causes of this type of disorders.

Are we all synesthetic?

Something to keep in mind is that there are phenomena very similar to synesthesia that are very generalized, which may mean that almost all of us are synesthetic to a lesser or greater extent .

For example, it is very normal to associate angled and sharp shapes with sounds like the letter "k", while the rounded contours are easier to relate to the sound of the "b", although this does not respond to any type of logical reasoning. This type of thinking has also been called by psychologists as cognitive biases. You can learn more about this by reading this article:

"Cognitive biases: discovering an interesting psychological effect"

The same goes for many other elements of our day-to-day life: we talk about acid humor, sharp tongues, etc. In case the hypothesis that these phenomena are mild cases of synesthesia, our way of understanding the normal functioning of sensory pathways would be revealed as something more complex than we thought .

Bibliographic references:

  • Baron-Cohen, S., Johnson, D., Asher, J., Wheelwright, S., Fisher, S.E., Gregersen, P.K., Allison, C. (2013). Is synaesthesia more common in autism? Molecular Autism, 4 (1), p. 40
  • Simner, J., Mulvenna, C., Sagiv, N., Tsakanikos, E., Witherby, S.A., Fraser, C. Scott, K. Ward, J.(2006). Synaesthesia: The prevalence of atypical cross-modal experiences. Perception, 35 (8), pp. 1024-1033.
  • Steven, M. S. and Blakemore, C. (2004). Visual synaesthesia in the blind.Perception, 33 (7), pp. 855-868.

Synesthesia: The Science Behind Seeing Sounds & Tasting Color (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Synesthésie, capacité de voir les sons et de goûter les couleurs

Synesthésie, capacité de voir les sons et de goûter les couleurs

Septembre 23, 2019

Il est bien évident que, pour la plupart des gens, recevoir de la lumière sur la rétine signifie avoir une sensation visuelle, de la même façon que quelque chose qui entre en contact avec notre peau génère une sensation tactile ou reçoit des ondes sonores sur nos oreilles. Cela nous fait entendre quelque chose. Cependant, cette présentation des événements n’est pas toujours aussi simple.

Certaines personnes vivent un phénomène appelé synesthésie , Il se compose de percevoir des sensations provenant de plusieurs canaux sensoriels .

En cas de synesthésie, un type de stimulation évoque la sensation d’un autre. De cette façon, certains personnes synesthétiques ils peuvent voir les sons, tandis que d'autres peuvent goûter des sensations tactiles, etc. Par exemple, l’un des cas les plus connus est celui du physicien Richard Feynman, qui dit voir les équations en couleurs , mais la gamme de combinaisons de sensations pouvant être produites sous forme de synesthésie est vraiment très large: des sons qui génèrent des arômes, des chiffres et des lettres perçus comme des couleurs, etc.


Pourquoi la synesthésie est-elle produite?

Une grande partie de la communauté des neuroscientifiques chargée d'étudier la synesthésie pense qu'elle est produite par une sorte de "croisement". Ainsi, ils proposent l'explication que, au moment où ce phénomène se produit, vQuelques canaux de neurones associés à des sens différents interfèrent les uns avec les autres , de sorte que les informations du milieu environnant qui parvient à travers un organe sensoriel parviennent au cerveau et se transforment en un autre type de sensation.

De ce fait, les personnes qui en font l'expérience mélangent leurs sens involontairement et sans pouvoir régler consciemment ce transfert d'informations d'un type sensoriel à un autre, et donc aussi dans certains cas, des synesthétiques aveugles peuvent continuer à faire l'expérience des couleurs en même temps. toucher, entendre, etc.


Les personnes synesthétiques peuvent avoir un cerveau assez unique

En bref, le cerveau des personnes qui souffrent de synesthésie il semble avoir une architecture quelque peu différente du reste de la population Bien que cela ne signifie pas que votre système nerveux est endommagé ou que vous êtes moins en mesure de mener une vie normale et autonome. En fait, en raison de la nature automatique et partiellement inconsciente de la synesthésie, il n'est pas rare qu'une personne ait mélangé des sensations toute sa vie sans se rendre compte de ce qui lui est particulier ou de ce qui lui arrive. monde

Quelle est l'ampleur de la synesthésie?

La synesthésie, sous ses différentes formes et types, n’est pas chose courante chez les personnes qui en souffrent, et c’est pourquoi il est possible de bien assimiler et de considérer la manière normale de percevoir la réalité, car elle fait partie des tâches quotidiennes. Journée de nombreuses personnes.


Le fait que beaucoup de gens soient synesthésiques sans en avoir conscience rend difficile le calcul du pourcentage de la population, mais récemment, il y a eu des indications selon lesquelles la synesthésie est étonnamment répandue . Cela pourrait faire partie de la vie quotidienne de 4 ou 5 personnes sur 100, beaucoup plus que ce que l'on croyait à la fin du 20ème siècle, étant le type le plus fréquent de celui-ci. associer des jours avec des couleurs . En outre, il est intéressant de noter qu’il est plus répandu chez les personnes atteintes d’autisme, ce qui pourrait à l’avenir fournir des indices permettant de comprendre l’origine et les causes de ce type de troubles.

Sommes-nous tous synesthétiques?

Il convient de garder à l’esprit qu’il existe des phénomènes très similaires à la synesthésie très généralisés, ce qui peut signifier que nous sommes presque tous synesthétiques dans une moindre mesure .

Par exemple, il est très normal d'associer des formes angulaires et pointues à des sons tels que la lettre "k", alors que les contours arrondis sont plus faciles à associer au son du "b", bien que cela ne réponde à aucun type. de raisonnement logique. Ce type de pensée a également été appelé par les psychologues comme biais cognitifs. Vous pouvez en apprendre plus à ce sujet en lisant cet article:

"Biais cognitifs: découvrir un effet psychologique intéressant"

Il en va de même pour de nombreux autres éléments de notre vie quotidienne: nous parlons de humour acide, langues tranchantesetc. Au cas où l'hypothèse que ces phénomènes sont des cas légers de synesthésie, notre façon de comprendre le fonctionnement normal des voies sensorielles serait révélé comme quelque chose de plus complexe que nous le pensions .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baron-Cohen, S., D. Johnson, J. Asher, S. Wheelwright, S. S. Fisher, Gregersen, P.K., Allison, C. (2013). La synesthésie est-elle plus fréquente dans l'autisme? Autisme moléculaire, 4 (1), p. 40
  • Simner, J., Mulvenna, C., Sagiv, N., E. Tsakanikos, Witherby, S.A., Fraser, C. Scott, K. Ward, J.(2006). Synesthésie: prévalence d'expériences intermodales atypiques. Perception, 35 (8), pp. 1024-1033.
  • Steven, M.S. et Blakemore, C. (2004). Synesthésie visuelle chez les aveugles. Perception, 33 (7), pp. 855-868.

La SYNESTHÉSIE (Morbus #03) (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes