yes, therapy helps!
Taijin Kyofusho (phobia to be a nuisance): symptoms and treatment

Taijin Kyofusho (phobia to be a nuisance): symptoms and treatment

July 14, 2024

Communicating with our peers is something very important for the human being, being in fact one of the bases that has allowed the development and evolution of our species. It is something complex that is subject to the interpretation of both words and acts, and that can sometimes be judged.

Sometimes fears or even phobias can appear in this sense, some of them influenced by the mentality of certain cultures and groups. This is the case of the syndrome known as Taijin Kyofusho , which we are going to talk about next.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Taijin Kyofusho: what is this mental alteration?

It receives the name of Taijin Kyofusho an alteration or psychological condition characterized by the presence of a disproportionate and irrational fear that the own communicative acts, our body or physiological reactions be noticed, judged and considered uncomfortable or annoyed by other people .


It is a kind of phobia very similar to social phobia, which until recently It has been considered a cultural syndrome of Japan and to a lesser extent Korea . However, at present it has been observed that similar alterations exist in other parts of the world, and that some of its variants may correspond to other problems.

symptom

The possibility that other people feel discomfort or annoyance to different aspects of meeting or interaction with them generates a very high level of panic and anxiety , also being able to generate physiological reactions such as tachycardia, hyperventilation, sweating, nausea and vomiting. It also usually generates an avoidance of contact with others, or the use of mechanisms such as masks to avoid exposure of aspects such as breath or smile.


Types

Taijin Kyofusho is a general concept that encompasses the fear that our exposure to society may be a nuisance, but that it usually includes four more specific subcategories.

1. Sekimen-kyofu

This term refers to the phobia turn red in public and make it somewhat uncomfortable for everyone else.

2. Shubo-kyofu

In this case, the phobia is linked to the perception of one's body as something deformed or dissatisfied with one's body: it is the phobia that the vision of our body or figure is annoying or uncomfortable.

3. Jikoshisen-kyofu

This phobia refers to the phobia of maintaining eye contact, something that generates panic at the idea of ​​the discomfort that can represent .

4. Jikoshu-kyofu

Body odor is in this case the stimulus that generates panic anxiety, or rather the idea that it can generate discomfort in others.


Difference with conventional social phobia

The truth is that the Taijin Kyofusho could be considered a variant of social phobia , since they are deeply linked and based on the panic to expose themselves socially.

However, there are some nuances that make us talk about a differentiated variant: in social phobia panic is to be judged negatively while in this variant of fear is more linked to being a nuisance to others.

Also, typical components that could be identified with other phobias such as erythrophobia can also be found.

Causes of this alteration

The causes of taijin kyofusho syndrome are not yet fully known, especially considering how specific it has been until recently.

However, as a social phobia variant it is possible to establish hypotheses about it. It is considered that it can be product of previous traumatic experiences during development and early socialization , perhaps being the subject scolded or marginalized by any of the above aspects (especially by parents, couples or friends circles or in general by highly significant persons), considering themselves inadequate or incompetent having a low self-esteem or having observed how someone was judged by some of the aforementioned phobic stimuli.

It is also associated with a lack or limitation of opportunities for normative social interaction. It is also associated with timid and inhibited personalities, or extremely self-controlled.

The reason that the Taijin Kyofusho is so relatively frequent in Japan and Korea, and that in fact has led to its consideration as a culture-dependent syndrome, is due to the kind of thinking and mentality of those cultures. In fact, it has been observed a higher prevalence in collectivist cultures as those already mentioned, since in them there is a much greater tendency than in the individualists to generate personal identity based on social consideration.

It can also be derived from the high level of social demand maintained by companies such as Japan, with very high demands and expectations for all its citizens.

Treatment

The taijin kyofusho is a problem of phobic type that, like the rest of phobias, can be treated.

In the first place, it would be necessary to analyze which stimuli generate fear, the significance that the subject gives, when the phobia originated and why the person who appeared appeared. It would also be necessary to assess the contexts in which it usually appears, if there are some in which it does not and the difficulties that it generates to the person on a day-to-day basis. Also what importance is given to socialization, what it would mean to be a nuisance to others or why do you think it could be.

Done this, one of the most common therapies is exposure therapy , in which little by little and in a graduated way, the subject is exposed to a series of situations to face the anxiety. First, a hierarchy of exposure would be made with the patient and, little by little, the exposures would be made, each item being carried out until in at least two successive exposures the anxiety is reduced significantly before moving on to the next.

At the same time, the set of beliefs could be worked on with respect to oneself, society or the way of interacting with it through techniques such as cognitive restructuring. The objective would be to generate more adaptive interpretations of reality than the original ones, linked to the idea of ​​the negative effects of one's presence on others. It would also have to try to lower self-demand and the importance given to the expectations that are considered to be had about us.

In severe cases, the use of pharmacological treatment may be required in order to reduce the level of anxiety while learning to manage it.

Bibliographic references:

  • Suzuki, K., Takei, N., Kawai, M., Minabe, Y. and Mori, N. (2003). Is Taijin Kyofusho a Culture-Bound Syndrome ?. The American Journals Psychiatry office.
  • Takahaski, T. (1989). Social phobia syndrome in Japan. I bought Psychiatry, 30: 45-52.
  • Vriends, N., Pfaltz, M.C., Novianti, P. & Hadiyono, J. (2013). Taijin Kyofusho and Social Anxiety and Their Clinical Relevance in Indonesia and Switzerland. Front Psychol. 2013; 4: 3

Tanılararası Süreçler | PsikoSöyleşi | Bölüm 1 (TR Altyazı) (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Taijin Kyofusho (la phobie est une nuisance): symptômes et traitement

Taijin Kyofusho (la phobie est une nuisance): symptômes et traitement

Juin 25, 2019

La communication avec nos pairs est une chose très importante pour l’être humain. C’est en fait l’une des bases qui a permis le développement et l’évolution de notre espèce. C'est quelque chose de complexe qui est soumis à l'interprétation de mots et d'actes, et qui peut parfois être jugé.

Parfois, des peurs ou même des phobies peuvent apparaître en ce sens, certaines étant influencées par la mentalité de certaines cultures et de certains groupes. C'est le cas du syndrome appelé Taijin Kyofusho , dont nous allons parler ensuite.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Taijin Kyofusho: quelle est cette altération mentale?

Il reçoit sous le nom de Taijin Kyofusho une altération ou un état psychologique caractérisé par la présence d'une peur disproportionnée et irrationnelle de voir ses propres actes de communication, notre corps ou nos réactions physiologiques être remarqué, jugé et considéré comme inconfortable ou agacé par d'autres personnes .


C'est une sorte de phobie très semblable à la phobie sociale, qui jusqu'à récemment Il a été considéré comme un syndrome culturel du Japon et, dans une moindre mesure, de la Corée. . Cependant, à l'heure actuelle, il a été observé que des modifications similaires existaient dans d'autres parties du monde et que certaines de ses variantes pouvaient correspondre à d'autres problèmes.

Les symptômes

La possibilité que d’autres personnes se sentent gênées ou gênées par différents aspects des réunions ou des interactions avec elles génère un niveau très élevé de panique et d'anxiété , pouvant également générer des réactions physiologiques telles que tachycardie, hyperventilation, transpiration, nausées et vomissements. Cela permet également d'éviter les contacts avec les autres ou l'utilisation de mécanismes tels que les masques pour éviter l'exposition d'aspects tels que le souffle ou le sourire.


Types

Taijin Kyofusho est un concept général qui englobe la crainte que notre exposition à la société ne soit une nuisance, mais qui comprend généralement quatre sous-catégories plus spécifiques.

1. Sekimen-Kyofu

Ce terme fait référence à la phobie virer au rouge en public et le rendre un peu inconfortable pour les autres.

2. Shubo-Kyofu

Dans ce cas, la phobie est liée à la perception de son corps en tant que quelque chose de déformé ou d'insatisfait de son corps: c'est la phobie que la vision de notre corps ou de notre silhouette soit gênante ou inconfortable.

3. Jikoshisen-Kyofu

Cette phobie fait référence à la phobie du maintien du contact visuel, quelque chose qui génère la panique à l'idée de l'inconfort que peut représenter .

4. Jikoshu-Kyofu

L'odeur corporelle est dans ce cas le stimulus qui génère l'anxiété de panique, ou plutôt l'idée qu'elle peut générer un inconfort chez les autres.


Différence avec la phobie sociale conventionnelle

La vérité est que le Taijin Kyofusho pourrait être considéré comme une variante de la phobie sociale , puisqu'ils sont profondément liés et fondés sur la panique pour s'exposer socialement.

Cependant, il existe certaines nuances qui font que nous parlons d'une variante différenciée: dans la phobie sociale, la panique doit être jugée négativement alors que dans cette variante, la peur est davantage liée à la nuisance pour les autres.

On peut également trouver des composants typiques qui pourraient être identifiés avec d'autres phobies telles que l'érythrophobie.

Causes de cette altération

Les causes du syndrome du taijin kyofusho ne sont pas encore entièrement connues, en particulier si on tient compte de la spécificité de ce syndrome jusqu'à récemment.

Cependant, en tant que variante de la phobie sociale, il est possible d’établir des hypothèses à ce sujet. On considère qu'il peut être produit d'expériences traumatiques antérieures au cours du développement et de la socialisation précoce , peut-être le sujet réprimandé ou marginalisé par l’un des aspects ci-dessus (surtout par les parents, les couples ou les cercles d’amis ou en général par des personnes très importantes), observé comment quelqu'un était jugé par certains des stimuli phobiques susmentionnés.

Elle est également associée à un manque ou à une limitation des possibilités d'interaction sociale normative, ainsi qu'à des personnalités timides et inhibées, ou extrêmement autocontrôlée.

La raison pour laquelle le Taijin Kyofusho est si relativement fréquent au Japon et en Corée, et qu’elle a en fait conduit à le considérer comme un syndrome dépendant de la culture, est due au type de pensée et de mentalité de ces cultures. En fait, il a été observé une prévalence plus élevée dans les cultures collectivistes comme ceux qui ont déjà été mentionnés, car la tendance à générer une identité personnelle fondée sur des considérations sociales est beaucoup plus grande que chez les individualistes.

Cela peut également être déduit de la forte demande sociale maintenue par des entreprises telles que le Japon, avec des exigences et des attentes très élevées pour tous ses citoyens.

Traitement

Le taijin kyofusho est un problème de type phobique qui, comme le reste des phobies, peut être traité.

En premier lieu, il serait nécessaire d'analyser quels stimuli génèrent la peur, la signification que le sujet donne, quand la phobie est à l'origine et pourquoi la personne qui est apparue est apparue. Il serait également nécessaire d’évaluer les contextes dans lesquels il apparaît habituellement, s’il en existe certains et les difficultés que cela génère pour la personne au quotidien. Aussi quelle importance est donnée à la socialisation, ce que cela signifierait d'être une nuisance pour les autres ou pourquoi pensez-vous que cela pourrait être.

Fait cela, l’une des thérapies les plus courantes est thérapie d'exposition , dans lequel peu à peu et de façon progressive, le sujet est exposé à une série de situations pour faire face à l’anxiété. Premièrement, une hiérarchie d'exposition serait établie avec le patient et, petit à petit, les expositions seraient effectuées, chaque élément étant réalisé jusqu'à ce qu'au moins dans deux expositions successives l'anxiété soit réduite de manière significative avant de passer au suivant.

Dans le même temps, on pourrait travailler sur l’ensemble des croyances en ce qui concerne soi-même, la société ou la manière d’interagir avec elle par le biais de techniques telles que la restructuration cognitive. L’objectif serait de générer des interprétations plus adaptatives de la réalité que les originales, liées à l’idée des effets négatifs de sa présence sur les autres. Il faudrait aussi essayer de réduire la demande de soi et l'importance accordée aux attentes que nous considérons avoir.

Dans les cas graves, l'utilisation d'un traitement pharmacologique peut être nécessaire pour réduire le niveau d'anxiété tout en apprenant à le gérer.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Suzuki, K., Takei, N., Kawai, M., Minabe, Y. et Mori, N. (2003). Taijin Kyofusho est-il un syndrome lié à la culture? Le bureau de psychiatrie des journaux américains.
  • Takahaski, T. (1989). Syndrome de phobie sociale au Japon. J'ai acheté Psychiatry, 30: 45-52.
  • Vriends, N., Pfaltz, M.C., Novianti, P. et Hadiyono, J. (2013). Taijin Kyofusho et l'anxiété sociale et leur pertinence clinique en Indonésie et en Suisse. Psychol avant. 2013; 4: 3

Qu'est ce que ça veut dire #Anthropophobie (Juin 2019).


Articles Connexes