yes, therapy helps!
Taquilalia: symptoms, causes and treatment

Taquilalia: symptoms, causes and treatment

May 4, 2024

Taquilalia is a pattern of verbal language characterized by the emission of words at an accelerated rate. Although it can occur at different ages, this pattern develops more frequently during childhood and adolescence.

ANDIn this article we will see what taquilalia is , what are some of its possible causes and in what way it can be intervened in it.

  • Related article: "The 8 types of speech disorders"

Taquilalia: definition and symptoms

The term "taquilalia" refers to the excessive speed of speech . This rapidity is characterized by the omission of sounds and syllables, which in turn has as a consequence a major difficulty in understanding what the person is trying to express.


Other characteristics of the taquilalia are the few pauses in the discourse and a motive restlessness, that can be slight or very well-known. On the other hand, there is not necessarily a semantic or syntactic disorganization of discourse, but rather the substitution of sounds for similar ones, due to the speed of speech itself.

Also, the person may be aware of the acceleration of his speech, and the difficulty that others have to understand, however, such acceleration does not diminish easily despite the effort to control it .

Taquilalia, disfemia or stuttering?

Taquilalia is also considered a type of dyspnea. The latter is a disorder of speech fluency, or a disorder of communication, characterized by a frequent, prolonged and involuntary repetition of sounds, syllables or words, as well as by doubts or pauses that usually interrupt the rhythmic flow of speech.


These characteristics are visible, which is why they are known as primary behaviors. However, dysphemia is also characterized by the presence of secondary behaviors , which are not easily observed but also affect the quality of life of the person. These are manifestations such as fear, anxiety or avoidance.

The disfemia is considered by some specialists as a synonym for stuttering, so in some contexts both can be called "speech fluency disorder" or "communication disorder". In any case, being a broad spectrum of behaviors, both primary and secondary, dysfunction may have some particular manifestations. Among these is taquilalia.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Stuttering (dyspnea): symptoms, types, causes and treatment"

Possible causes

As with other speech fluency disorders, taquilalia is a pattern of multi-causal communication. This means that it can be caused by different factors, among which are emotional coping strategies for stress situations, parenting styles, the presence of stressors in the next contexts , or it can also be presented as one of the manifestations of medical conditions, disability, anxiety disorders, etcetera.


Likewise and from the most classic studies of child psychology, some specialists have suggested that one of the main triggers of the disorders of fluency is external pressure by emitting intelligible speech , especially because the person faces difficulties that escape their immediate will.

In other words, one of the most common triggers of speech disorders is the discomfort generated when the person becomes aware that he is not being understood by the rest, and forces himself to improve his fluency as soon as possible, hampering communication again.

Dimensions for evaluation

Taquilalia can represent a problematic speech pattern, especially when it occurs in school-age children, as it can affect both peer relationships and academic performance. In fact, one of the most common consequences is the avoidance of situations that require interaction , for fear of receiving criticism or ridicule. For this reason, it is essential that the intervention begin with a deep exploration of the manifestations and circumstances surrounding taquilalia.

According to Moreno and García-Baamonde (2003) and Prieto (2010), an assessment of both taquilalia and other speech fluency disorders can be made through the following dimensions:

  • Evaluation of anxiety and depression , to determine the degree of difficulty in social interaction and subjective experiences related to this.
  • Speech assessment, both quantitatively and qualitatively , for example through readings that scale from simple to complex and exercises that allow observing attention and body relationship, as well as using psychometric scales.
  • Evaluate communicative exchanges of the family unit by means of observations, to determine listening capacity, interruptions, eye contacts, reactions, and so on.

This is complemented by in-depth interviews with caregivers, teachers and the child himself. Once the evaluation is completed, it can be initiated with a specific intervention process, prioritizing what has been most significant in the different dimensions.

Intervention strategies

After making an assessment about the situation of the person with tachylia, it is important to start the intervention with clearly defined objectives and agreed with the parents or guardians. In a case study conducted with a 13-year-old boy, Moreno and García-Baamonde (2003) performed regular sessions of 45 minutes each, twice a week. These sessions sought to gradually achieve the following objectives:

  • Reduce the flow of the child's speech .
  • Adapt your respiratory function.
  • Increase the mobility of the oral area when talking, to speed up the articulation.
  • Involve parents in the sessions and provide strategies to reinforce the child's slow speech, for example, Give him enough time to answer , avoid repeating your words as you pronounce them, doing breathing exercises and relaxation at home, among others.

Once the objectives were stated, some of the techniques used during the intervention sessions were the following:

  • Respiratory activities .
  • Progressive relaxation training.
  • Follow-up, feedback and self-correction of read text.
  • Techniques for reading transition .
  • Systematic desensitization.
  • Massages, facial gestures, orofacial praxies, repetition exercises.
  • Emotional accompaniment , for possible alterations in the child's self-image as a result of teasing, criticism or external pressures.
  • Involve the child trying to be aware of the situations in which it is generated and motivating me to continue the intervention.

After 25 sessions of a planned and joint intervention (with family and school), Moreno and García-Baamonde (2003) highlight the positive impact of the intervention, both in the child and in their immediate surroundings.

Bibliographic references:

  • Dysfemias: causes, evolution and treatment (2018). University of Valencia. Retrieved August 28, 2018. Available at //www.uv.es/uvweb/master-intervencion-logopedica/es/blog/disfemia-causas-evolucion-tratamiento-1285881139898/GasetaRecerca.html?id=1285969311828.
  • Castejón, J. L. and Navas, L. (2013). Difficulties and disorders of learning and child and primary development. ECU: Alicante.
  • Prieto, M.A. (2010). Alterations in language acquisition. Innovation and Educational Experiences, 36: 1-8. ISSN 1988-6047.
  • Moreno, J. M. and García-Baamonde, M.E. (2003). Intervention in a case of infantile tachylia. Journal of Speech Therapy, Phoniatrics and Audiology, 23 (3): 164-172.

Tachylalia (Medical Symptom) (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Taquilalia: symptômes, causes et traitement

Taquilalia: symptômes, causes et traitement

Avril 16, 2021

Taquilalia est un modèle de langage verbal caractérisé par l’émission de mots à un rythme accéléré. Bien qu'il puisse se produire à différents âges, ce schéma se développe plus fréquemment pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence.

EDans cet article, nous verrons ce qu'est la taquilalia , quelles sont certaines de ses causes possibles et de quelle manière il peut être traité.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 types de troubles de la parole"

Taquilalia: définition et symptômes

Le terme "taquilalia" se réfère à la vitesse excessive de la parole . Cette rapidité est caractérisée par l'omission de sons et de syllabes, ce qui a pour conséquence une difficulté majeure à comprendre ce que la personne essaie d'exprimer.


Les autres caractéristiques de la taquilalia sont les quelques pauses dans le discours et une agitation motrice, qui peut être légère ou très connue. D'autre part, il n'y a pas nécessairement une désorganisation sémantique ou syntaxique du discours, mais plutôt la substitution de sons à des sons similaires, en raison de la rapidité de la parole.

En outre, la personne peut être consciente de l'accélération de son discours et de la difficulté que d'autres ont à comprendre, cependant, une telle accélération. ne diminue pas facilement malgré l'effort de le contrôler .

Taquilalia, disfemia ou bégaiement?

Taquilalia est également considéré comme un type de dyspnée. Ce dernier est un trouble de la parole, ou de la communication, caractérisé par une répétition fréquente, prolongée et involontaire de sons, de syllabes ou de mots, ainsi que par des doutes ou des pauses qui interrompent généralement le flux rythmique du discours.


Ces caractéristiques sont visibles, raison pour laquelle elles sont appelées comportements primaires. Cependant, la dysphémie est également caractérisée par la présence de comportements secondaires , qui ne sont pas facilement observables mais qui affectent également la qualité de vie de la personne. Ce sont des manifestations telles que la peur, l'anxiété ou l'évitement.

La disfémie est considérée par certains spécialistes comme un synonyme de bégaiement. Par conséquent, dans certains contextes, les deux peuvent être appelés «trouble de la parole» ou «trouble de la communication». Dans tous les cas, étant un large spectre de comportements, à la fois primaires et secondaires, le dysfonctionnement peut avoir des manifestations particulières. Parmi ceux-ci est la taquilalie.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Bégaiement (dyspnée): symptômes, types, causes et traitement"

Causes possibles

Comme pour les autres troubles de la parole, la taquilalie est un modèle de communication multi-causale. Cela signifie que cela peut être causé par différents facteurs, parmi lesquels les stratégies de gestion émotionnelle pour faire face aux situations de stress, les styles parentaux, la présence d'agents stressants dans les contextes suivants , ou il peut aussi être présenté comme l’une des manifestations de problèmes de santé, d’invalidité, de troubles anxieux, etc.


De même et à partir des études les plus classiques de la psychologie de l'enfant, certains spécialistes ont suggéré que l'un des principaux déclencheurs des troubles de la fluidité est pression externe en émettant une parole intelligible , surtout parce que la personne est confrontée à des difficultés qui échappent à sa volonté immédiate.

En d’autres termes, l’un des déclencheurs les plus courants des troubles de la parole est la gêne générée lorsque la personne prend conscience que les autres ne la comprennent pas et s’oblige à améliorer sa fluidité le plus rapidement possible. entraver la communication à nouveau.

Dimensions pour l'évaluation

La taquilalie peut représenter un schéma de langage problématique, en particulier chez les enfants d’âge scolaire, dans la mesure où il peut affecter les relations entre pairs et les performances scolaires. En fait, l’une des conséquences les plus courantes est éviter les situations qui nécessitent une interaction , de peur de recevoir la critique ou le ridicule. Pour cette raison, il est essentiel que l’intervention commence par une exploration en profondeur des manifestations et des circonstances entourant la taquilalia.

Selon Moreno et García-Baamonde (2003) et Prieto (2010), une évaluation à la fois de la taquilalia et d'autres troubles de l'élocution peut être réalisée à travers les dimensions suivantes:

  • Évaluation de l'anxiété et de la dépression , afin de déterminer le degré de difficulté des interactions sociales et des expériences subjectives liées à cela.
  • Évaluation de la parole, à la fois quantitativement et qualitativement , par exemple à travers des lectures allant du simple au complexe, des exercices permettant d’observer l’attention et les relations entre le corps, ainsi que l’utilisation d’échelles psychométriques.
  • Evaluer les échanges communicatifs de la cellule familiale à l'aide d'observations, déterminer la capacité d'écoute, les interruptions, les contacts avec les yeux, les réactions, etc.

Ceci est complété par des entretiens approfondis avec les fournisseurs de soins, les enseignants et l'enfant lui-même. Une fois l'évaluation terminée, elle peut être lancée avec un processus d'intervention spécifique, en donnant la priorité à ce qui a été le plus significatif dans les différentes dimensions.

Stratégies d'intervention

Après avoir évalué la situation de la personne atteinte de tachylie, il est important de commencer l’intervention avec des objectifs clairement définis et en accord avec les parents ou les tuteurs. Dans une étude de cas menée avec un garçon de 13 ans, Moreno et García-Baamonde (2003) ont organisé des séances régulières de 45 minutes chacune, deux fois par semaine. Ces sessions visaient à atteindre progressivement les objectifs suivants:

  • Réduire le débit de la parole de l'enfant .
  • Adaptez votre fonction respiratoire.
  • Augmentez la mobilité de la zone orale lorsque vous parlez pour accélérer l'articulation.
  • Impliquer les parents dans les séances et proposer des stratégies pour renforcer le discours lent de l'enfant, par exemple, Donnez-lui assez de temps pour répondre , évitez de répéter vos mots lorsque vous les prononcez, en faisant des exercices de respiration et de relaxation à la maison, entre autres.

Une fois les objectifs définis, les techniques utilisées au cours des séances d’intervention sont les suivantes:

  • Activités respiratoires .
  • Entraînement progressif à la relaxation.
  • Suivi, retour d'information et autocorrection du texte lu.
  • Techniques de transition en lecture .
  • Désensibilisation systématique.
  • Massages, gestes du visage, praxies orofaciales, exercices de répétition.
  • Accompagnement émotionnel , pour d'éventuelles altérations de l'image de soi de l'enfant à la suite de taquineries, de critiques ou de pressions externes.
  • Impliquez l’enfant en essayant d’être conscient des situations dans lesquelles il est généré et en me motivant à poursuivre l’intervention.

Après 25 séances d’une intervention planifiée et conjointe (avec la famille et l’école), Moreno et García-Baamonde (2003) soulignent l’impact positif de l’intervention, tant chez l’enfant que dans son environnement immédiat.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Dysfémies: causes, évolution et traitement (2018). Université de Valence. Récupéré le 28 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.uv.es/uvweb/master-intervencion-logopedica/es/blog/disfemia-causas-evolucion-tratamiento-1285881139898/GasetaRecerca.html?id=1285931111828.
  • Castejón, J. L. et Navas, L. (2013). Difficultés et troubles de l'apprentissage et du développement primaire et de l'enfant. ECU: Alicante.
  • Prieto, M.A. (2010). Altérations dans l'acquisition du langage. Innovation et expériences éducatives, 36: 1-8. ISSN 1988-6047.
  • Moreno, J. M. et García-Baamonde, M.E. (2003). Intervention dans un cas de tachylie infantile. Journal of Speech Therapy, Phoniatrics and Audiology, 23 (3): 164-172.

CONVIVIENDO CON TAQUILALIA ( Charlas con Ever) (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes