yes, therapy helps!
Teaching and Special Educational Needs: attention to diversity

Teaching and Special Educational Needs: attention to diversity

July 19, 2024

Initially, the special schools were considered "tailor's boxes" where there were students of very diverse nature who could not be attended to in the ordinary school. Thus, the use of the term "special schools", whose connotation was linked to a categorical and stagnant conceptualization with a classification and / or segregating purpose, to use the concept of "special educational needs" (SEN) fell into disuse.

This phenomenon understands the student's circumstances as a dynamic and interactive learning process, to which the school must adapt the teachings to the individual characteristics of the student (abilities, limitations, learning rhythms, etc.). With this change, students with Special Educational Needs is welcomed into the ordinary classroom and is integrated with the rest of the school in order to enhance their personal and intellectual development.


  • Related article: "Learning difficulties: definition and warning signs"

The Special Educational Needs

The first contributions in the conceptualization of the SEN were not made until the last decade of the sixties, although it was in 1974 when Mary Warnok published a report on the state of Special Education in Great Britain. This fact was the trigger for the application of some first measures in the education system at a global level, mainly:

The training and improvement of the teaching staff

This was done in the sense of guiding this group to obtain greater competition and Specific knowledge about the concept of Special Education and the implications of its application. The initiative aimed to provide the group of teachers with a series of official qualifications of one year and an incentive at a complementary economic level.


The anticipation of the special educational intervention

Specifically, in students with SEN under five years, increasing the total of nursery schools for children with more acute educational difficulties.

The extension of the range of action

He went to work also with students with SEN between sixteen and nineteen years once compulsory schooling is completed in order to offer them the corresponding aids and orientations in order to consolidate greater social and economic integration in adult life.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 7 most relevant factors in the quality of academic performance"

Educational inclusion

The concept of "integration", which initially represented a very significant advance in terms of attention to the group of students with SEN, was subsequently losing its incipient essence. Thus, this phenomenon began to be linked to the segregation and the distancing of schoolchildren with learning difficulties or some kind of physical or psychological decline Regarding children without these characteristics.


In this way, the integration process was understood as a type of differential education, where the educational curriculum was applied singularly . The result was again and paradoxically a distancing between the two classes of students.

In contrast to the above, the term "inclusion" replaces the previous one, granting definitively the meaning that originally intended to be given to the previous nomenclature. Inclusion succeeds in disintegrating the individualistic and perniciously taxonomic vision to achieve the priority objective of offer a quality and equal education for all students , regardless of whether it has a deficit or limitation.

In order to unify both the aspects related to the school environment and those corresponding to the community area in a global way for each student, this methodological and conceptual change is made.

In inclusive education each student is accepted and valued for their particularities, circumstances and abilities, and they are offered equally the same learning opportunities and the necessary support to enhance their development at the highest qualitative level.

This new model, therefore, is circumscribed in a more cooperative environment, to the detriment of the competitiveness more typical of the integration stage.

  • Related article: "The 7 most relevant factors in the quality of academic performance"

Principles of attention to diversity

Attention to diversity is defined as a new way of understanding education, which is based on the principles of:

Quality education

That is, the guarantee of offering equal educational opportunities to the whole of all students once assumed the existence of diversity in this collective , which is inherent and natural in the human being.

The shared effort

It refers to Collaboration and commitment environment between the parties that make up the educational community.

European educational space convergent

In this context establish shared objectives and agree within the educational system.

Under this conception the Law of "Equity in Education" is proposed, which aims to provide students with SEN a series of supports of various kinds to ensure a quality educational learning process. These aids refer both to material and personal resources granted to centers and families, to the elaboration of specific educational programs and to the flexibility in each one of the stages of the educational system.

The ultimate goal of this proposal is to show greater personalization in the teaching process adapted to the particularities of each school.

Pedagogical intervention in attention to diversity

In order to achieve the objective of inclusive education and follow the principles of attention to diversity, from the field of psycho-pedagogy the following strategies are proposed to be applied in the classroom context:

Work in pairs or small groups

This resource has the advantage of promoting both interaction between equals and the sharing of joint experiences, as well as allowing the contributions of a particular student to complement those offered by another, in such a way that greater enrichment is achieved during learning .

The possible effect of "settling on the deficit" that can be presented by the most limited students must be taken into account in the case that the requirement by the teacher is not fair for all students equally.

Work in corners

The division of the classroom into different stations or corners of learning allows a greater dynamisation and active participation of the learning process since all the students pass through all the stations, whose activities to be carried out have been selectively prepared by the teacher Previously.

Flexible groups

The fact of making partitions of the class groups according to the educational needs, level / speed of learning or the particularities of each student allows a greater use and a greater personalization of the teaching.

A negative aspect in the application of this resource is the possible appearance of Comparative attitudes regarding the characteristics of other classmates belonging to a different subgroup.

The workshops

In this case, the working groups are formed based on the interests and concerns of the students . This resource has the advantage of being a motivator for children, although it must be ensured that at one time or another, everyone must complete all the workshops in order to ensure a more complete learning.

In this methodology, the teacher acts as a guide , which encourages the expression of creativity, initiation and greater autonomy of work.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cabrerizo, D. and Rubio Ma J. (2007). Attention to diversity: Theory and Practice. Madrid: Pearson Education.
  • Marchesi, A .; Coll, C. and Palacios, J. (1991). Psychological development and education. Madrid: Alliance.
  • Tilstone, C., Florian, L. and Rose, R. (2003). Promotion and development of inclusive educational practices. Madrid: EOS.

Racial Disproportionality in Special Education (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Enseignement et besoins éducatifs spéciaux: attention à la diversité

Enseignement et besoins éducatifs spéciaux: attention à la diversité

Avril 15, 2021

Au départ, les écoles spéciales étaient considérées comme des "boîtes de tailleur" où il y avait des élèves de natures très diverses qu'on ne pouvait fréquenter dans une école ordinaire. Ainsi, le terme "écoles spéciales", dont la connotation était liée à une conceptualisation catégorique et stagnante ayant un objectif de classification et / ou de ségrégation, utilisait le concept de "besoins éducatifs spéciaux" (SEN) tombé en désuétude.

Ce phénomène comprend la situation de l’élève comme un processus d’apprentissage dynamique et interactif, auquel l’école doit adapter les enseignements aux caractéristiques individuelles de l’élève (capacités, limites, rythmes d’apprentissage, etc.). Avec ce changement, les élèves ayant des besoins éducatifs spéciaux est accueilli dans la classe ordinaire et est intégré au reste de l'école afin d'améliorer leur développement personnel et intellectuel.


  • Article connexe: "Difficultés d'apprentissage: définition et signes avant-coureurs"

Les besoins éducatifs spéciaux

Les premières contributions à la conceptualisation du SEN ne sont apparues que dans la dernière décennie des années soixante, bien que ce fût en 1974 lorsque Mary Warnok publia un rapport sur l'état de l'éducation spéciale en Grande-Bretagne. Ce fait a déclenché l'application de certaines premières mesures dans le système éducatif au niveau mondial, notamment:

La formation et l'amélioration du personnel enseignant

Cela visait à guider ce groupe dans l’obtention d’une plus grande concurrence et Connaissance spécifique du concept d'éducation spéciale et les implications de son application. L’initiative visait à doter le groupe d’enseignants d’une série de qualifications officielles d’un an et d’un incitatif à un niveau économique complémentaire.


L'anticipation de l'intervention éducative spéciale

Plus précisément, chez les élèves ayant des besoins éducatifs spéciaux âgés de moins de cinq ans, le nombre d’écoles maternelles destinées aux enfants présentant des difficultés plus graves d’éducation est augmenté.

L'extension du champ d'action

Il est allé travailler aussi avec des étudiants avec SEN entre seize et dix-neuf ans une fois la scolarité obligatoire achevée, afin de leur proposer les aides et les orientations correspondantes afin de consolider une plus grande intégration sociale et économique dans la vie adulte.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 7 facteurs les plus pertinents pour la qualité des performances académiques"

Inclusion scolaire

Le concept d '"intégration", qui représentait à l'origine une avancée très significative en termes d'attention portée au groupe d'étudiants atteints de SEN, perdait par la suite son essence naissante. Ainsi, ce phénomène a commencé à être lié à la ségrégation et à l’éloignement des écoliers avec des difficultés d'apprentissage ou une sorte de déclin physique ou psychologique En ce qui concerne les enfants sans ces caractéristiques.


De cette manière, le processus d’intégration a été compris comme un type d’éducation différentielle, où le programme éducatif a été appliqué singulièrement . Le résultat fut encore et paradoxalement une distanciation entre les deux classes d’élèves.

Contrairement à ce qui précède, le terme "inclusion" remplace le précédent en donnant définitivement le sens que l’intention initiale était de donner à la nomenclature précédente. L'inclusion réussit à désintégrer la vision individualiste et pernicieusement taxonomique pour atteindre l'objectif prioritaire de offrir une éducation de qualité et égale à tous les élèves , qu’il y ait déficit ou limitation.

Afin d’unifier à la fois les aspects liés à l’environnement scolaire et ceux correspondant à l’espace communautaire de manière globale pour chaque élève, ce changement méthodologique et conceptuel est opéré.

Dans l'éducation inclusive, chaque élève est accepté et valorisé pour ses particularités, sa situation et ses capacités, et se voit offrir les mêmes opportunités d'apprentissage et le soutien nécessaire pour améliorer son développement au plus haut niveau qualitatif.

Ce nouveau modèle est donc circonscrit dans un environnement plus coopératif, au détriment de la compétitivité plus typique de la phase d'intégration.

  • Article connexe: "Les 7 facteurs les plus pertinents pour la qualité des performances académiques"

Principes d'attention à la diversité

L’attention portée à la diversité est définie comme une nouvelle façon de comprendre l’éducation, qui repose sur les principes suivants:

Éducation de qualité

C’est-à-dire la garantie d’offrir des chances égales à l’éducation à tous les étudiants une fois supposé l'existence de la diversité dans ce collectif , qui est inhérent et naturel à l'être humain.

L'effort partagé

Il fait référence à Environnement de collaboration et d'engagement entre les partis qui composent la communauté éducative.

Espace éducatif européen convergent

Dans ce contexte établir des objectifs communs et convenir dans le système éducatif.

Sous cette conception, la loi sur «l'équité dans l'éducation» est proposée, qui vise à fournir aux étudiants ayant des besoins éducatifs spéciaux une série de supports de différents types afin de garantir un processus d'apprentissage éducatif de qualité. Ces aides concernent à la fois les ressources matérielles et personnelles allouées aux centres et aux familles, à l'élaboration de programmes éducatifs spécifiques et à la flexibilité de chacune des étapes du système éducatif.

Le but ultime de cette proposition est de montrer une plus grande personnalisation dans le processus d'enseignement adapté aux particularités de chaque école.

Intervention pédagogique dans le souci de la diversité

Afin d'atteindre l'objectif de l'éducation pour l'inclusion et de suivre les principes d'attention portée à la diversité, il est proposé d'appliquer les stratégies suivantes dans le domaine de la psychopédagogie dans le contexte de la classe:

Travailler à deux ou en petits groupes

Cette ressource a l’avantage de favoriser à la fois l’interaction entre égaux et le partage d’expériences communes, ainsi que de permettre aux contributions d’un élève particulier de compléter celles offertes par un autre, de manière à permettre un enrichissement accru pendant l’apprentissage. .

Il faut prendre en compte l’effet possible de "régler le déficit" que peuvent présenter les étudiants les plus restreints dans le cas où l'exigence de l'enseignant n'est pas juste pour tous les étudiants également.

Travailler dans les coins

La division de la classe en différents postes d’apprentissage permet une plus grande dynamisation et une participation active du processus d’apprentissage puisque tous les étudiants passent par tous les postes, dont les activités à réaliser ont été préparées de manière sélective par l'enseignant Auparavant.

Groupes flexibles

Le fait de répartir les groupes de classe en fonction des besoins éducatifs, du niveau / vitesse d’apprentissage ou des particularités de chaque élève permet une utilisation plus importante et une plus grande personnalisation de l’enseignement.

Un aspect négatif de l’utilisation de cette ressource est l’apparition possible de Attitudes comparatives concernant les caractéristiques des autres camarades de classe appartenant à un sous-groupe différent.

Les ateliers

Dans ce cas, les groupes de travail sont formés basé sur les intérêts et les préoccupations des étudiants . Cette ressource présente l’avantage d’être un facteur de motivation pour les enfants, même s’il faut veiller à ce que tout le monde ait la chance de suivre tous les ateliers afin de garantir un apprentissage plus complet.

Dans cette méthodologie, l'enseignant agit comme guide , qui encourage l’expression de la créativité, l’initiation et une plus grande autonomie de travail.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cabrerizo, D. et Rubio Ma J. (2007). Attention portée à la diversité: théorie et pratique. Madrid: Éducation Pearson.
  • Marchesi, A .; Coll, C. et Palacios, J. (1991). Développement psychologique et éducation. Madrid: alliance.
  • Tilstone, C., Florian, L. et Rose, R. (2003). Promotion et développement de pratiques éducatives inclusives. Madrid: EOS.

Being Your True Nature by Osel Hita & Matteo Passigato (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes