yes, therapy helps!
Tecnostros: the new psychopathology of the

Tecnostros: the new psychopathology of the "digital age"

June 23, 2022

The irruption in our lives of technology in the form of computers, internet, smartphones tablets ... has caused social, cultural and economic changes that have affected many individuals. No one can doubt the benefits that technology, and its use can be very useful because it allows us to be constantly in connection with almost every corner of the planet. The new technologies provide us with new channels of relationship and communication and facilitate access to information in record time, as well as providing us with new leisure opportunities.

But not everything is so beautiful: experts have been warning us for decades about the risks of misuse of technology . For two decades, psychologists have named new disorders that have emerged in the "information age" (also called digital age or it was informatics), such as FOMO Syndrome, Nomophobia and Tecnosestress . From the latter we will talk in today's article.


What is techno-stress?

The concept of techno-stress is directly related to the Negative effects of the use of technology .

He was baptized by the North American psychiatrist Craig Brod in 1984 in his book Technostress: The Human Cost of the Computer Revolution, who first defined this phenomenon as "an adaptation disease caused by a lack of ability to deal with new computer technologies in a healthy way".

In 1997 the word techno-stress became popular thanks to a book by Larry Rosen and Michelle Well called Technostress: Coping with Technology @Work @Home @Play. The authors define techno-stress as "Any negative impact (direct and / or indirect) of the technology on the attitudes, thoughts, behaviors or physiology of an individual's body". For them, the most common and documented form of this phenomenon is the excess of information, known as infoxication .


But both definitions were not specific until Marisa Salanova, professor of psychology at the Jaume I University of Castellón, defined the techno-stress as follows: "The techno-stress is a negative psychological state that is related to the use of information and communication technologies or the threat of their use in the future, which is conditioned by the perception of a mismatch between demands and resources related to the use of ICT that causes a high level of psychophysiological activation, discomfort and the development of negative attitudes towards ICT ".

Techno-stress is a problem for companies

Although the techno-stress affects all areas of life, it is in the work environment where most attention has been paid to this phenomenon . Salanova's vision of techno-stress is related to the "demands-resources" paradigm that has dominated the organizational landscape of recent decades. It is in the world of work, and specifically in the occupational risk prevention departments, that this phenomenon begins to be taken seriously.


Be all day connected to the computer at work, look at the mobile phone every 5 minutes, get home and stay connected to the tablet while watching the TV ... Does it sound? If you feel identified, you are not the only one: we spend 24 hours a day engaged in new technologies .

This situation is what causes techno-stress, and according to a recent study of the UOC (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya) the techno-stress "It will become a new occupational risk, because new forms of work (such as teleworking) and the omnipresence caused by Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) can give rise to feelings of disability, lag or addiction in the worker".

Antonio Cano, president of the Spanish Society for the Study of Anxiety and Stress (SEAS) insists that we must educate individuals, since the misuse of ICT can generate problems such as nervousness and anxiety.

According to the data collected by the National Survey of Working Conditions In 2011, 25% of workers felt overwhelmed by their work. Mainly, This discomfort is caused by a rapid pace of work, with pressure on deadlines and the simultaneous management of tasks, all of them , factors related to new technologies. The workers most exposed to technological change, overload and information speed (workers in sectors such as communication, finance, administration or science and technology) are the most techno-stressed.

Types of technostes

As with stress, techno-stress is a complex phenomenon with different symptoms. According to him National Institute for Safety and Hygiene at Work in Spain There are different types of technostrees. We explain them to you next.

Tecnoansiedad

The technoanality It is the most usual type of technostre. The person who suffers it usually experiences high levels of physiological activation that produces discomfort. Tension and unpleasant sensation is a characteristic feature of the present and future use of new technologies.

Some individuals develop an irrational fear of new technologies, which is known as technophobia. The symptoms of technophobia are: avoid technology (even avoid talking about it), anxiety about the presence of technology and hostile and aggressive thoughts towards it.

Tecnofatiga

The tecnofatiga It is similar to the burnout syndrome, because it is characterized by negative feelings such as fatigue, mental fatigue or cognitive exhaustion due to the continued use of new technologies. It can also manifest itself with skeptical attitudes and beliefs of ineffectiveness in the use of ICT.

Some authors talk about a specific type of tecnofatiga: the syndrome of information fatigue. This is the product of exposure, consumption and excessive information management.

Technoadication

The technoadiction is characterized by the uncontrollable desire to be connected to ICT at all times. This behavior causes discomfort and a deterioration in the life of the individual.


¿Cómo descargar programas de Microsoft GRATIS y de forma legal? || Español (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Tecnostros: la nouvelle psychopathologie de

Tecnostros: la nouvelle psychopathologie de "l'ère numérique"

Avril 22, 2019

L'irruption dans nos vies de la technologie sous forme d'ordinateurs, Internet, tablettes de smartphones ... a provoqué des changements sociaux, culturels et économiques qui ont affecté de nombreuses personnes. Personne ne peut douter des avantages de cette technologie, et son utilisation peut être très utile car elle nous permet d’être en connexion constante avec presque tous les coins de la planète. Les nouvelles technologies nous offrent de nouveaux canaux de relation et de communication et facilitent l’accès à l’information en un temps record, tout en nous offrant de nouvelles possibilités de loisirs.

Mais tout n'est pas si beau: les experts nous avertissent depuis des décennies des risques d’utilisation abusive de la technologie . Depuis deux décennies, les psychologues ont nommé de nouveaux troubles apparus à l’ère de «l’information» (également appelée c'était numérique o c'était de l'informatique), tels que le syndrome FOMO, la nomophobie et Tecnosestress . De ce dernier, nous parlerons dans l'article d'aujourd'hui.


Qu'est-ce que le techno-stress?

Le concept de techno-stress est directement liée à la Effets négatifs de l'utilisation de la technologie .

Il a été baptisé par le psychiatre nord-américain Craig Brod en 1984 dans son livre Technostress: le coût humain de la révolution informatiquen, qui a d'abord défini ce phénomène comme "une maladie d'adaptation causée par un manque de capacité à gérer les nouvelles technologies informatiques de manière saine".

En 1997, le mot techno-stress est devenu populaire grâce à un livre de Larry Rosen et Michelle Well intitulé Technostress: faire face à la technologie @Work @Home @Play. Les auteurs définissent le techno-stress comme "Tout impact négatif (direct et / ou indirect) de la technologie sur les attitudes, les pensées, les comportements ou la physiologie du corps d'un individu". Pour eux, la forme la plus courante et documentée de ce phénomène est l’excès d’informations, connu sous le nom de infoxication .


Mais les deux définitions n'étaient pas spécifiques jusqu'à ce que Marisa Salanova, professeure de psychologie à l'Université Jaume I de Castellón, définisse le stress technologique comme suit: "Le techno-stress est un état psychologique négatif lié à l'utilisation des technologies de l'information et de la communication ou à la menace de leur utilisation à l'avenir, qui est conditionné par la perception d'un décalage entre les demandes et les ressources liés à l'utilisation des TIC entraînant un niveau élevé d'activation psychophysiologique, d'inconfort et de développement d'attitudes négatives à l'égard des TIC ".

Le techno-stress est un problème pour les entreprises

Bien que le techno-stress affecte tous les domaines de la vie, c'est dans l'environnement de travail que l'attention a été portée à ce phénomène . La vision de Salanova sur le stress technologique est liée au paradigme "demandes-ressources" qui a dominé le paysage organisationnel des dernières décennies. C'est dans le monde du travail, et plus particulièrement dans les départements de prévention des risques professionnels, que ce phénomène commence à être pris au sérieux.


Restez connecté toute la journée à l'ordinateur au travail, regardez le téléphone toutes les 5 minutes, rentrez chez vous et restez connecté à la tablette tout en regardant la télévision ... Est-ce que ça sonne? Si vous vous sentez identifié, vous n'êtes pas le seul: nous passons 24 heures par jour à nous consacrer aux nouvelles technologies .

Cette situation est à l’origine du techno-stress et, selon une étude récente de l’UOC (Universitat Oberta de Catalunya), le techno-stress "Cela deviendra un nouveau risque professionnel, car les nouvelles formes de travail (comme le télétravail) et l'omniprésence causée par les technologies de l'information et de la communication (TIC) peuvent engendrer des sentiments de handicap, de retard ou de dépendance chez le travailleur".

Antonio Cano, président de la Société espagnole pour l'étude de l'anxiété et du stress (SEAS) insiste sur le fait que nous devons éduquer les individus, car une mauvaise utilisation des TIC peut générer des problèmes tels que la nervosité et l’anxiété.

Selon les données recueillies par le Enquête nationale sur les conditions de travail En 2011, 25% des travailleurs se sentaient dépassés par leur travail. Principalement Cet inconfort est dû à la rapidité du travail, à la pression sur les délais et à la gestion simultanée des tâches. , facteurs liés aux nouvelles technologies. Les travailleurs les plus exposés aux changements technologiques, à la surcharge et à la vitesse de l'information (travailleurs des secteurs tels que la communication, les finances, l'administration ou les sciences et technologies) sont les plus stressés par la technologie.

Types de technostes

Comme pour le stress, le techno-stress est un phénomène complexe avec différents symptômes. Selon le Institut national pour la sécurité et l'hygiène au travail en Espagne Il existe différents types de technostrees. Nous vous les expliquons ensuite.

Tecnoansiedad

Le technoanalité C'est le type le plus habituel de technostre. La personne qui en souffre a généralement de hauts niveaux d’activation physiologique qui produisent un inconfort. La tension et la sensation désagréable caractérisent l’utilisation actuelle et future des nouvelles technologies.

Certaines personnes développent une peur irrationnelle des nouvelles technologies, connue sous le nom de technophobie. Les symptômes de la technophobie sont les suivants: éviter la technologie (même ne pas en parler), anxiété quant à la présence de la technologie et pensées hostiles et agressives à son égard.

Tecnofatiga

Le tecnofatiga Il ressemble au syndrome de l'épuisement professionnel, car il se caractérise par des sentiments négatifs tels que la fatigue, la fatigue mentale ou l'épuisement cognitif dû à l'utilisation continue des nouvelles technologies. Cela peut également se manifester par des attitudes sceptiques et des croyances inefficaces quant à l'utilisation des TIC.

Certains auteurs parlent d’un type spécifique de tecnofatiga: le syndrome de fatigue de l'information. C'est le produit de l'exposition, de la consommation et de la gestion excessive d'informations.

Technoadication

Le technoadiction se caractérise par le désir incontrôlable d’être connecté aux TIC à tout moment. Ce comportement provoque une gêne et une détérioration de la vie de l'individu.


¿Cómo descargar programas de Microsoft GRATIS y de forma legal? || Español (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes