yes, therapy helps!
Telencephalon: parts and functions of this part of the brain

Telencephalon: parts and functions of this part of the brain

June 12, 2024

The human brain can be divided into a large number of subcomponents ; not for nothing is the most complex organ that we have.

However, this "decomposition into pieces" does not always occur in the same way. Sometimes, we will simply look at the larger and more general structures, such as the diencephalon, and in others we will be more thorough and focus on the smaller components that together form larger ones, such as the subthalamus (which is part of the diencephalon).

Focusing on the smallest parts of the central nervous system can be very useful to understand how the neural networks of a specific individual work, but at other times it is more interesting to maintain a more global view of the organ of thought and to look at its more general structures. In this case we will see one of the latter: the telencephalon .


  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the telencephalon?

The telencephalon is the largest part of the brain, and it is the structure in which the integration of the information transmitted by the neurons reaches its most complex stage. It is located just above the diencephalon, which it covers as if it were a helmet, and does not limit it to any other part of the central nervous system on its upper part: it forms the surface full of folds that characterizes the human brain.

Technically, the term "telencephalon" is used to designate one of the three main formations that are created at the end of the neural tube to grow until you end up developing the brain. Thus, in an adult brain the telencephalon is the set of parts of the central nervous system that in the earliest stage of development emerged from that bulging shape.


As the telencephalon is the most superficial part of the brain , most of the data that arrives to him has already been worked before by other groups of neurons located in subcortical areas, that is, closer to the lower part of the organ.

In addition, the telencephalon is divided into two cerebral lobes, each located on the left and right side of the head and separated from each other by the interhemispheric fissure.

Parts of the telencephalon

The main components in which the telencephalon can be divided are the following.

1. Brain cortex

It is the surface full of folds and fissures that characterize the most visible part of the brain. It is composed mainly of gray matter and several layers of coordinated neurons.

2. Hippocampus

The hippocampus is involved in several processes, but one of the main ones is the consolidation of memories belonging to declarative memory , as well as its evocation in the future. Damages in this region frequently produce disorders linked to amnesia.


  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

3. Brain tonsil

The cerebral amygdala is a structure that we find on both sides of the brain, that is, one per hemisphere, within the so-called temporal lobes. It is part of the limbic system , which is a network of cells responsible for managing the appearance and regulation of emotional states, so it has an important role in learning thanks to the possibility of associating actions with consequences.

The amygdala also intervenes in emotional memory, that is, it does something similar to what the hypothalamus does with "cold data" about what we are living, although in this case the memory itself is simply a partially dissociated emotional reaction from the rest of the memory.

4. Striated body

The striatum is also an important component of the telencephalon, since is the main route of data entry to the basal ganglia , in addition to receiving afferents from the cerebral cortex.

Thus, it intervenes in the process of allowing highly automated movements, among other things, since it is related to the basal ganglia.

5. Olfactory bulb

It is one of the oldest parts of the brain, since it has been used for many tens of millions of years. It is a structure located below the lowest part of the cerebral cortex, and receives the olfactory information that comes from the outside of the body.

In addition, the olfactory bulb has the particularity that it is the entry route of a type of information that must not pass through the thalamus before being distributed by the brain.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Olfactory bulb: definition, parts and functions"

6. Basal ganglia

The basal ganglia are sets of gray matter that intervene in different processes, normally related to the control of voluntary movements and with the "automation" of these so that attention can be directed to other things.

  • Related article: "Basal ganglia: anatomy and functions"

Its functions

As we have seen, the functions of the telencephalon depend in large part on which of its components we fix. However, if we take into account the fact that most of this is composed of cerebral cortex, we could say that it mainly takes care of integrate all kinds of information about what happens outside and about the actions that are going to be undertaken at some future time.

That's why the cerebral cortex It has different areas of association in which information is processed together to result in more complete and meaningful units of information. For example, thanks to it we can recognize someone from the integration of information relating to the reliefs of each part of his face, the sound of his voice, his posture, etc.


Brain Anatomy 1 - Gross Cortical Anatomy (Lateral Surface) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Télencéphale: parties et fonctions de cette partie du cerveau

Télencéphale: parties et fonctions de cette partie du cerveau

Octobre 19, 2020

Le cerveau humain peut être divisé en un grand nombre de sous-composants ; pas pour rien est l'organe le plus complexe que nous avons.

Cependant, cette "décomposition en morceaux" ne se produit pas toujours de la même manière. Parfois, nous nous contenterons d’observer des structures plus larges et plus générales, telles que le diencephale, et dans d’autres, nous serons plus approfondis et nous concentrerons sur les composants plus petits qui forment ensemble des composants plus grands, tels que le sous-phalamus (qui fait partie du diencephale).

Se concentrer sur les plus petites parties du système nerveux central peut être très utile pour comprendre le fonctionnement des réseaux de neurones d'un individu spécifique, mais il est parfois plus intéressant de conserver une vision plus globale de l'organe de la pensée et de regarder ses structures plus générales. Dans ce cas, nous allons voir un de ces derniers: le télencéphale .


  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Quel est le telencéphale?

Le télencéphale est la plus grande partie du cerveau et c'est la structure dans laquelle l'intégration de l'information transmise par les neurones atteint son stade le plus complexe. Il se situe juste au-dessus du diencephale, qu’il recouvre comme s’il s’agissait d’un casque, et ne le limite pas à une autre partie du système nerveux central sur sa partie supérieure: il forme la surface pleine de plis qui caractérise le cerveau humain.

Techniquement, le terme "télencéphale" est utilisé pour désigner une des trois formations principales créées à l'extrémité du tube neural pour grandir jusqu'à ce que vous finissiez par développer le cerveau. Ainsi, dans un cerveau adulte, le télencéphale est l’ensemble des parties du système nerveux central qui, au tout début de son développement, ont émergé de cette forme bombée.


Comme le télencéphale est la partie la plus superficielle du cerveau , la plupart des données qui lui parviennent ont déjà été exploitées auparavant par d’autres groupes de neurones situés dans des zones sous-corticales, c’est-à-dire plus proches de la partie inférieure de l’organe.

De plus, le télencéphale est divisé en deux lobes cérébraux, situés chacun à gauche et à droite de la tête et séparés l'un de l'autre par la fissure interhémisphérique.

Parties du télencéphale

Les composants principaux dans lesquels le telencéphale peut être divisé sont les suivants.

1. cortex cérébral

C'est la surface pleine de plis et de fissures qui caractérisent la partie la plus visible du cerveau. Il est composé principalement de matière grise et de plusieurs couches de neurones coordonnés.

2. Hippocampe

L’hippocampe est impliqué dans plusieurs processus, mais l’un des principaux est la consolidation des mémoires appartenant à la mémoire déclarative , ainsi que son évocation dans le futur. Les dommages dans cette région produisent souvent des désordres liés à l'amnésie.


  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

3. Amygdale cérébrale

L'amygdale cérébrale est une structure que nous trouvons des deux côtés du cerveau, c'est-à-dire une par hémisphère, à l'intérieur des lobes temporaux. Cela fait partie du système limbique , qui est un réseau de cellules responsables de la gestion de l’apparition et de la régulation des états émotionnels, joue donc un rôle important dans l’apprentissage grâce à la possibilité d’associer des actions à des conséquences.

L’amygdale intervient également dans la mémoire émotionnelle, c’est-à-dire qu’elle fait quelque chose de similaire à ce que fait l’hypothalamus avec des "données froides" sur ce que nous vivons, bien que dans ce cas la mémoire elle-même soit simplement une réaction émotionnelle partiellement dissociée. du reste de la mémoire.

4. corps strié

Le striatum est également un élément important du télencéphale, car est la principale voie de saisie des données dans les noyaux gris centraux , en plus de recevoir des afférences du cortex cérébral.

Ainsi, il intervient dans le processus permettant des mouvements hautement automatisés, entre autres choses, car il est lié aux noyaux gris centraux.

5. Ampoule olfactive

C’est l’une des parties les plus anciennes du cerveau, car elle est utilisée depuis des dizaines de millions d’années. C’est une structure située sous la partie la plus basse du cortex cérébral, et reçoit l'information olfactive qui vient de l'extérieur du corps

De plus, le bulbe olfactif a la particularité d'être la voie d'entrée d'un type d'informations qui ne doit pas traverser le thalamus avant d'être diffusées par le cerveau.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Ampoule olfactive: définition, pièces et fonctions"

6. Les ganglions de la base

Les noyaux gris centraux sont des ensembles de matière grise qui interviennent dans différents processus, normalement liés au contrôle des mouvements volontaires et avec "l'automatisation" de ceux-ci afin que l'attention puisse être dirigée vers d'autres choses.

  • Article connexe: "Les ganglions de la base: anatomie et fonctions"

Vos fonctions

Comme nous l’avons vu, les fonctions du télencéphale dépendent en grande partie de l’un de ses composants que nous fixons. Cependant, si nous prenons en compte le fait que la majeure partie de celle-ci est composée de cortex cérébral, nous pourrions dire qu’il s’occupe principalement de intégrer toutes sortes d'informations sur ce qui se passe à l'extérieur et sur les actions qui seront entreprises dans le futur.

Voilà pourquoi le cortex cérébral Il a différents domaines d'association dans lequel les informations sont traitées ensemble pour aboutir à des unités d’informations plus complètes et significatives. Par exemple, grâce à cela, nous pouvons reconnaître une personne de l'intégration d'informations relatives aux reliefs de chaque partie de son visage, au son de sa voix, à sa posture, etc.


Le cerveau en 2 minutes : les 4 lobes du cerveau (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes