yes, therapy helps!
Thanatology: the study of death

Thanatology: the study of death

November 27, 2022

Within the contexts in which the professionals of psychology are involved is the fact of supporting people in their grieving processes. And there is a discipline that studies justly death and its process. It's about the Thanatology , and its goal in psychology is to help individuals understand their losses and find or recover the meaning of life.

In this article we will see what are the fundamental characteristics of the Thanatology, and the psychological aspects in which it intervenes.

  • Related article: "The duel: facing the loss of a loved one"

What is Thanatology?

It is not an area of ​​study of psychology as such, but it does converge on several points. Work directly with terminal patients and their families or with anyone who has suffered a loss. The role of psychology is to guide the individual through grief, ensuring that he or she is having a satisfactory one and helping him to recognize, normalize and control all the emotions that are presented in the process.


The main objectives of Thanatology are to give attention to these aspects of our relationship with death :

  • The psychological suffering.
  • Significant relationships of the patient .
  • Physical pain
  • The last wills.
  • The legal aspects

The stages of mourning

The Swiss psychiatrist, Elizabeth Kübler-Ross, has been one of the most studied in the process of death, grief and everything related to palliative care for terminal patients. He proposed a model of the five stages of mourning:

1. Denial

Temporary defense of those who had a loss or are about to lose their lives due to a health condition. The individual does not accept what is happening , believes it is a dream, a vague idea; anything but your reality. "This can not be happening to me."


2. Anger

The subject feels impotent and angry about the situation he is going through. Normally, anything that represents energy, lucidity and life are totally repelled by it. "Why me and not another?" Negotiation: It reflects the hope that you can lengthen the time a little longer and postpone death. The individual think about making improvement commitments to enjoy if you had more time . "If I could stay, now I would take care of my health." "I just want to see my children's graduation."

3. Depression

The process of understanding that death is imminent begins, so you can isolate yourself, refuse visits from loved ones and cry frequently . "I'm going to die, what's the point of being with my family?" It's when the weight of the loss falls, knowing that that person is no longer there and overcoming feelings of melancholy and nostalgia.


  • You may be interested: "Are there several types of depression?"

4. Acceptance

Total comprehension that death will come and there is nothing to do to avoid it. The individual no longer laments , rather it is prepared to die. "I know I will die, there is nothing I can do." Whoever had a loss accepts that the person is no longer there, will not return but is already at peace.

Facing the death process

Each person lives their grieving process differently, they can change from one step to another without a specific order; live the same step several times; and live their grief in different durations. There is no standardized rule of how it should be and it is for the same reason you should never force someone to manage it in a certain way , since that could have negative consequences instead of beneficial ones.

Thanatology is not based on religious beliefs, customs or rituals , but with the relationship we each have with death and our conception about it. This is why one of the most important points within it is the autonomy, with it is sought that people can make their own decisions in relation to the process of dying.

Although it is not such a recent discipline, it has been gaining greater recognition for the benefits it has given to people who have suffered a loss or are terminally ill to have a much more bearable process and over which they feel they have control. Now, one of the challenges in society is to continue breaking the taboo around this issue and that from childhood there is an education of what is the process of dying; what it entails; and provide psychological strategies so that there is a good management of the duels.


Thanatology is Study of Death - Abuhibban (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thanatologie: l'étude de la mort

Thanatologie: l'étude de la mort

Janvier 22, 2022

Dans les contextes dans lesquels les professionnels de la psychologie sont impliqués est le fait de soutenir les personnes dans leurs processus de deuil. Et il existe une discipline qui étudie justement la mort et son processus. C'est à propos de la thanatologie , et son objectif en psychologie est d’aider les individus à comprendre leurs pertes et à trouver ou récupérer le sens de la vie.

Dans cet article, nous verrons quelles sont les caractéristiques fondamentales de la thanatologie et les aspects psychologiques dans lesquels elle intervient.

  • Article connexe: "Le duel: faire face à la perte d'un être cher"

Qu'est-ce que la thanatologie?

Ce n'est pas un domaine d'étude de la psychologie en tant que tel, mais il converge sur plusieurs points. Travaillez directement avec les patients en phase terminale et leurs familles ou avec toute personne ayant subi une perte. Le rôle de la psychologie est de guider l'individu à travers le deuil, en s'assurant qu'il en a un satisfaisant et en l'aidant à reconnaître, normaliser et contrôler toutes les émotions présentées dans le processus.


Les principaux objectifs de la thanatologie sont de prêter attention à ces aspects de notre relation avec la mort :

  • La souffrance psychologique
  • Relation significative du patient .
  • Douleur physique
  • Les dernières volontés.
  • Les aspects juridiques

Les étapes du deuil

La psychiatre suisse Elizabeth Kübler-Ross a été l’une des personnes les plus étudiées dans le processus de décès, de chagrin et dans tous les domaines liés aux soins palliatifs des patients en phase terminale. Il a proposé un modèle des cinq étapes du deuil:

1. Déni

Défense temporaire de ceux qui ont perdu ou sont sur le point de perdre la vie à cause d'un problème de santé. L'individu n'accepte pas ce qui se passe , croit que c'est un rêve, une idée vague; tout sauf votre réalité. "Cela ne peut pas m'arriver."


2. colère

Le sujet se sent impuissant et fâché face à la situation dans laquelle il se trouve. Normalement, tout ce qui représente l’énergie, la lucidité et la vie en est totalement repoussé. "Pourquoi moi et pas un autre?" Négociation: Cela reflète l'espoir que vous pouvez prolonger le temps encore un peu et retarder la mort. L'individu pensez à prendre des engagements d'amélioration à apprécier si vous aviez plus de temps . "Si je pouvais rester, je prendrais maintenant soin de ma santé." "Je veux juste voir la remise des diplômes de mes enfants."

3. dépression

Le processus de compréhension de l’imminence de la mort commence, alors vous pouvez vous isoler, refuser les visites de vos proches et pleurer fréquemment . "Je vais mourir, quel est le point d'être avec ma famille?" C'est quand le poids de la perte tombe, sachant que cette personne n'est plus là et surmontant des sentiments de mélancolie et de nostalgie.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Y at-il plusieurs types de dépression?"

4. Acceptation

Compréhension totale que la mort viendra et qu'il n'y a rien à faire pour l'éviter. L'individu ne se lamente plus , il est plutôt prêt à mourir. "Je sais que je vais mourir, je ne peux rien faire." Quiconque a subi une perte accepte que la personne n'est plus là, ne reviendra pas mais est déjà en paix.

Faire face à la mort

Chaque personne vit son processus de deuil différemment, elle peut passer d’une étape à l’autre sans ordre spécifique; vivre la même étape plusieurs fois; et vivent leur chagrin dans différentes durées. Il n'y a pas de règle standardisée sur la manière dont cela devrait être et c'est pour la même raison vous ne devriez jamais forcer quelqu'un à le gérer d'une certaine manière , car cela pourrait avoir des conséquences négatives au lieu de bénéfiques.

La thanatologie n'est pas basée sur des croyances religieuses, des coutumes ou des rituels , mais avec la relation que nous avons chacun avec la mort et notre conception à ce sujet. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’un des points les plus importants est l’autonomie, car il est demandé aux personnes de prendre leurs propres décisions en ce qui concerne le processus de la mort.

Bien que ce ne soit pas une discipline aussi récente, il est de plus en plus reconnu que les avantages qu’il a procurés aux personnes qui ont subi une perte ou qui sont en phase terminale ont un processus beaucoup plus supportable et sur lequel ils ont le sentiment de contrôler. Maintenant, l’un des défis de la société est de continuer à briser le tabou qui entoure cette question et à ce que, dès l’enfance, il existe une éducation sur le processus de la mort; ce que cela implique et fournir des stratégies psychologiques afin qu'il y ait une bonne gestion des duels.


Portrait sur Camille-Léa Simard - thanatologue (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes