yes, therapy helps!
Thankful people: 7 characteristics that distinguish them

Thankful people: 7 characteristics that distinguish them

June 10, 2024

The ability to be grateful is one of the reasons why human societies can exist. Because of this reciprocity, it is possible to establish bonds that unite people beyond the mere fact of giving well-being to the person receiving the gratitude.

¿How grateful people are and how we can recognize them on a day-to-day basis ? Let's see what are its main characteristics.

  • Related article: "Psychology of gratitude: benefits of being grateful"

Characteristics of grateful people

These are the typical attributes that characterize those who are grateful to others spontaneously. Of course, they do not have to appear all at the same time in the same person, they only serve as general orientations.


1. They do not thank in a strategic way

It is clear that, if we think about it, any prosocial behavior can be seen as a strategy to obtain benefits in return. However, to practice when we do things that benefit others we do not usually stop to think about how that will benefit us.

This is another key that helps identify grateful people : they give thanks spontaneously, in an irrational way, without this being due to a calculation of costs and benefits.

2. Show appreciation to everyone

For grateful people, the fact of showing gratitude is another element of those that come into play frequently in personal relationships. Therefore, they do so regardless of the degree of friendship or the intensity of the bond that binds that person.


This is important especially in adulthood , a vital stage in which the number of friends with whom one has a close deal is relatively small and therefore most of the people with whom one interacts are relative strangers.

In the end, this characteristic is related to the previous one, since the cases in which gratitude is expressed towards people with whom one does not have much treatment, most likely, does not appear the opportunity for them to return the kind gesture.

3. They use creativity to show gratitude

Thankful people are grateful in all ways in which it is possible to give thanks; they are not limited to a single style category of "material gifts" or "thank you notes".

Any context, with any type of resource, it is possible to reveal what is valued and appreciate what someone has done for us , and putting a little imagination, the idea of ​​what to do to express it appears easily.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The psychology of creativity and creative thinking"

4. They adapt their message to the person to whom they direct it

Something to keep in mind when expressing gratitude is the knowledge one has about the tastes and personality of the person to whom the message is addressed. Ultimately, if you want to convey a sense of well-being, It makes sense to maximize this effect by adapting the way you are going to say thank you .

5. They do not always wait for celebrations

Why be constrained by the calendar when giving thanks? There are no reasons to stop being grateful people during the days that go from one celebration to the next. Beyond birthdays and Christmas, there are many other moments where you can give gifts or make dedications. The message has even more power precisely when any day comes.

6. They are fair in their personal relationships

The fact of being grateful people does not mean that you have a natural tendency towards candor or altruism, but it does mean that you tend to offer fair treatment to everyone. Beyond the image that is offered to others at the time of speaking or the ease to make friends and fall well to others, who is grateful integrates this fact into his way of seeing human relationships , and these are governed by the idea that justice is important.

7. They make sure that the other person understands the message

It does not help to give thanks if the person to whom this symbolic action is directed does not interpret this sign of gratitude as such. It is not a matter of gaining positive points in front of her, but the important thing is that she is aware that she has given someone reasons to give thanks, which says a lot in her favor.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bremner, J. Gavin (2017). An Introduction to Developmental Psychology. John Wiley & Sons.
  • Ortega, P., Minguez, R., and Gil, R. (1997). Cooperative learning and moral development. Spanish Journal of Pedagogy, 206, 33-51.
  • Roberts, W., and Strayer, J. (1996). Empathy, emotional expressiveness, and prosocial behavior. Child Development, 67 (2), 449-470.
  • Willis, Amy (November 8, 2011). "Most adults have 'only two close friends'".The Telegraph. London.

Characteristics of Life (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnes reconnaissantes: 7 caractéristiques qui les distinguent

Personnes reconnaissantes: 7 caractéristiques qui les distinguent

Mars 4, 2021

La capacité d'être reconnaissant est l'une des raisons pour lesquelles les sociétés humaines peuvent exister. Grâce à cette réciprocité, il est possible d’établir des liens qui unissent les gens au-delà du simple fait de donner du bien-être à celui qui reçoit la gratitude.

¿À quel point les gens sont-ils reconnaissants et comment pouvons-nous les reconnaître au quotidien? ? Voyons quelles sont ses principales caractéristiques.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie de la gratitude: les avantages d'être reconnaissant"

Caractéristiques des personnes reconnaissantes

Ce sont les attributs typiques qui caractérisent ceux qui sont spontanément reconnaissants envers les autres. Bien entendu, ils ne doivent pas nécessairement apparaître tous en même temps chez la même personne, ils servent uniquement d'orientations générales.


1. Ils ne remercient pas de manière stratégique

Il est clair que, si nous y réfléchissons, tout comportement prosocial peut être considéré comme une stratégie visant à obtenir des avantages en retour. Cependant, pour pratiquer lorsque nous faisons des choses qui profitent aux autres, nous n’arrêtons généralement pas pour réfléchir à la façon dont cela nous profiterait.

Ceci est une autre clé qui aide à identifier les personnes reconnaissantes : ils remercient spontanément, de manière irrationnelle, sans que cela soit dû à un calcul des coûts et des avantages.

2. Montrez votre appréciation à tous

Pour les personnes reconnaissantes, le fait de montrer de la gratitude est un autre élément de ceux qui interviennent fréquemment dans les relations personnelles. Par conséquent, ils le font indépendamment du degré d'amitié ou de l'intensité du lien qui unit cette personne.


Ceci est important surtout à l'âge adulte , une étape vitale dans laquelle le nombre d’amis avec qui on a un accord étroit est relativement petit et donc la plupart des gens avec qui on a des relations sont des étrangers relatifs.

En fin de compte, cette caractéristique est liée à la précédente, car les cas dans lesquels la gratitude s’exprime à l’égard de personnes avec lesquelles on n’a pas beaucoup de traitement, très probablement, ne leur offre pas l’opportunité de rendre le geste bienveillant.

3. Ils utilisent leur créativité pour exprimer leur gratitude

Les gens reconnaissants sont reconnaissants de toutes les manières possibles de rendre grâce; ils ne se limitent pas à une seule catégorie de style "cadeaux matériels" ou "notes de remerciement".

N'importe quel contexte, avec n'importe quel type de ressource, il est possible de révéler ce qui est apprécié et d'apprécier ce que quelqu'un a fait pour nous et, en mettant un peu d’imagination, l’idée de ce qu’il faut faire pour l’exprimer apparaît facilement.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La psychologie de la créativité et de la pensée créative"

4. Ils adaptent leur message à la personne à qui ils le dirigent

Il est important de garder à l’esprit lorsque vous exprimez votre gratitude, c’est la connaissance que vous avez des goûts et de la personnalité de la personne à qui le message est adressé. En fin de compte, si vous voulez transmettre un sentiment de bien-être, Il est logique de maximiser cet effet en adaptant la façon dont vous allez dire merci. .

5. Ils n'attendent pas toujours les célébrations

Pourquoi être contraint par le calendrier lors des remerciements? Il n'y a aucune raison de ne plus être reconnaissant les jours qui vont d'une célébration à l'autre. Au-delà des anniversaires et de Noël, il y a beaucoup d'autres moments où vous pouvez donner des cadeaux ou faire des dédicaces. Le message a encore plus de puissance, précisément chaque jour.

6. Ils sont justes dans leurs relations personnelles

Le fait d’être des personnes reconnaissantes ne signifie pas que vous ayez une tendance naturelle à la franchise ou à l’altruisme, mais que vous avez tendance à offrir un traitement équitable à tous. Au-delà de l'image qui est offerte aux autres au moment de parler ou de la facilité à se faire des amis et à bien tomber, qui est reconnaissant intègre ce fait dans sa façon de voir les relations humaines , et ceux-ci sont régis par l'idée que la justice est importante.

7. Ils s'assurent que l'autre personne comprend le message

Il n’est pas utile de rendre grâce si la personne à qui cette action symbolique est destinée n’interprète pas ce signe de gratitude en tant que tel. Il ne s’agit pas de gagner des points positifs devant elle, mais l’important est qu’elle sache qu’elle a donné à quelqu'un des raisons de le remercier, ce qui en dit beaucoup en sa faveur.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bremner, J. Gavin (2017). Une introduction à la psychologie du développement. John Wiley & Sons.
  • Ortega, P., Minguez, R. et Gil, R. (1997). Apprentissage coopératif et développement moral. Journal espagnol de pédagogie, 206, 33-51.
  • Roberts, W. et Strayer, J. (1996). Empathie, expressivité émotionnelle et comportement prosocial. Développement de l'enfant, 67 (2), 449-470.
  • Willis, Amy (8 novembre 2011). "La plupart des adultes n'ont" que deux amis proches "".Le télégraphe. Londres

Reconnaître les personnes émotionnellement intelligentes (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes