yes, therapy helps!
The 10 best short legends (for children and adults)

The 10 best short legends (for children and adults)

April 29, 2024

The stories that we transmit orally over a long time , known as "legends", are one of the richest and most important cultural elements in many societies.

This is because they speak to us about the worldview, the values, the ideals, the fears, the interests and the generational transformations of those who have integrated a particular culture. For this reason they constitute an important pedagogical and historiographic resource.

Not only that, but being stories that are shared between different generations, they can be interesting and fun for children, young people and adults alike. In this article you will find a selection of 10 short legends They are part of different cultures, apart from a brief definition of legends compared to myths and fables.


  • Related article: "The 6 types of narrators, and how they are used in literature"

Legend, myth and fable: some differences

The legends are narrations that are transmitted orally from generation to generation. They transcend written records, they are stories that they have spread by word of mouth, generally from the older generations to the younger ones . However, its transmission is adapted to the conditions of our societies, with which the legends are also communicated and extended through texts, books and even movies.

It is, in any case, narrations that allude to facts about human life, which may have historical roots, or not, as well as mixing reality with fantasy. The latter is what makes a legend of a myth different, since the myth mainly tells the story of divine beings, and is Through such a story, religious beliefs and moral guidelines are founded .


On the other hand, both the legends and the myths are different stories to the fables. They differ in that the fables have as protagonists animals that speak and that through their adventures leave us a teaching.

In any case, the same story can contain elements of both legend and myth and fable , and all can provide explanations to natural and supernatural phenomena as well as to different social events. In all legends there are usually different versions, depending on the specific place where they are counted.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 ages of History (and its characteristics)"

10 short legends of different cultures

Although the legends of terror and lack of love are very popular, they are not the only topics that exist. Next we will see 10 short legends that have persisted for many years in different parts of the world.


1. Nessie

Better known as "The Loch Ness Monster", this legend is part of Scottish folklore and tells the story of a giant creature with prehistoric appearance, which first appeared in the sixteenth century in Loch Ness, but has been seen even in recent times. The legend regained strength when they claimed to see it in the year 1933, which has inspired different films and keeps those who visit the lake in suspense .

2. The salt mill

It is a Nordic legend that many years ago there was a giant that had a magic mill . The mill was small and could produce salt. One day, the giant gives it to a widowed woman and her little daughter. Both work with the mill and get so much salt that they can sell it to the people. Unfortunately an elf, jealous of the mill, steals it and throws it into the sea. And for this reason the sea water is so salty.

3. Robin Hood

Also known as the "prince of thieves", Robin Hood is one of the most famous English characters in the legends of Western culture. Its history has been inspired by different characters, although one of the most mentioned is Ghino di Tacco, an Italian hero of the 13th century. Written records about Robin Hood have been located since the 13th century , although it gained popularity from the fifteenth century.

It is a man who faced the rich to defend the poor. Without realizing it, he took belongings from the former to give them to those who needed them most; always in the company of his green suit, his bow and arrows.

4. La Llorona

La Llorona is a legend of Latin American origin, especially popular in Mexico . The most widespread version tells the story of a woman who had suffered the rejection of her husband, and she, in a sign of spite, murdered her children. The guilt makes her return at dawn in the form of a ghost that shouts "Oh my children!".

Other versions say that it is a representation of La Malinche, a woman who worked as a translator and interpreter for Hernán Cortés during the "conquest" of America.In this case, the cry of suffering has to do with the fact that some versions of the colonization process have unjustly attributed to Malinche the responsibility for what happened.

5. Tanabata

In this Japanese legend, Orihime (which means princess who weaves) was the daughter of de Tentei, the Lord of Heaven. The latter loved the clothes Orihime wove; but she, on the other hand, was discouraged because, thanks to her hard work, she had not had the chance to fall in love. Tentei, worried, introduces him to Hikoboshi, whom he fell madly in love with. When they got married, they both stopped fulfilling Tentei's mandates, with which the Lord of Heaven ends up separating them.

Before the tears of Orihime, Tentei allowed them to meet on the seventh day, once their responsibilities were finished (hence the name of Tanabata, which means "Night of the seventh"). But for this they had to cross a river where there was no bridge. She cried so much that a flock of magpies came over to make a bridge with their wings . Currently, there is a festival in Japan called Tanabata, or Festival of the Star. According to the legend, this is the day when lovers who have been separated meet again.

6. Krampus

Popular character in Eastern Europe, which has been described as half goat, half demon: has a pair of giant horns, very large legs and a hairy body. Every Christmas, Krampus comes to punish children who have behaved badly; in contrast to Saint Nicholas, Santa Claus or Santa Claus, who comes to reward those who have been very polite . It is a person whose origin is linked to the religious culture prior to Christianity.

7. The werewolf

The werewolf is probably one of the legends that has most inspired stories and films in Europe. They say that at the end of the 19th century, a man with lycanthropy killed 17 people. The explanation that he himself gave is that at night, he inevitably became a wolf whose insatiable need was to murder. In another version, of Guaraní origin, there is a human with an ungainly appearance and an unpleasant smell that transforms into a wolf during the nights of the full moon, and is dedicated to attacking farms and looking for carrion.

8. Popocatepetl and Iztaccihuatl

Legend has it that in the Aztec empire there was an important warrior named Popocatépetl, who loved the daughter of one of the chiefs: Iztaccihuatl. Before leaving for a war, Popocatépetl says goodbye to Iztaccihuatl, promising to return for her. Unfortunately, another of the soldiers who was also in love with her, spread the false news that Popocatépetl had died in combat .

When Iztaccíhuatl found out, he decided to take his own life. Some time later the warrior returns for her, and on finding that she was dead; He could not stand the sadness and he died too. At this, the gods were moved and transformed into two of the largest volcanoes in central Mexico, which currently bear their names.

9. The wandering Dutchman

A legend that goes back to the seventeenth century, where a Dutch captain named Hendrik Van Der Decken made a boat trip to India. In that, a strong storm lashes his boat, to which the captain resisted with strength and determination. This challenged the authority of God, who he condemned the captain to wander, along with his ship, aimlessly across the ocean . Since then, legend has it that the ghost of the wandering Dutchman appears at midnight along with other souls in pain. Its appearance is also synonymous with bad omen for the captains who see it.

10. Anahí and the ceibo flower

On the banks of the Paraná, in the east of Argentina, lived a young Guaraní woman who sang in a special way. Upon the arrival of the "conquerors", Anahí was captured along with other people from the town. One night he escaped, but they quickly discovered it. His sentence was death, tied to a tree to burn it. The day the sentence was served, and while her body burned, Anahí began to sing. The next morning, in the place where his body was consumed, Several red flowers appeared, which are now the National Flower Argentina and they are called "Flower of ceibo".


Top 10 Scariest Urban Legends (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 meilleures légendes courtes (pour enfants et adultes)

Les 10 meilleures légendes courtes (pour enfants et adultes)

Septembre 21, 2022

Les histoires que nous transmettons oralement sur une longue période , connus sous le nom de "légendes", sont l’un des éléments culturels les plus riches et les plus importants de nombreuses sociétés.

C'est parce qu'ils nous parlent de la vision du monde, des valeurs, des idéaux, des peurs, des intérêts et des transformations générationnelles de ceux qui ont intégré une culture particulière. Pour cette raison, ils constituent une ressource pédagogique et historiographique importante.

Non seulement cela, mais étant des histoires partagées par différentes générations, ils peuvent être intéressants et amusants pour les enfants, les jeunes et les adultes. Dans cet article vous trouverez une sélection de 10 légendes courtes Ils font partie de différentes cultures, hormis une brève définition des légendes par rapport aux mythes et aux fables.


  • Article connexe: "Les 6 types de narrateurs et leur utilisation dans la littérature"

Légende, mythe et fable: quelques différences

Les légendes sont des narrations transmises oralement de génération en génération. Ils transcendent les documents écrits, ce sont des histoires qui elles se sont propagées de bouche à oreille, généralement des générations les plus anciennes aux plus jeunes . Cependant, sa transmission est adaptée aux conditions de nos sociétés, avec lesquelles les légendes sont également communiquées et étendues à travers des textes, des livres et même des films.

Il s’agit en tout cas de narrations faisant allusion à des faits concernant la vie humaine, qui peuvent avoir des racines historiques ou non, ainsi qu’un mélange de réalité et de fantaisie. Ce dernier est ce qui fait la légende d’un mythe différent, puisque le mythe raconte principalement l’histoire des êtres divins, et est À travers une telle histoire, les croyances religieuses et les principes moraux sont fondés .


D'autre part, les légendes et les mythes sont des histoires différentes des fables. Ils diffèrent en ce que les fables ont pour protagonistes des animaux qui parlent et que par leurs aventures nous laissent un enseignement.

En tout cas, la même histoire peut contenir des éléments de légende, de mythe et de fable et tous peuvent fournir des explications sur des phénomènes naturels et surnaturels ainsi que sur différents événements sociaux. Dans toutes les légendes, il existe généralement des versions différentes, en fonction de l'endroit spécifique où elles sont comptées.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 âges de l'histoire (et ses caractéristiques)"

10 légendes courtes de différentes cultures

Bien que les légendes de la terreur et du manque d’amour soient très populaires, elles ne sont pas les seuls sujets abordés. Ensuite, nous verrons 10 légendes courtes qui persistent depuis de nombreuses années dans différentes parties du monde.


1. Nessie

Mieux connue sous le nom de "Monstre du Loch Ness", cette légende fait partie du folklore écossais et raconte l'histoire d'une créature géante d'apparence préhistorique, apparue pour la première fois au XVIe siècle dans le Loch Ness. dans les temps récents. La légende a repris des forces quand ils ont prétendu la voir en 1933, ce qui a inspiré différents films et garde en suspens ceux qui visitent le lac .

2. Le moulin à sel

C'est une légende nordique qu'il y a de nombreuses années il y avait un géant qui avait un moulin magique . Le moulin était petit et pouvait produire du sel. Un jour, le géant le donne à une femme veuve et à sa petite fille. Tous deux travaillent avec le moulin et reçoivent tellement de sel qu'ils peuvent le vendre à la population. Malheureusement, un elfe, jaloux du moulin, le vole et le jette à la mer. Et pour cette raison, l'eau de mer est tellement salée.

3. Robin des bois

Aussi connu comme le "prince des voleurs", Robin Hood est l’un des personnages anglais les plus célèbres des légendes de la culture occidentale. Son histoire a été inspirée par différents personnages, bien que l’un des plus cités soit Ghino di Tacco, un héros italien du XIIIe siècle. Des documents écrits sur Robin Hood ont été trouvés depuis le 13ème siècle , bien qu’il gagne en popularité à partir du quinzième siècle.

C'est un homme qui a affronté les riches pour défendre les pauvres. Sans s'en rendre compte, il prit les affaires du premier pour les donner à ceux qui en avaient le plus besoin; toujours en compagnie de son costume vert, de son arc et de ses flèches.

4. La Llorona

La Llorona est une légende d'origine latino-américaine, particulièrement populaire au Mexique . La version la plus répandue raconte l'histoire d'une femme qui avait subi le rejet de son mari et qui, en signe de dépit, avait assassiné ses enfants. La culpabilité la fait revenir à l'aube sous la forme d'un fantôme qui crie "Oh mes enfants!".

D’autres versions disent que c’est une représentation de La Malinche, une femme qui a travaillé comme traductrice et interprète pour Hernán Cortés lors de la "conquête" de l’Amérique.Dans ce cas, le cri de souffrance a à voir avec le fait que certaines versions du processus de colonisation ont injustement attribué à Malinche la responsabilité de ce qui s’est passé.

5. Tanabata

Dans cette légende japonaise, Orihime (qui signifie princesse qui tisse) était la fille de Tentei, le Seigneur des cieux. Ce dernier aimait les vêtements tissés par Orihime; mais elle, en revanche, était découragée car, grâce à son travail acharné, elle n'avait pas eu la chance de tomber amoureuse. Tentei, inquiet, le présente à Hikoboshi, dont il est tombé éperdument amoureux. Quand ils se sont mariés, ils ont tous deux cessé de remplir les mandats de Tentei, par lesquels le Seigneur des cieux finit par les séparer.

Avant les larmes d'Orihime, Tentei leur permit de se rencontrer le septième jour, une fois leurs responsabilités terminées (d'où le nom de Tanabata, qui signifie "Nuit du septième"). Mais pour cela, ils devaient traverser une rivière où il n'y avait pas de pont. Elle a tellement pleuré que un troupeau de pies est venu pour faire un pont avec leurs ailes . Il existe actuellement au Japon un festival appelé Tanabata, ou festival de l'étoile. Selon la légende, c'est le jour où les amoureux séparés se retrouvent.

6. Krampus

Personnage populaire en Europe de l'Est, qui a été décrit comme moitié chèvre, moitié démon: a une paire de cornes géantes, de très grandes pattes et un corps velu. Chaque Noël, Krampus vient punir les enfants qui se sont mal comportés; contrairement à Saint-Nicolas, au Père Noël ou au Père Noël, qui vient récompenser ceux qui ont été très polis . C'est une personne dont l'origine est liée à la culture religieuse antérieure au christianisme.

7. le loup-garou

Le loup-garou est probablement l'une des légendes qui a inspiré le plus d'histoires et de films en Europe. Ils disent qu’à la fin du 19e siècle, un homme atteint de lycanthropie a tué 17 personnes. L'explication qu'il a lui-même donnée est que, la nuit, il est inévitablement devenu un loup dont le besoin insatiable était d'assassiner. Dans une autre version, d'origine guarani, il y a un être humain d'aspect désagréable et d'odeur désagréable qui se transforme en loup pendant les nuits de pleine lune et qui se consacre à l'attaque de fermes et à la recherche de charognes.

8. Popocatepetl et Iztaccihuatl

La légende raconte que dans l'empire aztèque se trouvait un important guerrier nommé Popocatépetl, qui aimait la fille d'un des chefs: Iztaccihuatl. Avant de partir en guerre, Popocatépetl fait ses adieux à Iztaccihuatl et lui promet de revenir la chercher. Malheureusement, un autre des soldats qui était aussi amoureux d'elle, répandre la fausse nouvelle que Popocatépetl était mort au combat .

Quand Iztaccíhuatl l'a découvert, il a décidé de se suicider. Quelque temps après, le guerrier revient la chercher et découvre qu'elle est morte. Il ne pouvait pas supporter la tristesse et il est mort aussi. Les dieux furent alors déplacés et transformés en deux des plus grands volcans du centre du Mexique, qui portent actuellement leur nom.

9. Le Hollandais errant

Une légende qui remonte au XVIIe siècle, où un capitaine néerlandais, Hendrik Van Der Decken, fit une excursion en bateau en Inde. En cela, une forte tempête frappe son bateau, ce à quoi le capitaine a résisté avec force et détermination. Cela a contesté l'autorité de Dieu, qui il a condamné le capitaine à errer, avec son navire, sans but à travers l'océan . Depuis lors, la légende raconte que le fantôme du Néerlandais errant apparaît à minuit avec d'autres âmes en peine. Son apparence est également synonyme de mauvais présage pour les capitaines qui le voient.

10. Anahí et la fleur de ceibo

Sur les rives du Paraná, à l'est de l'Argentine, vivait une jeune femme guarani qui chantait d'une manière particulière. À l'arrivée des "conquérants", Anahí fut capturé avec d'autres habitants de la ville. Une nuit, il s’échappa mais ils le découvrirent rapidement. Sa peine était la mort, attachée à un arbre pour le brûler. Le jour où la peine fut purgée et pendant que son corps brûlait, Anahí se mit à chanter. Le lendemain matin, à l'endroit où son corps a été consumé, Plusieurs fleurs rouges sont apparues, qui sont maintenant la fleur nationale Argentine et ils s'appellent "Fleur de ceibo".


Les Contes de l'Afrique - dessin animé en français - Contes pour enfants (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes