yes, therapy helps!
The 10 best tricks to sleep better (endorsed by Psychology)

The 10 best tricks to sleep better (endorsed by Psychology)

February 10, 2024

Sleeping well is one of the keys to enjoy good mental and physical health . When we talk about good sleep, we not only refer to rest the number of sufficient hours, but to have a good quality sleep.

That is why it is necessary to carry out good practices that allow you to sleep better.

Tips to sleep better

There is nothing worse than spending the night awake and suffering the consequences the next day, because lack of sleep hurts our well-being and affects our performance.

Therefore, in the following lines we have decided to make a compilation with some tricks and tips that will help you sleep better and enjoy a quality sleep.


1. Method 4-7-8

Surely many times you've heard some sleeping techniques like that of counting sheep; however, it seems that they are ineffective. Currently, we speak of a very powerful technique that is called "method 4-7-8", which was popularized by Dr. Andrew Weil, Director of the Arizona Center for Integrative Medicine at the University of Arizona. According to its creator, this technique helps people to fall asleep in just 60 seconds, it calms and relaxes the nervous system, which reduces stress and tension in the body .

  • If you want to know more about this technique, you can read our article: "The method 4-7-8 to fall asleep in less than a minute"

2. Yoga practice

This method 4-7-8 has its origin in yoga, specifically in breathing (Pranayama) . We have already mentioned the benefits of yoga some articles, for example, the "The 6 psychological benefits of yoga". Among the advantages of practicing this millennial method is to sleep better.


This happens because yoga helps to release serotonin, a neurotransmitter that is related to happiness and that, in addition, is a precursor of melatonin, the hormone that regulates sleep cycles. According to an investigation of the University of Duke, the yoga allows to control the stress and the corporal temperature, what favors the dream.

3. Have a routine

Our daily habits influence our body clock and, therefore, in our sleep . A good alternative to correct this is to have a ritual to sleep. For example, take a warm bath every day at the same time before going to bed, practice relaxation techniques or drink a relaxing infusion before going to bed.

4. Practice physical exercise

If having a sedentary life negatively affects the time of falling asleep, having an active life and practicing physical exercise has an opposite effect. Sports practice helps to release neurotransmitters such as endorphins, which are associated with pleasure , but also serotonin, which as I mentioned in the previous lines favors the synthesis of melatonin, which regulates the wakefulness sleep cycle.


5. Do not pass with the nap

The nap, if it is not very long, can help you to perform more in your work and to be more concentrated during the afternoon . But abusing this Spanish tradition can make you sleepy at night. For the nap to be beneficial, it should be short, approximately 20 or 30 minutes. Also, if you have sleep problems, better avoid naps because they can make you feel more rested at night.

6. If you can not get to sleep, get up

There is nothing worse than being in bed sleeping and watching the hours go by . Therefore, if you can not sleep, you better get up and do something. Maybe read for half an hour, do a brief meditation or drink a glass of warm milk. Staying in bed will only increase your anxiety. Of course, if you get up, avoid high lighting.

7. Lie down and get up early

Having a routine is undoubtedly positive to be able to fall asleep without problems, but going to bed and getting up early is necessary if we do not want to have trouble sleeping . This helps the body to orient itself and favors the sleep and wake cycle, which improves the quality of life of the person and avoids staying awake late at night.

8. Avoid alcohol

Alcohol is a very consumed substance nowadays, and although it may seem a good alternative to sleep, it is not . Perhaps it can favor rapid sleep due to its neurodepressant effect; however, it alters the later sleep phases and may cause you to wake up throughout the night. This can prevent you from achieving the necessary sleep and can affect the amount and quality of sleep.

9. Do not take stimulants after mid afternoon

If alcohol does not favor a good quality of sleep, take stimulants like coffee either (obviously). Drinking coffee is very common in our society, but contains caffeine that stimulates the brain and negatively affects sleep . Drinking a coffee in the morning may even be good for performing better in day-to-day tasks, but after mid-afternoon it may affect the quantity and quality of sleep. If you are a lover of this drunk, you can choose to take it decaffeinated.

10. Take care of the environment

The environment can influence our behavior, also at the time of falling asleep. The environmental conditions are key because they may or may not favor sleep. Carrying out strategies such as low light, low noise and a comfortable temperature can help you sleep better , just as it is highly recommended to have the TV off and sleep with a comfortable pillow.


7 Tips to Get a Better Sleep According to Psychologists (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 meilleures astuces pour mieux dormir (approuvé par la psychologie)

Les 10 meilleures astuces pour mieux dormir (approuvé par la psychologie)

Décembre 7, 2022

Bien dormir est l'une des clés pour jouir d'une bonne santé mentale et physique . Lorsque nous parlons de bien dormir, nous ne parlons pas seulement de repos, mais d’avoir un sommeil de bonne qualité.

C'est pourquoi il est nécessaire de mettre en œuvre de bonnes pratiques permettant de mieux dormir.

Conseils pour mieux dormir

Il n'y a rien de pire que de passer la nuit éveillée et d'en subir les conséquences le lendemain, car le manque de sommeil nuit à notre bien-être et à notre performance.

Par conséquent, dans les lignes suivantes, nous avons décidé de faire une compilation avec quelques astuces et conseils qui vous aideront à mieux dormir et à profiter d'un sommeil de qualité.


1. Méthode 4-7-8

Vous avez sûrement souvent entendu parler de techniques de sommeil comme celle de compter les moutons; Cependant, il semble qu'ils soient inefficaces. Actuellement, nous parlons d'une technique très puissante appelée "méthode 4-7-8", qui a été popularisée par le Dr Andrew Weil, directeur du Centre de médecine intégrative de l'Arizona à l'Université de l'Arizona. Selon son créateur, cette technique aide les gens à s'endormir en seulement 60 secondes, il calme et détend le système nerveux, ce qui réduit le stress et la tension dans le corps .

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus sur cette technique, vous pouvez lire notre article: "La méthode 4-7-8 pour s’endormir en moins d’une minute"

2. Pratique de yoga

Cette méthode 4-7-8 trouve son origine dans le yoga, en particulier dans la respiration (Pranayama) . Nous avons déjà mentionné les avantages du yoga dans certains articles, par exemple "Les 6 avantages psychologiques du yoga". L'un des avantages de cette méthode millénaire est de mieux dormir.


Cela se produit parce que le yoga aide à libérer la sérotonine, un neurotransmetteur lié au bonheur et, en outre, précurseur de la mélatonine, l'hormone qui régule les cycles du sommeil. Selon une enquête de l'Université de Duke, le yoga permet de contrôler le stress et la température corporelle, ce qui favorise le rêve.

3. avoir une routine

Nos habitudes quotidiennes influencent notre horloge biologique et, par conséquent, notre sommeil . Une bonne alternative pour corriger cela est d'avoir un rituel pour dormir. Par exemple, prenez un bain chaud tous les jours à la même heure avant de vous coucher, pratiquez des techniques de relaxation ou buvez une infusion relaxante avant de vous coucher.

4. Pratiquer de l'exercice physique

Si le fait de mener une vie sédentaire a une incidence négative sur le temps de s’endormir, mener une vie active et faire de l’exercice physique a un effet opposé. La pratique sportive aide à libérer des neurotransmetteurs tels que les endorphines, associées au plaisir , mais aussi la sérotonine, qui, comme je l’ai mentionné dans les lignes précédentes, favorise la synthèse de la mélatonine, qui régule le cycle de veille du sommeil.


5. Ne pas passer avec la sieste

La sieste, si elle n’est pas très longue, peut vous aider à faire plus dans votre travail et à être plus concentré pendant l’après-midi . Mais abuser de cette tradition espagnole peut vous rendre somnolent la nuit. Pour que la sieste soit bénéfique, elle devrait être courte, environ 20 ou 30 minutes. De plus, si vous avez des problèmes de sommeil, évitez les siestes car elles peuvent vous faire sentir plus reposé la nuit.

6. Si vous ne pouvez pas vous endormir, levez-vous

Il n'y a rien de pire que d'être au lit à dormir et à regarder les heures passer . Par conséquent, si vous ne pouvez pas dormir, vous feriez mieux de vous lever et de faire quelque chose. Peut-être lire pendant une demi-heure, faire une brève méditation ou boire un verre de lait chaud. Rester au lit ne fera qu'augmenter votre anxiété. Bien sûr, si vous vous levez, évitez les hautes lumières.

7. s'allonger et se lever tôt

Avoir une routine est sans aucun doute positif pour pouvoir s’endormir sans problèmes, mais aller au lit et se lever tôt est nécessaire si nous ne voulons pas avoir du mal à dormir . Cela aide le corps à s'orienter et favorise les cycles de sommeil et de veille, ce qui améliore la qualité de vie de la personne et évite de rester éveillé tard le soir.

8. Évitez l'alcool

L’alcool est une substance très consommée aujourd’hui, et même s’il peut sembler une bonne alternative au sommeil, . Peut-être peut-il favoriser le sommeil rapide en raison de son effet neurodépresseur; Cependant, il modifie les dernières phases du sommeil et peut vous amener à vous réveiller toute la nuit. Cela peut vous empêcher de dormir suffisamment et peut affecter la quantité et la qualité du sommeil.

9. Ne prenez pas de stimulants après le milieu de l'après-midi

Si l’alcool ne favorise pas une bonne qualité de sommeil, prenez des stimulants comme le café (évidemment). La consommation de café est très courante dans notre société, mais contient de la caféine qui stimule le cerveau et affecte négativement le sommeil . Boire un café le matin peut même s'avérer utile pour accomplir de meilleures tâches au quotidien, mais après le milieu de l'après-midi, cela peut affecter la quantité et la qualité du sommeil. Si vous êtes un amoureux de cet homme ivre, vous pouvez choisir de le prendre décaféiné.

10. Prendre soin de l'environnement

L'environnement peut influer sur notre comportement, même au moment de s'endormir. Les conditions environnementales sont essentielles car elles peuvent ou non favoriser le sommeil. Des stratégies telles que faible luminosité, faible bruit et une température confortable peuvent vous aider à mieux dormir , tout comme il est fortement recommandé d’éteindre la télévision et de dormir avec un oreiller confortable.


✂ Couper les cheveux de sa fille (PS : Je ne suis pas coiffeuse) (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes