yes, therapy helps!
The 10 branches of physics and their fields of knowledge

The 10 branches of physics and their fields of knowledge

January 29, 2023

Einstein, Planck, the Curie, Bohr, Tesla, Faraday, Hertz, Newton, Hawking, Galileo Galilei ... all of them are great scientists highly recognized by the majority of society, regardless of whether or not they know the type of studies they carried out exactly. In addition to recognition, all of them also have another common characteristic: they were all physicists who introduced or popularized new theories or concepts in order to explain different phenomena of reality.

However, not all of them specialized in the same fields. And there are many branches of physics , responsible for investigating different aspects of reality. In this article we intend to make a brief mention of some of the most important branches of this discipline, in order to observe the large number of elements it explores.


  • Related article: "Is Psychology a Science?"

Physics as a pure science

Physics is one of the pure sciences or natural sciences, which purport to offer an explanation of why the world works as it does. Concretely physics study the properties of energy, matter, space and time and how these and other forces interact and affect each other.

The history of physics is long and convulsive, being in fact one of the first sciences to emerge. You can distinguish a large number of periods, highlighting three large conglomerates; classical physics (responsible for studying the behavior and properties of visible matter at speeds lower than the two light emails), modern physics (which appears with Planck and the beginning of quantum physics and which explores the behavior of particles at speeds equal or superior to those of light or the relations between forces such as gravity or electromagnetism) and contemporary physics (specializing in nonlinear phenomena, the spatio-temporal distortions caused by celestial bodies and subparticles and their behavior).


But as we said before and as you can guess by the division in stages this discipline not only works a concrete aspect of reality , but it can be applied to various areas. And we can talk about different branches of physics, some of which we will present in this article.

The various branches of physics

Here we present briefly some of the main branches of physics.

1. Mechanics

This branch of physics studies the movement of objects in space or the effect of different forces about them. It is probably one of the branches of physics most often identified as such.

2. Thermodynamics

Branch of physics focused on the study of all those phenomena linked to temperature, its variations, the generation and transmission of heat energy and the effects that these changes generate on bodies.


3. Optics

Optics can be understood as the physical study of the phenomena linked to light energy . The behavior and properties of light (for example, diffraction, polarization or dispersion), their interaction and effects on bodies or even their perception by human beings are studied. Also, observe the light as a particle and as a wave at a time.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 parts of the eye and its functions"

4. Acoustics

Part of the physics responsible for the study of sound, its measurement, its properties and effects on bodies. Also their perception and behavior in different media.

5. Electromagnetism

Part of the physics that studies electromagnetic phenomena. It includes the combined study of electricity and magnetism, since it has been shown that both concepts are related. But nevertheless You can also study one of these phenomena separately .

6. Mechanics of fluids

Although we have previously mentioned mechanics as a branch of physics, you can find several types of mechanics with differential characteristics. In the case of fluid mechanics, the object of study is the properties and behavior of fluids, both liquids and gases.

7. Quantum mechanics

One of the most recent branches of physics and one of the most interesting today, quantum mechanics is based on the study of behavior, properties and interactions of atoms and subatomic particles .

8. Nuclear physics

Largely linked to the previous one, nuclear physics studies the energy and the effects of the union or division of atoms.

9. Astrophysics

Physics also participates in the search for an explanation regarding the phenomena that happen beyond our planet . Specifically, astrophysics is a branch of physics that is responsible for the study of celestial bodies from the analysis of their properties and behavior.

10. Biophysics

Physics has also been used in the study of living beings and their properties, always its objective to explain the physical functioning of organisms and the use of energy by them.


Branches of Physics | Definitions | Meaning | Phyacademy | Phyacademy (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 branches de la physique et leurs domaines de connaissance

Les 10 branches de la physique et leurs domaines de connaissance

Janvier 22, 2023

Einstein, Planck, Curie, Bohr, Tesla, Faraday, Hertz, Newton, Hawking, Galileo Galilei ... sont tous de grands scientifiques hautement reconnus par la majorité de la société, qu'ils connaissent ou non le type d'études qu'ils ont menées. exactement. En plus de leur reconnaissance, ils ont tous une autre caractéristique commune: ce sont tous des physiciens qui ont introduit ou popularisé de nouvelles théories ou concepts afin d'expliquer différents phénomènes de la réalité.

Cependant, ils ne sont pas tous spécialisés dans les mêmes domaines. Et il y a beaucoup de branches de la physique , chargé d’enquêter sur différents aspects de la réalité. Dans cet article, nous avons l'intention de mentionner brièvement certaines des branches les plus importantes de cette discipline, afin d'observer le grand nombre d'éléments qu'elle explore.


  • Article connexe: "La psychologie est-elle une science?"

La physique en tant que science pure

La physique est l’une des sciences pures ou naturelles, qui prétend expliquer pourquoi le monde fonctionne de la même manière. Concrètement physique étudier les propriétés de l'énergie, de la matière, de l'espace et du temps et comment ces forces et d'autres interagissent et s'affectent.

L’histoire de la physique est longue et convulsive, l’une des premières sciences à émerger. Vous pouvez distinguer un grand nombre de périodes, en mettant en évidence trois grands conglomérats; physique classique (chargée d'étudier le comportement et les propriétés de la matière visible à des vitesses inférieures à celles des deux emails légers), physique moderne (apparaissant avec Planck et les débuts de la physique quantique et explorant le comportement des particules à des vitesses rapides égaux ou supérieurs à ceux de la lumière ou des relations entre des forces telles que la gravité ou l'électromagnétisme) et la physique contemporaine (spécialisée dans les phénomènes non linéaires, les distorsions spatio-temporelles causées par les corps célestes et leurs sous-particules et leur comportement).


Mais comme nous l’avons dit précédemment et comme vous pouvez le deviner par la division par étapes de cette discipline non seulement fonctionne un aspect concret de la réalité , mais il peut être appliqué à divers domaines. Et nous pouvons parler de différentes branches de la physique, dont certaines seront présentées dans cet article.

Les différentes branches de la physique

Nous présentons ici brièvement quelques-unes des principales branches de la physique.

1. mécanique

Cette branche des études de physique le mouvement d'objets dans l'espace ou l'effet de différentes forces sur eux. C'est probablement l'une des branches de la physique les plus souvent identifiées comme telles.

2. Thermodynamique

La branche de la physique s’est concentrée sur l’étude de tous les phénomènes liés à la température, de ses variations, de la production et du transfert d’énergie thermique et des effets de ces changements sur les corps.


3. optique

L’optique peut être comprise comme l’étude physique de les phénomènes liés à l'énergie lumineuse . Le comportement et les propriétés de la lumière (par exemple, la diffraction, la polarisation ou la dispersion), leurs interactions et leurs effets sur le corps, voire leur perception par l'homme, sont étudiés. Observez également la lumière sous forme de particule et d’onde à la fois.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 11 parties de l'oeil et ses fonctions"

4. Acoustique

Partie de la physique responsable de l'étude du son, de sa mesure, de ses propriétés et de ses effets sur le corps. Également leur perception et leur comportement dans différents médias.

5. Électromagnétisme

Partie de la physique qui étudie les phénomènes électromagnétiques. Il comprend l’étude combinée de l’électricité et du magnétisme, car il a été démontré que les deux concepts sont liés. Cependant Vous pouvez également étudier un de ces phénomènes séparément .

6. Mécanique des fluides

Bien que nous ayons déjà mentionné la mécanique en tant que branche de la physique, vous pouvez trouver plusieurs types de mécanique avec des caractéristiques différentielles. Dans le cas de la mécanique des fluides, l’étude porte sur les propriétés et le comportement des fluides, aussi bien liquides que gazeux.

7. Mécanique quantique

L’un des domaines les plus récents de la physique et l’un des plus intéressants aujourd’hui, la mécanique quantique est basé sur l’étude du comportement, propriétés et interactions des atomes et des particules subatomiques .

8. Physique nucléaire

Largement liée au précédent, la physique nucléaire étudie l’énergie et les effets de l’union ou de la division des atomes.

9. astrophysique

La physique participe également à la recherche d'une explication en ce qui concerne les phénomènes qui se produisent au-delà de notre planète . Plus précisément, l'astrophysique est une branche de la physique responsable de l'étude des corps célestes à partir de l'analyse de leurs propriétés et de leur comportement.

10. Biophysique

La physique a également été utilisée dans l'étude des êtres vivants et de leurs propriétés, son objectif étant toujours d'expliquer le fonctionnement physique des organismes et l'utilisation de l'énergie par ceux-ci.


10 formules + unités et symboles d’électricité à connaître (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes