yes, therapy helps!
The 10 branches of the social sciences

The 10 branches of the social sciences

June 24, 2021

The main interest of the social sciences is to study human social behavior. More specifically, the social sciences study subjectivity and its relation to the structural aspects of society. This is divided into many specialties that are responsible for analyzing and describing the specificity of different social processes as well as their impact on individuals.

Next we explain what are the social sciences and the characteristics of their branches .

  • Related article: "What is Social Psychology?"

What are the social sciences?

The social sciences are a set of academic disciplines that study aspects of the human related individual behavior and the functions and elements of social organization .


Unlike formal sciences, such as mathematics, logic or physics; The social sciences study living systems. At the same time, they differ from the natural sciences (who also study living systems), while the social sciences study such systems based on the complexity of behavior and its effects in social terms.

They have, on the other hand, more relation with the human sciences (the humanities), because both that study great part of the subjectivity and the colectivity, nevertheless, are different insofar as the social sciences emphasize the use of scientific methods, while the humanities use more artistic and aesthetic methods.


In terms of science, "the social" appeared formally until the 19th century, when its disciplines were consolidated as fields of research with their own and differentiated objects of study. In the beginning, the term "social science" was used to group Studies on culture and society , with which anthropology and sociology were two of the pioneers.

However, their antecedents can be traced even centuries ago, in the curiosity we have to understand what makes us human beings, the nature of our behaviors, the relationship with the environment, how we do not organize socially, and so on.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 functions of society: how does it influence our lives?"

The 10 main branches of the social sciences

The social sciences can be divided into different disciplines, which varies according to the intention of the person who defines and uses them. For example, according to the tradition of specific social science, one of these disciplines can be considered a social science, or a human science, or even a natural science.


Likewise and according to the needs of each context, there may be more or less disciplines within the social sciences. This is the case, for example, of the limits that exist between some subdisciplines in medicine (such as social medicine), sociobiology, neuropsychology or philosophy itself.

However, very roughly we can divide the social sciences in 10 fundamental disciplines : anthropology, sociology, geography, history, law, political science, economics, communication, pedagogy and psychology.

1. Anthropology

Anthropology is the discipline that studies the social behavior of human beings in relation to their physical characteristics and the cultural elements in which they are registered. This implies the forms and norms that culture takes in different societies both past and present.

It is a holistic discipline because it integrates different knowledge from various branches of the social sciences and natural sciences. It can be subdivided into different branches, such as physical anthropology, cultural anthropology, linguistic anthropology, or archeology.

2. Sociology

Sociology is responsible for studying human social relations and their institutions. This implies that their objects of study are very diverse. They can go, for example, from religion to the family, through class social divisions or racial divisions and the organization of states, among many others. It seeks to understand both social stability and the processes of change and transformation.

At an individual level, sociology allows us to understand the consequences of social phenomena on people (for example, gender identities, religious faith, family institutions). And on a global level, sociology can help us understand phenomena such as migration, population growth, wars, economic development , among others.

3. Geography

Geography is the social science that is responsible for studying the different environments and spaces that make up the earth's surface, as well as the interactions that occur between and within them.It is responsible for describing the main characteristics of the places where our life takes place, especially paying attention to natural environments and how we relate to these .

As a result of this discipline have arisen, for example, maps, which among other things allow us to understand where they are and how are the sites where we develop from graphical descriptions of the earth.

4. History

History is the discipline that is responsible for studying, describe and represent the events of the past , usually recorded in written documents, although not necessarily. While "the past" is a fairly broad category, history can be divided in many ways.

This division begins with defining when it has passed from prehistory to history. From this, you can study the different periods that have characterized different societies. There is, for example, medieval history, modern or contemporary; but also history of religion, art history, universal history, among many others .

5. Right

Law as a specialty within the social sciences is responsible for studying all the institutions, their systems of rules and authority related to legality. On many occasions the law is separated from the social sciences and is understood as a school of its own, however, this area of ​​study is based on the idea that laws and legality are in themselves social institutions, and that is why it is usually considered a branch of social science.

In this sense, the right it draws on human sciences such as philosophy, but also on politics, economics , sociology or history. The intention is to understand and generate institutional normative orders that impact human behavior and social relations.

6. Political science

Political science is the discipline that studies, describes and analyzes theories and practices, systems and political behaviors. Seeks to understand power transfers in the processes of political decisions and how these transfers are organized publicly and socially.

In addition to political theory, some subdisciplines that make up this social science, are the theories of democracy and governance, the study of national systems, public and administrative policy, international law, among others.

Methodologically , political science performs, for example, analysis of primary sources such as written historical documents or interviews; and secondary sources such as scientific articles, among other methods of empirical collection.

7. Economy

The economy studies, analyzes and describes the processes of production, distribution and consumption of goods and services. It seeks to understand what means we have generated to meet our needs and how that impacts us both individually and socially. While economic activity is very diverse, economics as a social science can be subdivided into different areas. For example there are studies in public economy, labor economics, international economics , development economy, among many others.

8. Communication

This discipline studies and describes the human processes related to creation and the exchange of symbols that help us to communicate . Specifically it studies how the messages that we elaborate can be interpreted through different political, cultural or economic dimensions in each context. Among other things, it analyzes how messages are elaborated and transmitted through the mass media, although it can also be through the arts, technology, among other areas.

9. Pedagogy

Pedagogy is a discipline that studies the teaching-learning processes that occur in different environments, especially within schools, insofar as they are the institutions where education is developed and transmitted. Education has positioned itself as one of the fundamental aspects of culture because it allows the socialization and transmission of knowledge from one generation to another.

In this sense, Pedagogy is the science that studies educational processes and also applies them , through different tools that share for example with psychology, sociology, communication, among others.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of Pedagogy: educating from different specialties"

10. Psychology

Psychology is the discipline that study human behavior and mental processes . It differs from other social sciences, such as anthropology, in that it seeks to develop generalized explanations about mental functions and individual behaviors, and not so much about cultural or historical processes.

However, it is very related to other human and social disciplines, since in order to develop explanations about individual functioning, it has been necessary to take into account how we develop in relation to others.Thus different branches have emerged, some of the main ones being clinical psychology, social psychology, educational psychology, organizational psychology or neuropsychology.

Bibliographic references:

  • Johnston, R. (2018). Geography Encyclopedia Britannica. Retrieved June 14, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/science/geography
  • New World Encyclopedia (2015). Social science Retrieved June 14, 2018. Available at //www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Social_sciences
  • The university of North Carolina (2018). What is sociology? Retrieved June 14, 2018. Available at //sociology.unc.edu/undergraduate-program/sociology-major/what-is-sociology/

An Animated Introduction to Social Science (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 branches des sciences sociales

Les 10 branches des sciences sociales

Juin 13, 2021

Le principal intérêt des sciences sociales est d'étudier le comportement social humain. Plus spécifiquement, les sciences sociales étudient la subjectivité et ses relations avec les aspects structurels de la société. Celui-ci est divisé en plusieurs spécialités chargées d'analyser et de décrire la spécificité des différents processus sociaux ainsi que leur impact sur les individus.

Ensuite, nous expliquons quelles sont les sciences sociales et les caractéristiques de leurs branches .

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie sociale?"

Quelles sont les sciences sociales?

Les sciences sociales sont un ensemble de disciplines académiques qui étudient des aspects du comportement individuel humain et les fonctions et éléments d'organisation sociale .


Contrairement aux sciences formelles, telles que les mathématiques, la logique ou la physique; Les sciences sociales étudient les systèmes vivants. À son tour, ils diffèrent des sciences naturelles (qui étudient également les systèmes vivants), tandis que les sciences sociales étudient ces systèmes en fonction de la complexité du comportement et de ses effets sur le plan social.

En revanche, ils ont plus de relations avec les sciences humaines (les sciences humaines), car ils étudient tous deux une grande partie de la subjectivité et la collectivité, néanmoins, sont différents dans la mesure où les sciences sociales insistent sur l'utilisation de méthodes scientifiques, tandis que les humanités utilisent des méthodes plus artistiques et esthétiques.


En termes scientifiques, le "social" est apparu formellement jusqu'au 19ème siècle, lorsque ses disciplines ont été consolidées en tant que domaines de recherche avec leurs propres objets d’étude et différenciés. Au début, le terme "sciences sociales" était utilisé pour regrouper Etudes sur la culture et la société , avec laquelle anthropologie et sociologie ont été deux des pionniers.

Cependant, leurs antécédents peuvent être retrouvés il y a plusieurs siècles. Nous devons, par curiosité, comprendre ce qui fait de nous des êtres humains, la nature de nos comportements, notre relation à l'environnement, comment nous ne nous organisons pas socialement, etc.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 5 fonctions de la société: comment influence-t-elle nos vies?"

Les 10 branches principales des sciences sociales

Les sciences sociales peuvent être divisées en différentes disciplines, qui varient en fonction de l'intention de la personne qui les définit et les utilise. Par exemple, selon la tradition des sciences sociales spécifiques, l’une de ces disciplines peut être considérée comme une science sociale, une science humaine ou même une science naturelle.


De même et selon les besoins de chaque contexte, il peut y avoir plus ou moins de disciplines dans les sciences sociales. C'est le cas, par exemple, des limites qui existent entre certaines sous-disciplines de la médecine (comme la médecine sociale), de la sociobiologie, de la neuropsychologie ou de la philosophie elle-même.

Cependant, très grossièrement on peut diviser les sciences sociales en 10 disciplines fondamentales : anthropologie, sociologie, géographie, histoire, droit, sciences politiques, économie, communication, pédagogie et psychologie.

1. Anthropologie

L'anthropologie est la discipline qui étudie le comportement social des êtres humains en fonction de leurs caractéristiques physiques et des éléments culturels dans lesquels ils sont enregistrés. Cela implique les formes et les normes que la culture prend dans différentes sociétés, passées et présentes.

C’est une discipline holistique car elle intègre différentes connaissances de diverses branches des sciences sociales et des sciences naturelles. Il peut être subdivisé en différentes branches, telles que l'anthropologie physique, l'anthropologie culturelle, l'anthropologie linguistique ou l'archéologie.

2. sociologie

La sociologie est responsable de l'étude des relations sociales humaines et de leurs institutions. Cela implique que leurs objets d'étude sont très divers. Ils peuvent aller, par exemple, de la religion à la famille, en passant par les divisions sociales de classe ou les divisions raciales et l’organisation des États, entre autres. Il cherche à comprendre à la fois la stabilité sociale et les processus de changement et de transformation.

Au niveau individuel, la sociologie permet de comprendre les conséquences des phénomènes sociaux sur les personnes (par exemple, les identités de genre, la foi religieuse, les institutions familiales). Et au niveau mondial, la sociologie peut nous aider comprendre des phénomènes tels que la migration, la croissance démographique, les guerres, le développement économique , entre autres.

3. Géographie

La géographie est la science sociale chargée d'étudier les différents environnements et espaces qui composent la surface de la Terre, ainsi que les interactions qui se produisent entre eux et en leur sein.Il est chargé de décrire les principales caractéristiques des lieux où se déroule notre vie, en particulier en accordant une attention particulière aux environnements naturels et aux relations que nous entretenons avec eux .

À la suite de cette discipline sont apparues, par exemple, des cartes qui nous permettent entre autres de comprendre où elles se trouvent et comment sont les sites où nous développons à partir de descriptions graphiques de la Terre.

4. histoire

L’histoire est la discipline chargée d’étudier, décrire et représenter les événements du passé , généralement consignés dans des documents écrits, mais pas nécessairement. Alors que "le passé" est une catégorie assez large, l'histoire peut être divisée de plusieurs manières.

Cette division commence par définir quand elle est passée de la préhistoire à l'histoire. À partir de là, vous pouvez étudier les différentes périodes qui ont caractérisé différentes sociétés. Il y a par exemple l'histoire médiévale, moderne ou contemporaine; mais aussi histoire des religions, histoire de l'art, histoire universelle, parmi tant d'autres .

5. droit

Le droit en tant que spécialité des sciences sociales est chargé d'étudier toutes les institutions, leurs systèmes de règles et leurs pouvoirs en matière de légalité. À de nombreuses reprises, le droit est séparé des sciences sociales et est compris comme une école à part entière. Cependant, ce domaine d’étude est fondé sur l’idée que les lois et la légalité sont en elles-mêmes des institutions sociales, raison pour laquelle il est généralement considéré une branche des sciences sociales.

En ce sens, le droit il s’appuie sur des sciences humaines telles que la philosophie, mais aussi sur la politique, l’économie , sociologie ou histoire. L'intention est de comprendre et de générer des ordres normatifs institutionnels ayant un impact sur le comportement humain et les relations sociales.

6. Science politique

La science politique est la discipline qui étudie, décrit et analyse les théories et les pratiques, les systèmes et les comportements politiques. Cherche à comprendre les transferts de pouvoir dans les processus de décisions politiques et la manière dont ces transferts sont organisés publiquement et socialement.

En plus de la théorie politique, certaines sous-disciplines qui composent cette science sociale sont les théories de la démocratie et de la gouvernance, l'étude des systèmes nationaux, la politique publique et administrative, le droit international, entre autres.

Méthodologiquement , la science politique effectue, par exemple, une analyse de sources primaires telles que des documents historiques écrits ou des entretiens; et des sources secondaires telles que des articles scientifiques, entre autres méthodes de collecte empirique.

7. économie

L'économie étudie, analyse et décrit les processus de production, de distribution et de consommation de biens et de services. Il cherche à comprendre les moyens que nous avons générés pour répondre à nos besoins et leur impact sur nous individuellement et socialement. Alors que l'activité économique est très diverse, l'économie en tant que science sociale peut être subdivisée en différents domaines. Par exemple il y a des études en économie publique, en économie du travail, en économie internationale , économie de développement, parmi beaucoup d’autres.

8. communication

Cette discipline étudie et décrit les processus humains liés à la création et à la l'échange de symboles qui nous aident à communiquer . Plus précisément, il étudie comment les messages que nous élaborons peuvent être interprétés à travers différentes dimensions politiques, culturelles ou économiques dans chaque contexte. Entre autres choses, il analyse la manière dont les messages sont élaborés et transmis par les médias, bien que cela puisse également se faire par le biais des arts, de la technologie, entre autres domaines.

9. Pédagogie

La pédagogie est une discipline qui étudie les processus d’enseignement et d’apprentissage qui se déroulent dans différents environnements, en particulier au sein des écoles, dans la mesure où il s’agit des institutions où l’enseignement est développé et transmis. L’éducation s’est positionnée comme l’un des aspects fondamentaux de la culture car elle permet la socialisation et la transmission du savoir d’une génération à l’autre.

Dans ce sens, La pédagogie est la science qui étudie les processus éducatifs et les applique , à travers différents outils partageant par exemple avec la psychologie, la sociologie, la communication, entre autres.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Types de pédagogie: éduquer dans différentes spécialités"

10. psychologie

La psychologie est la discipline qui étudier le comportement humain et les processus mentaux . Elle diffère des autres sciences sociales, telles que l'anthropologie, en ce sens qu'elle cherche à développer des explications généralisées sur les fonctions mentales et les comportements individuels, et pas tellement sur les processus culturels ou historiques.

Cependant, il est très lié aux autres disciplines humaines et sociales, car pour développer des explications sur le fonctionnement individuel, il a été nécessaire de prendre en compte notre développement par rapport aux autres.Ainsi, différentes branches ont émergé, dont les principales sont la psychologie clinique, la psychologie sociale, la psychologie de l'éducation, la psychologie organisationnelle ou la neuropsychologie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Johnston, R. (2018). La géographie Encyclopédie Britannica. Extrait le 14 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.britannica.com/science/geography.
  • Encyclopédie du Nouveau Monde (2015). Sciences sociales Récupéré le 14 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Social_sciences.
  • L'université de Caroline du Nord (2018). Qu'est-ce que la sociologie? Extrait le 14 juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //sociology.unc.edu/undergraduate-program/sociology-major/what-is-sociology/

Le top 5 des études de psychologie sociale qui vous feront requestionner les choses (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes