yes, therapy helps!
The 10 differences between a boss and a leader

The 10 differences between a boss and a leader

October 28, 2020

In a previous article we talked about the 10 personality traits that every leader should have, today is the time to record the 10 differences between a boss and a leader .

Boss or Leader?

First, let's define both concepts. "Boss" is defined as the person who has authority or power over a group to direct their work or activities .

Instead, "Leader" is the person who heads and directs a group or social, political, religious movement, etc. . In principle, the difference is clear. But in the day to day, many are the attitudes that can make a person enter the profile of leader, or boss. We propose to point out the ten most important factors within organizations, since if you occupy a relevant position in decision making and direct a human group, it is convenient to adopt a leadership position, to be able to motivate and join forces in your organization .


The 10 differences between a boss and a leader

1. The perception of his authority

For a boss to use, authority is a privilege granted by his command post. For a good leader, on the other hand, authority is a privilege only if it is a useful tool for the organization. The boss endorses the maxim of "I'm the one who commands here" ; while the leader finds his inspiration in the phrase "I can be useful here" . The leader spurs the group and the good leader stays in front, guides them and commits himself day by day.

2. Impose vs convince

The boss bases his influence on the authority that stems from the position he holds. The leader wins the sympathy and will of those around him. The leader makes use of his position within the hierarchy, while the leader cultivates and takes care of his leadership on a daily basis. The boss feels the need to impose his criteria , using long arguments; the leader convinces and exemplifies, his arguments do not seek to banish others, but build knowledge and plan of action.


3. Fear vs. trust

The boss instills fear, fear, often threatens, and his team is suspicious of him, they put a good face on him when he is close but they criticize him harshly when he is not present. The leader is a source of trust, empowers people, generates enthusiasm when working, encourages the group by recognizing the good work and effort of its members. The boss needs blind obedience, the leader wants the motivation to impregnate everyone . If you feel fear of your superior, is an ordinary boss, if in Cambo you value and appreciate, your superior is a leader.

4. Problem management

The boss wants to point out who has made the mistake ; Implants the belief of looking for guilty. In this way, abronca, punishes and screams if something does not go well, to warn the guilty and the rest of people. The leader knows how to understand mistakes and calmly redirects the situation. It is not responsible for pointing out the mistakes of others or accusing anyone, but seeks to solve the problem and help whoever has committed to get up.


5. Technical organization vs creative organization

The boss distributes the tasks and orders, and remains monitoring if his orders are being followed to the letter. The leader encourages, provides example, works side by side with his collaborators , is consistent with what you think, what you say and what you do. The boss makes tasks an obligation, but the leader knows how to look for motivation in each new project. The leader transmits the desire to live and to progress.

6. Orders vs pedagogy

The boss knows how everything works, the leader knows how to do the pedagogy of each task, he knows how to teach. The first one is suspicious of his secret that has led him to success, the second one decisively protects people so that they can develop and even overcome him. The boss organizes the production, but the leader prepares them to reach their full potential .

7. The degree of personal closeness

The boss relates to his team in a depersonalized way, like chips on a board. The leader personally knows all his collaborators, is genuinely interested in their lives , does not use them or reify them. It is respectful of each person's personality, defends people regardless of their position in the hierarchy.

8. Closed schemes vs open schemes and in constant development

The boss says "do this", the leader says "let's do this" . The boss pursues stability, the leader promotes his collaborators through group work and the formation of other leaders. The leader is able to integrate the sincere commitment of those around him, design plans with clear and shared purposes, infect others with their hope and determination.

9. Fulfill vs lead

The boss arrives on time, but the leader always arrives first . The boss waits for the collaborators sitting in his chair, the leader comes out to welcome them. The leader wants to always maintain his presence as a group leader and inspires commitment, cordiality and loyalty. The boss is satisfied with an acceptable performance of its members, the leader wants to see further and wants his group to stand out.

10. Power vs. inspiration

The boss defends with nails and teeth his position of authority; the leader makes normal people feel extraordinary. The boss craves reverence, but the leader manages to engage his team in a mission that allows them to overcome and transcend. The boss wants to maintain his privileges; the leader gives meaning and inspiration to his work, his life and that of those around him.


Top 10 Differences Between Managers and Leaders (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 différences entre un chef et un chef

Les 10 différences entre un chef et un chef

Janvier 17, 2022

Dans un article précédent, nous avons parlé des 10 traits de personnalité que chaque dirigeant devrait avoir. Aujourd'hui, il est temps d'enregistrer les 10 différences entre un chef et un chef .

Patron ou chef?

Premièrement, définissons les deux concepts. "Chef" est défini comme la personne qui a l'autorité ou le pouvoir sur un groupe de diriger son travail ou ses activités .

En échange, "Leader" est la personne qui dirige et dirige un groupe ou un mouvement social, politique, religieux, etc. . En principe, la différence est claire. Mais au jour le jour, de nombreuses attitudes peuvent amener une personne à entrer dans le profil de leader ou de patron. Nous proposons de souligner les dix facteurs les plus importants au sein des organisations, car si vous occupez une position pertinente dans la prise de décision et dirigez un groupe humain, il est commode d’adopter une position de leader afin de pouvoir motiver et unir vos forces au sein de votre organisation. .


Les 10 différences entre un chef et un chef

1. La perception de son autorité

Pour un patron, l'autorité est un privilège accordé par son poste de commandement. Pour un bon dirigeant, en revanche, l’autorité n’est un privilège que si elle est un outil utile pour l’organisation. Le patron souscrit à la maxime de "Je suis celui qui commande ici" ; tandis que le chef trouve son inspiration dans la phrase "Je peux être utile ici" . Le leader incite le groupe et le bon leader reste devant, les guide et s'engage jour après jour.

2. Imposer vs convaincre

Le patron fonde son influence sur l'autorité qui découle de la position qu'il occupe. Le chef gagne la sympathie et la volonté de ceux qui l'entourent. Le leader utilise sa position dans la hiérarchie, tandis que le leader cultive et prend soin de son leadership au quotidien. Le patron ressent le besoin d'imposer ses critères , en utilisant de longs arguments; le leader convainc et donne l'exemple, ses arguments ne cherchent pas à bannir les autres, mais à construire des connaissances et un plan d'action.


3. Peur contre confiance

Le patron instille la peur, menace souvent, et son équipe se méfie de lui, ils lui font bonne mine quand il est proche mais ils le critiquent sévèrement quand il n'est pas présent. Le leader est une source de confiance, responsabilise les gens, génère de l'enthousiasme dans le travail, encourage le groupe en reconnaissant le travail et les efforts de ses membres. Le patron a besoin d'obéissance aveugle, le chef veut la motivation pour imprégner tout le monde . Si vous sentez la peur de votre supérieur, est un patron ordinaire, si à Cambo vous valorisez et appréciez, votre supérieur est un leader.

4. Gestion des problèmes

Le patron veut montrer qui a commis l'erreur ; Implante la conviction de rechercher le coupable. De cette façon, abronca, punit et crie si quelque chose ne va pas bien, pour avertir les coupables et le reste des gens. Le leader sait comprendre les erreurs et redirige calmement la situation. Il n'est pas responsable de signaler les erreurs des autres ou d'accuser qui que ce soit, mais cherche à résoudre le problème et à aider ceux qui se sont engagés à se relever.


5. Organisation technique vs organisation créative

Le patron répartit les tâches et les ordres et reste à surveiller si ses ordres sont suivis à la lettre. Le dirigeant encourage, donne l'exemple, travaille côte à côte avec ses collaborateurs , correspond à ce que vous pensez, ce que vous dites et ce que vous faites. Le chef fait de la tâche une obligation, mais le chef sait comment chercher de la motivation dans chaque nouveau projet. Le leader transmet le désir de vivre et de progresser.

6. Ordre contre pédagogie

Le chef sait comment tout fonctionne, le chef sait faire la pédagogie de chaque tâche, il sait enseigner. Le premier se méfie de son secret qui l’a conduit au succès, le second protège de manière décisive les personnes afin qu’elles puissent se développer et même le vaincre. Le patron organise la production, mais le chef les prépare à atteindre leur plein potentiel .

7. Le degré de proximité personnelle

Le patron entretient des relations dépersonnalisées avec son équipe, comme des jetons sur un tableau. Le dirigeant connaît personnellement tous ses collaborateurs, est véritablement intéressé par leur vie , ne les utilise pas et ne les réifie pas. Il respecte la personnalité de chaque personne, défend les personnes indépendamment de leur position dans la hiérarchie.

8. Schémas fermés vs systèmes ouverts et en développement constant

Le patron dit "fais ceci", le chef dit "faisons ceci" . Le patron recherche la stabilité, le dirigeant promeut ses collaborateurs par le travail en groupe et la formation d’autres dirigeants. Le leader est capable d'intégrer l'engagement sincère de son entourage, de concevoir des plans avec des objectifs clairs et partagés, d'infecter les autres de leur espoir et de leur détermination.

9. remplir vs plomb

Le chef arrive à l'heure, mais le chef arrive toujours le premier . Le patron attend les collaborateurs assis dans son fauteuil, le chef se présente pour les accueillir. Le dirigeant veut toujours maintenir sa présence en tant que chef de groupe et inspire engagement, cordialité et loyauté. Le patron est satisfait d'une performance acceptable de ses membres, le leader veut aller plus loin et veut que son groupe se démarque.

10. Pouvoir contre inspiration

Le patron défend avec des clous et des dents sa position d'autorité; le leader rend les gens normaux se sentir extraordinaires. Le patron aspire à la révérence, mais le leader réussit à engager son équipe dans une mission qui leur permet de surmonter et de transcender. Le patron veut conserver ses privilèges; le chef donne sens et inspiration à son travail, à sa vie et à celle de son entourage.


Les différences entre un chef et un leader (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes