yes, therapy helps!
The 10 fundamental types of validity in science

The 10 fundamental types of validity in science

June 25, 2022

We can weigh ourselves on a scale, or measure our height by meter, or assess body temperature with a thermometer. The data we obtain in principle should be objective and reliable, in addition to referring specifically to what we wanted to measure (weight, height or temperature). But what if, in addition to that, they also reflect other things such as volume or color or are influenced by atmospheric pressure or humidity? Our results would not be totally valid, since we would not be looking only at the characteristics that we wanted to value.

In psychology, a science whose object of study is not directly observable and in which different constructs are analyzed, validity is something that must be carefully considered in order to guarantee that we are evaluating what we should evaluate. It is essential, for example, to assess the mental state of a subject or assess the effectiveness of a treatment. And we must bear in mind that, depending on what is being analyzed, We can find different types of validity . In this article we are going to review what they are.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 15 types of research (and features)"

What is validity?

Before looking at the different types of validity, it is advisable to make a brief review of what this term refers to.

It is understood as validity to the property or capacity of a test or other measuring instrument for measure adequately what the instrument has been generated for , independently of the theory or model of the reality from which it was drawn up. It is linked to what is measured and how it is measured, assessing whether the measurement is carried out correctly. This is: that the data of the measurement correspond to the real data.


The validity can be calculated based on the coefficient of validity, based on the degree of correlation between the measured variable and the studied one.

  • Related article: "The 4 differences between reliability and validity (in science)"

The different types of validity

Validity is a fundamental property when making measurements of any kind. As we discussed in the introduction, in sciences such as psychology it is essential to take into account this aspect in order to generate valid measurement instruments to assess the status of the people analyzed. But the validity can be considered from different perspectives, being able to find diverse types of validity centered in different aspects.

1. Construct validity

This type of validity refers to the accuracy with which the measuring instrument measures what it is originally intended to measure. In other words, it assesses to what extent the answers or results of the evaluation method used have a specific meaning, existing relationship between the observed and the construct of interest .


2. Content validity

Is the degree to which a measuring instrument contains representative items of the construct or content that is intended to be evaluated. It is valued that aspects of interest that represent the attribute to be evaluated are included in the elements that are part of the measurement. Within it, two major types of validity can be assessed.

3. Apparent validity

Although it is not truly a type of validity, it refers to the degree to which a test appears to value a certain attribute. In other words, it is the appearance of validity that an instrument can give to anyone who looks at it, without any kind of analysis. It has no real significance.

4. Logical validity

It is the type of validity used to generate an instrument and measurement items, depending on the representativeness of what is analyzed in the valued content .

5. Validity of criteria

It refers to degree to which a test correlates with external variables and scales , being able to relate the results of the measurement with a concrete criterion. It also allows to establish predictions.

6. Predictive validity

Type of criterion validity that allows establish predictions regarding behavior , from the comparison between the values ​​of the instrument and the criterion. Usually there is a time between the moment of measurement and the criterion used.

7. Concurrent validity

Both the measurement and the verification of the criterion are carried out at the same time, allowing to relate both elements and assess the current state of the subject.

8. Retrospective validity

Unusual type of validity in which the item or method of evaluation assesses the existence of a certain value or trait in the past. The criterion is taken before the measurement of the test .

9. Convergent validity

This type of validity refers to the validity obtained from the relationship of two measuring instruments. Convergent validity indicates the existence of a relationship between two tests that evaluate the same , that is, it indicates the existence of an interrelation or correspondence between both instruments of measurement.

10Discriminant or divergent validity

Divergent validity is the other side of the currency of convergent validity. In this case, we are talking about the degree to which two tests or instruments differ, reflecting that two tests are associated with different constructs or elements. That is, it is reflected that two instruments referring to two constructs that should be different they have different results .

Bibliographic references

  • Antequera, J. and Hernángomez, L. (2012). Experimental psychology CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 09. CEDE: Madrid
  • Prieto, G .; Delgado, A.R. (2010). Reliability and validity Psychologist papers, 31 (1): 67-74.

Fundamentals of Qualitative Research Methods: Scientific Rigor (Module 6) (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 types fondamentaux de validité en science

Les 10 types fondamentaux de validité en science

Juin 13, 2021

Nous pouvons nous peser sur une balance, mesurer notre taille au mètre ou évaluer la température corporelle à l'aide d'un thermomètre. Les données que nous obtenons en principe devraient être objectives et fiables, en plus de faire spécifiquement référence à ce que nous voulions mesurer (poids, taille ou température). Mais que se passe-t-il si, en plus de cela, ils reflètent également d'autres facteurs tels que le volume ou la couleur ou sont influencés par la pression atmosphérique ou l'humidité? Nos résultats ne seraient pas totalement valables, car nous ne nous intéresserions pas uniquement aux caractéristiques que nous souhaitions valoriser.

En psychologie, science dont l’objet d’étude n’est pas directement observable et dans laquelle différents concepts sont analysés, la validité doit être soigneusement étudiée pour garantir que nous évaluons ce que nous devons évaluer. Il est essentiel, par exemple, d'évaluer l'état mental d'un sujet ou d'évaluer l'efficacité d'un traitement. Et nous devons garder à l’esprit que, selon ce qui est analysé, On peut trouver différents types de validité . Dans cet article, nous allons examiner ce qu’ils sont.


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Les 15 types de recherche (et fonctionnalités)"

Quelle est la validité?

Avant d'examiner les différents types de validité, il est conseillé de faire un bref rappel de ce à quoi ce terme fait référence.

Il s’entend de la validité de la propriété ou de la capacité d’un test ou d’un autre instrument de mesure pour mesurer adéquatement ce que l'instrument a été généré pour , indépendamment de la théorie ou du modèle de réalité à partir duquel elle a été élaborée. Elle est liée à ce qui est mesuré et à la manière dont elle est mesurée, en évaluant si la mesure est effectuée correctement. C'est-à-dire que les données de la mesure correspondent aux données réelles.


La validité peut être calculée en fonction du coefficient de validité, en fonction du degré de corrélation entre la variable mesurée et celle étudiée.

  • Article connexe: "Les 4 différences entre fiabilité et validité (en science)"

Les différents types de validité

La validité est une propriété fondamentale lors de la réalisation de mesures de toutes sortes. Comme nous en avons discuté dans l'introduction, dans les sciences telles que la psychologie, il est essentiel de prendre en compte cet aspect afin de générer des instruments de mesure valables pour évaluer le statut des personnes analysées. Mais la validité peut être envisagée sous différentes perspectives, permettant de trouver différents types de validité centrés sur différents aspects.

1. Validité de construction

Ce type de validité fait référence à la précision avec laquelle l'instrument de mesure mesure ce qu'il est censé mesurer à l'origine. En d’autres termes, il évalue dans quelle mesure les réponses ou les résultats de la méthode d’évaluation utilisée ont un sens spécifique, relation existante entre l'observé et la construction d'intérêt .


2. Validité du contenu

C'est la mesure dans laquelle un instrument de mesure contient des éléments représentatifs de la construction ou le contenu qui est destiné à être évalué. Il est apprécié que les aspects d’intérêt représentant l’attribut à évaluer soient inclus dans les éléments faisant partie de la mesure. Dans ce cadre, deux types principaux de validité peuvent être évalués.

3. validité apparente

Bien que ce ne soit pas vraiment un type de validité, il fait référence au degré auquel un test semble valoriser un certain attribut. En d’autres termes, c’est l’apparence de validité qu’un instrument peut donner à quiconque le regarde, sans analyse. Cela n'a pas de signification réelle.

4. Validité logique

C’est le type de validité utilisé pour générer un instrument et des éléments de mesure, en fonction de la représentativité de ce qui est analysé dans le contenu valorisé .

5. Validité des critères

Il fait référence à la degré de corrélation entre un test et des variables et échelles externes , pouvant relier les résultats de la mesure à un critère concret. Cela permet également d’établir des prévisions.

6. Validité prédictive

Type de validité du critère qui permet établir des prévisions concernant le comportement , de la comparaison entre les valeurs de l’instrument et du critère. Il y a généralement un délai entre le moment de la mesure et le critère utilisé.

7. Validité concurrente

La mesure et la vérification du critère sont effectuées simultanément, ce qui permet de relier les deux éléments et d’évaluer l’état actuel du sujet.

8. Validité rétrospective

Type de validité inhabituel dans lequel l'élément ou la méthode d'évaluation évalue l'existence d'une certaine valeur ou d'un trait dans le passé. Le critère est pris avant la mesure du test .

9. Validité convergente

Ce type de validité fait référence à la validité obtenue à partir de la relation entre deux instruments de mesure. Validité convergente indique l'existence d'une relation entre deux tests qui évaluent le même c'est-à-dire qu'il indique l'existence d'une corrélation ou d'une correspondance entre les deux instruments de mesure.

10Validité discriminante ou divergente

La validité divergente est l’autre côté de la devise de la validité convergente. Dans ce cas, nous parlons de la mesure dans laquelle deux tests ou instruments diffèrent, ce qui indique que deux tests sont associés à des constructions ou des éléments différents. C’est-à-dire que deux instruments faisant référence à deux concepts qui devraient être différents ils ont des résultats différents .

Références bibliographiques

  • Antequera, J. et Hernángomez, L. (2012). Psychologie expérimentale Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 09. CEDE: Madrid
  • Prieto, G .; Delgado, A.R. (2010). Fiabilité et validité Psychologist papers, 31 (1): 67-74.

Logique et raisonnements - partie 1 : logique (Juin 2021).


Articles Connexes