yes, therapy helps!
The 10 main psychological theories

The 10 main psychological theories

May 6, 2021

Psychology has been built on decades of research on behavior and mental processes, with which it is easy to get lost among so many approaches and concepts that can not be understood without understanding the theories in which they are framed.

The main theories in Psychology

The different psychological theories try to describe different important aspects about our personality, our behavior, our cognitive development and our motivations, among many other issues. Then You can see some brushstrokes on the main psychological theories that have been carving what we know about the human mind.

Cartesian dualistic theory

The René Descartes' dualistic theory It establishes that the mind and the body are two entities of different nature, that the first has the power to control the second and that they interact with each other somewhere in the brain.


It is, basically, the transformation in theory of a kind of philosophical position of dualism, one of whose major representatives is Plato. Although the theory of Cartesian dualism has been formally discarded for decades, it continues to adopt new forms and remains implicit in the way in which many investigations in psychology and neuroscience are focused. In some way, it "infiltrates" the thinking of many research teams without their realizing it, which is why it is still relevant, even though it is not valid.

Theory of Gestalt

The psychological theory of Gestalt It deals with the way in which we perceive the external world through our senses. Through the laws of Gestalt, developed basically by German psychologists in the first half of the 20th century, it reflects the way in which perception is realized while giving meaning to what is perceived, and not a thing after the other. You can read more about this theory in this article.


Behavioral theory of stimulus-response

Researchers in behavioral psychology who relied on operant conditioning of B. F. Skinner defended the idea that the learning we do depends on the way in which certain behaviors are more or less reinforced by pleasant or unpleasant stimuli just after this behavior has been performed.

This theory was questioned by Edward Tolman, who in the mid-twentieth century showed that learning could be done even if certain behaviors were not immediately rewarded, opening the way to the cognitive psychology that was to come in the 60s.

Theory of learning by Jean Piaget

One of the most important psychological theories about learning is part of the Jean Piaget's constructivist approach . This Swiss researcher believed that the way in which we are learning consists of a self-construction of our own experiences, that is, that what we experience is seen in the light of what we have experienced previously.


But learning does not depend only on our past experiences, but also on biological factors marked, among other things, by the life stage in which we find ourselves. That is why he established a model of stages of cognitive development, about which you can read more here.

Sociocultural theory of Lev Vygotsky

While at the beginning of the 20th century many psychologists studied learning focusing on the way in which individuals interact with the environment, the Soviet researcher Lev Vygotsky It gave a social focus to the same object of study.

For him, society as a whole (although especially through parents and guardians) is a means and at the same time a learning tool thanks to which we can develop intellectually. You can know more about this psychological theory in this article.

Bandura's social learning theory

Throughout their investigations, Albert Bandura It showed to what extent learning is not something that occurs from facing challenges alone, but also takes place by being immersed in a medium in which we can see what others do and the results that others have when they follow certain strategies. To learn more about this psychological theory, click here.

Theory of cognitive dissonance

One of the most relevant psychological theories regarding the formation of identities and ideologies. The concept of cognitive dissonance , formulated by the psychologist Leon Festinger , serves to explain the state of stress and discomfort that occurs when two or more beliefs that are perceived as contradictory to each other are sustained at the same time. To know more about the subject, you can see these two articles:

  • Cognitive dissonance: the theory that explains self-deception
  • How do sects react when prophecies are not fulfilled?

Theory of information processing

This theory starts from the idea that the mind works as a set of mechanisms that process sensory information (input data) to store a part of it in "memory deposits" and, at the same time, transform the combination between this information about the present and information about the past into chains of actions, just as a robot would.

In this way, our perceptions go through a series of filters until the most relevant data become involved in complex mental operations and, therefore, have an impact on the behavior that occurs in response to these stimuli. It is one of the most relevant psychological theories within cognitive psychology.

Theory of embodied cognition

The idea of embodied cognition , initially proposed by the psychologist George Lakoff , can be classified as both a psychological theory and a philosophical approach that affects the neurosciences. This theory breaks with the idea that cognition is based on brain activity and extends the matrix of thought to the whole body as a whole. You can read more of her here.

Theory of rational choice

It is part of both the field of economics and cognitive psychology , so it can be considered an important representative of psychological theories. According to this idea, each individual makes decisions according to their own interests and chooses the options that they perceive as more advantageous (or less harmful) for oneself from a rational criterion.

The rational choice theory It has had a tremendous relevance in the social sciences, but it is increasingly questioned by new paradigms from which it is shown how often the behavior classically considered "irrational" is in us.


Top 10 Psychology Theories That Defy Common Sense (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 principales théories psychologiques

Les 10 principales théories psychologiques

Février 18, 2019

La psychologie a été construite sur des décennies de recherche sur le comportement et les processus mentaux, avec lesquels il est facile de se perdre parmi tant d’approches et de concepts qui ne peuvent être compris sans comprendre les théories dans lesquelles ils sont formulés.

Les principales théories en psychologie

Les différentes théories psychologiques tentent, entre autres, de décrire différents aspects importants de notre personnalité, de notre comportement, de notre développement cognitif et de nos motivations. Ensuite Vous pouvez voir quelques coups de pinceau sur les principales théories psychologiques qui gravaient ce que nous savons de l'esprit humain.

Théorie dualiste cartésienne

Le La théorie dualiste de René Descartes Il établit que l'esprit et le corps sont deux entités de nature différente, que la première a le pouvoir de contrôler la seconde et qu'elles interagissent l'une avec l'autre quelque part dans le cerveau.


C'est fondamentalement la transformation théorique d'une sorte de position philosophique du dualisme, dont l'un des représentants majeurs est Platon. Bien que la théorie du dualisme cartésien ait été formellement écartée pendant des décennies, elle continue d’adopter de nouvelles formes et reste implicite dans la manière dont de nombreuses enquêtes en psychologie et en neurosciences sont concentrées. D'une certaine manière, elle "infiltre" la pensée de nombreuses équipes de recherche sans s'en rendre compte, raison pour laquelle elle est toujours pertinente, même si ce n'est pas valable.

Théorie de la Gestalt

Le théorie psychologique de Gestalt Il traite de la manière dont nous percevons le monde extérieur à travers nos sens. À travers les lois de la Gestalt, développées essentiellement par les psychologues allemands au cours de la première moitié du XXe siècle, il reflète la manière dont la perception est réalisée tout en donnant un sens à ce qui est perçu, et non une chose après. l'autre. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur cette théorie dans cet article.


Théorie comportementale du stimulus-réponse

Chercheurs en psychologie comportementale qui se sont appuyés sur le conditionnement opérant B. Skinner a défendu l’idée que l’apprentissage que nous faisons dépend de la manière dont certains comportements sont plus ou moins renforcés par des stimuli agréables ou désagréables juste après que ce comportement a été appliqué.

Edward Tolman a mis en doute cette théorie et, au milieu du XXe siècle, a montré que l’apprentissage pouvait se faire même si certains comportements n’étaient pas immédiatement récompensés, ouvrant ainsi la voie à la psychologie cognitive à venir dans les années 60.

Théorie de l'apprentissage par Jean Piaget

L’une des théories psychologiques les plus importantes sur l’apprentissage fait partie de la L'approche constructiviste de Jean Piaget . Ce chercheur suisse a estimé que la façon dont nous apprenons consiste en une auto-construction de nos propres expériences, c'est-à-dire que ce que nous vivons est vu à la lumière de ce que nous avons expérimenté auparavant.


Mais l'apprentissage ne dépend pas seulement de nos expériences passées, mais également de facteurs biologiques, marqués, entre autres, par le stade de la vie dans lequel nous nous trouvons. C'est pourquoi il a établi un modèle des étapes du développement cognitif, sur lequel vous pouvez lire plus ici.

Théorie socioculturelle de Lev Vygotsky

Au début du XXe siècle, de nombreux psychologues étudiaient l'apprentissage en se concentrant sur la manière dont les individus interagissent avec l'environnement. Le chercheur soviétique Lev Vygotsky Cela donnait une dimension sociale au même objet d'étude.

Pour lui, la société dans son ensemble (mais surtout par l'intermédiaire des parents et des tuteurs) est à la fois un moyen et un outil d'apprentissage grâce auquel nous pouvons nous développer intellectuellement. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur cette théorie psychologique dans cet article.

La théorie de l'apprentissage social de Bandura

Tout au long de leurs enquêtes, Albert Bandura Cela a montré à quel point l’apprentissage n’est pas quelque chose qui ne se produit pas uniquement en présence de défis, mais également en s’immergeant dans un milieu dans lequel on peut voir ce que font les autres et les résultats qu’ils obtiennent quand ils suivent certaines stratégies. Pour en savoir plus sur cette théorie psychologique, cliquez ici.

Théorie de la dissonance cognitive

L'une des théories psychologiques les plus pertinentes concernant la formation des identités et des idéologies. Le concept de dissonance cognitive , formulé par le psychologue Leon Festinger , sert à expliquer l’état de stress et d’inconfort qui se produit lorsque deux ou plusieurs croyances perçues comme contradictoires se perpétuent en même temps. Pour en savoir plus sur le sujet, vous pouvez voir ces deux articles:

  • La dissonance cognitive: la théorie qui explique l'auto-illusion
  • Comment les sectes réagissent-elles lorsque les prophéties ne sont pas accomplies?

Théorie du traitement de l'information

Cette théorie part de l'idée que l'esprit fonctionne comme un ensemble de mécanismes qui traitent l'information sensorielle (données d'entrée) pour stocker une partie de celle-ci dans des "dépôts mémoire" tout en transformant la combinaison entre cette information sur le présent et l'information sur le passé en chaînes d'actions, comme le ferait un robot.

De cette manière, nos perceptions passent par une série de filtres jusqu'à ce que les données les plus pertinentes soient impliquées dans des opérations mentales complexes et aient donc un impact sur le comportement qui se produit en réponse à ces stimuli. C'est l'une des théories psychologiques les plus pertinentes de la psychologie cognitive.

Théorie de la cognition incarnée

L'idée de cognition incarnée , initialement proposé par le psychologue George Lakoff , peut être classé à la fois comme une théorie psychologique et une approche philosophique qui affecte les neurosciences. Cette théorie rompt avec l'idée que la cognition est basée sur l'activité cérébrale et étend la matrice de pensée à l'ensemble du corps. Vous pouvez en lire plus ici.

Théorie du choix rationnel

Il fait partie à la fois du domaine de l'économie et de la psychologie cognitive , donc il peut être considéré comme un représentant important des théories psychologiques. Selon cette idée, chaque individu prend des décisions en fonction de ses propres intérêts et choisit les options qu’il perçoit comme plus avantageuses (ou moins nuisibles) pour lui-même à partir d’un critère rationnel.

Le théorie du choix rationnel Il a eu une pertinence considérable dans les sciences sociales, mais il est de plus en plus remis en question par de nouveaux paradigmes qui montrent combien de fois le comportement classiquement considéré comme "irrationnel" est en nous.


10 ASTUCES PSYCHOLOGIQUES QUI MARCHENT SUR TOUT LE MONDE | Lama Faché (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes