yes, therapy helps!
The 10 most common eating disorders

The 10 most common eating disorders

December 5, 2021

We live in a society where the physical primates, where we are valued by our physical appearance.

We are continually exposed to media that use advertising to establish certain canons about what is beautiful and what is not, promoted also by the world of the catwalks, which usually show an unreal image of women, and also of the men.

The physique and appearance: a pathogenic concern

All this has caused the concern for physical appearance is one of the great scourges of modern times . Although this fixation was often attributed to beauty as something more common in women, the truth is that there are also many men who live pending the score of the scale or the proportion of their features.


What are the most common eating disorders?

This obsession with physical attractiveness can become a serious problem for our mental and physical health, especially as regards eating disorders. Today we will see what are the main eating disorders and what are their main characteristics and the dangers they bring to our health.

1. Anorexia nervosa

The anorexia nervosa it is characterized by an abrupt and important loss of weight , this being below the healthy minimums. This low weight is the effect of a pathological behavior of the affected person, who performs a meticulous control on food intake, for his fear of gaining weight and a severe distortion of his body image, associated with low self-esteem.


People who suffer anorexia eat very little and use certain rituals and mechanisms to avoid weight gain. Only consume a few foods, which causes a significant deficit of vitamins, minerals and macronutrients, which end up seriously affecting your physical health.

It is a disorder very associated with obsession with the physical and a thin figure. They can stop eating, take certain remedies to have less appetite or consume laxatives to lose weight quickly. This eating disorder is usually suffered by adolescent women, although in recent times the cases of adult women and even men with this affectation have rebounded.

A little more information: "Anorexia could have a genetic origin"

2. Bulimia nervosa

The bulimia nervosa is an eating disorder that is characterized by frequent binge eating . During these crises, bulimic people ingest a large amount of food in an uncontrolled way, and then perform purging rituals to avoid gaining weight. These may be causing vomiting, exercising for many hours, not eating or the use of diuretic and laxative products.


This disease is also more common in women than in men, and tends to debut during adolescence. The person suffering from bulimia is fully aware that his eating behavior is pathological.

On the causes of bulimia, it has been thoroughly studied and even then there are no clear conclusions. It is often said that there are both genetic and psychological, family and / or cultural factors that could make some individuals more prone than others.

Know more: "Bulimia nervosa: the disorder of bingeing and vomiting"

3. Orthorexia

The orthorexia it is an alteration in the alimentary behavior that increasingly affects more people. orthorexia is characterized by a pathological obsession with healthy food . They are people who choose with great care the foods they are going to eat, they have a meticulous control over the components of everything they eat and the preparation of the food.

This obsession can lead to a really sick control over ingredients, cooking methods ... It is often said that people who develop orthorexia are people who start to obsess over food little by little. In the early stages, they can avoid eating foods such as red meat or sugars, and little by little they expand their 'manias'.

Learn more: "Ortorexia, the obsession with healthy foods"

4. Vigorexia

The vigorexia It is a disorder that not only involves a mismatch in eating behavior, but also muscle dysmorphia, also known as Adonis syndrome or reverse anorexia. The vigorexia is the obsession to show marvelous muscles and a strong physique .

In this obsession, the affected feels fear to be too weak or thin, and for that reason they exercise their body in gyms in order to increase muscle mass. In addition, they ingest supplements such as proteins and anabolics that help them to get more and more muscular.

5. Permarexia

The permarexia it is an eating disorder that has recently emerged, and that is beginning to worry health authorities. Permarexia consists of obsession to follow diets and regimes permanently .

People affected with this eating disorder are continuously following strict diets to lose weight, have bad habits and irrational behaviors in the diet. Permarexia is not considered a disorder in itself, but it is considered a risky behavior that can be the prelude to serious diseases such as bulimia or anorexia.

6. Potomania

It is important to stay well hydrated, and drinking water is one of those universal recommendations that we all try to fulfill. Drink two liters of water a day, as the doctor tells us.

Being hydrated makes our skin healthier, and facilitates digestion and fat loss, but there are people who exceed the limits of this practice. And yes, drinking lots of water is a pernicious habit for our health. This excessive consumption of liquid is usually called potomania or hydrolexia, and it's a nutritional imbalance that it consists in ingesting a lot of water, despite not being thirsty .

Drinking too much water can put our organic functions at risk, as it saturates the function of our kidneys and alters the normal components of the blood, among other things.

7. Pregorexia

The pregorexia It is an eating disorder of some pregnant women. These women in a state of good hope they stop eating what is necessary so that the fetus can develop without problems, and they tend to diet and very intense sports routines with the aim of maintaining a slim figure.

This disorder, similar to anorexia (although less severe), is suffered by women who, being pregnant, have an intense fear of gaining weight during the nine months of gestation. Something that is biologically impossible and that can put at risk the health of the baby that is coming.

It is well studied that women suffering from pregorexia have a history related to anorexia. But it also happens, on occasion, that women who develop pregorexia end up suffering from anorexia.

Other factors that would cause pregorexia would be perfectionism, emotional instability and low self-esteem.

Know more: "Pregorexia: pregnant women who do not want to get fat"

8. Pica

The pica It is an eating disorder that affects some children. It is characterized by uncontrollable desire of the children of the house to ingest substances or objects that are not nutritious , like earth, ants, bicarbonate, glue, insects, paper, small pieces of plastic or wood ... All are objects and things that, in principle, have no nutritional value and that it is probably not advisable to ingest.

Pica is linked to children with cognitive difficulties and other developmental disorders.

9. Manorexia

The manorexia is an eating disorder that has some similarities with anorexia and vigorexia. Manorexia is also known as male anorexia. People who suffer from this disorder they have an authentic fear of gaining weight, and that leads them to exercise their body excessively and to be always following diets and unhealthy fasts.

It is a disease that has been especially represented in men who work in the fashion sector and in sports that require a very light figure, such as horse racing.

10. Drunkorexia

The drunkorexia, also called ebriorexia, is an eating disorder that has had a great boom among adolescents and young adults. Is about the practice of stopping eating food to counteract the excess calories produced by large amounts of alcohol that they consume for several days.

Drunkorexia is a terribly bad habit for the psychic and physical health of a person, since it is an intermediate point between anorexia nervosa and alcohol addiction.


Eating Disorders and Holiday Time (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 troubles de l'alimentation les plus courants

Les 10 troubles de l'alimentation les plus courants

Mai 20, 2019

Nous vivons dans une société où les primates physiques, où notre apparence physique nous valorise.

Nous sommes continuellement exposés à des médias qui utilisent la publicité pour établir certains canons sur ce qui est beau et ce qui ne l’est pas, promus aussi par le monde des podiums, qui montrent généralement une image irréelle de la femme, ainsi que de les hommes.

Le physique et l'apparence: une préoccupation pathogène

Tout cela a causé le souci de l'apparence physique est l'un des grands fléaux des temps modernes . Bien que cette fixation ait souvent été attribuée à la beauté comme quelque chose de plus courant chez les femmes, la vérité est qu’il existe également de nombreux hommes qui vivent en attendant le score de l’échelle ou la proportion de leurs traits.


Quels sont les troubles de l'alimentation les plus courants?

Cette obsession de l'attractivité physique peut devenir un problème sérieux pour notre santé mentale et physique, notamment en ce qui concerne les troubles de l'alimentation. Nous verrons aujourd’hui quels sont les principaux troubles de l’alimentation, quelles sont leurs principales caractéristiques et les dangers qu’ils présentent pour notre santé.

1. Anorexie mentale

Le anorexie mentale caractérisé par une perte de poids brusque et importante , ce qui est inférieur aux minimums sains. Ce faible poids est l’effet d’un comportement pathologique de la personne affectée, qui effectue un contrôle méticuleux de la prise de nourriture, par crainte de prendre du poids et par une grave distorsion de son image corporelle, associée à une faible estime de soi.


Les personnes souffrant d'anorexie mangent très peu et utilisent certains rituels et mécanismes pour éviter la prise de poids. Ne consommez que quelques aliments, ce qui entraîne un déficit important en vitamines, minéraux et macronutriments, ce qui finit par nuire gravement à votre santé physique.

C'est un trouble très associé à l'obsession du physique et à une silhouette mince. Ils peuvent cesser de manger, prendre certains remèdes pour avoir moins d'appétit ou consommer des laxatifs pour perdre du poids rapidement. Les adolescentes souffrent généralement de ce trouble de l'alimentation, bien que ces dernières années, les cas de femmes adultes et même d'hommes atteints de cette affection aient rebondi.

Un peu plus d'informations: "L'anorexie pourrait avoir une origine génétique"

2. boulimie nerveuse

Le boulimie nerveuse est trouble de l'alimentation caractérisé par une frénésie alimentaire fréquente . Au cours de ces crises, les boulimiques ingèrent une grande quantité de nourriture de manière incontrôlée, puis effectuent des rituels de purification pour éviter de prendre du poids. Ceux-ci peuvent causer des vomissements, des exercices pendant de nombreuses heures, une non consommation de nourriture ou l’utilisation de produits diurétiques et laxatifs.


Cette maladie est également plus fréquente chez les femmes que chez les hommes et a tendance à faire ses débuts à l'adolescence. La personne souffrant de boulimie est pleinement consciente que son comportement alimentaire est pathologique.

Sur les causes de la boulimie, il a été soigneusement étudié et même dans ce cas, il n’ya pas de conclusion claire. On dit souvent qu'il existe des facteurs génétiques et psychologiques, familiaux et / ou culturels susceptibles de rendre certains individus plus sujets que d'autres.

En savoir plus: "Boulimie nerveuse: trouble de la boulimie et des vomissements"

3. Orthorexie

Le orthorexie c'est une modification du comportement alimentaire qui touche de plus en plus de gens. l'orthorexie est caractérisée par une obsession pathologique pour une alimentation saine . Ce sont des gens qui choisissent avec le plus grand soin les aliments qu’ils vont manger, ils ont un contrôle méticuleux sur les composants de tout ce qu’ils mangent et sur la préparation de la nourriture.

Cette obsession peut conduire à un contrôle vraiment malsain des ingrédients, des méthodes de cuisson ... On dit souvent que les personnes qui développent une orthorexie sont des personnes qui commencent à être obsédées par la nourriture. Au début, ils peuvent éviter de manger des aliments tels que la viande rouge ou les sucres, et développent peu à peu leurs manies.

En savoir plus: "Ortorexia, l'obsession des aliments sains"

4. Vigorexia

Le Vigorexia C'est un trouble qui implique non seulement une discordance dans le comportement alimentaire, mais aussi une dysmorphie musculaire, également appelée syndrome d'Adonis ou anorexie inversée. Le vigorexia est le obsession de montrer des muscles merveilleux et un physique fort .

Dans cette obsession, les personnes touchées ont peur d'être trop faibles ou trop minces et c'est pour cette raison qu'elles exercent leur corps dans les gymnases afin d'augmenter leur masse musculaire. En outre, ils ingèrent des suppléments tels que des protéines et des anabolisants qui les aident à devenir de plus en plus musclés.

5. Permarexia

Le permarexia c'est un trouble de l'alimentation qui est apparu récemment et qui commence à inquiéter les autorités de santé. Permarexia se compose de obsession de suivre les régimes et les régimes en permanence .

Les personnes touchées par ce trouble de l'alimentation suivent en permanence des régimes stricts pour perdre du poids, ont de mauvaises habitudes et des comportements irrationnels dans leur régime. Permarexia n'est pas considéré comme un trouble en soi, mais comme un comportement à risque pouvant être le prélude de maladies graves telles que la boulimie ou l'anorexie.

6. Potomania

Il est important de rester bien hydraté et l'eau potable est l'une de ces recommandations universelles que nous essayons tous de mettre en œuvre. Buvez deux litres d'eau par jour, comme le médecin nous le dit.

Être hydraté rend notre peau plus saine et facilite la digestion et la perte de graisse, mais certaines personnes dépassent les limites de cette pratique. Et oui, boire beaucoup d'eau est une habitude pernicieuse pour notre santé. Cette consommation excessive de liquide est généralement appelée potomanie ou hydrolexia, et c'est un déséquilibre nutritionnel qui il consiste à ingérer beaucoup d'eau malgré le fait de ne pas avoir soif .

Boire trop d'eau peut mettre en péril nos fonctions organiques, car elle sature la fonction de nos reins et altère les composants normaux du sang, entre autres.

7. Pregorexia

Le prégorexie C'est un trouble de l'alimentation de certaines femmes enceintes. Ces femmes dans un état d'espoir ils arrêtent de manger ce qui est nécessaire pour que le fœtus puisse se développer sans problèmes, et ils ont tendance à suivre un régime et des routines sportives intenses dans le but de maintenir une silhouette élancée.

Ce trouble, semblable à l'anorexie (bien que moins grave), concerne les femmes qui, étant enceintes, ont une peur intense de prendre du poids au cours des neuf mois de la gestation. Quelque chose qui est biologiquement impossible et qui peut mettre en danger la santé du bébé à venir.

Il est bien étudié que les femmes souffrant de prégorexie ont des antécédents liés à l'anorexie. Mais il arrive aussi parfois que les femmes qui développent une prégorexie finissent par souffrir d'anorexie.

Le perfectionnisme, l’instabilité émotionnelle et le manque d’estime de soi sont d’autres facteurs responsables de la prégorexie.

En savoir plus: "Pregorexia: les femmes enceintes qui ne veulent pas grossir"

8. Pica

Le pica C'est un trouble de l'alimentation qui affecte certains enfants. Il est caractérisé par désir incontrôlable des enfants de la maison d'ingérer des substances ou des objets non nutritifs , comme la terre, les fourmis, le bicarbonate, la colle, les insectes, le papier, les petits morceaux de plastique ou le bois ... Tous sont des objets et des objets qui, en principe, n’ont aucune valeur nutritive et qu’il n’est probablement pas conseillé d’ingérer.

Le pica est associé aux enfants ayant des difficultés cognitives et d’autres troubles du développement.

9. Manorexia

Le manorexie est un trouble de l’alimentation qui présente certaines similitudes avec l’anorexie et la vigorexie. Manorexia est également connu comme l'anorexie masculine. Les gens qui souffrent de ce trouble ils ont une peur authentique de prendre du poids, ce qui les conduit à exercer leur corps de manière excessive et de toujours suivre les régimes et les jeûnes malsains.

Cette maladie est particulièrement présente chez les hommes travaillant dans le secteur de la mode et dans les sports nécessitant une silhouette très légère, comme les courses de chevaux.

10. Drunkorexia

Le drunkorexia, également appelé Ebriorexia, est un trouble de l’alimentation qui a connu un grand essor chez les adolescents et les jeunes adultes. Il s'agit de la pratique d'arrêter de manger de la nourriture pour contrer l'excès de calories produites par de grandes quantités d'alcool qu'ils consomment pendant plusieurs jours.

Drunkorexia est une très mauvaise habitude pour la santé psychique et physique d'une personne, car c'est un point intermédiaire entre l'anorexie mentale et la dépendance à l'alcool.


6 Types of Eating Disorders (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes