yes, therapy helps!
The 10 most intelligent animals that exist

The 10 most intelligent animals that exist

June 12, 2024

Intelligence is a very difficult term to define. In a simple way, it can be described as the capacity of solve problems and adapt to life .

Nobody would doubt that, within the animal kingdom, the human being has stood out above the other species for a greater development of their cognitive and social abilities. This fact causes that sometimes it is thought that the rest of animals are inferior in intelligence, a belief that is erroneous.

In the diversity of the animal kingdom there are species whose cognitive abilities are superior to those of others. In this article we analyze the most intelligent animal species that exist.


  • Related article: "Animal intelligence: the theories of Thorndike and Köhler"

Especially intelligent animals

The psychic capacity in animals is also a difficult value to measure, so to make a list of the most intelligent animals in the world is somewhat complicated.

You can make use of many criteria, such as the ability to learn in captivity, understanding and using language or the ability to plan an action or to abstract concepts. These ideas go far beyond the simple ability to solve problems that was mentioned at the beginning of the text.

Therefore, more than the typical "top ten", in this list I present a series of species, trying to encompass different kinds of animals whose cognitive abilities are superior to what many might think, research shows. Go for it.


  • Related article: "Comparative psychology: the animal part of psychology"

10. The ant

It is the insect with the highest cerebral mass that exists. The ant is an intelligent invertebrate, methodical and strategic. Their social organization is very complex , with hierarchies and diversification of work; for example, they have scouts for the recognition of the terrain.

The ants are capable of grow fungi or raise other invertebrates as food, besides presenting battle in a coordinated way to defend their territory.

9. The dog

"The best friend of man" is a species that has evolved in favor of the interests of the human being, but that does not mean that they are intelligent beings. In addition to being faithful friends, dogs are able to understand human language or , feel empathy towards other beings and apply logic to achieve their goals.


8. The gray parrot

The gray parrot is a bird that is not only able to imitate the sounds of human language, but also to apply it in a context, that is, to understand its meaning.

Among the case studies highlights the parrot Axel , who lived thirty years (from 1977 to 2007), and was trained by comparative psychologist Irene Pepperberg. As she remarked, she was able to communicate with the animal.

7. The rat

Despite being an animal that for many is unpleasant, for scientists it is very similar to humans, and proof of this is its great use in experiments. These rodents are highly sociable and work together for the good of the group.

The rats are able to plan and apply logic for problem solving. Some studies reveal that they are also sensitive animals, showing stress or remorse.

6. The crow

The crow is considered by many scientists as the most intelligent bird. They are social animals that form herds.

In New Caledonia it was found that the crows they use tools like knives to cut and throw nuts to the road waiting for a car to pass over and break them. This means that they are able to find ways to solve problems.

5. The octopus

The octopus is the most intelligent invertebrate that exists. They are lonely beings, but they are capable of recognize your surroundings and memorize long-term what they have been discovering. Its nervous system is complex, and the funny thing is that only a third of its neurons are located in the brain: the rest are distributed by the tentacles.

Nor are their capacities for mimicry and camouflage unnoticed, and they are known to be great escapists.

4. The elephant

The elephant is the terrestrial animal with the largest brain and has advanced cognitive abilities. For example, they are altruistic, that is, they sacrifice for the good of the herd, they self-medicate when they are sick (feeding on different plants depending on the disease) or they perform funeral rituals (they go to a "cemetery").

Its social organization is one of the most complex of the animal kingdom, with very intimate social relationships and family ties that only break with death. In captivity, they are animals that learn fast, have a great memory and have even been creative - remember the elephant that painted pictures.

3. The pig

Surely many think that the pig is an unpolished and intelligent animal. Well, the truth is that it is probably the cleanest pet: pigs refuse to defecate in nearby areas where they live or eat.

Pigs have a high level of intelligence. There are many studies on the pig's cognitive abilities, which show that they have a good long-term memory , they learn quickly, they have complex social interactions and they show empathy. Even some texts imply that the pig could have a level of intelligence superior to that of the chimpanzee.

2. The bottlenose dolphin

His fame precedes him; The bottlenose dolphin is popularly known as an intelligent cetacean. Your brain is much bigger than the human, they dominate a complex language of sounds and present very intimate social relationships, especially between mother and children.

Many studies support their cognitive abilities; for example, they are highly curious and are able to recognize themselves by seeing themselves in a mirror, that is, they are aware of themselves.

1. The great apes

The great apes are the closest brothers to the human being. This group is composed of the gorillas, the orangutans, the bonobos and the chimpanzees . It is probable that due to this closeness there is a great interest in the study of their characteristics, including their cognitive abilities.

The complex social interactions carried out by these animals, their use of tools to solve problems or the fact that they are they transmit their culture from generation to generation. In captivity it has been shown that they are capable of communicating with human beings by signing or revealing their creative abilities.

  • Related article: "Michael Tomasello's theory: what makes us human?"

Top 10 Most Intelligent Animals (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 animaux les plus intelligents qui existent

Les 10 animaux les plus intelligents qui existent

Janvier 15, 2021

L'intelligence est un terme très difficile à définir. De manière simple, on peut parler de la capacité de résoudre des problèmes et s'adapter à la vie .

Personne ne peut douter que, dans le règne animal, l'être humain se démarque des autres espèces pour un plus grand développement de leurs capacités cognitives et sociales. Ce fait fait que l’on pense parfois que le reste des animaux a une intelligence inférieure, une croyance erronée.

Dans la diversité du règne animal, il existe des espèces dont les capacités cognitives sont supérieures à celles des autres. Dans cet article nous analysons les espèces animales les plus intelligentes qui existent


  • Article connexe: "Intelligence animale: les théories de Thorndike et Köhler"

Animaux particulièrement intelligents

La capacité psychique chez les animaux est également une valeur difficile à mesurer. Il est donc assez compliqué de dresser une liste des animaux les plus intelligents du monde.

Vous pouvez utiliser de nombreux critères, tels que la capacité à apprendre en captivité, comprendre et utiliser le langage ou la capacité de planifier une action ou d'abstraire des concepts. Ces idées vont bien au-delà de la simple capacité à résoudre des problèmes évoquée au début du texte.

Par conséquent, plus que le "top ten" typique, je présente dans cette liste une série d'espèces, essayant d'englober différents types d'animaux dont les capacités cognitives sont supérieures à ce que beaucoup pourraient penser, selon les recherches. Allons-y.


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie comparée: la partie animale de la psychologie"

10. la fourmi

C'est l'insecte avec la masse cérébrale la plus élevée qui existe. La fourmi est un invertébré intelligent, méthodique et stratégique. Leur organisation sociale est très complexe avec hiérarchies et diversification du travail; par exemple, ils ont des éclaireurs pour la reconnaissance du terrain.

Les fourmis sont capables de cultiver des champignons ou élever d'autres invertébrés comme nourriture, en plus de présenter le combat de manière coordonnée pour défendre leur territoire.

9. le chien

"Le meilleur ami de l'homme" est une espèce qui a évolué en faveur des intérêts de l'être humain, mais cela ne signifie pas pour autant qu'il s'agit d'êtres intelligents. En plus d’être des amis fidèles, les chiens sont capable de comprendre le langage humain o , ressentez de l’empathie envers les autres êtres et appliquez une logique pour atteindre leurs objectifs.


8. Le perroquet gris

Le perroquet gris est un oiseau capable non seulement d'imiter les sons du langage humain, mais aussi de l'appliquer dans un contexte, c'est-à-dire d'en comprendre le sens.

Parmi les études de cas met en évidence le perroquet Axel , qui a vécu trente ans (de 1977 à 2007) et a été formé par la psychologue comparative Irene Pepperberg. Comme elle le remarquait, elle était capable de communiquer avec l'animal.

7. le rat

Bien qu'il s'agisse d'un animal qui est désagréable pour beaucoup, il est très similaire aux humains pour les scientifiques, et la preuve en est qu'il est très utile dans les expériences. Ces rongeurs sont très sociables et travaillent ensemble pour le bien du groupe.

Les rats sont capable de planifier et d'appliquer la logique pour la résolution de problèmes. Certaines études révèlent qu’il s’agit également d’animaux sensibles, qui manifestent du stress ou des remords.

6. Le corbeau

Le corbeau est considéré par de nombreux scientifiques comme l’oiseau le plus intelligent. Ce sont des animaux sociaux qui forment des troupeaux.

En Nouvelle-Calédonie, il a été constaté que les corbeaux ils utilisent des outils comme des couteaux couper et jeter des noix à la route en attendant qu'une voiture passe et les casse. Cela signifie qu'ils sont capables de trouver des moyens de résoudre les problèmes.

5. La pieuvre

La pieuvre est l'invertébré le plus intelligent qui existe. Ce sont des êtres solitaires, mais ils sont capables de reconnaître votre environnement et mémoriser à long terme ce qu'ils ont découvert. Son système nerveux est complexe, et le plus drôle est que seulement un tiers de ses neurones sont situés dans le cerveau: le reste est distribué par les tentacules.

Leurs capacités d'imitation et de camouflage ne sont pas inaperçues, et ils sont connus pour être de grands évadés.

4. l'éléphant

L'éléphant est l'animal terrestre avec le plus gros cerveau et des capacités cognitives avancées. Par exemple, ils sont altruistes, c’est-à-dire qu’ils se sacrifient pour le bien du troupeau, qu’ils se soignent eux-mêmes quand ils sont malades (se nourrissant de plantes différentes selon la maladie) ou effectuent des rituels funéraires (ils vont dans un "cimetière").

Son organisation sociale est l’un des plus complexes du règne animal, avec relations sociales très intimes et des liens familiaux qui ne font que rompre avec la mort. En captivité, ce sont des animaux qui apprennent vite, ont une grande mémoire et ont même fait preuve de créativité - souvenez-vous de l'éléphant qui a peint des tableaux.

3. le cochon

Beaucoup pensent sûrement que le cochon est un animal intelligent et non poli. Eh bien, la vérité est que c'est probablement l'animal le plus propre: les porcs refusent de déféquer dans les zones avoisinantes où ils vivent ou mangent.

Les porcs ont un haut niveau d'intelligence. Il existe de nombreuses études sur les capacités cognitives du porc, qui montrent qu'il a une bonne mémoire à long terme , ils apprennent vite, ils ont des interactions sociales complexes et font preuve d’empathie. Même certains textes impliquent que le porc pourrait avoir un niveau d'intelligence supérieur à celui du chimpanzé.

2. Le grand dauphin

Sa renommée le précède; Le grand dauphin est communément appelé un cétacé intelligent. Votre cerveau est beaucoup plus gros que l'humain, ils dominent un langage sonore complexe et présenter des relations sociales très intimes, en particulier entre mère et enfants.

De nombreuses études confirment leurs capacités cognitives. Par exemple, ils sont très curieux et peuvent se reconnaître en se voyant dans un miroir, c’est-à-dire qu’ils sont conscients d’eux-mêmes.

1. Les grands singes

Les grands singes sont les frères les plus proches de l'être humain. Ce groupe est composé de les gorilles, les orangs-outans, les bonobos et les chimpanzés . Il est probable qu’en raison de cette proximité, l’étude de leurs caractéristiques, y compris leurs capacités cognitives, suscite un grand intérêt.

Les interactions sociales complexes de ces animaux, leur utilisation d’outils pour résoudre des problèmes ou le fait qu’ils soient ils transmettent leur culture de génération en génération. En captivité, il a été démontré qu'ils sont capables de communiquer avec des êtres humains en signant ou en révélant leurs capacités créatrices.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de Michael Tomasello: qu'est-ce qui nous rend humains?"

Top 10 des animaux les plus intelligents ! (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes