yes, therapy helps!
The 10 personality traits of a leader

The 10 personality traits of a leader

June 17, 2024

What are the personality traits that define a leader?

Human groups (companies, political parties, unions ...) are characterized by investing a lot time and effort in detecting and developing the leaders of the future . The importance in this point usually focuses on the detection of profiles with good potential in intellectual, communicative, and even physical attributes. This vision presupposes that there is a known number of personal traits that a leader must have, traits that have been well defined.

The personality characteristics of the leader

The characterization of the leader's abilities has been studied from personal tests and also by observing the behavior in group contexts. This line of study has managed to correlate almost all of the leadership traits .


Next, we summarize the ten most prevalent personality traits in people with great leadership capacity according to these investigations.

1. Communication skills

Communication must operate in two directions: express clearly and assertively ideas, instructions and opinions, as well as getting the message heard and understood. It is also typical of a leader the ability to listen and take into account all the opinions, individual and collective, that come to him.

2. Emotional intelligence

Researchers Salovey and Mayer (1990) initially characterized Emotional Intelligence as the "ability to manage one's own and others' emotions and feelings, to discern such feelings and to use this information to correspond with precise actions." The feelings mobilize the subject, which is why emotional intelligence is a key feature of the leader.


3. Ability to determine goals and objectives

The direction of a group requires knowing what should be the roadmap to guide it . In the absence of precise goals and objectives, the effort may be sterile, and the group may feel frustrated. The objectives must be coherent with the capacity of the group: it is not effective to establish unattainable goals.

4. Planning and development capacity

When the objectives have been set, it is essential to draw up a plan to achieve them. This plan must plan all the actions that must be fulfilled , the times, the people who will make them, the resources that will be used ...

5. Proactive self-knowledge

A good leader must be aware of their virtues and should get the most out of them . Obviously, he is also aware of his weaknesses, and he struggles to try to improve.


6. Self-development and assistance to peers

A leader is able to grow while helping others develop. To improve, you do not need to do it "defensively"; he is not a slave to his group role or his reputation . It helps the group grow by teaching others, delegating tasks and creating spaces for action and communication so that other people feel useful and valued.

7. Innovation

Will try to find new and better ways to carry out activities . This feature is fundamental in the context of a society that advances at a forced pace, with constant changes in technology, communications and high competitiveness.

8. Liability

He is aware that his position in the group gives him power, and know how to use it to benefit the whole . It is not selfish; Use your position to activate processes and energize potentials.

9. Information

A good leader must be informed. No corporation can survive without the presence of leaders who know how to handle information. Know the information processing, interpret it correctly and with astuteness and then use it in the most useful and creative way , it's a key skill.

10. Charisma

This last point is controversial. Some authors believe that the charisma feature has very different definitions, and depending on which of them is used, it will be a characteristic present in people with leadership skills, or not. And, in fact, it seems that there are even certain common facial features among the leaders.

Defining the concept as the ability to attract and cause good feelingsAs well as attract attention and be pleasant and empathetic in the eyes of other people, charisma is a crucial feature in a good leader. Charisma can be trained by socializing and showing a genuine interest in people. The charism is related to the absence of selfishness , a factor that is decisive when it comes to perceiving a person as a leader.

Bibliographic references:

  • Goleman, D. (2013). The power of Emotional Intelligence. Madrid: Editions B.

  • Molero, F. and Morales J.F. (2011).The leader and his group: current views of leadership. Madrid. Editorial Alliance.

  • Sánchez Vázquez, J. F. (2010). Leadership: theory and applications. Pontifical University Salamanca.


7 Essential Qualities of All Great Leaders (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 traits de personnalité d'un leader

Les 10 traits de personnalité d'un leader

Juillet 26, 2022

Quels sont les traits de personnalité qui définissent un leader?

Les groupes humains (entreprises, partis politiques, syndicats…) se caractérisent par des investissements importants temps et efforts pour détecter et développer les leaders de l'avenir . À ce stade, l’importance est principalement axée sur la détection de profils présentant un bon potentiel pour les attributs intellectuels, de communication et même physiques. Cette vision présuppose qu'il existe un nombre connu de traits personnels qu'un leader doit avoir, des traits qui ont été bien définis.

Les caractéristiques de la personnalité du chef

La caractérisation des capacités du leader a été étudiée à partir de tests personnels et également en observant le comportement dans des contextes de groupe. Cette ligne d’étude a réussi à mettre en corrélation la quasi-totalité des traits de leadership .


Ensuite, nous résumons les dix traits de personnalité les plus répandus chez les personnes ayant une grande capacité de leadership, selon ces enquêtes.

1. Compétences en communication

La communication doit fonctionner dans les deux sens: exprimer clairement et de manière affirmée des idées, des instructions et des opinions, ainsi que faire entendre et comprendre le message. La capacité d’écouter et de prendre en compte toutes les opinions, individuelles et collectives, qui lui sont propres est également typique d’un leader.

2. Intelligence émotionnelle

Les chercheurs Salovey et Mayer (1990) ont initialement défini l'intelligence émotionnelle comme "la capacité de gérer ses émotions et ses sentiments et ceux des autres, de discerner de tels sentiments et d'utiliser ces informations pour correspondre à des actions précises". Les sentiments mobilisent le sujet, ce qui explique pourquoi l'intelligence émotionnelle est un élément clé du leader.


3. Capacité de déterminer des buts et des objectifs

La direction d'un groupe nécessite de savoir quelle devrait être la feuille de route pour la guider . En l'absence de buts et d'objectifs précis, l'effort peut être stérile et le groupe peut se sentir frustré. Les objectifs doivent être cohérents avec les capacités du groupe: il n'est pas efficace d'établir des objectifs impossibles à atteindre.

4. Capacité de planification et de développement

Une fois les objectifs fixés, il est essentiel d’élaborer un plan pour les atteindre. Ce plan doit planifier toutes les actions qui doivent être accomplies , les temps, les personnes qui les fabriquent, les ressources qui seront utilisées ...

5. Connaissance de soi proactive

Un bon leader doit être conscients de leurs vertus et devraient en tirer le meilleur parti . De toute évidence, il est également conscient de ses faiblesses et s'efforce d'améliorer sa situation.


6. Développement personnel et assistance aux pairs

Un leader est capable de grandir tout en aidant les autres à se développer. Pour améliorer, vous n'avez pas besoin de le faire "de manière défensive"; il n'est pas esclave de son rôle dans le groupe ou de sa réputation . Il aide le groupe à grandir en enseignant aux autres, en déléguant des tâches et en créant des espaces d'action et de communication afin que les autres se sentent utiles et valorisés.

7. Innovation

Va essayer de trouver nouvelles et meilleures façons de mener des activités . Cette caractéristique est fondamentale dans le contexte d’une société qui avance à un rythme soutenu, avec des changements constants dans la technologie, les communications et une compétitivité élevée.

8. Responsabilité

Il est conscient que sa position dans le groupe lui donne le pouvoir, et savoir comment l'utiliser au profit de l'ensemble . Ce n'est pas égoïste. Utilisez votre position pour activer les processus et dynamiser les potentiels.

9. Information

Un bon leader doit être informé. Aucune entreprise ne peut survivre sans la présence de dirigeants sachant gérer les informations. Connaître le traitement de l'information, l'interpréter correctement et avec astuce, puis l'utiliser de la manière la plus utile et la plus créative , c'est une compétence clé.

10. Charisme

Ce dernier point est controversé. Certains auteurs pensent que la définition du charisme a des définitions très différentes et que, en fonction de celle utilisée, ce sera un caractère caractéristique chez les personnes ayant des compétences en leadership ou non. Et, en fait, il semble qu'il existe même certaines caractéristiques faciales communes chez les dirigeants.

Définir le concept comme la capacité d'attirer et de provoquer de bons sentimentsEn plus d'attirer l'attention et d'être agréable et empathique aux yeux des autres, le charisme est une caractéristique cruciale d'un bon leader. Le charisme peut être formé en socialisant et en montrant un véritable intérêt pour les gens. Le charisme est lié à l'absence d'égoïsme , un facteur décisif pour percevoir une personne comme un leader.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Goleman, D. (2013). Le pouvoir de l'intelligence émotionnelle. Madrid: Editions B.

  • Molero, F. et Morales J.F. (2011).Le leader et son groupe: points de vue actuels sur le leadership. Madrid Alliance éditoriale.

  • Sánchez Vázquez, J. F. (2010). Leadership: théorie et applications. Université pontificale de Salamanque.


Compétences et personnalité du leader : le guide essentiel au leadership de Jim Rohn (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes