yes, therapy helps!
The 10 richest people in the world (and origin of their fortune)

The 10 richest people in the world (and origin of their fortune)

August 7, 2022

On more than one occasion we will have heard that money does not give happiness. And the truth is that as long as we have satisfied our basic needs and consider that there is an equity between what we do and what we get to have more or less money does not have to mean being more or less happy. Moreover, although the concept of wealth was born linked to money nowadays, it is increasingly taken into account that there are many other types of wealth.

However, having a good economic capacity makes it easier to live experiences or simply obtain more goods and services, something that the vast majority of people would like to have more capital. That is why there is often curiosity to know who are the richest people in the world and how they have reached that position, something that has generated the creation of lists like the ones that Forbes performs every year.


Throughout this article we will see what are the ten largest fortunes in the world at an economic level.

The 10 richest people in the world

Next we will see who are the people who possess greater economic wealth in the world, extracted from the data obtained from the list prepared by Forbes about the biggest fortunes in the world in 2018.

1. Jeff Bezos

While his name may not be as well known as that of others who follow him on this list, Jezz Bezos is at 54 years old the person who in 2018 has had the greatest fortune in the world: approximately has 112,000 million in heritage . This amount not only makes him the richest person on the 2018 list, it makes him the richest person in history (known).


This immense amount does not come from nothing: Jeff Bezos is the founder and CEO of Amazon (besides owning 16% of that company), the well-known web of electronic commerce (among other things, as it is gradually expanding and adding services like the recent Amazon Prime Video). And while this is their main source of wealth, he is also a majority shareholder of "The Washington Post" and the Blue Origin aerospace company . Interestingly, he has been chosen as one of the worst bosses in the world by the unions in 2014.

2. Bill Gates

Until recently the richest man in the world (being surpassed by Jeff Bezzos in the last year), Bill Gates is at 62 years one of the two founding members of Microsoft , company from which most of his immense fortune comes. This fortune is estimated at 91,300 million dollars.

However, its participation in Microsoft is currently minimal: although it is still a member of the board of the company it has less than 1% of shares, having sold or given most of them. In addition, he has made multiple investments, and is highly recognized for the creation, together with his wife, of the largest private charitable foundation: the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. He has also starred in several campaigns that sought other great fortunes to contribute to a better world and to participate in charities.


3. Warren Buffett

With 87 years of age, the so-called Oracle of Omaha has around 87,000 million dollars. It is one of the most successful entrepreneurs and investors and with a greater eye for business, and owns a large number of companies and companies, including Duracell. Together with Bill Gates, he is one of the entrepreneurs who has also decided to carry out great works of charity and charity. He is one of the owners of the Berkshire Hathaway holding company.

4. Bernard Arnault

The fourth position among the richest in the world is for a citizen of French origin. With 69 years of age, Bernard Arnault owns a fortune of 75,000 million dollars (approximately 72,000 million euros). He is the president of the conglomerate Louis Vuiton Moët Hennessy or LVMH , a multinational group that owns brands as well known as Louis Vuitton, Loewe, Christian Dior, Sephora or Bulgari.

5. Mark Zuckerberg

The fifth richest person in the world and the youngest in the list is none other than the creator of the most used social network in the world: Facebook. It owns around 17% of the shares of the company , which he founded even without having finished his career at Harvard, and enjoys a fortune of 73,200 million dollars. He has also been giving away a large part of his shares and contributes to different research and charity works.

6. Amancio Ortega

The sixth position in this list configured mainly by US citizens is for one of the best-known Spanish entrepreneurs: Amancio Ortega, 81 years old. It is about the founder of Inditex , group which includes brands such as Zara, Pull & Bear, Massimo Dutti or Bershka. In addition to this he has also participated in other businesses such as real estate.Its assets amount to approximately 71,000 million dollars.

7. Carlos Slim

With 67,100 million dollars in his possession, Carlos Slim is the sixth of the richest men in the world. This 78-year-old Mexican has achieved his fortune over the years, directing companies such as Grupo Carso , which controls companies such as the telephone operator Telmex or the mining and chemical company Frisco. He also owns companies such as Prodigy or a large part of The New York Times stock.

8 and 9. Charles and David Koch

With 82 and 77 years respectively, these two American brothers have an equivalent fortune (which is why they appear together in this list), which is estimated at around 60,000 million dollars. This comes from their role as managers and co-owners of the Koch Industries group , which has companies such as Invista or Koch Minerals. This group is mainly engaged in the extraction and preparation of oil and minerals and the production of chemical products such as fertilizers and chemical equipment, among others.

10. Larry Ellison

The tenth highest fortune in the world is that of Larry Ellison, who has 58.5 billion dollars in equity at 73 years of age. We are before the founder of Oracle Corporation, one of the most important technology companies and the first level of work with databases and in the cloud. This company has been done with systems like Siebel. However, he retired from the company's management in 2014, although he remained as CEO.

Common elements

While each of the members of this list has their own life, personality characteristics, beliefs and opinions about the different areas of life, it is possible to visualize how many of them have elements in common.

All of them have manifested throughout their lives the fact of having not only business and business vision but also of the existence of social needs that could need to be corrected.

As well they have been characterized by their perseverance and by knowing how to face the risks , leaving your comfort zone and risking losing. On the other hand, they have demonstrated capacity for flexibility and adaptation to change in a liquid company like ours, and to deal with multiple competitors by offering a differentiated product or service that is sufficiently different and original to be easily recognizable to the consumer.

While some large fortunes are the product of inheritance, it is relevant to note that most of the richest people started from the bottom, and even some began to work during adolescence. With regard to training, all of them came to start university education, although some would end up leaving it . In any case other people who have achieved great fortunes have done so regardless of their academic background.

However, despite these similarities other personal attitudes can vary greatly: while some are known and controversial for their attitudes to the environment, their lack of empathy for their employees or their extremist political ideologies others have starred in major charity campaigns, helped fight diseases and try to use and even give away part of his fortune in order to try to improve the situation of the rest of the world.

Also in some cases they try to lead a normalized and austere life regardless of their economic power, while others show behaviors and ways of being quite more eccentric.

Bibliographic references:

  • Forbes list.

The Dynasty of Rothschild | The Only Trillionaires in the World - Full Documentary (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 personnes les plus riches du monde (et l'origine de leur fortune)

Les 10 personnes les plus riches du monde (et l'origine de leur fortune)

Septembre 18, 2019

À plus d'une occasion, nous aurons entendu dire que l'argent ne donne pas le bonheur. Et la vérité est que tant que nous avons satisfait nos besoins fondamentaux et considérons qu'il y a une équité entre ce que nous faisons et ce que nous obtenons plus ou moins d'argent ne signifie pas nécessairement être plus ou moins heureux. De plus, bien que le concept de richesse soit né de manière liée à la monnaie de nos jours, il est de plus en plus pris en compte qu’il existe de nombreux autres types de richesse.

Cependant, une bonne capacité économique facilite l’expérience ou simplement l’obtention de plus de biens et de services, ce que la grande majorité des gens souhaiterait avoir plus de capital. C’est pourquoi il ya souvent de la curiosité à savoir qui sont les gens les plus riches du monde et comment ils ont atteint cette position, ce qui a généré la création de listes comme celles que Forbes effectue chaque année.


Tout au long de cet article, nous verrons quelles sont les dix plus grandes fortunes du monde sur le plan économique.

Les 10 personnes les plus riches du monde

Nous verrons ensuite quelles sont les personnes qui possèdent la plus grande richesse économique dans le monde, extraites des données extraites de la liste établie par Forbes sur les plus grandes fortunes du monde en 2018.

1. Jeff Bezos

Bien que son nom ne soit peut-être pas aussi connu que celui des autres personnes qui le suivent sur cette liste, Jezz Bezos est à 54 ans celui qui, en 2018, a eu la plus grande fortune du monde: a environ 112 milliards de dollars en patrimoine . Cette somme fait non seulement de lui la personne la plus riche de la liste de 2018, mais également de la personne la plus riche de l'histoire (connue).


Cette somme immense ne vient pas de rien: Jeff Bezos est le fondateur et le PDG d’Amazon (qui possède 16% de cette société), le réseau bien connu du commerce électronique (entre autres, à mesure qu’il se développe et services tels que la récente vidéo Amazon Prime). Et bien que ce soit leur principale source de richesse, il est également actionnaire majoritaire de "The Washington Post" et de la société aérospatiale Blue Origin . Fait intéressant, il a été choisi par l’un des syndicats en 2014 comme l’un des pires patrons du monde.

2. Bill Gates

Jusqu'à récemment, l'homme le plus riche du monde (dépassé par Jeff Bezzos l'année dernière), Bill Gates est à 62 ans l'un des deux membres fondateurs de Microsoft , société d’où provient la plus grande partie de son immense fortune. Cette fortune est estimée à 91 300 millions de dollars.

Cependant, sa participation dans Microsoft est actuellement minimale: bien qu’il soit toujours membre du conseil d’administration de la société, il détient moins de 1% des actions, qu’elles ont vendues ou cédées. En outre, il a réalisé de nombreux investissements et est hautement reconnu pour la création, avec son épouse, de la plus grande fondation caritative privée: la Fondation Bill et Melinda Gates. Il a également joué dans plusieurs campagnes qui ont cherché d'autres grandes fortunes pour contribuer à un monde meilleur et pour participer à des œuvres caritatives.


3. Warren Buffett

Le soi-disant Oracle d'Omaha, âgé de 87 ans, a un budget d'environ 87 000 millions de dollars. C'est l'un des entrepreneurs et des investisseurs les plus prospères et avec un plus grand œil pour les affaires, et possède un grand nombre de sociétés, y compris Duracell. Avec Bill Gates, il fait partie des entrepreneurs qui ont également décidé de réaliser de grands travaux de charité et de bienfaisance. Il est l'un des propriétaires de la holding Berkshire Hathaway.

4. Bernard Arnault

La quatrième position parmi les plus riches du monde concerne un citoyen d'origine française. Bernard Arnault, âgé de 69 ans, détient une fortune de 75 000 millions de dollars (environ 72 000 millions d'euros). Il est le président du conglomérat Louis Vuiton Moët Hennessy ou LVMH , groupe multinational qui possède des marques aussi connues que Louis Vuitton, Loewe, Christian Dior, Sephora ou Bulgari.

5. Mark Zuckerberg

La cinquième personne la plus riche au monde et la plus jeune de la liste n'est autre que le créateur du réseau social le plus utilisé au monde: Facebook. Il détient environ 17% des actions de la société , qu’il a fondé même sans avoir achevé sa carrière à Harvard, et jouit d’une fortune de 73 200 millions de dollars. Il a également cédé une grande partie de ses actions et contribué à différentes recherches et œuvres caritatives.

6. Amancio Ortega

La sixième position de cette liste, configurée principalement par des citoyens américains, concerne l'un des entrepreneurs espagnols les plus connus: Amancio Ortega, âgé de 81 ans. Il s'agit du fondateur d'Inditex , groupe qui comprend des marques telles que Zara, Pull & Bear, Massimo Dutti ou Bershka. En plus de cela, il a également participé à d'autres activités telles que l'immobilier.Ses actifs s’élèvent à environ 71 000 millions de dollars.

7. Carlos Slim

Avec 67 100 millions de dollars en sa possession, Carlos Slim est le sixième des hommes les plus riches du monde. Ce Mexicain de 78 ans a réalisé sa fortune au fil des ans, sociétés dirigeantes telles que Grupo Carso , qui contrôle des sociétés telles que l’opérateur téléphonique Telmex ou la société minière et chimique Frisco. Il possède également des sociétés telles que Prodigy ou une grande partie des actions du New York Times.

8 et 9. Charles et David Koch

Avec respectivement 82 et 77 ans, ces deux frères américains ont une fortune équivalente (c'est pourquoi ils figurent ensemble dans cette liste), estimée à environ 60 000 millions de dollars. Cela vient de leur rôle de dirigeants et de copropriétaires du groupe Koch Industries , qui a des sociétés telles que Invista ou Koch Minerals. Ce groupe est principalement engagé dans l'extraction et la préparation de pétrole et de minéraux et dans la production de produits chimiques tels que les engrais et les équipements chimiques, entre autres.

10. Larry Ellison

La dixième fortune la plus élevée au monde est celle de Larry Ellison, qui dispose d'un capital de 58,5 milliards de dollars à l'âge de 73 ans. Nous sommes devant le fondateur de Oracle Corporation, l'une des entreprises technologiques les plus importantes et le premier niveau de travail avec les bases de données et dans le cloud. Cette entreprise a été créée avec des systèmes tels que Siebel. Cependant, il a pris sa retraite de la direction de l'entreprise en 2014, bien qu'il soit resté en tant que PDG.

Éléments communs

Bien que chacun des membres de cette liste ait sa propre vie, ses caractéristiques de personnalité, ses croyances et ses opinions sur les différents domaines de la vie, il est possible de visualiser combien d’entre eux ont des éléments en commun.

Tous ont manifesté tout au long de leur vie le fait d’avoir une vision non seulement des affaires et des entreprises, mais aussi l’existence de besoins sociaux qu’il faudrait peut-être corriger.

Aussi ils se sont caractérisés par leur persévérance et par leur capacité à faire face aux risques , quittant votre zone de confort et risquant de perdre. D’autre part, ils ont démontré leur capacité de flexibilité et d’adaptation au changement dans une société liquide comme la nôtre, et de faire face à de multiples concurrents en proposant un produit ou service différencié, suffisamment différent et original pour être facilement reconnaissable par le consommateur.

Si certaines grandes fortunes sont le produit de l'héritage, il convient de noter que la plupart des personnes les plus riches ont commencé par le bas, et même certaines ont commencé à travailler pendant l'adolescence. En ce qui concerne la formation, tous sont venus commencer leurs études universitaires, bien que certains finissent par le quitter . Quoi qu'il en soit, d'autres personnes qui ont réalisé de grandes fortunes l'ont fait indépendamment de leurs antécédents académiques.

Cependant, malgré ces similitudes, d'autres attitudes personnelles peuvent varier considérablement: si certaines sont connues et controversées pour leurs attitudes vis-à-vis de l'environnement, leur manque d'empathie pour leurs employés ou leur idéologie politique extrémiste ont été mises en vedette dans de grandes campagnes caritatives, aidé à lutter contre les maladies et à utiliser et même à céder une partie de sa fortune afin d’améliorer la situation du reste du monde.

De plus, dans certains cas, ils essaient de mener une vie normalisée et austère, quel que soit leur pouvoir économique, alors que d’autres affichent des comportements et des façons d’être plus excentriques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Liste Forbes.

10 PERSONNES QUI FERONT PARAITRE BILL GATES PAUVRE | Lama Faché (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes