yes, therapy helps!
The 10 types of logical and argumentative fallacies

The 10 types of logical and argumentative fallacies

June 17, 2024

Philosophy and psychology are related to each other in many ways, among other things because both address in one way or another the world of thought and ideas.

One of these points of union between both disciplines is found in relation to the logical and argumentative fallacies, concepts used to refer to the validity (or lack of it) of the conclusions reached in a dialogue or debate. Let's see in more detail what they are and what are the main types of fallacies.

What are fallacies?

A fallacy is a reasoning that despite resembling a valid argument, it is not .

It is, therefore, a line of reasoning that is wrong, and the inferences that arise as a result of these can not be accepted. Regardless of whether the conclusion reached through a fallacy is true or not (it could be by chance), the process by which it has been reached is defective, because it violates at least one logical rule.


Fallacies and psychology

In the history of psychology almost always there has been a tendency to overestimate our capacity to think rationally, being subject to logical rules and showing coherence in our way of acting and arguing.

With the exception of certain psychological currents such as the psychoanalytic one founded by Sigmund Freud, it has been assumed that the healthy adult human being acts according to a series of motives and reasonings that can be easily expressed and that usually fall within the framework of rationality. The cases in which someone behaved irrationally were interpreted either as a sign of weakness or as an example in which the person does not know how to identify the true reasons that motivate their actions.


It has been in the last decades when s e has begun to accept the idea that irrational behavior is located at the center of our lives , that rationality is the exception, and not the other way around. However, there is a reality that has already been giving us a clue as to how far we are moving by emotions or impulses that are not very rational or not at all. This fact is that we have had to develop a kind of catalog of fallacies to try that these have little weight in our day to day.

The world of fallacies belongs more to the world of philosophy and epistemology than to that of psychology, but while philosophy studies fallacies in themselves, from psychology one can investigate the way in which they are used. The fact of seeing the extent to which false arguments are present in the discourses of people and organizations gives us an idea of ​​the way in which the thinking behind them is more or less tied to the paradigm of rationality.


The main types of fallacies

The list of fallacies is very long and there may be some of them that have not yet been discovered because they exist in very minority or poorly studied cultures. However, there are some more common than others, so know the main types of fallacies can serve as a reference to detect violations in the line of reasoning where they are.

Below you can see a compilation of the most well-known fallacies. Since there is no single way to classify them to create a system of types of fallacies, in this case they are classified according to their membership into two categories that are relatively easy to understand: non-formal and formal.

1. Non-formal fallacies

Non-formal fallacies are those in which the reasoning error has to do with the content of the premises . In this type of fallacy what is expressed in the premises does not allow to reach the conclusion that has been reached, regardless of whether the premises are true or not.

That is, appeals to irrational ideas about the functioning of the world to give the feeling that what is said is true.

1.1. Fallacy ad ignorantiam

In the fallacy ad ignorantiam is tried to take for granted the veracity of an idea for the simple fact that it can not be shown to be false .

The famous meme of the Flying Spaghetti Monster is based on this type of fallacy: as it can not be shown that there is no invisible entity formed of spaghetti and meatballs that is also the creator of the world and its inhabitants, it must be real.

1.2. Falacia ad verecundiam

The fallacy ad verecundiam, or fallacy of authority, links the veracity of a proposition to the authority of the person defending it, as if that provided an absolute guarantee .

For example, it is common to argue that Sigmund Freud's theories about mental processes are valid because his author was a neurologist.

1.3. Argument ad consequentiam

In this type of fallacy is intended to show that the validity or otherwise of an idea depends on whether what can be inferred from it is desirable or undesirable .

For example, an argument ad consequentiam would be to assume that the chances that the army will take a coup in a country are very low because the opposite scenario would be a serious blow to citizenship.

1.4. Rushing Generalization

This fallacy is a generalization not based on sufficient data .

The classic example is found in the stereotypes about the inhabitants of certain countries, which may lead one to think fallaciously, for example, that if someone is Scottish, they should be characterized by their stinginess.

1.5. Fallacy of straw man

In this fallacy the ideas of the opponent are not criticized, but a caricatured and manipulated image of these .

An example would be found in a line of argument criticizing a political party for being a nationalist, characterizing it as something very close to what Hitler's party was.

1.6. Post hoc ergo propter hoc

It is a type of fallacy in which it is assumed that if one phenomenon occurs after another, it is caused by it, in the absence of further evidence to indicate that this is so .

For example, one could try to argue that the sudden rise in the price of the shares of an organization has occurred because the start of the season of big game has already reached Badajoz.

1.7. Ad hominem fallacy

By means of this fallacy the veracity of certain ideas or conclusions is denied, highlighting the negative characteristics (more or less distorted and exaggerated) of those who defend them, instead of criticizing the idea itself or the reasoning that has led to it.

An example of this fallacy we would find in a case in which someone despises the ideas of a thinker arguing that this does not take care of his personal image.

But nevertheless, we must know how to distinguish this type of facacia from legitimate arguments referred to the characteristics of a person in particular. For example, appealing to the lack of university studies of a person who talks about advanced concepts of quantum physics can be considered a valid argument, since the information given is related to the topic of dialogue.

2. Formal fallacies

The formal fallacies are not because the content of the premise does not allow to reach the conclusion that has been reached, but because the relationship between the premises makes the inference is invalid .

That is why its failures do not depend on the content, but on the way in which the premises are linked, and they are not false because we have introduced irrelevant and unnecessary ideas into our reasoning, but because there is no coherence in the arguments we use.

The formal fallacy can be detected by replacing all the elements of the premises with symbols and seeing if the reasoning conforms to the logical rules.

2.1. Denial of the antecedent

This type of fallacy is based on a conditional of the type "if I give a gift, it will be my friend" , and when the first element is denied, it is incorrectly inferred that the second element is also denied: "if I do not give him a gift, he will not be my friend".

2.2. Affirmation of the consequent

In this type of fallacy is also part of a conditional, but in this case the second element is asserted and inferred incorrectly that the antecedent is true:

"If I approve, I uncork the champagne."

"I uncork the champagne, so I approve."


2.3. Average term not distributed

In this fallacy the middle term of a syllogism, which is the one that connects two propositions and does not appear in the conclusion , does not cover all the elements of the set in the premises.

Example:

"All French is European."

"Some Russian is European."

"Therefore, some Russian is French."

Bibliographic references:

  • Clark, J., Clark, T. (2005). Humbug! The skeptic's field guide to spotting fallacies in thinking (in English). Brisbane: Nifty Books.
  • Comesaña, J. M. (2001). Informal logic, fallacies and philosophical arguments. Buenos Aires: Eudeba.
  • Walton, D. (1992). The Place of Emotion in Argument (in English). The Pennsylvania State University Press.

31 logical fallacies in 8 minutes (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 types d’illusions logiques et argumentatives

Les 10 types d’illusions logiques et argumentatives

Janvier 5, 2023

La philosophie et la psychologie sont liées à bien des égards, notamment parce que les deux abordent d'une manière ou d'une autre le monde de la pensée et des idées.

L’un de ces points d’union entre les deux disciplines se situe par rapport à la sophismes logiques et argumentatifs, concepts utilisés pour désigner la validité (ou l’absence de celle-ci) des conclusions tirées d’un dialogue ou d’un débat. Voyons plus en détail ce qu’elles sont et quels sont les principaux types d’illusions.

Quelles sont les idées fausses?

Une erreur est un raisonnement qui, même s'il ressemble à un argument valable, n'est pas .

C'est donc une ligne de raisonnement qui est fausse et les déductions qui en résultent ne peuvent être acceptées. Que la conclusion tirée d'une erreur soit vraie ou non (ce pourrait être un hasard), le processus par lequel elle a été atteinte est défectueux, car il enfreint au moins une règle logique.


Sophismes et psychologie

Dans l’histoire de la psychologie, on a presque toujours eu tendance à surestimer notre capacité à penser rationnellement, à être soumis à des règles logiques et à faire preuve de cohérence dans notre façon d’agir et de discuter.

À l’exception de certains courants psychologiques tels que celui psychanalytique fondé par Sigmund Freud, il a été supposé que l’être humain adulte en bonne santé agit selon une série de motifs et de raisonnements qui peuvent être facilement exprimés et qui relèvent habituellement cadre de rationalité. Les cas dans lesquels une personne s'est comportée de manière irrationnelle ont été interprétés soit comme un signe de faiblesse, soit comme un exemple dans lequel la personne ne sait pas identifier les véritables raisons qui motivent ses actions.


C’est dans les dernières décennies que s Nous avons commencé à accepter l’idée que le comportement irrationnel est situé au centre de nos vies , cette rationalité est l'exception, et non l'inverse. Cependant, une réalité nous indique déjà à quel point nous bougeons avec des émotions ou des impulsions qui ne sont ni très rationnelles ni du tout. C'est que nous avons dû développer une sorte de catalogue d'idées fallacieuses pour tenter de constater que celles-ci ont peu de poids au quotidien.

Le monde des erreurs appartient plus au monde de la philosophie et de l'épistémologie qu'à celui de la psychologie, mais si la philosophie étudie les erreurs en elles-mêmes, il est possible d'étudier de la psychologie la manière dont elles sont utilisées. Le fait de voir à quel point de faux arguments sont présents dans les discours des personnes et des organisations nous donne une idée de la manière dont la pensée qui les sous-tend est plus ou moins liée au paradigme de la rationalité.


Les principaux types d'illusions

La liste des erreurs est très longue et certaines d'entre elles n'ont peut-être pas encore été découvertes car elles existent dans des cultures très minoritaires ou peu étudiées. Cependant, il y en a plus communes que d'autres, donc connaître les principaux types d'idées fausses peut servir de référence pour détecter les violations dans le cadre du raisonnement où ils sont.

Ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir une compilation des erreurs les plus connues. Comme il n’existe pas de moyen unique de les classer pour créer un système de types d’erreur, ils sont dans ce cas classés en deux catégories relativement faciles à comprendre: formel et non formel.

1. idées fausses non formelles

Les erreurs non formelles sont celles dans lesquelles l'erreur de raisonnement est liée au contenu des prémisses . Dans ce type d'erreur, ce qui est exprimé dans les prémisses ne permet pas de tirer la conclusion à laquelle on est parvenu, que les prémisses soient vraies ou non.

C’est-à-dire que l’on fait appel à des idées irrationnelles sur le fonctionnement du monde pour donner l’impression que ce qui est dit est vrai.

1.1. Sophisme

Dans l’erreur, ad ignorantiam est tenté de prendre pour acquis la véracité d’une idée pour le simple fait qu’il ne peut être démontré qu’elle est fausse. .

Le fameux meme du Monstre Volant Spaghetti est basé sur ce type d’erreur: comme on ne peut pas montrer qu’il n’existe aucune entité invisible formée de spaghettis et de boulettes de viande qui soit aussi le créateur du monde et de ses habitants, elle doit être réelle.

1.2. Falacia ad verecundiam

L'erreur fallacieuse ad verecundiam, ou erreur d'autorité, relie la véracité d'une proposition à l'autorité de la personne qui la défend, comme si cela fournissait une garantie absolue .

Par exemple, il est courant de soutenir que les théories de Sigmund Freud sur les processus mentaux sont valables parce que son auteur était un neurologue.

1.3. Argument ad conséquentiam

Dans ce type d'erreur, on veut montrer que la validité d'une idée dépend de la question de savoir si ce qui peut en être déduit est souhaitable ou non. .

Par exemple, un argument serait par conséquent de supposer que les chances d'un coup d'Etat pour l'armée dans un pays sont très faibles car le scénario opposé porterait gravement atteinte à la citoyenneté.

1.4. Précipitation généralisation

Cette erreur est une généralisation non basée sur des données suffisantes .

L'exemple classique se trouve dans les stéréotypes sur les habitants de certains pays, ce qui peut amener à penser, par exemple, que si quelqu'un est écossais, il doit être caractérisé par son avarice.

1.5 Sophisme de l'homme de paille

Dans cette erreur, les idées de l'adversaire ne sont pas critiquées, mais une image caricaturale et manipulée de ces idées. .

Un exemple pourrait être trouvé dans une argumentation reprochant à un parti politique d'être nationaliste, le qualifiant de très proche de ce que fut le parti hitlérien.

1.6. Post hoc ergo propter hoc

C’est un type d’erreur dans lequel il est supposé que si un phénomène se produit après un autre, il est causé par celui-ci, en l’absence de preuves supplémentaires indiquant qu’il en est ainsi. .

Par exemple, on pourrait essayer de faire valoir que la hausse soudaine du prix des actions d’une organisation s’est produite parce que le début de la saison du gros gibier a déjà atteint Badajoz.

1.7. Sophisme ad hominem

Au moyen de cette erreur, la véracité de certaines idées ou conclusions est niée, ce qui met en évidence les caractéristiques négatives. (plus ou moins déformés et exagérés) de ceux qui les défendent, au lieu de critiquer l’idée elle-même ou le raisonnement qui l’a menée.

Nous trouverions un exemple de cette erreur dans un cas où quelqu'un méprise les idées d'un penseur arguant que cela ne prenait pas soin de son image personnelle.

Cependant, il faut savoir distinguer ce type de facacia des arguments légitimes fait référence aux caractéristiques d’une personne en particulier. Par exemple, faire appel au manque d'études universitaires d'une personne qui parle de concepts avancés de la physique quantique peut être considéré comme un argument valable, car les informations fournies sont liées au sujet du dialogue.

2. sophismes formels

Les erreurs de forme ne sont pas dues au fait que le contenu de la prémisse ne permet pas de tirer la conclusion à laquelle on est parvenu, mais parce que la relation entre les prémisses rend l'inférence invalide .

C'est pourquoi ses échecs ne dépendent pas du contenu, mais de la manière dont les prémisses sont liées, et ils ne sont pas faux parce que nous avons introduit des idées non pertinentes et inutiles dans notre raisonnement, mais parce qu'il n'y a pas de cohérence dans les arguments que nous utilisons.

L'erreur formelle peut être détectée en remplaçant tous les éléments des locaux par des symboles et en vérifiant si le raisonnement est conforme aux règles logiques.

2.1. Déni de l'antécédent

Ce type d'erreur est basé sur un conditionnel du type "si je donne un cadeau, ce sera mon ami" et lorsque le premier élément est refusé, on en déduit à tort que le deuxième élément est également refusé: "si je ne lui offre pas un cadeau, il ne sera pas mon ami".

2.2. Affirmation du conséquent

Dans ce type d'erreur, fait également partie d'un conditionnel, mais dans ce cas, le deuxième élément est affirmé et inféré de manière incorrecte que l'antécédent est vrai:

"Si j'approuve, je débouche le champagne."

"Je débouche le champagne, alors j'approuve."


2.3. Terme moyen non distribué

Dans cette erreur, le terme moyen d'un syllogisme est celui qui relie deux propositions et n'apparaît pas dans la conclusion , ne couvre pas tous les éléments de l’ensemble dans les locaux.

Exemple:

"Tout français est européen."

"Un russe est européen."

"Par conséquent, un russe est français."

Références bibliographiques:

  • Clark, J., Clark, T. (2005). Humbug! Guide de terrain du sceptique pour repérer les idées fausses dans la pensée (en anglais). Brisbane: Nifty Books.
  • Comesaña, J. M. (2001). Logique informelle, sophismes et arguments philosophiques. Buenos Aires: Eudeba.
  • Walton, D. (1992). La place de l'émotion dans la discussion (en anglais). La Pennsylvania State University Press.

20 Illusions D'optique Qui Trompent Même Les Plus Fins Observateurs (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes