yes, therapy helps!
The 11 benefits of papaya, a delicious tropical fruit

The 11 benefits of papaya, a delicious tropical fruit

June 21, 2024

Of sweet and refreshing flavor, papaya is a fruit that is especially striking because of its exotic orange color and its pear shape .

It is a fruit native to southern Mexico and Central America, which is now grown in most tropical countries. There are two main types of papaya: the Mexican, of greater weight, and the Hawaiian, of smaller dimensions.

Related Posts:

  • "13 benefits and nutritional properties of olive oil"
  • "10 benefits and nutritional properties of peanuts"

Why is papaya healthy?

In addition to its delicious flavor, this exotic fruit provides a series of benefits for our health. They are the ones that we show you next.


1. It promotes digestion

One of the health benefits of this delicious fruit is its power to promote digestion , this is due to an enzyme present in papaya that helps in the breakdown of proteins. It is preferable to eat the fruit to achieve all the benefits; However, a natural papaya juice is known to be a home remedy for problems related to digestion or constipation.

2. Reduce bad cholesterol levels

This exquisite and attractive fruit contains a large amount of antioxidants, fiber and vitamin C , elements that act against the increase of cholesterol in the arteries. As a result, the consumption of papaya prevents the accumulation of cholesterol in the arteries causes cardiovascular problems. Likewise, the flavonoids present in papaya act against the oxidation of LDL cholesterol.


3. Prevents diabetes

There are many investigations that have concluded that Raw papaya could help keep your blood sugar level stable (avoiding hyperglycemia) and cholesterol due to the high fiber content, which would be important for the prevention of diabetes.

According to a study carried out by the Center of Excellence for Biomedical and Biomaterial Research of the University of Mauritius, fermented papaya is a preventive element for diabetes. In some countries, even papaya flowers are used in different culinary dishes for their preventive power against this disease.

4. Prevents cancer

Papaya is a food that helps prevent cancer , since its antioxidants help reduce the free radicals that contribute to the development and progression of this disease. Science has shown that it contains lycopene, which reduces the risk of cancer.


Researchers have also found that this fruit is effective against breast cancer and pancreatic cancer, and in fact, a study proved that papaya leaf extract has anti-carcinogenic effects. This study was conducted by a researcher at the University of Florida, named Nam Dang, together with a group of Japanese researchers.

5. Improves the health of the skin

The papaya takes care of the skin, since it works as a revitalizing agent and, therefore, it is used in many cosmetics . They are also commonly used in homemade masks, as this fruit removes dead skin cells and purifies the skin. The beneficial properties and healing enzymes present in papayas help to treat sunburn and irritated skin. Papayas are also used to treat skin disorders such as eczema.

6. Anti-inflammatory properties

The enzymes present in papayas, especially papain and chymopapain, reduce inflammation in different parts of the body. An investigation showed that the people who increased their intake of this fruit, with a high content of carotenoids, had a significant decrease in inflammation.

7. Improves the immune system

Papaya is a great source of vitamin A, B, C and K and, therefore, is beneficial to the immune system . It also promotes the growth of body tissues, including hair and skin. It helps in the maintenance of collagen, the structural protein of the connective tissues.

8. Fight arthritis

Papaya also fights pain, and specifically arthritis , because it is a fruit rich in minerals such as calcium, potassium, magnesium and copper. Regular consumption over a prolonged period of time seems to be effective in maintaining control over arthritis.

9. Improves cardiovascular health

Papaya improves cardiovascular health and reduces the risk of heart problems . Papaya seeds are good for a healthy vital organ, as they contain three powerful antioxidant vitamins, such as vitamin A, vitamin C and vitamin E.

Studies suggest that papaya prevents atherosclerosis and cardiovascular disease due to the presence of pro-carotenoid phytonutrients, which helps prevent the oxidation of cholesterol in the body, as I have previously commented.

10. Improves vision

Eating papaya is beneficial to our eyes, specifically, it prevents macular degeneration, a condition by which eye cells degrade, resulting in blurred vision and, sometimes, blindness.

Macular degeneration occurs, usually with age. Studies suggest that papaya can be beneficial to prevent this eye damage thanks to its high content of beta-carotene . According to a study published in the Archives of Ophthalmology, the consumption of 3 or more daily servings of fruit or vegetables with this component (for example, papaya or carrot) can reduce the risk of age-related macular degeneration.

11. Prevents infections

Studies also suggest that papaya prevents intestinal infections and helps reduce tooth pain . In the latter case, there is a home remedy based on papaya that seems to be beneficial for toothache. It consists of making a paste with papaya and massaging it directly on the painful tooth or gums.


12 Health Benefits of Papaya (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 11 bienfaits de la papaye, un délicieux fruit tropical

Les 11 bienfaits de la papaye, un délicieux fruit tropical

Décembre 9, 2021

De saveur douce et rafraîchissante, la papaye est un fruit qui frappe particulièrement par sa couleur orange exotique et sa forme de poire .

C'est un fruit originaire du sud du Mexique et de l'Amérique centrale, qui est maintenant cultivé dans la plupart des pays tropicaux. Il existe deux types principaux de papaye: la mexicaine, de plus grand poids, et la hawaïenne, de plus petite taille.

Articles liés:

  • "13 bienfaits et propriétés nutritionnelles de l'huile d'olive"
  • "10 bienfaits et propriétés nutritionnelles des arachides"

Pourquoi la papaye est-elle saine?

En plus de sa saveur délicieuse, ce fruit exotique procure une série d'avantages pour notre santé. Ce sont ceux que nous vous montrons ensuite.


1. Il favorise la digestion

L'un des avantages pour la santé de ce fruit délicieux est son pouvoir favorisant la digestion. , cela est dû à une enzyme présente dans la papaye qui aide à la dégradation des protéines. Il est préférable de manger le fruit pour obtenir tous les avantages. Cependant, on sait que le jus de papaye naturel est un remède à la maison pour les problèmes liés à la digestion ou à la constipation.

2. Réduire les niveaux de mauvais cholestérol

Ce fruit exquis et attrayant contient une grande quantité d'antioxydants, de fibres et de vitamine C , des éléments qui agissent contre l’augmentation du cholestérol dans les artères. En conséquence, la consommation de papaye empêche l'accumulation de cholestérol dans les artères provoque des problèmes cardiovasculaires. De même, les flavonoïdes présents dans la papaye agissent contre l’oxydation du cholestérol LDL.


3. empêche le diabète

De nombreuses enquêtes ont conclu que La papaye crue pourrait vous aider à garder votre glycémie stable (évitant l'hyperglycémie) et le cholestérol en raison de la teneur élevée en fibres, ce qui serait important pour la prévention du diabète.

Selon une étude réalisée par le Centre d'excellence pour la recherche biomédicale et biomatériale de l'Université de Maurice, la papaye fermentée est un élément préventif du diabète. Dans certains pays, même les fleurs de papaye sont utilisées dans différents plats culinaires pour leur pouvoir préventif contre cette maladie.

4. prévient le cancer

La papaye est un aliment qui aide à prévenir le cancer , car ses antioxydants aident à réduire les radicaux libres qui contribuent au développement et à la progression de cette maladie. La science a montré qu'il contient du lycopène, ce qui réduit le risque de cancer.


Les chercheurs ont également découvert que ce fruit était efficace contre le cancer du sein et le cancer du pancréas. En fait, une étude a montré que l'extrait de feuille de papaye avait des effets anticancérogènes. Cette étude a été menée par un chercheur de l'Université de Floride, nommé Nam Dang, en collaboration avec un groupe de chercheurs japonais.

5. améliore la santé de la peau

La papaye prend soin de la peau, car elle agit comme agent revitalisant et, par conséquent, elle est utilisée dans de nombreux produits cosmétiques. . Ils sont également couramment utilisés dans les masques artisanaux, car ce fruit élimine les cellules mortes de la peau et purifie la peau. Les propriétés bénéfiques et les enzymes cicatrisantes présentes dans les papayes aident à traiter les coups de soleil et la peau irritée. Les papayes sont également utilisées pour traiter des troubles cutanés tels que l'eczéma.

6. Propriétés anti-inflammatoires

Les enzymes présentes dans les papayes, en particulier la papaïne et la chymopapaïne, réduisent l'inflammation dans différentes parties du corps. Une enquête a montré que les personnes ayant augmenté leur consommation de ce fruit, à forte teneur en caroténoïdes, présentaient une diminution significative de l'inflammation.

7. améliore le système immunitaire

La papaye est une excellente source de vitamine A, B, C et K et est donc bénéfique pour le système immunitaire . Il favorise également la croissance des tissus corporels, y compris les cheveux et la peau. Il contribue au maintien du collagène, la protéine structurale des tissus conjonctifs.

8. combattre l'arthrite

La papaye lutte également contre la douleur et plus particulièrement l'arthrite , parce que c’est un fruit riche en minéraux tels que le calcium, le potassium, le magnésium et le cuivre. Une consommation régulière sur une période prolongée semble être efficace pour maintenir le contrôle de l'arthrite.

9. améliore la santé cardiovasculaire

La papaye améliore la santé cardiovasculaire et réduit le risque de problèmes cardiaques . Les graines de papaye sont bonnes pour la santé des organes vitaux, car elles contiennent trois vitamines antioxydantes puissantes, telles que la vitamine A, la vitamine C et la vitamine E.

Des études suggèrent que la papaye prévient l’athérosclérose et les maladies cardiovasculaires en raison de la présence de phytonutriments pro-caroténoïdes, qui aident à prévenir l’oxydation du cholestérol dans le corps, comme je l’ai déjà mentionné.

10. améliore la vision

Manger de la papaye est bénéfique pour nos yeux. En particulier, il prévient la dégénérescence maculaire, une maladie provoquant la dégradation des cellules oculaires, entraînant une vision floue et, parfois, la cécité.

La dégénérescence maculaire se produit, généralement avec l'âge. Des études suggèrent que la papaye peut être bénéfique pour prévenir ces lésions oculaires grâce à sa teneur élevée en bêta-carotène . Selon une étude publiée dans les Archives of Ophtalmology, la consommation d'au moins 3 portions de fruits ou de légumes contenant ce composant (par exemple, de la papaye ou de la carotte) peut réduire le risque de dégénérescence maculaire liée à l'âge.

11. Prévient les infections

Des études suggèrent également que la papaye prévient les infections intestinales et aide à réduire les douleurs dentaires . Dans ce dernier cas, il existe un remède à la maison à base de papaye qui semble être bénéfique pour les maux de dents. Il consiste à faire une pâte à la papaye et à la masser directement sur la dent ou les gencives douloureuses.


Avantages étonnants de la papaye pour une bonne santé | papaya health benefits | cholesterol (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes