yes, therapy helps!
The 11 executive functions of the human brain

The 11 executive functions of the human brain

July 18, 2024

Think of whatever we have done, are doing or have to do. For example, I am writing this article. I attend the speaker of a conference or the teacher in class. I have to go out and buy before they close the store. They seem simple things to do, but each of these actions involves a series of high-level cognitive processes that allow me to carry them out.

These processes are called executive functions , thanks to which we are able to act with a specific purpose.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Selective attention: definition and theories"

Defining executive functions

Executive functions are understood as the set of cognitive skills and processes that allow us to adapt successfully to the environment and solve problems from the integration of the different information available , being able to carry out proactive behaviors thanks to them. In general, it can be considered that they are in charge of controlling and self-regulating mental activity and cognitive resources, participating in aspects such as motivation or morality as well as in the processing of information and the control of behavior.


It is a series of abilities that are not completely innate, but are acquired and developed throughout the life cycle and development of the individual. In fact some of them do not finish maturing until around twenty-five years of age , being this something linked to brain maturation. Likewise, executive functions tend to decline as they age, both in a normative manner and if neurological problems occur.

Brain localization

The brain region that has most linked to these functions is located in the frontal lobe. Specifically, it is a part of said lobe, the prefrontal cortex is the most relevant when managing this set of skills.


Damages in this region will cause serious difficulties in higher mental processes that allow the management of behavior, as can be observed in different disorders and traumatisms. In addition, the development of executive functions is largely related to the cerebral maturation of the prefrontal, which does not just occur until adulthood.

But this does not mean that executive functions are due solely to the prefrontal cortex. After all, the information that allows processes such as planning and reasoning are carried out comes largely from other brain areas. For example, structures such as the limbic system, the hippocampus, the basal ganglia or the cerebellum stand out.

  • Related article: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

What kind of functions are included?

As we have said, by executive functions we understand a set of skills and processes of great utility for our survival and adaptation. But what are they? Some of the main and most important are the following.


1. Reasoning

Be able to use the different information and see the possible connections between them , as well as elaborate possible explanations.

2. Planning

This executive function is what allows us to draw up action plans . It allows generating a series of steps that will take us to a specific goal.

3. Goal setting

Linked to motivation, it is the ability that allows us to decide how to invest our energies and where to direct our behaviors.

4. Decision making

It's about the skill that allows us to determine which option to choose among the many that can be presented to us.

5. Start and end of tasks

Although it may seem strange, initiating the tasks at a specific time is an important cognitive activity. The same goes for the ability to determine when an action should be finalized.

6. Organization

It is the ability to combine and structure information in an efficient and useful way.

7. Inhibition

The ability to inhibit is another of the executive functions and one of the most relevant. It is the ability that allows us to regulate our actions by stopping the behavior. Makes us able to resist specific impulses , stop an action and prevent harmless information from interfering with our conduct.

8. Monitoring

It refers to the ability to maintain attention to the task and regulate what and how we are doing what we are doing.

9. Verbal and nonverbal work memory

It's about the ability to store the information so that the subject can operate with it later. Both verbally and nonverbally.

  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

10. Anticipation

This capacity allows to foresee in advance the results of an action and / or its consequences.

11. Flexibility

The ability to be flexible is what it allows us to change our way of acting or thinking about possible changes environmental issues or modify ongoing actions.

Some disorders in which they appear altered

Different disorders and injuries in the brain they can cause that the executive functions can not be carried out correctly, causing important adaptation problems.

Some of the disorders with involvement in this area can occur from childhood, as occurs with people with ADHD. These children present problems such as difficulties in starting a task, little capacity for inhibition and to develop and follow plans or problems to retain information in the working memory.

Other disorders in which this happens are dementias, in which the neurodegenerative process causes an affectation that makes it difficult to maintain the executive functions. Examples of this can be found in dementias such as that caused by Huntington's disease, or frontal dementias.

In any case, even without any kind of disorder executive functions usually begin to show some decline from the sixth decade of life , in a standardized way.


Brain and Behavior - Executive Functions of the Frontal Lobe (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 11 fonctions exécutives du cerveau humain

Les 11 fonctions exécutives du cerveau humain

Avril 14, 2021

Pensez à tout ce que nous avons fait, faisons ou devons faire. Par exemple, j'écris cet article. J'assiste au conférencier d'une conférence ou à l'enseignant en classe. Je dois sortir et acheter avant qu'ils ne ferment le magasin. Cela semble simple, mais chacune de ces actions implique une série de processus cognitifs de haut niveau qui me permettent de les réaliser.

Ces processus s'appellent des fonctions exécutives , grâce à quoi nous pouvons agir dans un but précis.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Attention sélective: définition et théories"

Définir les fonctions exécutives

Les fonctions exécutives sont comprises comme l'ensemble des compétences et processus cognitifs qui nous permettent de nous adapter avec succès à l'environnement et résoudre les problèmes de l'intégration des différentes informations disponibles , pouvant adopter des comportements proactifs grâce à eux. En général, on peut considérer qu’ils sont chargés de contrôler et d’autoréguler l’activité mentale et les ressources cognitives, participant à des aspects tels que la motivation ou la moralité, ainsi qu’au traitement de l’information et au contrôle du comportement.


C'est une série de capacités qui ne sont pas complètement innées, mais qui sont acquises et développées tout au long du cycle de vie et du développement de l'individu. En fait certains ne finissent pas de mûrir avant l'âge de vingt-cinq ans environ , étant quelque chose lié à la maturation du cerveau. De même, les fonctions exécutives ont tendance à décliner avec l'âge, à la fois de manière normative et en cas de problèmes neurologiques.

Localisation du cerveau

La région du cerveau la plus liée à ces fonctions est située dans le lobe frontal. Plus précisément, il s’agit d’une partie dudit lobe, le cortex préfrontal est le plus pertinent pour gérer cet ensemble de compétences.


Dommages dans cette région causera de graves difficultés dans les processus mentaux supérieurs qui permettent la gestion du comportement, comme on peut l'observer dans différents troubles et traumatismes. De plus, le développement des fonctions exécutives est en grande partie lié à la maturation cérébrale du préfrontal, qui ne se produit pas avant l'âge adulte.

Mais cela ne signifie pas que les fonctions exécutives sont uniquement dues au cortex préfrontal. Après tout, les informations qui permettent des processus tels que la planification et le raisonnement sont effectués provient en grande partie d'autres zones du cerveau. Par exemple, des structures telles que le système limbique, l'hippocampe, les noyaux gris centraux ou le cervelet se détachent.

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

Quels types de fonctions sont inclus?

Comme nous l'avons dit, par fonctions exécutives, nous comprenons un ensemble de compétences et de processus d'une grande utilité pour notre survie et notre adaptation. Mais que sont-ils? Certains des principaux et les plus importants sont les suivants.


1. Raisonnement

Être capable de utiliser les différentes informations et voir les liens possibles entre elles , ainsi que d’élaborer des explications possibles.

2. planification

Cette fonction exécutive est ce qui nous permet d’élaborer des plans d’action . Cela permet de générer une série d’étapes qui nous mèneront à un objectif spécifique.

3. Établissement d'objectifs

Liée à la motivation, c’est la capacité qui nous permet de décider comment investir nos énergies et où diriger nos comportements.

4. Prise de décision

C'est à propos de la compétence nous permet de déterminer quelle option choisir parmi les nombreux qui peuvent être présentés à nous.

5. Début et fin des tâches

Bien que cela puisse sembler étrange, initier les tâches à un moment donné est une activité cognitive importante. Il en va de même pour la capacité de déterminer quand une action doit être finalisée.

6. Organisation

C’est la capacité de combiner et de structurer l’information de manière efficace et utile.

7. Inhibition

La capacité d'inhiber est une autre des fonctions exécutives et l'une des plus pertinentes. C'est la capacité qui nous permet de réguler nos actions en arrêtant le comportement. Nous permet de résister à des impulsions spécifiques , arrêtez une action et empêchez des informations inoffensives d’interférer avec notre comportement.

8. surveillance

Il fait référence à la capacité de rester attentif à la tâche et de réglementer ce que nous faisons et comment nous le faisons.

9. Mémoire de travail verbale et non verbale

Il s'agit de la capacité de stocker les informations de sorte que le sujet puisse fonctionner avec plus tard. Verbalement et non verbalement.

  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

10. Anticipation

Cette capacité permet de prévoir à l'avance les résultats d'une action et / ou ses conséquences.

11. Flexibilité

La capacité d'être flexible est ce que cela nous permet de changer notre façon d'agir ou de penser aux changements possibles questions environnementales ou modifier les actions en cours.

Certains troubles dans lesquels ils apparaissent modifiés

Différents troubles et blessures dans le cerveau ils peuvent faire en sorte que les fonctions exécutives ne puissent pas être exécutées correctement, ce qui pose d'importants problèmes d'adaptation.

Certains des troubles associés à ce domaine peuvent survenir dès l'enfance, comme chez les personnes atteintes de TDAH. Ces enfants présentent des problèmes tels que des difficultés à démarrer une tâche, faible capacité d'inhibition et de développement et de suivi des plans ou des problèmes pour conserver des informations dans la mémoire de travail.

Les autres troubles dans lesquels cela se produit sont les démences, dans lesquelles le processus neurodégénératif provoque une affectation rendant difficile le maintien des fonctions exécutives. Des exemples de ceci peuvent être trouvés dans les démences telles que celles provoquées par la maladie de Huntington ou les démences frontales.

En tout cas, même sans aucune sorte de désordre les fonctions exécutives commencent généralement à montrer un certain déclin à partir de la sixième décennie de la vie , de manière standardisée.


Neuroscience: Mémoire hors du cerveau (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes