yes, therapy helps!
The 11 most painful ways to die, according to science

The 11 most painful ways to die, according to science

July 14, 2024

Death is something natural that sooner or later reaches us all. Imagine how we are going to die is often a cause of anguish that some people get to the point of obsessing. Most people prefer a quiet end without suffering , but nevertheless death does not always arrive in a peaceful and painless way.

And is that there are many ways to die, some of them are practically painless while others suppose a long torture for the dying until the arrival of his death. In this article, specifically, we review the 11 most painful ways to die according to what is known about the processes of pain perception.


  • Related article: "The role of Psychology in irreversible processes: 5 attitudes towards death"

The most painful ways to die

Below you can find a list of the 11 ways to find our end that are considered to cause more pain and suffering. Most of those that are part of the list can occur naturally, in emergency situations or accidents .

However, the human being can also cause death in extremely painful ways, which is why a category of deaths caused by man has also been added to the list (some of which suppose a level of suffering as much or more elevated than the others present in the list).


  • Maybe you are interested: "Chronic pain: what it is and how it is treated from Psychology"

1. Dehydration

Considered by science one of the most painful ways to die, dehydration supposes the absence of a sufficient amount of fluid in our body . If this is prolonged and the lost fluids that our organism needs are not recovered, the corporal systems begin to notify their lack in the form of generalized malaise. In the long run the set of organs would cease to function, including the nervous system.

In the absence of water, the body will try to hydrate itself with other body fluids, such as the cerebrospinal fluid. The kidneys stop secreting urine and swell and the eyes dry. Fever, dizziness and hallucinations would occur, being able to reach a coma and later to death.

2. Starvation

Like the lack of water, the lack of nutrients It is also another of the considered worst forms of dying. If we are not able to access any type of nutrient, the body will begin to burn the fats and lipids present in the body to stay alive. In case that is not enough, the body will literally begin to consume itself, degrading the components of the muscles and later the organs in an attempt to stay alive.


3. Drowning

Drowning and suffocation in general are one of the most distressing ways of dying. In the absence of oxygen in the body, a sensation of internal tear depending on the water, it floods the lungs and the stomach, which is combined with a high level of anxiety caused by knowing that we can not carry air to our lungs. Later the lack of oxygen will cause the heart to stop beating.

4. Burns

One of the most painful deaths is the one that is produced by the action of fire . The cells and nerves of all burned parts are activated producing an increasingly deeper pain as the surface layers of the skin are being destroyed, in a process that can last more than ten minutes. To the pain joins the panic before the knowledge of what is happening. The progressive loss of blood and fluids ends up causing the organism to stop, although most people usually die earlier due to intoxication by the smoke and gases emitted in the combustion.

5. Implosion

This way of dying is not very common because it is not common to find environments where the pressure exerted on our body is greater than that of the earth's surface. But nevertheless, if the level of pressure on our body rises too much , its content (organs, viscera and bones) will be compressed and eventually cause our death.

6. Depressurization

One of the less common forms of dying on this list, but which nevertheless involves one of the highest levels of suffering. It usually happens in accidents with astronauts, with rapid changes between atmospheric pressures going from a high level of pressure or a much lower pressure. This variation generates that the gases contained in our lungs and of elements present in our organism expand, generating great pain and obstructing the cardiovascular system and causing death. In extreme cases the body can literally explode.

7. Polyraumatism

It is a form of death that can be very painful.Regardless of the pain produced by broken bones and multiple external wounds, possible internal injuries are added in different organs such as the liver, kidneys or lungs.

In the latter case, the presence of severe incisions in the lungs can already be an extremely painful form of death: if they are sufficiently damaged, they do not transmit enough oxygen to the rest of the body, filling up with blood and causing suffocation slowly. In addition, the lacerations cause pain in each inspiration, so that continuing to breathe is a source of suffering.

8. By radiation

Although it may be invisible, radiation is another of the most dangerous causes of death and it can generate more pain depending on the type of exposure and radioactive element to which we are exposed. The radiation causes the degradation of tissues at the cellular level , and even at the DNA level, which can generate a high level of pain and different symptoms. On the other hand, as we have said this depends on the type of radiation, sometimes not perceiving any symptoms until it is too late.

9. For sleep deprivation

It is an unusual type of death, but possible. There is a rare disorder called fatal familial insomnia in which death occurs precisely because of the absence of sleep. Continued sleep deprivation can generate discomfort, weakness, anxiety, alterations in perception and mood, deterioration of intellectual functions and, in the long run, cerebral death , since the organism does not have any period of recovery.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 7 main sleep disorders"

10. Being devoured alive

Although most animals kill their prey before eating them, certain species do not end their victim's life before they start feeding on them. In these cases the victim perceives and is aware of how the animal opens its flesh and starts and devours parts of it, may take a long time to die depending on the parts that attack the creature.

11. Deaths caused by man

Most of the previous deaths are produced without the intervention of another person being necessary. However, the human being has created throughout history numerous methods that cause intense pain in the person who is going to be executed.

In this aspect highlight different methods of execution and torture . Some of the examples that we can put of this type of death are the hanging (in which the prisoner could suffocate for around ten minutes if he did not break his neck in the fall), the wheel (in which he tied himself to the victim to go uncoordinated little by little), the iron maiden, the dismemberment with the use of horses, the beating to death, the forcing of the ingestion of corrosive or burning substances, the stoning, the crucifixion (in which the person it ends up suffocating with the passage of time because the posture in which the body remains does not allow to breathe normally) or impalement. This category includes some of the above .


25 Most HORRIBLE Ways To Die (We All Want To Avoid) (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 11 façons les plus douloureuses de mourir, selon la science

Les 11 façons les plus douloureuses de mourir, selon la science

Juillet 25, 2022

La mort est quelque chose de naturel qui, tôt ou tard, nous rejoint tous. Imaginez comment nous allons mourir est souvent une cause d'angoisse que certaines personnes en arrivent à obséder. La plupart des gens préfèrent une fin tranquille sans souffrance , mais néanmoins la mort n'arrive pas toujours de manière pacifique et sans douleur.

Et c’est qu’il existe de nombreuses façons de mourir, certaines sont pratiquement indolores, d’autres supposent une longue torture pour les mourants jusqu’à l’arrivée de sa mort. Dans cet article, en particulier, nous passons en revue les 11 façons les plus douloureuses de mourir en fonction de ce que l'on sait sur les processus de perception de la douleur.


  • Article connexe: "Le rôle de la psychologie dans les processus irréversibles: 5 attitudes envers la mort"

Les manières les plus douloureuses de mourir

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste des 11 manières de trouver notre fin qui sont considérées comme causant plus de douleur et de souffrance. La plupart de ceux qui font partie de la liste peut se produire naturellement, dans des situations d'urgence ou des accidents .

Cependant, l'être humain peut aussi causer la mort de manière extrêmement douloureuse, raison pour laquelle une catégorie de décès causés par l'homme a également été ajoutée à la liste (certaines supposant un niveau de souffrance supérieur ou supérieur à celui de l'homme). les autres présents dans la liste).


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La douleur chronique: de quoi s'agit-il et comment est-elle traitée par la psychologie"

1. déshydratation

Considérée par la science comme l’un des moyens les plus douloureux de mourir, la déshydratation suppose l'absence d'une quantité suffisante de liquide dans notre corps . Si cela se prolonge et que les liquides perdus dont notre organisme a besoin ne sont pas récupérés, les systèmes corporels commencent à notifier leur manque sous la forme d'un malaise généralisé. À long terme, l'ensemble des organes cesserait de fonctionner, y compris le système nerveux.

En l'absence d'eau, le corps essaiera de s'hydrater avec d'autres liquides corporels, tels que le liquide céphalo-rachidien. Les reins cessent de sécréter de l'urine et de gonfler et les yeux secs. De la fièvre, des vertiges et des hallucinations se produiraient, pouvant atteindre le coma et mourant plus tard.

2. la famine

Comme le manque d'eau, le manque de nutriments C'est aussi une autre des pires formes de décès envisagées. Si nous ne pouvons accéder à aucun type de nutriment, le corps commencera à brûler les graisses et les lipides présents dans le corps pour rester en vie. Au cas où cela ne suffirait pas, le corps commencera littéralement à se consommer, dégradant les composants des muscles et plus tard des organes dans le but de rester en vie.


3. Noyade

La noyade et la suffocation sont généralement l’un des moyens de mourir les plus pénibles. En l'absence d'oxygène dans le corps, une sensation de déchirure interne en fonction de l'eau, il inonde les poumons et l'estomac, ce qui est associé à un niveau d'anxiété élevé en raison du fait que nous ne pouvons pas transporter d'air dans nos poumons. Plus tard, le manque d'oxygène arrêtera le cœur de battre.

4. brûlures

Une des morts les plus douloureuses est celui qui est produit par l'action du feu . Les cellules et les nerfs de toutes les parties brûlées sont activés, ce qui produit une douleur de plus en plus profonde au fur et à mesure de la destruction des couches superficielles de la peau, processus qui peut durer plus de dix minutes. À la douleur rejoint la panique avant la connaissance de ce qui se passe. La perte progressive de sang et de liquides finit par provoquer l’arrêt de l’organisme, bien que la plupart des gens meurent généralement plus tôt en raison d’une intoxication par la fumée et les gaz émis lors de la combustion.

5. Implosion

Cette façon de mourir n'est pas très courante car il n'est pas courant de trouver des environnements où la pression exercée sur notre corps est supérieure à celle de la surface de la Terre. Cependant, si le niveau de pression sur notre corps augmente trop , son contenu (organes, viscères et os) sera comprimé et finira par provoquer notre mort.

6. Dépressurisation

Une des formes de décès les moins communes figurant sur cette liste, mais qui implique néanmoins l'un des plus hauts niveaux de souffrance. Cela se produit généralement lors d'accidents avec des astronautes, avec des changements rapides entre les pressions atmosphériques allant d'un niveau de pression élevé ou d'une pression beaucoup plus basse. Cette variation engendre une expansion des gaz contenus dans nos poumons et des éléments présents dans notre organisme, générant une douleur intense, obstruant le système cardiovasculaire et causant la mort. Dans des cas extrêmes, le corps peut littéralement exploser.

7. Polyraumatisme

C'est une forme de mort qui peut être très douloureuse.Indépendamment de la douleur produite par les fractures et les multiples plaies externes, les blessures internes possibles sont ajoutées dans différents organes tels que le foie, les reins ou les poumons.

Dans ce dernier cas, la présence d'incisions sévères dans les poumons peut déjà être une forme de mort extrêmement douloureuse: si elles sont suffisamment endommagées, elles ne transmettent pas assez d'oxygène au reste du corps, se remplissant de sang et causant une suffocation lente. De plus, les lacérations provoquent des douleurs dans chaque inspiration, de sorte que continuer à respirer est une source de souffrance.

8. par rayonnement

Bien qu’elles soient peut-être invisibles, les radiations sont une autre des causes de décès les plus dangereuses et peuvent générer davantage de douleur en fonction du type d’exposition et de l’élément radioactif auquel nous sommes exposés. Rayonnement provoque la dégradation des tissus au niveau cellulaire , et même au niveau de l’ADN, ce qui peut générer une douleur intense et des symptômes différents. Par ailleurs, comme nous l’avons dit, cela dépend du type de rayonnement et ne permet parfois de percevoir aucun symptôme jusqu’à ce qu’il soit trop tard.

9. Pour la privation de sommeil

C'est un type de mort inhabituel, mais possible. Il existe un trouble rare appelé insomnie familiale mortelle dans lequel la mort survient précisément à cause de l'absence de sommeil. La privation continue de sommeil peut engendrer un malaise, une faiblesse, une anxiété, une altération de la perception et de l'humeur, une détérioration des fonctions intellectuelles et à long terme, la mort cérébrale , puisque l'organisme n'a pas de période de récupération.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 7 principaux troubles du sommeil"

10. Être dévoré vivant

Bien que la plupart des animaux tuent leurs proies avant de les manger, certaines espèces ne mettent pas fin à la vie de leur victime avant qu'elle ne commence à se nourrir. Dans ces cas, la victime perçoit et sait comment l'animal ouvre sa chair, commence et en dévore des parties, peut prendre un certain temps à mourir en fonction des parties qui attaquent la créature.

11. Décès causés par l'homme

La plupart des décès précédents sont produits sans l'intervention d'une autre personne. Cependant, l'être humain a créé à travers l'histoire de nombreuses méthodes causant une douleur intense à la personne à exécuter.

Dans cet aspect mettre en évidence différentes méthodes d'exécution et de torture . Parmi les exemples que nous pouvons citer de ce type de mort, citons la pendaison (dans laquelle le prisonnier pourrait s'étouffer pendant environ dix minutes s'il ne se cassait pas la nuque à la chute), la roue (dans laquelle il s'était attaché au victime de manque de coordination peu à peu), la jeune fille de fer, le démembrement avec l’utilisation de chevaux, le passage à tabac, la contrainte à l’ingestion de substances corrosives ou en combustion, la lapidation, la crucifixion (dans laquelle il finit par suffoquer avec le temps car la posture dans laquelle le corps reste ne permet pas de respirer normalement ou est impalement. Cette catégorie comprend certains des éléments ci-dessus .


10 Morts Les Plus Stupides (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes